Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Two Connecticut Anti-Gun Bills Pending Vote in Committee!

Friday, March 21, 2008

Judiciary Committee members held hearings this week on Senate Bill 603 and Senate Bill 607. SB603 would require all ammunition sold in Connecticut to be coded with an individual serial number (ammunition serialization) and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition.  All unserialized ammunition would have to be forfeited.

SB607 would seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called “micro-stamping” technology.  Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm in such a manner that these marks are transfered to a shell casing upon firing.  SB607 doesn’t stop there!  It would also outlaw the private sale or transfer of long guns. 

Please contact the individual members of the Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose SB603 and SB607!  The committee members can be contacted by phone at (860) 240-0100.  Finally, please share this alert with your family, friends, and fellow gun owners and encourage them to do the same.  Also, please contact Governor Jodi Rell (R) at (860) 566-4840 and ask what her position is on SB603 and SB607.

State Senator Andrew McDonald (D-27) – Co-Chair
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Michael Lawlor (D-99) – Co-Chair
mlawlor99@juno.com


State Senator Mary Ann Handley (D-4) - Vice-Chair
Handley@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Gerald Fox (D-146) – Vice-Chair
Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

State Senator John Kissel, (R-7) – Ranking Member
John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-69) – Ranking Member
Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Al Adinolfi (R-103)
Al.Adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative William Aman (R-14)
Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Ryan Barry (D-12)
Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Jeffrey Berger (D-73)
Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Beth Bye (D-19)
Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Sam Caligiuri (R-16)
Sam.Caligiuri@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Eric Coleman (D-2)
Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Patricia Dillon (D-92)
Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Mary Fritz (D-90)
Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

State Representative John Geragosian (D-25)
John.Geragosian@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Janice Giegler (R-138)
Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Bob Godfrey (D-110)
Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Edwin Gomes (D-23)
Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)
Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Kenneth Green (D-1)
Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Gail Hamm (D-34)
Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

State Representative William Hamzy (R-78)
William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)
Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Debra Lee Hovey (R-112)
DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Bryan Hurlburt (D-53)
Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Themis Klarides (R-114)
Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative David Labriola (R-131)
David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Faith McMahon (D-15)
Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Edward Meyer (D-12)
Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Bruce Morris (D-140)
Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Tim O’Brien (D-24)
tim@timobrien.org

State Representative Melissa Olson (D-46)
Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Claudia Powers (R-151)
Claudia.Powers@housegop.ct.gov

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30)
Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

State Representative T.R. Rowe (R-123)
TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Joseph Serra (D-33)
Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

State Representative James Spallone (D-36)
James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Christopher Stone (D-9)
Christopher.Stone@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Joseph Taborsak (D-109)
Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

State Representative William Tong (D-147)
William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Toni Walker (D-93)
Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Elissa Wright (D-41)
Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

TRENDING NOW

News  

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

Monday, July 16, 2018

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

On July 9th, the Seattle City Council passed a mandatory firearm storage ordinance to restrict the self-defense rights of Seattle residents.  The ordinance, if signed by Mayor Jenny Durkan, will impose a one-size-fits-all method of storing firearms as ...

Federal Appellate Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Surrender Requirement

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Federal Appellate Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Surrender Requirement

Last summer, we reported on the welcome news that a federal court had blocked California’s plan to require owners of “large capacity” magazines to surrender or otherwise rid themselves of their formerly-lawful property. As the judge in ...

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

Shortly before 4:00am last Saturday morning, the two week long Third Review Conference (RevCon3) on the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All ...

Anti-gun Propaganda Infiltrates History Channel’s Navy SEAL Drama “Six”

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Anti-gun Propaganda Infiltrates History Channel’s Navy SEAL Drama “Six”

With shows like “Tales of the Gun” and “Mail Call” with R. Lee Ermey, the History Channel has often served as a place where gun owners can enjoy entertainment free from the anti-gun political messaging ...

Moms Demand Action Reportedly Told Candidate Not to Talk about Support for Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Moms Demand Action Reportedly Told Candidate Not to Talk about Support for Gun Ban

Another chapter in the lengthy tale of gun control duplicity was written last week. On July 10, The Washington Free Beacon published a report of a video of Democratic nominee for New York’s rural upstate 21st congressional district Tedra ...

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

News  

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

On July 9, Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) offered the following ham-handed statement in an attempted attack on President Donald Trump’s U.S. Supreme Court nominee, D.C. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh. Brett Kavanaugh is a true Second Amendment radical. ...

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

On July 17th, Governor Bruce Rauner signed House Bill 2354 and Senate Bill 3256 into law.

Washington: NRA and SAF File Lawsuit Against City of Seattle

Friday, July 20, 2018

Washington: NRA and SAF File Lawsuit Against City of Seattle

On Friday, July 20th, the NRA and the Second Amendment Foundation filed a lawsuit against the City of Seattle, Mayor Jenny Durkan, and others, to invalidate the mandatory firearm storage ordinance that was recently passed by ...

Gallup: Gun Control Not High on List of Problems

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Gallup: Gun Control Not High on List of Problems

Gallup’s July survey found that the number of Americans who cited guns or gun control as the most important problem facing America had returned to levels similar to before the shooting in Parkland, Fla. This month, ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.