Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: Your Voice Can Make the Difference in Protecting Our Rights!

Friday, June 6, 2008

Last week, the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee passed NRA-backed Senate Bill 51.  SB 51 would protect your right to lawfully transport and store firearms in your locked motor vehicle while parked in unsecured, public access parking lots controlled by your employer or a business you frequent.  The bill now moves to the House floor for consideration.  It’s simple: if your employer or business can ban firearms from the parking lot, your right to self-defense during your drive to and from work or while running errands each day is gone. Your State Representative needs to hear from you TODAY!  It is important that you ask your State Representative to support this critical measure, while opposing any gutting amendments to the bill.

Also, State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) has said that he will bring House Bill 199 back up for a vote by the full House of Representatives in the near future.  HB199 would allow Louisiana's concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and eliminate "gun-free zones" for permittees. 

Please continue to contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge and respectfully urge him or her to support both SB51 and HB199.  You can contact your State Representative at 225-342-6945 or by email, which is listed below.

(Note: We suggest sending SEPARATE emails on SB51 and HB199 to your State Representatives, so as not to confuse the two issues.)

Members of the House of Representatives:

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House
larep086@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)
abramson@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)
larep021@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)
armesj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)
larep102@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)
auberte@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)
larep100@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)
badonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)
larep053@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)
barrast@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)
larep029@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)
billiotr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)
burfordr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)
burnsh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)
larep089@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)
larep002@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)
carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)
carters@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)
champags@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)
larep022@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)
chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)
connickp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)
cortezp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)
cromerg@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)
danahaym@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)
dixonh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)
larep010@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)
larep052@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)
larep012@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)
edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)
ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)
larep013@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)
foilf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)
franklina@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)
larep011@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)
larep035@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)
gisclait@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)
larep066@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)
larep040@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)
larep041@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)
guinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)
hardyr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)
harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)
hazelc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)
hendersr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)
henryc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)
hilld@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)
hinesw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)
hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)
ahoney@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)
howardf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)
larep104@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)
jacksong@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)
larep061@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)
johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)
jonesr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)
joness@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)
larep016@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)
larep036@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)
larep081@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)
larep096@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)
larep059@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)
lebasb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)
legerw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)
ligit@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)
littles@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)
lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)
larep094@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)|
larep099@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)
larep062@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)
larep046@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)
monican@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)
montoucj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)
larep097@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)
larep001@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)
nortonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)
nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)
pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)
perryj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)
larep093@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)
pontie@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)
poper@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)
pughs@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)
richardj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)
richardc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)
larep101@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)
larep075@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)
larep045@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)
royc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)
schrodej@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)
simons@legis.state.la.us

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)
larep088@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)
larep008@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)
larep56@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)
smithp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)
larep060@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)
talbotk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)
templetr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)
larep031@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)
larep005@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)
larep064@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)
larep004@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)
willmott@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)
larep105@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Just months after pushing for the passage of Initiative 1639 to impose severe regulations on purchasing and possessing semi-automatic firearms, Attorney General Bob Ferguson has now introduced legislation that would outright ban commonly owned semi-automatic ...

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

Pittsburgh City Council member Corey O’Connor wants local residents to relinquish important aspects of their Second Amendment rights. If they refuse, he would have it cost them their liberty and treasure. But O’Connor himself apparently ...

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

On January 8, two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called "universal" background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

Who Are the Real Extremists?

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Who Are the Real Extremists?

NRA is often vilified by the gun-ban community and its supporters in the mainstream, legacy media as an “extremist” organization because of its steadfast defense of our Right to Keep and Bear Arms. A simple ...

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

Thursday, January 17, 2019

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

In her opening day speech to state lawmakers, New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham called on them to pass various gun control proposals that she supported on the campaign trail and which have been filed in the ...

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Anti-gun bills will be heard on January 21st at 10:00AM by the Washington state Senate Committee on Law & Justice and by the House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary on January 22nd at 10:00AM.

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Today, Governor J.B. Pritzker signed Senate Bill 337 into law.  Passed by the previous legislature in 2018, SB 337 will establish a firearm registry and shut down your local gun stores with government red tape.  Senate ...

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

Virginia: Bills Defeated in Committee

Friday, January 18, 2019

Virginia: Bills Defeated in Committee

This week, the Virginia Senate Committee on Courts of Justice and the House Militia, Police and Public Safety Committee heard and voted to defeat many of Governor Ralph Northam’s requested gun control bills.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.