Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Critical Louisiana Pro-Gun Bill Needs Your Help Now!

Friday, June 13, 2008

On Thursday, June 12, the Louisiana House was set to take up Senate Bill 51, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Senator Joe McPherson (D-Woodworth) that would allow employees and customers to transport and store firearms in their private, locked motor vehicles while parked in publicly-accessible parking areas. 

House members opposing SB 51 took their cues from big business and industry lobbyists and attempted a number of procedural maneuvers, all designed to prevent the bill from being voted on by the full House this session.  A motion to return the bill to the calendar by State Representative Kay Kellogg Katz (R-Monroe), an equivalent to pulling the bill from further consideration, failed on a 59-35 vote.  A motion to recommit the bill to the House Civil Law Committee by State Representative Rick Gallot (D-Ruston), another attempt to effectively kill the bill with just one week left in session, passed on a 54-44 vote. 

Senator McPherson and NRA-ILA worked House members all afternoon to try and resurrect the bill, and eventually won a motion to discharge the bill from the Civil Law committee on a 61-31 vote.  This places the bill back on the House calendar for floor consideration next Tuesday or Wednesday. 

It is critical that you contact your State Representatives and urge them to support SB 51, to oppose any further procedural attempts to delay or deny a vote on SB 51 this session, and to oppose any gutting amendments to the bill.  Please contact their district offices over the weekend and leave a message for them; let's make sure district staff members find those voicemail boxes full on Monday!  Then please contact them again by email and by phone in Baton Rouge next week at (225) 342-6945.  Contact information for your State Representatives can be found at http://www.legis.state.la.us.  You may also visit that site to determine how your Representative voted this week.

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House

larep086@legis.state.la.us

(504) 393-5646

 

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)

abramson@legis.state.la.us

(504) 275-8051

 

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)

larep021@legis.state.la.us

(318) 336-5865

 

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)

armesj@legis.state.la.us

(337) 238-7004

 

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)

larep102@legis.state.la.us

(504) 393-5801

 

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)

auberte@legis.state.la.us

(225) 265-1831

 

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)

larep100@legis.state.la.us

(504) 243-7783

 

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)

badonb@legis.state.la.us

(337) 896-3482

 

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

(985) 876-8872

 

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)

barrast@legis.state.la.us

(337) 373-4051

 

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)

larep029@legis.state.la.us

(225) 362-5837

 

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)

billiotr@legis.state.la.us

(504) 431-1535

 

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)

burfordr@legis.state.la.us

(318) 925-9588

 

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)

burnsh@legis.state.la.us

(318) 949-2463

 

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)

larep089@legis.state.la.us

(985) 624-4492

 

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)

larep002@legis.state.la.us

(318) 676-7137

 

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)

carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

(318) 862-9956

 

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)

carters@legis.state.la.us

(225) 362-5305

 

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)

champags@legis.state.la.us

(337) 276-4916

 

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)

larep022@legis.state.la.us

(318) 899-1193

 

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)

chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

(318) 728-5875

 

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)

connickp@legis.state.la.us

(504) 371-0240

 

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)

cortezp@legis.state.la.us

(337) 993-7430

 

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)

cromerg@legis.state.la.us

(985) 645-3592

 

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)

danahaym@legis.state.la.us

(337) 527-5581

 

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)

dixonh@legis.state.la.us

(318) 487-5661

 

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)

larep010@legis.state.la.us

(318) 371-3092

 

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)

larep052@legis.state.la.us

(985) 876-8823

 

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)

larep012@legis.state.la.us

(318) 251-5039

 

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)

edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

(985) 748-2245

 

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)

ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

(318) 435-7313

 

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)

larep013@legis.state.la.us

(318) 259-6620

 

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)

foilf@legis.state.la.us

(225) 342-6777

 

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)

franklina@legis.state.la.us

(337) 491-2320

 

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)

larep011@legis.state.la.us

(318) 251-5019

 

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)

larep035@legis.state.la.us

(337) 491-2315

 

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)

gisclait@legis.state.la.us

(985) 798-7707

 

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)

larep066@legis.state.la.us

(225) 275-8064

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

(337) 943-2457

 

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)

larep041@legis.state.la.us

(337) 457-0194

 

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)

guinnj@legis.state.la.us

(337) 824-0376

 

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)

hardyr@legis.state.la.us

(337) 262-2598

 

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)

harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

(800) 935-2081

 

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

(318) 767-6082

 

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)

hendersr@legis.state.la.us

(504) 278-6599

 

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)

henryc@legis.state.la.us

(504) 736-7135

 

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)

hilld@legis.state.la.us

(800) 259-2118

 

