Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Critical Louisiana Pro-Gun Bill Needs Your Help Now!

Friday, June 13, 2008

On Thursday, June 12, the Louisiana House was set to take up Senate Bill 51, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Senator Joe McPherson (D-Woodworth) that would allow employees and customers to transport and store firearms in their private, locked motor vehicles while parked in publicly-accessible parking areas. 

House members opposing SB 51 took their cues from big business and industry lobbyists and attempted a number of procedural maneuvers, all designed to prevent the bill from being voted on by the full House this session.  A motion to return the bill to the calendar by State Representative Kay Kellogg Katz (R-Monroe), an equivalent to pulling the bill from further consideration, failed on a 59-35 vote.  A motion to recommit the bill to the House Civil Law Committee by State Representative Rick Gallot (D-Ruston), another attempt to effectively kill the bill with just one week left in session, passed on a 54-44 vote. 

Senator McPherson and NRA-ILA worked House members all afternoon to try and resurrect the bill, and eventually won a motion to discharge the bill from the Civil Law committee on a 61-31 vote.  This places the bill back on the House calendar for floor consideration next Tuesday or Wednesday. 

It is critical that you contact your State Representatives and urge them to support SB 51, to oppose any further procedural attempts to delay or deny a vote on SB 51 this session, and to oppose any gutting amendments to the bill.  Please contact their district offices over the weekend and leave a message for them; let's make sure district staff members find those voicemail boxes full on Monday!  Then please contact them again by email and by phone in Baton Rouge next week at (225) 342-6945.  Contact information for your State Representatives can be found at http://www.legis.state.la.us.  You may also visit that site to determine how your Representative voted this week.

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House

larep086@legis.state.la.us

(504) 393-5646

 

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)

abramson@legis.state.la.us

(504) 275-8051

 

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)

larep021@legis.state.la.us

(318) 336-5865

 

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)

armesj@legis.state.la.us

(337) 238-7004

 

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)

larep102@legis.state.la.us

(504) 393-5801

 

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)

auberte@legis.state.la.us

(225) 265-1831

 

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)

larep100@legis.state.la.us

(504) 243-7783

 

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)

badonb@legis.state.la.us

(337) 896-3482

 

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

(985) 876-8872

 

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)

barrast@legis.state.la.us

(337) 373-4051

 

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)

larep029@legis.state.la.us

(225) 362-5837

 

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)

billiotr@legis.state.la.us

(504) 431-1535

 

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)

burfordr@legis.state.la.us

(318) 925-9588

 

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)

burnsh@legis.state.la.us

(318) 949-2463

 

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)

larep089@legis.state.la.us

(985) 624-4492

 

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)

larep002@legis.state.la.us

(318) 676-7137

 

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)

carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

(318) 862-9956

 

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)

carters@legis.state.la.us

(225) 362-5305

 

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)

champags@legis.state.la.us

(337) 276-4916

 

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)

larep022@legis.state.la.us

(318) 899-1193

 

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)

chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

(318) 728-5875

 

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)

connickp@legis.state.la.us

(504) 371-0240

 

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)

cortezp@legis.state.la.us

(337) 993-7430

 

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)

cromerg@legis.state.la.us

(985) 645-3592

 

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)

danahaym@legis.state.la.us

(337) 527-5581

 

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)

dixonh@legis.state.la.us

(318) 487-5661

 

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)

larep010@legis.state.la.us

(318) 371-3092

 

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)

larep052@legis.state.la.us

(985) 876-8823

 

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)

larep012@legis.state.la.us

(318) 251-5039

 

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)

edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

(985) 748-2245

 

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)

ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

(318) 435-7313

 

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)

larep013@legis.state.la.us

(318) 259-6620

 

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)

foilf@legis.state.la.us

(225) 342-6777

 

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)

franklina@legis.state.la.us

(337) 491-2320

 

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)

larep011@legis.state.la.us

(318) 251-5019

 

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)

larep035@legis.state.la.us

(337) 491-2315

 

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)

gisclait@legis.state.la.us

(985) 798-7707

 

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)

larep066@legis.state.la.us

(225) 275-8064

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

(337) 943-2457

 

