Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia “Castle Doctrine” Bill to be Heard Tomorrow!

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

Please Contact the House Judiciary Committee Today!

Senate Bill 145, West Virginia’s “Castle Doctrine” bill, will be heard in the House Judiciary Committee tomorrow, Thursday, February 28.

SB145 would permit law-abiding citizens to use force, including deadly force, against an attacker in their homes and any places outside of their home where they have a legal right to be.  It is clearly stated that there is no “duty to retreat” from an attacker, allowing law-abiding citizens to stand their ground to protect themselves and their family.  SB145 also protects individuals from civil lawsuits by the attacker or the attacker’s family when force is used.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee today and respectfully urge them to pass SB145 in order to bolster West Virginians’ right to self-defense.


House Judiciary Committee

Delegate Carrie Webster (D-31), Chair
(304) 340-3252
cwebste1@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Bill Proudfoot (D-37), Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3248
bproud@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10), Minority Chair
(304) 340-3394
jellem@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John Overington (R-55), Minority Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3148
john@overington.com

Delegate Tom Azinger (R-10)
(304) 340-3202
tazinger@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
(304) 340-3106
bbrown1@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Mike Burdiss (D-22)
(304) 340-3111
mburdiss@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
(304) 340-3169
barbaraf@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Nancy Peoples Guthrie (D-30)
(304) 340-3156
nguthrie@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
(304) 340-3167
bhamilt@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Lidella Wilson Hrutkay (D-19)
(304) 340-3134
lhrutkay@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Melvin Kessler (D-27)
(304) 340-3163
mkessler@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32)
(304) 340-3275
patlane@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Marshall Long (D-25)
(304) 340-3120
mclong@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
(304) 340-3124
llongstr@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Virginia Mahan (D-27)
(304) 340-3102
vmahan@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Tim Miley (D-41)
(304) 340-3145
timmiley@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
(304) 340-3189
cmoore@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
(304) 340-3170
jpino@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Robert A. Schadler (R-49)
(304) 340-3191
rschadler@comcast.net

Delegate Alex J. Shook (D-44)
(304) 340-3173
ashook@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate William Stemple (D-33)
(304) 340-3112
wlstempl@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
(304) 340-3175
ksobonya@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Robert C. Tabb (D-56)
(304) 340-3274
rtabb@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Scott Varner (D-4)
(304) 340-3187
svarner@mail.wvnet.edu

 

TRENDING NOW
California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

News  

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

NRATV Host Cam Edwards describes a study that shows the ineffectiveness of so-called “universal” background checks

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

News  

Monday, October 16, 2017

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

The Spokane PD has 181 service rifles in its inventory; using suppressors on them has the potential to reduce workers compensation claims and lawsuits from bystanders.

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

News  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

On October 5, the New York Times published an article titled, “Harvey Weinstein Paid Off Sexual Harassment Accusers for Decades.” The piece detailed allegations that the mogul used his position of influence to make unwanted ...

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Since the U.S. Supreme Court handed down its landmark rulings in District of Columbia v. Heller and McDonald v. Chicago, lower courts across the country have expressed their disagreement with – or downright hostility to ...

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Saturday, October 14, 2017

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Yesterday, Governor Brown took action on two of the remaining three anti-gun bills by vetoing Senate Bill 464 and signing Assembly Bill 7. 

Shall-Issue Concealed Carry Coming Soon to the Nation’s Capital!

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Shall-Issue Concealed Carry Coming Soon to the Nation’s Capital!

It’s important to celebrate that law-abiding Americans are now closer than they have been in nearly half a century to being able to exercise their firearms freedom in our nation’s capital. That is real progress.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.