Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Strong Week for Louisiana’s Gun Owners in Baton Rouge!

Friday, May 23, 2008

More Help Needed From YOU as Session Enters Home Stretch!

On Wednesday, May 21, the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee soundly defeated House Bill 68 by a 12 to 1 vote.  Introduced by State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-New Orleans), HB68 would have banned commonly used pump-actions as well as semi-automatics, and millions more firearms than the Clinton "assault weapons" ban of 1994-2004. Mayor Ray Nagin, architect of the New Orleans’ gun confiscation policy after Hurricane Katrina, proved once again that he opposes the rights of law-abiding gun owners by making a special trip to Baton Rouge to testify in favor of the bill. 

Members of the committee who voted to “involuntarily defer” HB68, thus stopping it for this session are:

Chairman Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)
Vice-Chair Damon Baldone (D-Houma)
State Representative Bodi White (R-Denham Springs)

State Representative Joseph Lopinto (R-Metairie)
State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)
State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)
State Representative Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)
State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)
State Representative Nick Lorusso (R-New Orleans)
State Representative Frankie Howard (R-Many)
State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)
State Representative Gary Smith (D-Norco)

Please email these committee members (email addresses listed below) a note of thanks for their vote against HB68.

Finally, State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) will bring House Bill 199 back up for a vote by the full House of Representatives sometime early next week (the Legislature will not meet on Monday due to the Memorial Day holiday).  HB199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge TODAY and respectfully urge him or her to support the right of law-abiding concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves in this responsible manner.  You can contact your State Representative at (225) 342-6945 and by email from the list below.

(Note: We suggest sending SEPARATE emails on SB51 and HB199 to your State Representatives, so as not to confuse the two issues.)

House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee:

 

Chairman Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us 

 

Vice-Chairman Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frankie Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.l.aus

 

State Representative Nick Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gary Smith (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bodi White (R-Denham Springs) 

larep064@legis.state.la.us

 

 

State Representatives:

 

 

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House

larep086@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)

abramson@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)

larep021@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)

armesj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)

larep102@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)

auberte@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)

larep100@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)

badonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)

barrast@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)

larep029@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)

billiotr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)

burfordr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)

burnsh@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)

larep089@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)

larep002@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)

carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)

carters@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)

champags@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)

larep022@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)

chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)

connickp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)

cortezp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)

cromerg@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)

danahaym@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)

dixonh@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)

larep010@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)

larep052@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)

larep012@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)

edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)

ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)

larep013@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)

foilf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)

franklina@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)

larep011@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)

larep035@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)

gisclait@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)

larep066@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)

larep041@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)

guinnj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)

hardyr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)

harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)

hendersr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)

henryc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)

hilld@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)

hinesw@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)

hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)

ahoney@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)

larep104@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)

jacksong@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)

larep061@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)

johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)

jonesr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)

joness@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)

larep016@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)

larep036@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)

larep081@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)

larep096@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)

larep059@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)

lebasb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)

legerw@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)

ligit@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)

littles@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)

larep099@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)

larep062@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)

larep046@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)

monican@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)

montoucj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)

larep097@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)

larep001@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)

nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)

pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)

perryj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)

larep093@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)

pontie@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)

poper@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)

pughs@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)

richardj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)

richardc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)

larep101@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)

larep075@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)

larep045@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)

royc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)

simons@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)

larep088@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)

larep008@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)

smithp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)

larep060@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)

talbotk@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)

larep031@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)

larep005@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)

larep064@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)

larep004@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)

willmott@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us

 

TRENDING NOW
Reuniting The United States With Reciprocity

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Reuniting The United States With Reciprocity

Most concealed-carry permit holders understand the potential pitfalls of traveling with a firearm, given the outrageous patchwork of state laws involved in even a short interstate trip. And while we haven’t posted much about reciprocity ...

Wall Street Journal/NBC News Poll Throws Wrench in Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Friday, September 8, 2017

Wall Street Journal/NBC News Poll Throws Wrench in Anti-gun Agenda

Demonstrating the importance of the gun issue to the American electorate, 35 percent of respondents reported that “gun rights or gun control” had an impact on their voting behavior. The issue was the highest-rated answer, ...

Anti-Gun Politicians: Blocking Out The Facts About Suppressors

Hunting  

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Anti-Gun Politicians: Blocking Out The Facts About Suppressors

As soon as the Hearing Protection Act was put forward on Jan. 9, 2017, leftists came out of the woodwork to criticize and misconstrue the goals of those who supported removing suppressors from the auspices ...

National Reciprocity Bill Nears Goal Line in the House but Needs Your Support to Reach the End Zone

News  

Friday, September 15, 2017

National Reciprocity Bill Nears Goal Line in the House but Needs Your Support to Reach the End Zone

Gun owners received good news this week with the passage of the SHARE Act by the U.S. House Committee on Natural Resources (see related story). Meanwhile, progress continued to be made on another NRA legislative ...

Bloomberg Spending Millions To Elect Anti-Gun Virginia Governor

News  

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Bloomberg Spending Millions To Elect Anti-Gun Virginia Governor

Billionaire anti-gunner Michael Bloomberg is at it again, pledging to spend $1 million through his gun control group Everytown for Gun Safety in an attempt to impact Virginia’s upcoming elections for governor and attorney general.

House Committee Passes SHARE Act by Wide Margin

Hunting  

News  

Friday, September 15, 2017

House Committee Passes SHARE Act by Wide Margin

As we have reported, this year’s version of the SHARE Act is the most expansive and far-reaching yet. Besides previously-introduced provisions aimed at enhancing opportunities for hunting, fishing, and shooting and broadening access to federal lands ...

Gun Control Lobby Seeks to Thwart SHARE Act with Hysteria, Fear Mongering

News  

Hunting  

Friday, September 22, 2017

Gun Control Lobby Seeks to Thwart SHARE Act with Hysteria, Fear Mongering

The panic is now starting to set in amongst the gun control lobby, which is desperately searching for ways to smear a bill that has been around for years in various forms without attracting much ...

Wisconsin: Constitutional Carry Passes Committee Vote

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Wisconsin: Constitutional Carry Passes Committee Vote

Today, Senate Bill 169 passed the Senate Judiciary Committee with a vote of 3-2.  SB 169 would allow for the concealed carry of a firearm without a concealed carry license anywhere in the state where ...

Urban Myth: Crime Doesn’t Pay – California City Authorizes Stipends to Gang Members

News  

Friday, September 15, 2017

Urban Myth: Crime Doesn’t Pay – California City Authorizes Stipends to Gang Members

In a special meeting on August 29, the nine-member City Council of Sacramento unanimously agreed to allocate $1.5 million in funding and to move forward with a “gun-violence reduction strategy” that will include cash payments ...

Washington Post Employs Deceptive Tactic on “Children” and Guns

News  

Friday, September 22, 2017

Washington Post Employs Deceptive Tactic on “Children” and Guns

The Washington Post has surpassed the Brady Campaign and Michael Bloomberg’s Everytown for Gun Safety to take a place alongside the New York Times as the premier anti-gun propagandists in the country.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.