Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

"Motorists Protection Act" Moves to Senate Floor in Louisiana

Friday, April 25, 2008

Make Your Voice Heard Today! 

On Thursday, April 24, the Senate Committee on Transportation, Highways & Public Works unanimously reported out Senate Bill 51.   

SB 51, sponsored by State Senator Joe McPherson (D-Woodworth), would clarify that current state law allowing Louisianans the right to protect themselves and to possess lawfully owned firearms in their private motor vehicles would supercede policies adopted by business owners or employers prohibiting the transportation or storage of guns in locked cars and trucks parked in their parking lots.  Similar legislation has already passed in Mississippi, Georgia and Florida, and now your help is needed to pass it in Louisiana!  

The full Senate will consider the measure next week.  It is critical that you contact your State Senator today and respectfully urge him or her to support this important measure.  Please also contact the State Senators listed below and ask that they too support SB51.  To find contact information for your State Senator please click here. 

Please contact the following State Senators TODAY:

State Senator John Alario (D-8)
alarioj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jody Amedee (D-18)
amedeej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sharon Broome (D-15)
lasen15@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bill Cassidy (R-16)
Lasen16@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joel Chaisson (D-19)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sherri Smith Cheek (R-38)
smithcheek@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Don Cravins (D-24)
cravinsd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator A.G. Crowe (R-1)
crowea@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jack Donahue (R-11)
donahuej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Reggie Dupre (D-20)
lasen20@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Nick Gautreaux (D-26)
gautreauxn@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Troy Hebert (D-22)
hebertt@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bob Kostelka (R-35)
kostelka@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Eric LaFleur (D-28)
lafleure@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Gerald Long (R-31)
longg@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Rob Marrionneaux (D-17)
lasen17@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Danny Martiny (R-10)
martinyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Michot (R-23)
lasen23@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Blade Morrish ( R-25)
morrishd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ben Nevers (D-12)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Julie Quinn (R-6)
quinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Neil Riser (R-32)
risern@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Stephen Scalise (R-9)
scalises@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Smith (D-30)
smithj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Francis Thompson (D-34)
thompsof@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Walsworth (R-33)
walsworthm@legis.state.la.us

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.