Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Two Connecticut Anti-Gun Bills Pending Vote in Committee!

Friday, March 21, 2008

Judiciary Committee members held hearings this week on Senate Bill 603 and Senate Bill 607. SB603 would require all ammunition sold in Connecticut to be coded with an individual serial number (ammunition serialization) and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition.  All unserialized ammunition would have to be forfeited.

SB607 would seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called “micro-stamping” technology.  Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm in such a manner that these marks are transfered to a shell casing upon firing.  SB607 doesn’t stop there!  It would also outlaw the private sale or transfer of long guns. 

Please contact the individual members of the Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose SB603 and SB607!  The committee members can be contacted by phone at (860) 240-0100.  Finally, please share this alert with your family, friends, and fellow gun owners and encourage them to do the same.  Also, please contact Governor Jodi Rell (R) at (860) 566-4840 and ask what her position is on SB603 and SB607.

State Senator Andrew McDonald (D-27) – Co-Chair
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Michael Lawlor (D-99) – Co-Chair
mlawlor99@juno.com


State Senator Mary Ann Handley (D-4) - Vice-Chair
Handley@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Gerald Fox (D-146) – Vice-Chair
Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

State Senator John Kissel, (R-7) – Ranking Member
John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-69) – Ranking Member
Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Al Adinolfi (R-103)
Al.Adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative William Aman (R-14)
Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Ryan Barry (D-12)
Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Jeffrey Berger (D-73)
Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Beth Bye (D-19)
Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Sam Caligiuri (R-16)
Sam.Caligiuri@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Eric Coleman (D-2)
Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Patricia Dillon (D-92)
Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Mary Fritz (D-90)
Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

State Representative John Geragosian (D-25)
John.Geragosian@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Janice Giegler (R-138)
Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Bob Godfrey (D-110)
Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Edwin Gomes (D-23)
Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)
Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Kenneth Green (D-1)
Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Gail Hamm (D-34)
Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

State Representative William Hamzy (R-78)
William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)
Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Debra Lee Hovey (R-112)
DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Bryan Hurlburt (D-53)
Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Themis Klarides (R-114)
Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative David Labriola (R-131)
David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Faith McMahon (D-15)
Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Edward Meyer (D-12)
Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Bruce Morris (D-140)
Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Tim O’Brien (D-24)
tim@timobrien.org

State Representative Melissa Olson (D-46)
Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Claudia Powers (R-151)
Claudia.Powers@housegop.ct.gov

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30)
Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

State Representative T.R. Rowe (R-123)
TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Joseph Serra (D-33)
Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

State Representative James Spallone (D-36)
James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Christopher Stone (D-9)
Christopher.Stone@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Joseph Taborsak (D-109)
Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

State Representative William Tong (D-147)
William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Toni Walker (D-93)
Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Elissa Wright (D-41)
Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

TRENDING NOW
Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

Back when Mark Glaze was executive director of Michael Bloomberg’s Mayors Against Illegal Guns, and later Everytown for Gun Safety, he went to great lengths to portray his master’s anti-gun positions as moderate. Glaze used ...

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

On July 17, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit confirmed that law enforcement officials in New York acted unlawfully with respect to guns confiscated from a Nassau County woman in 2012.  

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

A group of Maryland citizens, with the support of the National Rifle Association, filed a petition to the United States Supreme Court on Friday seeking to reverse a Court of Appeals ruling that stripped some of America’s most ...

The Need for National Reciprocity

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Need for National Reciprocity

A report from the Crime Prevention Research Center estimates that the number of concealed carry permits issued last year was the largest increase ever – continuing a four year trend of record setting increases in ...

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

Numbers don’t lie. But gun control groups and the news media do. That explains why so many accounts of last Friday’s so-called Women’s March From #NRA2DOJ bear no resemblance to the event those of us ...

Home Alone in Washington State

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Home Alone in Washington State

Back in 2013, when Washington State’s anti-gun groups rolled out Initiative 594, they promised voters this “universal background check” law would save lives by keeping “firearms out of dangerous hands” because private gun sales would ...

When Gun Control Fails

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

When Gun Control Fails

Gun control is pushed as a strategy to keep Americans safe in their homes, schools and workplaces. It is presented as the key component in safer streets, neighborhoods and families. But what happens when gun ...

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

News  

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

Muscatine County, Iowa, is home to about 40,000 people, and like too many places around the country, gun owners there have no public range where they can practice or compete safely. That may be changing, ...

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

News  

Second Amendment  

Thursday, July 20, 2017

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

The safety record of America’s gun owners is nothing short of stunning. 

California:  "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Friday, July 21, 2017

California: "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Today, July 21, the California Department of Justice (“DOJ”), without warning or any notification,  submitted another set of proposed regulations for the registration of newly classified “assault weapons” to the Office of Administrative Law.  As ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.