Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania Bullet Serialization (Registration) Bill Referred to House Judiciary Committee!

Friday, February 8, 2008

Please Contact the House Judiciary Committee Today!

On Tuesday, February 5, the Pennsylvania State House referred House Bill 2228, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-201), to the House Judiciary Committee for consideration.  HB 2228, would require all handgun ammunition manufactured or sold in Pennsylvania to be coded with a serialization number, and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of the transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition.  This bill would also impose a retail tax of five cents per round that would finance the State Police Encoded Ammunition Database Fund. The possession or sale of non-coded/serialized ammunition would be prohibited. 

If passed, this legislation would have dire consequences for our Right to Keep and Bear Arms in Pennsylvania. Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to protect the Second Amendment rights of Pennsylvania’s law-abiding gun owners by opposing HB 2228.

Members of the House Judiciary Committee are listed below:

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Majority Chairman 
(717) 787-3525

tcaltagi@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 

dleach@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 

kmanderi@pahouse.net

 

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 

jpallone@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 

dwalko@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Minority Chairman
(717) 783-2014 

rmarsico@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 

lbennington@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 

dfrankel@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 

hjames@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 

dkula@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 

blentz@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 

petrarca@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 

Sramaley@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-166)
(717) 787-7647 

greg@gregvitali.com

 

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 

repwagner@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 

jwhite@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 

jwilliam@pahouse.net

 

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 

tcreight@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573

cdally@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 

jevans@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 

wgabig@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 

ggrell@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 

kharper@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 

bmackere@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 

cmantz@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170 

boneill@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238 

tpickett@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218 

trock@pahousegop.com

 

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161
ktrue@pahousegop.com

TRENDING NOW
Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

On March 16, 2017, the Seattle Times reported that Seattle city officials were reluctant to release data on the revenue generated by the city’s firearms and ammunition tax, citing taxpayer confidentiality concerns. Less than a ...

Wisconsin: Important Right to Carry Bill Introduced

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Wisconsin: Important Right to Carry Bill Introduced

Today, LRB 2039/1 was introduced to the Wisconsin State Legislature.  This Right to Carry bill would allow for the concealed carry of a firearm without a concealed carry license anywhere in the state where an ...

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

California: One Gun a Month Bill Pulled from Senate Public Safety Hearing

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

California: One Gun a Month Bill Pulled from Senate Public Safety Hearing

Today, Tuesday, March 28, anti-gun SB 497, was scheduled to be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee.  At the last minute, the bill was pulled from today's agenda. Thank you to all who contacted the ...

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Monday, March 27, 2017

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Following their passage in the Virginia General Assembly, Governor Terry McAuliffe vetoed multiple self-defense bills; Senate Bill 1299, Senate Bill 1300, House Bill 1852, and House Bill 1853. 

Texas: Senate Passes SB 16, LTC Fee Reduction Bill, by Overwhelming Vote

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Texas: Senate Passes SB 16, LTC Fee Reduction Bill, by Overwhelming Vote

On Monday, the Texas Senate voted to pass Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston), on a 26-5 vote.

News  

Monday, March 27, 2017

NRA Applauds Texas State Senate for Passing SB 16

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action applauds the Texas Senate today for passing Senate Bill 16, legislation that substantially reduces License To Carry fees in the Lone Star state.

California: Anti-Gun Bill Limiting Firearm Purchases to be Heard in Senate Public Safety on Tuesday, March 28

Friday, March 24, 2017

California: Anti-Gun Bill Limiting Firearm Purchases to be Heard in Senate Public Safety on Tuesday, March 28

On Tuesday, March 28, anti-gun SB 497, is scheduled to be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee.  SB 497 would expand the existing one handgun a month law to include ALL guns.  

Georgia: Senate Passes Pro-Gun Bills – Governor Needs to Hear From You!

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Georgia: Senate Passes Pro-Gun Bills – Governor Needs to Hear From You!

Today, the Georgia Senate passed pro-gun bills; House Bill 406, House Bill 292, and House Bill 280. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.