Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania Bullet Serialization (Registration) Bill Referred to House Judiciary Committee!

Friday, February 8, 2008

Please Contact the House Judiciary Committee Today!

On Tuesday, February 5, the Pennsylvania State House referred House Bill 2228, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-201), to the House Judiciary Committee for consideration.  HB 2228, would require all handgun ammunition manufactured or sold in Pennsylvania to be coded with a serialization number, and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of the transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition.  This bill would also impose a retail tax of five cents per round that would finance the State Police Encoded Ammunition Database Fund. The possession or sale of non-coded/serialized ammunition would be prohibited. 

If passed, this legislation would have dire consequences for our Right to Keep and Bear Arms in Pennsylvania. Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to protect the Second Amendment rights of Pennsylvania’s law-abiding gun owners by opposing HB 2228.

Members of the House Judiciary Committee are listed below:

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Majority Chairman 
(717) 787-3525

tcaltagi@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 

dleach@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 

kmanderi@pahouse.net

 

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 

jpallone@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 

dwalko@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Minority Chairman
(717) 783-2014 

rmarsico@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 

lbennington@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 

dfrankel@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 

hjames@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 

dkula@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 

blentz@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 

petrarca@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 

Sramaley@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-166)
(717) 787-7647 

greg@gregvitali.com

 

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 

repwagner@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 

jwhite@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 

jwilliam@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 

tcreight@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573

cdally@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 

jevans@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 

wgabig@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 

ggrell@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 

kharper@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 

bmackere@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 

cmantz@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170 

boneill@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238 

tpickett@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218 

trock@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161
ktrue@pahousegop.com

TRENDING NOW
Reuniting The United States With Reciprocity

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Reuniting The United States With Reciprocity

Most concealed-carry permit holders understand the potential pitfalls of traveling with a firearm, given the outrageous patchwork of state laws involved in even a short interstate trip. And while we haven’t posted much about reciprocity ...

National Reciprocity Bill Nears Goal Line in the House but Needs Your Support to Reach the End Zone

News  

Friday, September 15, 2017

National Reciprocity Bill Nears Goal Line in the House but Needs Your Support to Reach the End Zone

Gun owners received good news this week with the passage of the SHARE Act by the U.S. House Committee on Natural Resources (see related story). Meanwhile, progress continued to be made on another NRA legislative ...

House Committee Passes SHARE Act by Wide Margin

Hunting  

News  

Friday, September 15, 2017

House Committee Passes SHARE Act by Wide Margin

As we have reported, this year’s version of the SHARE Act is the most expansive and far-reaching yet. Besides previously-introduced provisions aimed at enhancing opportunities for hunting, fishing, and shooting and broadening access to federal lands ...

Urban Myth: Crime Doesn’t Pay – California City Authorizes Stipends to Gang Members

News  

Friday, September 15, 2017

Urban Myth: Crime Doesn’t Pay – California City Authorizes Stipends to Gang Members

In a special meeting on August 29, the nine-member City Council of Sacramento unanimously agreed to allocate $1.5 million in funding and to move forward with a “gun-violence reduction strategy” that will include cash payments ...

Bloomberg Spending Millions To Elect Anti-Gun Virginia Governor

News  

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Bloomberg Spending Millions To Elect Anti-Gun Virginia Governor

Billionaire anti-gunner Michael Bloomberg is at it again, pledging to spend $1 million through his gun control group Everytown for Gun Safety in an attempt to impact Virginia’s upcoming elections for governor and attorney general.

Anti-Gun Politicians: Blocking Out The Facts About Suppressors

Hunting  

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Anti-Gun Politicians: Blocking Out The Facts About Suppressors

As soon as the Hearing Protection Act was put forward on Jan. 9, 2017, leftists came out of the woodwork to criticize and misconstrue the goals of those who supported removing suppressors from the auspices ...

Wisconsin: Constitutional Carry Passes Committee Vote

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Wisconsin: Constitutional Carry Passes Committee Vote

Today, Senate Bill 169 passed the Senate Judiciary Committee with a vote of 3-2.  SB 169 would allow for the concealed carry of a firearm without a concealed carry license anywhere in the state where ...

NRA Backed SHARE Act Passes Committee

News  

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

NRA Backed SHARE Act Passes Committee

“Today marks an important step in protecting the Second Amendment freedoms of America’s hunters and sportsmen and strengthening our outdoor heritage,” said Chris W. Cox, executive director, NRA-ILA. “The SHARE Act will cut burdensome red tape that restricts ...

NRA Applauds Reintroduction and Expansion of SHARE Act

News  

Hunting  

Friday, September 8, 2017

NRA Applauds Reintroduction and Expansion of SHARE Act

On Sept. 1, U.S. Congressman Jeff Duncan introduced H.R. 3668, the Sportsman’s Heritage and Recreational Enhancement Act (SHARE Act), a wide-ranging package of legislation aimed at promoting Second Amendment rights and America’s outdoor sporting traditions.

“What Happened”: Clinton Recognizes NRA’s Power, Rewrites History, and Urges Dems to Double-down on Gun Control

News  

Friday, September 15, 2017

“What Happened”: Clinton Recognizes NRA’s Power, Rewrites History, and Urges Dems to Double-down on Gun Control

This week, twice-failed presidential candidate Hillary Clinton released her new book, “What Happened,” which chiefly serves to assign blame to the myriad politicians, journalists, organizations, countries, prejudices, and technologies she claims caused her defeat. Gun ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.