Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Strong Week for Louisiana’s Gun Owners in Baton Rouge!

Friday, May 23, 2008

More Help Needed From YOU as Session Enters Home Stretch!

On Wednesday, May 21, the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee soundly defeated House Bill 68 by a 12 to 1 vote.  Introduced by State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-New Orleans), HB68 would have banned commonly used pump-actions as well as semi-automatics, and millions more firearms than the Clinton "assault weapons" ban of 1994-2004. Mayor Ray Nagin, architect of the New Orleans’ gun confiscation policy after Hurricane Katrina, proved once again that he opposes the rights of law-abiding gun owners by making a special trip to Baton Rouge to testify in favor of the bill. 

Members of the committee who voted to “involuntarily defer” HB68, thus stopping it for this session are:

Chairman Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)
Vice-Chair Damon Baldone (D-Houma)
State Representative Bodi White (R-Denham Springs)

State Representative Joseph Lopinto (R-Metairie)
State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)
State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)
State Representative Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)
State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)
State Representative Nick Lorusso (R-New Orleans)
State Representative Frankie Howard (R-Many)
State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)
State Representative Gary Smith (D-Norco)

Please email these committee members (email addresses listed below) a note of thanks for their vote against HB68.

Finally, State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) will bring House Bill 199 back up for a vote by the full House of Representatives sometime early next week (the Legislature will not meet on Monday due to the Memorial Day holiday).  HB199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge TODAY and respectfully urge him or her to support the right of law-abiding concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves in this responsible manner.  You can contact your State Representative at (225) 342-6945 and by email from the list below.

(Note: We suggest sending SEPARATE emails on SB51 and HB199 to your State Representatives, so as not to confuse the two issues.)

House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee:

 

Chairman Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us 

 

Vice-Chairman Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frankie Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.l.aus

 

State Representative Nick Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gary Smith (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bodi White (R-Denham Springs) 

larep064@legis.state.la.us

 

 

State Representatives:

 

 

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House

larep086@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)

abramson@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)

larep021@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)

armesj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)

larep102@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)

auberte@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)

larep100@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)

badonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)

barrast@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)

larep029@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)

billiotr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)

burfordr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)

burnsh@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)

larep089@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)

larep002@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)

carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)

carters@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)

champags@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)

larep022@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)

chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)

connickp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)

cortezp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)

cromerg@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)

danahaym@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)

dixonh@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)

larep010@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)

larep052@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)

larep012@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)

edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)

ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)

larep013@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)

foilf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)

franklina@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)

larep011@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)

larep035@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)

gisclait@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)

larep066@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)

larep041@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)

guinnj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)

hardyr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)

harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)

hendersr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)

henryc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)

hilld@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)

hinesw@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)

hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)

ahoney@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)

larep104@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)

jacksong@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)

larep061@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)

johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)

jonesr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)

joness@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)

larep016@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)

larep036@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)

larep081@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)

larep096@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)

larep059@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)

lebasb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)

legerw@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)

ligit@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)

littles@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)

lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)

larep099@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)

larep062@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)

larep046@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)

monican@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)

montoucj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)

larep097@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)

larep001@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)

nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)

pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)

perryj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)

larep093@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)

pontie@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)

poper@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)

pughs@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)

richardj@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)

richardc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)

larep101@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)

larep075@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)

larep045@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)

royc@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)

simons@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)

larep088@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)

larep008@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)

smithp@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)

larep060@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)

talbotk@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)

larep031@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)

larep005@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)

larep064@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)

larep004@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)

willmott@legis.state.la.us

 

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)

larep105@legis.state.la.us

 

TRENDING NOW
CMP Sales of 1911s One Step Closer With House Passage of 2018 NDAA

Friday, July 14, 2017

CMP Sales of 1911s One Step Closer With House Passage of 2018 NDAA

On Friday, the U.S. House of Representatives passed H.R. 2810, the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2018. Included in the bill is a provision that would make U.S. Army surplus 1911 .45 ACP ...

Court to Texas College Professors: Your Irrational Fear of Gun Owners Is Not Legally Addressable

News  

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Court to Texas College Professors: Your Irrational Fear of Gun Owners Is Not Legally Addressable

Last Thursday, a federal judge in Austin, Texas, dismissed a lawsuit by several professors who sought to block the University of Texas from implementing a state law that provides for the lawful carrying of concealed ...

California: Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Assembly Appropriations Committee on Wednesday, July 19

Monday, July 17, 2017

California: Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Assembly Appropriations Committee on Wednesday, July 19

On Wednesday, July 19, anti-gun bills SB 464 and SB 497 are scheduled to be heard in the Assembly Appropriations Committee at 9AM in State Capitol room 4202.  Assembly Bill 424 remains eligible for third ...

Gun Control Groups: Good at Gloating, Bad at Counting on Advancing National Reciprocity Effort

Friday, July 14, 2017

Gun Control Groups: Good at Gloating, Bad at Counting on Advancing National Reciprocity Effort

Apparently, Michael Bloomberg is good at counting money but not so good at counting votes. This week, Breitbart reported that Everytown for Gun Safety, Michael Bloomberg’s gun ban conglomerate, was claiming a “win” for congressional ...

Run, Hide, Perish – Survival Do’s and Don’ts from Across the Pond

News  

Friday, July 14, 2017

Run, Hide, Perish – Survival Do’s and Don’ts from Across the Pond

The United States Department of Homeland Security (DHS) advises persons at risk of harm from an active shooter to “Run, Hide, Fight” (in that order), recommending “fight” – incapacitating or “attempt[ing] to take the active ...

Commerce Subcommittee Chairman John Culberson Steers Pro-Gun Spending Bill to House Floor

Friday, July 14, 2017

Commerce Subcommittee Chairman John Culberson Steers Pro-Gun Spending Bill to House Floor

On Thursday, the House Committee on Appropriations approved the Fiscal Year 2018 Commerce, Justice, Science (CJS) Appropriations Bill, which funds various federal agencies, including the U.S. Department of Justice, for the next year. The bill ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

California: DOJ Releases Proposed Regulations Regarding Ammunition Vendor Licensing

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

California: DOJ Releases Proposed Regulations Regarding Ammunition Vendor Licensing

On Friday, July 14th, the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms (“DOJ”) claims to have released its anticipated proposed regulations for the issuance of ammunition vendor licenses.  Under the Administrative Procedure Act, a government ...

Massachusetts: Suppressor Legalization Legislation to be Heard by Committee

Friday, July 14, 2017

Massachusetts: Suppressor Legalization Legislation to be Heard by Committee

On Tuesday, July 18, the Massachusetts Joint Committee on the Judiciary is scheduled to consider both H.763 and H.789.  Please contact members of the Joint Committee on the Judiciary and urge them to support H.763 ...

California: Help Save Cordova Shooting Center

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

California: Help Save Cordova Shooting Center

Tomorrow, July 19, the Cordova Recreation and Park District (CRPD) Board of Directors are scheduled to vote on the future of the Cordova Shooting Center. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.