Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Strong Week for Louisiana’s Gun Owners in Baton Rouge!

Friday, May 23, 2008

More Help Needed From YOU as Session Enters Home Stretch!

On Wednesday, May 21, the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee soundly defeated House Bill 68 by a 12 to 1 vote.  Introduced by State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-New Orleans), HB68 would have banned commonly used pump-actions as well as semi-automatics, and millions more firearms than the Clinton "assault weapons" ban of 1994-2004. Mayor Ray Nagin, architect of the New Orleans’ gun confiscation policy after Hurricane Katrina, proved once again that he opposes the rights of law-abiding gun owners by making a special trip to Baton Rouge to testify in favor of the bill. 

Members of the committee who voted to “involuntarily defer” HB68, thus stopping it for this session are:

Chairman Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)
Vice-Chair Damon Baldone (D-Houma)
State Representative Bodi White (R-Denham Springs)

State Representative Joseph Lopinto (R-Metairie)
State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)
State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)
State Representative Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)
State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)
State Representative Nick Lorusso (R-New Orleans)
State Representative Frankie Howard (R-Many)
State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)
State Representative Gary Smith (D-Norco)

Please email these committee members (email addresses listed below) a note of thanks for their vote against HB68.

Finally, State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) will bring House Bill 199 back up for a vote by the full House of Representatives sometime early next week (the Legislature will not meet on Monday due to the Memorial Day holiday).  HB199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge TODAY and respectfully urge him or her to support the right of law-abiding concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves in this responsible manner.  You can contact your State Representative at (225) 342-6945 and by email from the list below.

(Note: We suggest sending SEPARATE emails on SB51 and HB199 to your State Representatives, so as not to confuse the two issues.)

House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee:

 

Chairman Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us 

 

Vice-Chairman Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frankie Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.l.aus

 

State Representative Nick Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gary Smith (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bodi White (R-Denham Springs) 

larep064@legis.state.la.us

 

 

State Representatives:

 

 

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House

larep086@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)

abramson@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)

larep021@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)

armesj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)

larep102@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)

auberte@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)

larep100@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)

badonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)

barrast@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)

larep029@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)

billiotr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)

burfordr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)

burnsh@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)

larep089@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)

larep002@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)

carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)

carters@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)

champags@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)

larep022@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)

chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)

connickp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)

cortezp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)

cromerg@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)

danahaym@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)

dixonh@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)

larep010@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)

larep052@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)

larep012@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)

edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)

ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)

larep013@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)

foilf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)

franklina@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)

larep011@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)

larep035@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)

gisclait@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)

larep066@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)

larep041@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)

guinnj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)

hardyr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)

harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)

hendersr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)

henryc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)

hilld@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)

hinesw@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)

hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)

ahoney@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)

larep104@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)

jacksong@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)

larep061@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)

johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)

jonesr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)

joness@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)

larep016@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)

larep036@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)

larep081@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)

larep096@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)

larep059@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)

lebasb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)

legerw@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)

ligit@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)

littles@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)

larep099@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)

larep062@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)

larep046@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)

monican@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)

montoucj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)

larep097@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)

larep001@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)

nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)

pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)

perryj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)

larep093@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)

pontie@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)

poper@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)

pughs@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)

richardj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)

richardc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)

larep101@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)

larep075@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)

larep045@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)

royc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)

simons@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)

larep088@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)

larep008@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)

smithp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)

larep060@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)

talbotk@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)

larep031@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)

larep005@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)

larep064@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)

larep004@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)

willmott@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us

 

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Florida Urgent Alert! Self-defense Bill up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 1/24/2017

A critical self-defense bill will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, between 2:00-4:00pm.  SB-128 Burden of Proof by Senator Rob Bradley restores the presumption of innocence in self-defense cases ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.