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)

hinesw@legis.state.la.us

(504) 756-4675

 

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)

hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

(318) 362-4130

 

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)

ahoney@legis.state.la.us

(225) 771-5674

 

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

(318) 256-4135

 

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)

larep104@legis.state.la.us

(504) 361-6684

 

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)

jacksong@legis.state.la.us

(504) 361-6972

 

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)

larep061@legis.state.la.us

(225) 342-0774

 

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)

johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

(318) 253-8891

 

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)

jonesr@legis.state.la.us

(318) 362-5476

 

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)

joness@legis.state.la.us

(337) 828-7778

 

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)

larep016@legis.state.la.us

(318) 340-0800

 

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)

larep036@legis.state.la.us

(337) 475-3016

 

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)

larep081@legis.state.la.us

(504) 833-7788

 

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)

larep096@legis.state.la.us

(504) 282-0265

 

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)

larep059@legis.state.la.us

(225) 644-4947

 

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)

lebasb@legis.state.la.us

(337) 363-0152

 

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)

legerw@legis.state.la.us

(504) 556-9970

 

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)

ligit@legis.state.la.us

(504) 456-3173

 

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)

littles@legis.state.la.us

(318) 556-7026

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

(504) 456-3806

 

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

(504) 483-4711

 

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)

larep099@legis.state.la.us

(504) 942-7835

 

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)

larep062@legis.state.la.us

(225) 634-7470

 

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)

larep046@legis.state.la.us

(337) 845-4240

 

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)

monican@legis.state.la.us

(985) 652-1228

 

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)

montoucj@legis.state.la.us

(337) 783-2999

 

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)

larep097@legis.state.la.us

(504) 284-4794

 

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)

larep001@legis.state.la.us

(318) 995-6852

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

(318) 632-5887

 

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)

nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

(318) 357-7048

 

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)

pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

(985) 646-6487

 

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)

perryj@legis.state.la.us

(337) 893-5035

 

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)

larep093@legis.state.la.us

(504) 568-8346

 

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)

pontie@legis.state.la.us

(225) 362-5301

 

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)

poper@legis.state.la.us

(225) 667-3588

 

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)

pughs@legis.state.la.us

(985) 386-7844

 

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)

richardj@legis.state.la.us

(985) 447-0999

 

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)

richardc@legis.state.la.us

(225) 261-5739

 

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)

larep101@legis.state.la.us

(504) 242-4198

 

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)

larep075@legis.state.la.us

(985) 730-2147

 

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)

larep045@legis.state.la.us

(337) 984-1091

 

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)

royc@legis.state.la.us

(318) 767-6095

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

(985) 893-6262

 

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)

simons@legis.state.la.us

(985) 893-6246

 

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)

larep088@legis.state.la.us

(225) 698-9694

 

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)

larep008@legis.state.la.us

(318) 741-2825

 

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

(985) 764-9122

 

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)

smithp@legis.state.la.us

(225) 342-7106

 

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)

larep060@legis.state.la.us

(225) 687-2410

 

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)

talbotk@legis.state.la.us

(504) 736-7299

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

(504) 361-6013

 

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)

larep031@legis.state.la.us

(337) 984-0175

 

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)

larep005@legis.state.la.us

(318) 219-9000

 

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)

larep064@legis.state.la.us

(225) 791-2199 or (800) 408-9764

 

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)

larep004@legis.state.la.us

(318) 676-5990

 

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)

willmott@legis.state.la.us

(504) 465-3479

 

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us

(504) 393-5649

 

TRENDING NOW
Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

On Thursday, the NRA-supported case Peruta v. California took an important step towards restoring the right to bear arms in California.  The plaintiffs in the case, California gun owners and the California Rifle and Pistol ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

America lost a civil rights icon and a true free thinker with the death of Roy Innis on Jan. 8. For the NRA, his departure was personal. Mr. Innis served on the NRA’s Board of ...

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

The FBI released its Preliminary Semiannual Uniform Crime Report earlier this week and the bad news is that violent crime increased for the second consecutive year.

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

News  

Hunting  

Monday, January 9, 2017

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Congressmen Jeff Duncan (SC) and John Carter (TX-31) on Monday for introducing the Hearing Protection Act, an important bill that gives gun owners and sportsmen ...

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

On January 10 and 11, the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee held the confirmation hearing for President-elect Donald Trump’s nominee for United States Attorney General, Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.). Throughout his distinguished career in public service, ...

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tomorrow, January 18, the Senate Courts of Justice is expected to hear and possibly vote on several firearm-related bills.

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

In 2013, the Kansas Legislature passed the Public Building Security Act, pro-gun legislation that amended the Personal and Family Protection Act. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.