Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Two Connecticut Anti-Gun Bills Pending Vote in Committee!

Friday, March 21, 2008

Judiciary Committee members held hearings this week on Senate Bill 603 and Senate Bill 607. SB603 would require all ammunition sold in Connecticut to be coded with an individual serial number (ammunition serialization) and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition.  All unserialized ammunition would have to be forfeited.

SB607 would seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called “micro-stamping” technology.  Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm in such a manner that these marks are transfered to a shell casing upon firing.  SB607 doesn’t stop there!  It would also outlaw the private sale or transfer of long guns. 

Please contact the individual members of the Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose SB603 and SB607!  The committee members can be contacted by phone at (860) 240-0100.  Finally, please share this alert with your family, friends, and fellow gun owners and encourage them to do the same.  Also, please contact Governor Jodi Rell (R) at (860) 566-4840 and ask what her position is on SB603 and SB607.

State Senator Andrew McDonald (D-27) – Co-Chair
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Michael Lawlor (D-99) – Co-Chair
mlawlor99@juno.com


State Senator Mary Ann Handley (D-4) - Vice-Chair
Handley@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Gerald Fox (D-146) – Vice-Chair
Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

State Senator John Kissel, (R-7) – Ranking Member
John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-69) – Ranking Member
Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Al Adinolfi (R-103)
Al.Adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative William Aman (R-14)
Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Ryan Barry (D-12)
Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Jeffrey Berger (D-73)
Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Beth Bye (D-19)
Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Sam Caligiuri (R-16)
Sam.Caligiuri@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Eric Coleman (D-2)
Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Patricia Dillon (D-92)
Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Mary Fritz (D-90)
Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

State Representative John Geragosian (D-25)
John.Geragosian@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Janice Giegler (R-138)
Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Bob Godfrey (D-110)
Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Edwin Gomes (D-23)
Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)
Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Kenneth Green (D-1)
Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Gail Hamm (D-34)
Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

State Representative William Hamzy (R-78)
William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)
Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Debra Lee Hovey (R-112)
DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Bryan Hurlburt (D-53)
Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Themis Klarides (R-114)
Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative David Labriola (R-131)
David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Faith McMahon (D-15)
Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov

State Senator Edward Meyer (D-12)
Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Bruce Morris (D-140)
Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Tim O’Brien (D-24)
tim@timobrien.org

State Representative Melissa Olson (D-46)
Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Claudia Powers (R-151)
Claudia.Powers@housegop.ct.gov

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30)
Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

State Representative T.R. Rowe (R-123)
TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

State Representative Joseph Serra (D-33)
Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

State Representative James Spallone (D-36)
James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Christopher Stone (D-9)
Christopher.Stone@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Joseph Taborsak (D-109)
Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

State Representative William Tong (D-147)
William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Toni Walker (D-93)
Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

State Representative Elissa Wright (D-41)
Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

TRENDING NOW
Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

Pittsburgh City Council member Corey O’Connor wants local residents to relinquish important aspects of their Second Amendment rights. If they refuse, he would have it cost them their liberty and treasure. But O’Connor himself apparently ...

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

On January 8, two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called "universal" background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Just months after pushing for the passage of Initiative 1639 to impose severe regulations on purchasing and possessing semi-automatic firearms, Attorney General Bob Ferguson has now introduced legislation that would outright ban commonly owned semi-automatic ...

Who Are the Real Extremists?

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Who Are the Real Extremists?

NRA is often vilified by the gun-ban community and its supporters in the mainstream, legacy media as an “extremist” organization because of its steadfast defense of our Right to Keep and Bear Arms. A simple ...

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Anti-gun bills will be heard on January 21st at 10:00AM by the Washington state Senate Committee on Law & Justice and by the House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary on January 22nd at 10:00AM.

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Today, Governor J.B. Pritzker signed Senate Bill 337 into law.  Passed by the previous legislature in 2018, SB 337 will establish a firearm registry and shut down your local gun stores with government red tape.  Senate ...

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

Thursday, January 17, 2019

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

In her opening day speech to state lawmakers, New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham called on them to pass various gun control proposals that she supported on the campaign trail and which have been filed in the ...

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

On August 28, 2018, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau instructed Bill Blair, his minister of Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction, to examine the feasibility of “a full ban on handguns and assault weapons in ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.