Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Two Connecticut Anti-Gun Bills Pending Vote in Committee!

Friday, March 21, 2008

Judiciary Committee members held hearings this week on Senate Bill 603 and Senate Bill 607. SB603 would require all ammunition sold in Connecticut to be coded with an individual serial number (ammunition serialization) and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition.  All unserialized ammunition would have to be forfeited.

SB607 would seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called “micro-stamping” technology.  Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm in such a manner that these marks are transfered to a shell casing upon firing.  SB607 doesn’t stop there!  It would also outlaw the private sale or transfer of long guns. 

Please contact the individual members of the Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose SB603 and SB607!  The committee members can be contacted by phone at (860) 240-0100.  Finally, please share this alert with your family, friends, and fellow gun owners and encourage them to do the same.  Also, please contact Governor Jodi Rell (R) at (860) 566-4840 and ask what her position is on SB603 and SB607.

State Senator Andrew McDonald (D-27) – Co-Chair
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Michael Lawlor (D-99) – Co-Chair
mlawlor99@juno.com


State Senator Mary Ann Handley (D-4) - Vice-Chair
Handley@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Gerald Fox (D-146) – Vice-Chair
Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

State Senator John Kissel, (R-7) – Ranking Member
John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-69) – Ranking Member
Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Al Adinolfi (R-103)
Al.Adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative William Aman (R-14)
Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Ryan Barry (D-12)
Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Jeffrey Berger (D-73)
Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Beth Bye (D-19)
Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Sam Caligiuri (R-16)
Sam.Caligiuri@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Eric Coleman (D-2)
Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Patricia Dillon (D-92)
Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Mary Fritz (D-90)
Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

State Representative John Geragosian (D-25)
John.Geragosian@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Janice Giegler (R-138)
Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Bob Godfrey (D-110)
Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Edwin Gomes (D-23)
Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)
Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Kenneth Green (D-1)
Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Gail Hamm (D-34)
Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

State Representative William Hamzy (R-78)
William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)
Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Debra Lee Hovey (R-112)
DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Bryan Hurlburt (D-53)
Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Themis Klarides (R-114)
Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative David Labriola (R-131)
David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Faith McMahon (D-15)
Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Edward Meyer (D-12)
Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Bruce Morris (D-140)
Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Tim O’Brien (D-24)
tim@timobrien.org

State Representative Melissa Olson (D-46)
Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Claudia Powers (R-151)
Claudia.Powers@housegop.ct.gov

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30)
Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

State Representative T.R. Rowe (R-123)
TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Joseph Serra (D-33)
Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

State Representative James Spallone (D-36)
James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Christopher Stone (D-9)
Christopher.Stone@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Joseph Taborsak (D-109)
Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

State Representative William Tong (D-147)
William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Toni Walker (D-93)
Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Elissa Wright (D-41)
Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

TRENDING NOW
California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Since the U.S. Supreme Court handed down its landmark rulings in District of Columbia v. Heller and McDonald v. Chicago, lower courts across the country have expressed their disagreement with – or downright hostility to ...

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

News  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

On October 5, the New York Times published an article titled, “Harvey Weinstein Paid Off Sexual Harassment Accusers for Decades.” The piece detailed allegations that the mogul used his position of influence to make unwanted ...

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Saturday, October 14, 2017

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Yesterday, Governor Brown took action on two of the remaining three anti-gun bills by vetoing Senate Bill 464 and signing Assembly Bill 7. 

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

News  

Monday, October 16, 2017

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

The Spokane PD has 181 service rifles in its inventory; using suppressors on them has the potential to reduce workers compensation claims and lawsuits from bystanders.

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

Media Consumers Beware: Watchdogs Warn of Bias, Politics, and Influence Tainting the “News”

News  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Media Consumers Beware: Watchdogs Warn of Bias, Politics, and Influence Tainting the “News”

Project Veritas’s “American Pravda” series has focused on the media itself, with prior releases including segments on CNN producers and personalities casting doubt on the network’s own narrative about Russian influence in the U.S. presidential ...

Shall-Issue Concealed Carry Coming Soon to the Nation’s Capital!

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Shall-Issue Concealed Carry Coming Soon to the Nation’s Capital!

It’s important to celebrate that law-abiding Americans are now closer than they have been in nearly half a century to being able to exercise their firearms freedom in our nation’s capital. That is real progress.

California: San Jose City Council to Consider Mandatory Locked Storage Ordinance

Monday, October 16, 2017

California: San Jose City Council to Consider Mandatory Locked Storage Ordinance

On Tuesday, October 17, the San Jose City Council will be discussing a proposed firearms ordinance that will require any person who possesses a firearm in their residence to store the firearm in a locked ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.