Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Two Connecticut Anti-Gun Bills Pending Vote in Committee!

Friday, March 21, 2008

Judiciary Committee members held hearings this week on Senate Bill 603 and Senate Bill 607. SB603 would require all ammunition sold in Connecticut to be coded with an individual serial number (ammunition serialization) and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition.  All unserialized ammunition would have to be forfeited.

SB607 would seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called “micro-stamping” technology.  Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm in such a manner that these marks are transfered to a shell casing upon firing.  SB607 doesn’t stop there!  It would also outlaw the private sale or transfer of long guns. 

Please contact the individual members of the Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose SB603 and SB607!  The committee members can be contacted by phone at (860) 240-0100.  Finally, please share this alert with your family, friends, and fellow gun owners and encourage them to do the same.  Also, please contact Governor Jodi Rell (R) at (860) 566-4840 and ask what her position is on SB603 and SB607.

State Senator Andrew McDonald (D-27) – Co-Chair
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Michael Lawlor (D-99) – Co-Chair
mlawlor99@juno.com


State Senator Mary Ann Handley (D-4) - Vice-Chair
Handley@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Gerald Fox (D-146) – Vice-Chair
Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

State Senator John Kissel, (R-7) – Ranking Member
John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-69) – Ranking Member
Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Al Adinolfi (R-103)
Al.Adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative William Aman (R-14)
Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Ryan Barry (D-12)
Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Jeffrey Berger (D-73)
Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Beth Bye (D-19)
Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Sam Caligiuri (R-16)
Sam.Caligiuri@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Eric Coleman (D-2)
Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Patricia Dillon (D-92)
Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Mary Fritz (D-90)
Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

State Representative John Geragosian (D-25)
John.Geragosian@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Janice Giegler (R-138)
Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Bob Godfrey (D-110)
Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Edwin Gomes (D-23)
Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)
Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Kenneth Green (D-1)
Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Gail Hamm (D-34)
Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

State Representative William Hamzy (R-78)
William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)
Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Debra Lee Hovey (R-112)
DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Bryan Hurlburt (D-53)
Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Themis Klarides (R-114)
Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative David Labriola (R-131)
David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Faith McMahon (D-15)
Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Edward Meyer (D-12)
Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Bruce Morris (D-140)
Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Tim O’Brien (D-24)
tim@timobrien.org

State Representative Melissa Olson (D-46)
Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Claudia Powers (R-151)
Claudia.Powers@housegop.ct.gov

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30)
Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

State Representative T.R. Rowe (R-123)
TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Joseph Serra (D-33)
Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

State Representative James Spallone (D-36)
James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Christopher Stone (D-9)
Christopher.Stone@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Joseph Taborsak (D-109)
Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

State Representative William Tong (D-147)
William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Toni Walker (D-93)
Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Elissa Wright (D-41)
Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

Hunting  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

On March 13, the gun control group, Americans for Responsible Solutions, posted a tweet claiming:  “FACT:  Silencers do not protect your hearing.”  An infographic accompanied the tweet with the additional claim “You know what protects ...

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

European Parliament Passes Stringent New Gun Controls

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

European Parliament Passes Stringent New Gun Controls

On March 14, the European Union completed one of the final steps in imposing stringent new gun controls across the political bloc, when the European Parliament approved legislation to alter the EU Firearms Directive by ...

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

North Dakota: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Committee and Headed to Senate Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

North Dakota: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Committee and Headed to Senate Floor

Today, the Senate Judiciary Committee recommended do-pass to House Bill 1169 by a 4-2 vote.  HB 1169 could go to the Senate floor as early as tomorrow.  Please contact your state Senator and politely urge them to ...

Pro-gun Bills Introduced to Reform FOPA, Protect Interstate Transport of Firearms for Lawful Use

Gun Laws  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Pro-gun Bills Introduced to Reform FOPA, Protect Interstate Transport of Firearms for Lawful Use

Pro-gun members of Congress have introduced legislation to protect travelers who are transporting firearms interstate for lawful purposes.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.