Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Strong Week for Louisiana’s Gun Owners in Baton Rouge!

Friday, May 23, 2008

More Help Needed From YOU as Session Enters Home Stretch!

On Wednesday, May 21, the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee soundly defeated House Bill 68 by a 12 to 1 vote.  Introduced by State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-New Orleans), HB68 would have banned commonly used pump-actions as well as semi-automatics, and millions more firearms than the Clinton "assault weapons" ban of 1994-2004. Mayor Ray Nagin, architect of the New Orleans’ gun confiscation policy after Hurricane Katrina, proved once again that he opposes the rights of law-abiding gun owners by making a special trip to Baton Rouge to testify in favor of the bill. 

Members of the committee who voted to “involuntarily defer” HB68, thus stopping it for this session are:

Chairman Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)
Vice-Chair Damon Baldone (D-Houma)
State Representative Bodi White (R-Denham Springs)

State Representative Joseph Lopinto (R-Metairie)
State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)
State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)
State Representative Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)
State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)
State Representative Nick Lorusso (R-New Orleans)
State Representative Frankie Howard (R-Many)
State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)
State Representative Gary Smith (D-Norco)

Please email these committee members (email addresses listed below) a note of thanks for their vote against HB68.

Finally, State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) will bring House Bill 199 back up for a vote by the full House of Representatives sometime early next week (the Legislature will not meet on Monday due to the Memorial Day holiday).  HB199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge TODAY and respectfully urge him or her to support the right of law-abiding concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves in this responsible manner.  You can contact your State Representative at (225) 342-6945 and by email from the list below.

(Note: We suggest sending SEPARATE emails on SB51 and HB199 to your State Representatives, so as not to confuse the two issues.)

House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee:

 

Chairman Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us 

 

Vice-Chairman Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frankie Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.l.aus

 

State Representative Nick Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gary Smith (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bodi White (R-Denham Springs) 

larep064@legis.state.la.us

 

 

State Representatives:

 

 

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House

larep086@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)

abramson@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)

larep021@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)

armesj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)

larep102@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)

auberte@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)

larep100@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)

badonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)

barrast@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)

larep029@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)

billiotr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)

burfordr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)

burnsh@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)

larep089@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)

larep002@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)

carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)

carters@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)

champags@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)

larep022@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)

chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)

connickp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)

cortezp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)

cromerg@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)

danahaym@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)

dixonh@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)

larep010@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)

larep052@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)

larep012@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)

edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)

ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)

larep013@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)

foilf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)

franklina@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)

larep011@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)

larep035@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)

gisclait@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)

larep066@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)

larep041@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)

guinnj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)

hardyr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)

harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)

hendersr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)

henryc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)

hilld@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)

hinesw@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)

hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)

ahoney@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)

larep104@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)

jacksong@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)

larep061@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)

johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)

jonesr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)

joness@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)

larep016@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)

larep036@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)

larep081@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)

larep096@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)

larep059@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)

lebasb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)

legerw@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)

ligit@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)

littles@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)

larep099@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)

larep062@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)

larep046@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)

monican@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)

montoucj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)

larep097@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)

larep001@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)

nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)

pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)

perryj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)

larep093@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)

pontie@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)

poper@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)

pughs@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)

richardj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)

richardc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)

larep101@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)

larep075@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)

larep045@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)

royc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)

simons@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)

larep088@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)

larep008@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)

smithp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)

larep060@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)

talbotk@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)

larep031@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)

larep005@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)

larep064@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)

larep004@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)

willmott@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us

 

TRENDING NOW
California: DOJ Issues “Notice of Modification” to Proposed Ammunition Background Check Regulations

Thursday, April 18, 2019

California: DOJ Issues “Notice of Modification” to Proposed Ammunition Background Check Regulations

Today, the California Department of Justice issued a “Notice of Modification” to their proposed regulations regarding the soon to be implemented ammunition background check procedures. As a result of these changes, a second 15-day public ...

Heeee’s Baaack: Bill Clinton Peddles Gun Control on a Wish and a Lie

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

Heeee’s Baaack: Bill Clinton Peddles Gun Control on a Wish and a Lie

Proving there is no statute of limitations on political opportunism, this week former President Bill Clinton used the occasion of the twentieth anniversary of the tragic school shooting in Littleton, Colo. to pen an op-ed pushing ...

Maine: Firearm Seizure Bill Heads To Judiciary Committee

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Maine: Firearm Seizure Bill Heads To Judiciary Committee

On April 22nd, the Maine Judiciary Committee will hold a hearing on Legislative Document 1312, which would allow for firearms to be seized and Second Amendment rights to be suspended without due process. 

New York Times Admits Privately-Funded “Gun Violence” Research is a Thing

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

New York Times Admits Privately-Funded “Gun Violence” Research is a Thing

The New York Times – the “paper of record” – reports that “Gun Research is Suddenly Hot.” While we’re happy to see the Times has finally acknowledged that “gun research” can survive federal restrictions on taxpayer funded gun control ...

Media Continues to Cause Distorted Fear of School Violence

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

Media Continues to Cause Distorted Fear of School Violence

When it comes to the wellbeing of today’s youth, one would think that all could agree that provoking unnecessary fear should be avoided. That apparently is not the case, however, when it comes to pushing ...

California: Legislature Returns from Spring Break

Sunday, April 21, 2019

California: Legislature Returns from Spring Break

The California Legislature returns from spring recess this week and seven different committees are considering bills that could impact your rights. 

Pittsburgh Residents Seek Preliminary Injunction Against Ban on Standard Capacity Magazines

News  

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Pittsburgh Residents Seek Preliminary Injunction Against Ban on Standard Capacity Magazines

With support from the NRA, gun owners challenging Pittsburgh’s ban on publicly carrying loaded magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds filed a motion today seeking a preliminary injunction. If the motion is granted, ...

Texas: House Passes Evacuation Carry Bill

Thursday, April 18, 2019

Texas: House Passes Evacuation Carry Bill

On Thursday, the Texas House gave final approval to House Bill 1177 by a vote of 102-29.

Indiana: Important Self-Defense Bill Passes Legislature, On to Governor

Monday, April 22, 2019

Indiana: Important Self-Defense Bill Passes Legislature, On to Governor

On April 22nd, both chambers of the Indiana General Assembly voted to concur with the amendments made to House Bill 1284 during the conference committee process.  HB 1284 has been amended to now include many ...

NRA Statement on New York City's Desperate Attempt to Avoid Supreme Court Review

News  

Friday, April 12, 2019

NRA Statement on New York City's Desperate Attempt to Avoid Supreme Court Review

NRA reacts to New York City's attempt to avoid having the NRA-supported Supreme Court case N.Y. State Rifle & Pistol Association, et al. v. City of N.Y., et al heard in DC. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.