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)

larep041@legis.state.la.us

(337) 457-0194

 

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)

guinnj@legis.state.la.us

(337) 824-0376

 

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)

hardyr@legis.state.la.us

(337) 262-2598

 

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)

harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

(800) 935-2081

 

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

(318) 767-6082

 

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)

hendersr@legis.state.la.us

(504) 278-6599

 

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)

henryc@legis.state.la.us

(504) 736-7135

 

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)

hilld@legis.state.la.us

(800) 259-2118

 

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)

hinesw@legis.state.la.us

(504) 756-4675

 

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)

hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

(318) 362-4130

 

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)

ahoney@legis.state.la.us

(225) 771-5674

 

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

(318) 256-4135

 

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)

larep104@legis.state.la.us

(504) 361-6684

 

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)

jacksong@legis.state.la.us

(504) 361-6972

 

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)

larep061@legis.state.la.us

(225) 342-0774

 

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)

johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

(318) 253-8891

 

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)

jonesr@legis.state.la.us

(318) 362-5476

 

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)

joness@legis.state.la.us

(337) 828-7778

 

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)

larep016@legis.state.la.us

(318) 340-0800

 

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)

larep036@legis.state.la.us

(337) 475-3016

 

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)

larep081@legis.state.la.us

(504) 833-7788

 

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)

larep096@legis.state.la.us

(504) 282-0265

 

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)

larep059@legis.state.la.us

(225) 644-4947

 

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)

lebasb@legis.state.la.us

(337) 363-0152

 

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)

legerw@legis.state.la.us

(504) 556-9970

 

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)

ligit@legis.state.la.us

(504) 456-3173

 

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)

littles@legis.state.la.us

(318) 556-7026

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

(504) 456-3806

 

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

(504) 483-4711

 

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)

larep099@legis.state.la.us

(504) 942-7835

 

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)

larep062@legis.state.la.us

(225) 634-7470

 

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)

larep046@legis.state.la.us

(337) 845-4240

 

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)

monican@legis.state.la.us

(985) 652-1228

 

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)

montoucj@legis.state.la.us

(337) 783-2999

 

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)

larep097@legis.state.la.us

(504) 284-4794

 

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)

larep001@legis.state.la.us

(318) 995-6852

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

(318) 632-5887

 

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)

nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

(318) 357-7048

 

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)

pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

(985) 646-6487

 

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)

perryj@legis.state.la.us

(337) 893-5035

 

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)

larep093@legis.state.la.us

(504) 568-8346

 

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)

pontie@legis.state.la.us

(225) 362-5301

 

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)

poper@legis.state.la.us

(225) 667-3588

 

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)

pughs@legis.state.la.us

(985) 386-7844

 

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)

richardj@legis.state.la.us

(985) 447-0999

 

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)

richardc@legis.state.la.us

(225) 261-5739

 

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)

larep101@legis.state.la.us

(504) 242-4198

 

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)

larep075@legis.state.la.us

(985) 730-2147

 

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)

larep045@legis.state.la.us

(337) 984-1091

 

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)

royc@legis.state.la.us

(318) 767-6095

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

(985) 893-6262

 

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)

simons@legis.state.la.us

(985) 893-6246

 

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)

larep088@legis.state.la.us

(225) 698-9694

 

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)

larep008@legis.state.la.us

(318) 741-2825

 

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

(985) 764-9122

 

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)

smithp@legis.state.la.us

(225) 342-7106

 

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)

larep060@legis.state.la.us

(225) 687-2410

 

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)

talbotk@legis.state.la.us

(504) 736-7299

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

(504) 361-6013

 

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)

larep031@legis.state.la.us

(337) 984-0175

 

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)

larep005@legis.state.la.us

(318) 219-9000

 

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)

larep064@legis.state.la.us

(225) 791-2199 or (800) 408-9764

 

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)

larep004@legis.state.la.us

(318) 676-5990

 

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)

willmott@legis.state.la.us

(504) 465-3479

 

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us

(504) 393-5649

 

TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Monday, May 22, 2017

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Last Friday, May 19, Governor Henry McMaster (R) signed H. 3429 into law.  This bill went into effect upon the Governor’s approval.

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.