Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Strong Week for Louisiana’s Gun Owners in Baton Rouge!

Friday, May 23, 2008

More Help Needed From YOU as Session Enters Home Stretch!

On Wednesday, May 21, the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee soundly defeated House Bill 68 by a 12 to 1 vote.  Introduced by State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-New Orleans), HB68 would have banned commonly used pump-actions as well as semi-automatics, and millions more firearms than the Clinton "assault weapons" ban of 1994-2004. Mayor Ray Nagin, architect of the New Orleans’ gun confiscation policy after Hurricane Katrina, proved once again that he opposes the rights of law-abiding gun owners by making a special trip to Baton Rouge to testify in favor of the bill. 

Members of the committee who voted to “involuntarily defer” HB68, thus stopping it for this session are:

Chairman Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)
Vice-Chair Damon Baldone (D-Houma)
State Representative Bodi White (R-Denham Springs)

State Representative Joseph Lopinto (R-Metairie)
State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)
State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)
State Representative Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)
State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)
State Representative Nick Lorusso (R-New Orleans)
State Representative Frankie Howard (R-Many)
State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)
State Representative Gary Smith (D-Norco)

Please email these committee members (email addresses listed below) a note of thanks for their vote against HB68.

Finally, State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) will bring House Bill 199 back up for a vote by the full House of Representatives sometime early next week (the Legislature will not meet on Monday due to the Memorial Day holiday).  HB199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge TODAY and respectfully urge him or her to support the right of law-abiding concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves in this responsible manner.  You can contact your State Representative at (225) 342-6945 and by email from the list below.

(Note: We suggest sending SEPARATE emails on SB51 and HB199 to your State Representatives, so as not to confuse the two issues.)

House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee:

 

Chairman Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us 

 

Vice-Chairman Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frankie Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.l.aus

 

State Representative Nick Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gary Smith (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bodi White (R-Denham Springs) 

larep064@legis.state.la.us

 

 

State Representatives:

 

 

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House

larep086@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)

abramson@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)

larep021@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)

armesj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)

larep102@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)

auberte@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)

larep100@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)

badonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)

barrast@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)

larep029@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)

billiotr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)

burfordr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)

burnsh@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)

larep089@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)

larep002@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)

carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)

carters@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)

champags@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)

larep022@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)

chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)

connickp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)

cortezp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)

cromerg@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)

danahaym@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)

dixonh@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)

larep010@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)

larep052@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)

larep012@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)

edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)

ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)

larep013@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)

foilf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)

franklina@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)

larep011@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)

larep035@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)

gisclait@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)

larep066@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)

larep041@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)

guinnj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)

hardyr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)

harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)

hendersr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)

henryc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)

hilld@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)

hinesw@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)

hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)

ahoney@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)

larep104@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)

jacksong@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)

larep061@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)

johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)

jonesr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)

joness@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)

larep016@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)

larep036@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)

larep081@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)

larep096@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)

larep059@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)

lebasb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)

legerw@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)

ligit@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)

littles@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)

larep099@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)

larep062@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)

larep046@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)

monican@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)

montoucj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)

larep097@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)

larep001@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)

nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)

pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)

perryj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)

larep093@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)

pontie@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)

poper@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)

pughs@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)

richardj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)

richardc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)

larep101@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)

larep075@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)

larep045@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)

royc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)

simons@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)

larep088@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)

larep008@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)

smithp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)

larep060@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)

talbotk@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)

larep031@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)

larep005@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)

larep064@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)

larep004@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)

willmott@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us

 

TRENDING NOW
Bloomberg Dismisses Texas Hero, Insists It Wasn’t His “Job” to Have a Gun or Decide to Shoot

News  

Monday, January 6, 2020

Bloomberg Dismisses Texas Hero, Insists It Wasn’t His “Job” to Have a Gun or Decide to Shoot

Jack Wilson – a 71-year-old congregant of the West Freeway Church of Christ in White Settlement, Tex. – is a hero to most Americans. When a deranged man savagely murdered two of Mr. Wilson’s fellow ...

New Hampshire: Bill to Shut Down Shooting Ranges Set for Committee Hearing

Thursday, January 16, 2020

New Hampshire: Bill to Shut Down Shooting Ranges Set for Committee Hearing

On January 23rd, the New Hampshire Senate Judiciary Committee will hold a public hearing on Senate Bill 469, sponsored by Senator Jeanne Dietsch (D – District 9), at 10:00 AM in Room 100 of the State ...

Sorry Shannon, But Those “Random Civilians” Are What Are Known As NRA Members

News  

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Sorry Shannon, But Those “Random Civilians” Are What Are Known As NRA Members

We were well aware that after New York billionaire Michael Bloomberg spent a cool $2.5 million on his latest acquisition, majority control of the Virginia General Assembly, law-abiding gun owners in The Old Dominion would see an onslaught of legislation ...

Virginia Senate Passes Three Gun Control Bills - Committee Advances a Fourth

News  

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Virginia Senate Passes Three Gun Control Bills - Committee Advances a Fourth

Last week, the Virginia Senate Judiciary Committee sent four gun control bills to the full chamber. The measures included an attack on the state firearms preemption statute and Right-to-Carry permit holders (SB35), a one-handgun-a-month bill ...

State of Ignorance: California Pushes False Information to School Kids on the Second Amendment

News  

Sunday, January 19, 2020

State of Ignorance: California Pushes False Information to School Kids on the Second Amendment

As an incorporated provision of the United States Bill of Rights, the Second Amendment is the supreme law of the land, applying to all U.S. jurisdictions and to the actions of federal, state, and local ...

Washington: Upcoming Hearings On Gun Bills This Week

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Washington: Upcoming Hearings On Gun Bills This Week

As previously announced, the Washington State Legislature will be hosting committee hearings next week on over a dozen Second Amendment related bills. Please see below for the latest information on the committee hearing agendas, including ...

Missouri: Gun Bills Filed for 2020 Session

Friday, January 10, 2020

Missouri: Gun Bills Filed for 2020 Session

With the 2020 Missouri legislative session starting, legislators have filed pro-gun and anti-gun legislation. See below for information on some of the bills that have been introduced to date. Your NRA-ILA will keep you informed of ...

Virginia Gov. Northam Wants Millions in Tax Money to Ban Guns and Jail Gun Owners!

News  

Monday, January 6, 2020

Virginia Gov. Northam Wants Millions in Tax Money to Ban Guns and Jail Gun Owners!

In recent weeks NRA-ILA informed Virginia gun owners about gun control funding included in the state budget bill. The budget legislation, HB30, included a $250,000 appropriation to the Corrections Special Reserve Fund in order to provide for the ...

Los Angeles Backs Down, Repeals Controversial Ordinance Targeting NRA

News  

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Los Angeles Backs Down, Repeals Controversial Ordinance Targeting NRA

FAIRFAX, Va. — The Los Angeles City Council today voted to formally repeal a controversial city ordinance requiring contractors seeking to do business with the city to disclose ties to the National Rifle Association (NRA). The ...

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Alert! Florida REPUBLICAN Senators Vote for Massive Gun Control Bill

On Monday, 1/13/20, it happened again.  Senate President Bill Galvano picked a fight with Floridians who believe in the constitutional Right to Keep and Bear Arms. It is well known -- even by the media ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.