Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia “Castle Doctrine” Bill to be Heard Tomorrow!

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

Please Contact the House Judiciary Committee Today!

Senate Bill 145, West Virginia’s “Castle Doctrine” bill, will be heard in the House Judiciary Committee tomorrow, Thursday, February 28.

SB145 would permit law-abiding citizens to use force, including deadly force, against an attacker in their homes and any places outside of their home where they have a legal right to be.  It is clearly stated that there is no “duty to retreat” from an attacker, allowing law-abiding citizens to stand their ground to protect themselves and their family.  SB145 also protects individuals from civil lawsuits by the attacker or the attacker’s family when force is used.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee today and respectfully urge them to pass SB145 in order to bolster West Virginians’ right to self-defense.


House Judiciary Committee

Delegate Carrie Webster (D-31), Chair
(304) 340-3252
cwebste1@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Bill Proudfoot (D-37), Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3248
bproud@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10), Minority Chair
(304) 340-3394
jellem@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John Overington (R-55), Minority Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3148
john@overington.com

Delegate Tom Azinger (R-10)
(304) 340-3202
tazinger@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
(304) 340-3106
bbrown1@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Mike Burdiss (D-22)
(304) 340-3111
mburdiss@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
(304) 340-3169
barbaraf@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Nancy Peoples Guthrie (D-30)
(304) 340-3156
nguthrie@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
(304) 340-3167
bhamilt@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Lidella Wilson Hrutkay (D-19)
(304) 340-3134
lhrutkay@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Melvin Kessler (D-27)
(304) 340-3163
mkessler@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32)
(304) 340-3275
patlane@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Marshall Long (D-25)
(304) 340-3120
mclong@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
(304) 340-3124
llongstr@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Virginia Mahan (D-27)
(304) 340-3102
vmahan@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Tim Miley (D-41)
(304) 340-3145
timmiley@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
(304) 340-3189
cmoore@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
(304) 340-3170
jpino@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Robert A. Schadler (R-49)
(304) 340-3191
rschadler@comcast.net

Delegate Alex J. Shook (D-44)
(304) 340-3173
ashook@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate William Stemple (D-33)
(304) 340-3112
wlstempl@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
(304) 340-3175
ksobonya@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Robert C. Tabb (D-56)
(304) 340-3274
rtabb@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Scott Varner (D-4)
(304) 340-3187
svarner@mail.wvnet.edu

 

TRENDING NOW
Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

Back when Mark Glaze was executive director of Michael Bloomberg’s Mayors Against Illegal Guns, and later Everytown for Gun Safety, he went to great lengths to portray his master’s anti-gun positions as moderate. Glaze used ...

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

On July 17, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit confirmed that law enforcement officials in New York acted unlawfully with respect to guns confiscated from a Nassau County woman in 2012.  

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

A group of Maryland citizens, with the support of the National Rifle Association, filed a petition to the United States Supreme Court on Friday seeking to reverse a Court of Appeals ruling that stripped some of America’s most ...

The Need for National Reciprocity

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Need for National Reciprocity

A report from the Crime Prevention Research Center estimates that the number of concealed carry permits issued last year was the largest increase ever – continuing a four year trend of record setting increases in ...

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

Numbers don’t lie. But gun control groups and the news media do. That explains why so many accounts of last Friday’s so-called Women’s March From #NRA2DOJ bear no resemblance to the event those of us ...

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

News  

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

Muscatine County, Iowa, is home to about 40,000 people, and like too many places around the country, gun owners there have no public range where they can practice or compete safely. That may be changing, ...

Home Alone in Washington State

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Home Alone in Washington State

Back in 2013, when Washington State’s anti-gun groups rolled out Initiative 594, they promised voters this “universal background check” law would save lives by keeping “firearms out of dangerous hands” because private gun sales would ...

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

News  

Second Amendment  

Thursday, July 20, 2017

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

The safety record of America’s gun owners is nothing short of stunning. 

When Gun Control Fails

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

When Gun Control Fails

Gun control is pushed as a strategy to keep Americans safe in their homes, schools and workplaces. It is presented as the key component in safer streets, neighborhoods and families. But what happens when gun ...

California:  "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Friday, July 21, 2017

California: "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Today, July 21, the California Department of Justice (“DOJ”), without warning or any notification,  submitted another set of proposed regulations for the registration of newly classified “assault weapons” to the Office of Administrative Law.  As ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.