Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia “Castle Doctrine” Bill to be Heard Tomorrow!

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

Please Contact the House Judiciary Committee Today!

Senate Bill 145, West Virginia’s “Castle Doctrine” bill, will be heard in the House Judiciary Committee tomorrow, Thursday, February 28.

SB145 would permit law-abiding citizens to use force, including deadly force, against an attacker in their homes and any places outside of their home where they have a legal right to be.  It is clearly stated that there is no “duty to retreat” from an attacker, allowing law-abiding citizens to stand their ground to protect themselves and their family.  SB145 also protects individuals from civil lawsuits by the attacker or the attacker’s family when force is used.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee today and respectfully urge them to pass SB145 in order to bolster West Virginians’ right to self-defense.


House Judiciary Committee

Delegate Carrie Webster (D-31), Chair
(304) 340-3252
cwebste1@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Bill Proudfoot (D-37), Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3248
bproud@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10), Minority Chair
(304) 340-3394
jellem@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John Overington (R-55), Minority Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3148
john@overington.com

Delegate Tom Azinger (R-10)
(304) 340-3202
tazinger@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
(304) 340-3106
bbrown1@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Mike Burdiss (D-22)
(304) 340-3111
mburdiss@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
(304) 340-3169
barbaraf@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Nancy Peoples Guthrie (D-30)
(304) 340-3156
nguthrie@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
(304) 340-3167
bhamilt@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Lidella Wilson Hrutkay (D-19)
(304) 340-3134
lhrutkay@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Melvin Kessler (D-27)
(304) 340-3163
mkessler@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32)
(304) 340-3275
patlane@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Marshall Long (D-25)
(304) 340-3120
mclong@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
(304) 340-3124
llongstr@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Virginia Mahan (D-27)
(304) 340-3102
vmahan@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Tim Miley (D-41)
(304) 340-3145
timmiley@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
(304) 340-3189
cmoore@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
(304) 340-3170
jpino@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Robert A. Schadler (R-49)
(304) 340-3191
rschadler@comcast.net

Delegate Alex J. Shook (D-44)
(304) 340-3173
ashook@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate William Stemple (D-33)
(304) 340-3112
wlstempl@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
(304) 340-3175
ksobonya@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Robert C. Tabb (D-56)
(304) 340-3274
rtabb@mail.wvnet.edu

Delegate Scott Varner (D-4)
(304) 340-3187
svarner@mail.wvnet.edu

 

TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Monday, May 22, 2017

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Last Friday, May 19, Governor Henry McMaster (R) signed H. 3429 into law.  This bill went into effect upon the Governor’s approval.

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.