Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: Your Voice Can Make the Difference in Protecting Our Rights!

Friday, June 6, 2008

Last week, the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee passed NRA-backed Senate Bill 51.  SB 51 would protect your right to lawfully transport and store firearms in your locked motor vehicle while parked in unsecured, public access parking lots controlled by your employer or a business you frequent.  The bill now moves to the House floor for consideration.  It’s simple: if your employer or business can ban firearms from the parking lot, your right to self-defense during your drive to and from work or while running errands each day is gone. Your State Representative needs to hear from you TODAY!  It is important that you ask your State Representative to support this critical measure, while opposing any gutting amendments to the bill.

Also, State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) has said that he will bring House Bill 199 back up for a vote by the full House of Representatives in the near future.  HB199 would allow Louisiana's concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and eliminate "gun-free zones" for permittees. 

Please continue to contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge and respectfully urge him or her to support both SB51 and HB199.  You can contact your State Representative at 225-342-6945 or by email, which is listed below.

(Note: We suggest sending SEPARATE emails on SB51 and HB199 to your State Representatives, so as not to confuse the two issues.)

Members of the House of Representatives:

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House
larep086@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)
abramson@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)
larep021@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)
armesj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)
larep102@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)
auberte@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)
larep100@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)
badonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)
larep053@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)
barrast@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)
larep029@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)
billiotr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)
burfordr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)
burnsh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)
larep089@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)
larep002@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)
carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)
carters@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)
champags@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)
larep022@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)
chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)
connickp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)
cortezp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)
cromerg@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)
danahaym@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)
dixonh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)
larep010@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)
larep052@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)
larep012@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)
edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)
ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)
larep013@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)
foilf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)
franklina@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)
larep011@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)
larep035@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)
gisclait@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)
larep066@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)
larep040@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)
larep041@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)
guinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)
hardyr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)
harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)
hazelc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)
hendersr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)
henryc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)
hilld@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)
hinesw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)
hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)
ahoney@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)
howardf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)
larep104@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)
jacksong@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)
larep061@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)
johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)
jonesr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)
joness@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)
larep016@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)
larep036@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)
larep081@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)
larep096@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)
larep059@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)
lebasb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)
legerw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)
ligit@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)
littles@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)
lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)
larep094@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)|
larep099@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)
larep062@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)
larep046@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)
monican@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)
montoucj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)
larep097@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)
larep001@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)
nortonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)
nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)
pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)
perryj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)
larep093@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)
pontie@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)
poper@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)
pughs@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)
richardj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)
richardc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)
larep101@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)
larep075@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)
larep045@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)
royc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)
schrodej@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)
simons@legis.state.la.us

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)
larep088@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)
larep008@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)
larep56@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)
smithp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)
larep060@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)
talbotk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)
templetr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)
larep031@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)
larep005@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)
larep064@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)
larep004@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)
willmott@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)
larep105@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

Back when Mark Glaze was executive director of Michael Bloomberg’s Mayors Against Illegal Guns, and later Everytown for Gun Safety, he went to great lengths to portray his master’s anti-gun positions as moderate. Glaze used ...

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

On July 17, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit confirmed that law enforcement officials in New York acted unlawfully with respect to guns confiscated from a Nassau County woman in 2012.  

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

A group of Maryland citizens, with the support of the National Rifle Association, filed a petition to the United States Supreme Court on Friday seeking to reverse a Court of Appeals ruling that stripped some of America’s most ...

The Need for National Reciprocity

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Need for National Reciprocity

A report from the Crime Prevention Research Center estimates that the number of concealed carry permits issued last year was the largest increase ever – continuing a four year trend of record setting increases in ...

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

Numbers don’t lie. But gun control groups and the news media do. That explains why so many accounts of last Friday’s so-called Women’s March From #NRA2DOJ bear no resemblance to the event those of us ...

Home Alone in Washington State

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Home Alone in Washington State

Back in 2013, when Washington State’s anti-gun groups rolled out Initiative 594, they promised voters this “universal background check” law would save lives by keeping “firearms out of dangerous hands” because private gun sales would ...

When Gun Control Fails

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

When Gun Control Fails

Gun control is pushed as a strategy to keep Americans safe in their homes, schools and workplaces. It is presented as the key component in safer streets, neighborhoods and families. But what happens when gun ...

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

News  

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

Muscatine County, Iowa, is home to about 40,000 people, and like too many places around the country, gun owners there have no public range where they can practice or compete safely. That may be changing, ...

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

News  

Second Amendment  

Thursday, July 20, 2017

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

The safety record of America’s gun owners is nothing short of stunning. 

California:  "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Friday, July 21, 2017

California: "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Today, July 21, the California Department of Justice (“DOJ”), without warning or any notification,  submitted another set of proposed regulations for the registration of newly classified “assault weapons” to the Office of Administrative Law.  As ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.