Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania Bullet Serialization (Registration) Bill Referred to House Judiciary Committee!

Friday, February 8, 2008

Please Contact the House Judiciary Committee Today!

On Tuesday, February 5, the Pennsylvania State House referred House Bill 2228, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-201), to the House Judiciary Committee for consideration.  HB 2228, would require all handgun ammunition manufactured or sold in Pennsylvania to be coded with a serialization number, and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of the transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition.  This bill would also impose a retail tax of five cents per round that would finance the State Police Encoded Ammunition Database Fund. The possession or sale of non-coded/serialized ammunition would be prohibited. 

If passed, this legislation would have dire consequences for our Right to Keep and Bear Arms in Pennsylvania. Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to protect the Second Amendment rights of Pennsylvania’s law-abiding gun owners by opposing HB 2228.

Members of the House Judiciary Committee are listed below:

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Majority Chairman 
(717) 787-3525

tcaltagi@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 

dleach@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 

kmanderi@pahouse.net

 

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 

jpallone@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 

dwalko@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Minority Chairman
(717) 783-2014 

rmarsico@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 

lbennington@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 

dfrankel@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 

hjames@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 

dkula@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 

blentz@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 

petrarca@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 

Sramaley@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-166)
(717) 787-7647 

greg@gregvitali.com

 

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 

repwagner@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 

jwhite@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 

jwilliam@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 

tcreight@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573

cdally@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 

jevans@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 

wgabig@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 

ggrell@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 

kharper@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 

bmackere@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 

cmantz@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170 

boneill@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238 

tpickett@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218 

trock@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161
ktrue@pahousegop.com

TRENDING NOW
Court to Texas College Professors: Your Irrational Fear of Gun Owners Is Not Legally Addressable

News  

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Court to Texas College Professors: Your Irrational Fear of Gun Owners Is Not Legally Addressable

Last Thursday, a federal judge in Austin, Texas, dismissed a lawsuit by several professors who sought to block the University of Texas from implementing a state law that provides for the lawful carrying of concealed ...

California: Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Assembly Appropriations Committee on Wednesday, July 19

Monday, July 17, 2017

California: Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Assembly Appropriations Committee on Wednesday, July 19

On Wednesday, July 19, anti-gun bills SB 464 and SB 497 are scheduled to be heard in the Assembly Appropriations Committee at 9AM in State Capitol room 4202.  Assembly Bill 424 remains eligible for third ...

CMP Sales of 1911s One Step Closer With House Passage of 2018 NDAA

Friday, July 14, 2017

CMP Sales of 1911s One Step Closer With House Passage of 2018 NDAA

On Friday, the U.S. House of Representatives passed H.R. 2810, the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2018. Included in the bill is a provision that would make U.S. Army surplus 1911 .45 ACP ...

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

News  

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

Muscatine County, Iowa, is home to about 40,000 people, and like too many places around the country, gun owners there have no public range where they can practice or compete safely. That may be changing, ...

Gun Control Groups: Good at Gloating, Bad at Counting on Advancing National Reciprocity Effort

Friday, July 14, 2017

Gun Control Groups: Good at Gloating, Bad at Counting on Advancing National Reciprocity Effort

Apparently, Michael Bloomberg is good at counting money but not so good at counting votes. This week, Breitbart reported that Everytown for Gun Safety, Michael Bloomberg’s gun ban conglomerate, was claiming a “win” for congressional ...

Run, Hide, Perish – Survival Do’s and Don’ts from Across the Pond

News  

Friday, July 14, 2017

Run, Hide, Perish – Survival Do’s and Don’ts from Across the Pond

The United States Department of Homeland Security (DHS) advises persons at risk of harm from an active shooter to “Run, Hide, Fight” (in that order), recommending “fight” – incapacitating or “attempt[ing] to take the active ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

California: DOJ Releases Proposed Regulations Regarding Ammunition Vendor Licensing

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

California: DOJ Releases Proposed Regulations Regarding Ammunition Vendor Licensing

On Friday, July 14th, the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms (“DOJ”) claims to have released its anticipated proposed regulations for the issuance of ammunition vendor licenses.  Under the Administrative Procedure Act, a government ...

Commerce Subcommittee Chairman John Culberson Steers Pro-Gun Spending Bill to House Floor

Friday, July 14, 2017

Commerce Subcommittee Chairman John Culberson Steers Pro-Gun Spending Bill to House Floor

On Thursday, the House Committee on Appropriations approved the Fiscal Year 2018 Commerce, Justice, Science (CJS) Appropriations Bill, which funds various federal agencies, including the U.S. Department of Justice, for the next year. The bill ...

California: Help Save Cordova Shooting Center

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

California: Help Save Cordova Shooting Center

Tomorrow, July 19, the Cordova Recreation and Park District (CRPD) Board of Directors are scheduled to vote on the future of the Cordova Shooting Center. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.