Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: Your Voice Can Make the Difference in Protecting Our Rights!

Friday, June 6, 2008

Last week, the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee passed NRA-backed Senate Bill 51.  SB 51 would protect your right to lawfully transport and store firearms in your locked motor vehicle while parked in unsecured, public access parking lots controlled by your employer or a business you frequent.  The bill now moves to the House floor for consideration.  It’s simple: if your employer or business can ban firearms from the parking lot, your right to self-defense during your drive to and from work or while running errands each day is gone. Your State Representative needs to hear from you TODAY!  It is important that you ask your State Representative to support this critical measure, while opposing any gutting amendments to the bill.

Also, State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) has said that he will bring House Bill 199 back up for a vote by the full House of Representatives in the near future.  HB199 would allow Louisiana's concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and eliminate "gun-free zones" for permittees. 

Please continue to contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge and respectfully urge him or her to support both SB51 and HB199.  You can contact your State Representative at 225-342-6945 or by email, which is listed below.

(Note: We suggest sending SEPARATE emails on SB51 and HB199 to your State Representatives, so as not to confuse the two issues.)

Members of the House of Representatives:

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House
larep086@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)
abramson@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)
larep021@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)
armesj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)
larep102@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)
auberte@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)
larep100@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)
badonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)
larep053@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)
barrast@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)
larep029@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)
billiotr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)
burfordr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)
burnsh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)
larep089@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)
larep002@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)
carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)
carters@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)
champags@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)
larep022@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)
chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)
connickp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)
cortezp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)
cromerg@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)
danahaym@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)
dixonh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)
larep010@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)
larep052@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)
larep012@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)
edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)
ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)
larep013@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)
foilf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)
franklina@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)
larep011@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)
larep035@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)
gisclait@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)
larep066@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)
larep040@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)
larep041@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)
guinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)
hardyr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)
harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)
hazelc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)
hendersr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)
henryc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)
hilld@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)
hinesw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)
hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)
ahoney@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)
howardf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)
larep104@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)
jacksong@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)
larep061@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)
johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)
jonesr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)
joness@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)
larep016@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)
larep036@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)
larep081@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)
larep096@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)
larep059@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)
lebasb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)
legerw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)
ligit@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)
littles@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)
lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)
larep094@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)|
larep099@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)
larep062@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)
larep046@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)
monican@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)
montoucj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)
larep097@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)
larep001@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)
nortonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)
nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)
pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)
perryj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)
larep093@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)
pontie@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)
poper@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)
pughs@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)
richardj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)
richardc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)
larep101@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)
larep075@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)
larep045@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)
royc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)
schrodej@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)
simons@legis.state.la.us

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)
larep088@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)
larep008@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)
larep56@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)
smithp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)
larep060@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)
talbotk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)
templetr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)
larep031@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)
larep005@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)
larep064@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)
larep004@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)
willmott@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)
larep105@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

News  

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

While Congressional elections will likely get the lion’s share of media coverage leading up to November 6, gun owners know that threats to our Right to Keep and Bear Arms do not only emanate from ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.