Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites


New Mexico Governor and Legislature Fund Nearly $1.4M in Improvements to Albuquerque Shooting Range State Park!

Friday, March 17, 2006


New Home of the NRA-Sponsored National Police Shooting Championships


Late last week, Governor Bill Richardson (D) signed House Bill 622, finalizing action on nearly $1.4 million for the planning, design, and construction of improvements to Shooting Range State Park in Albuquerque, where the National Police Shooting Championships will be held starting in September of 2006.


During the 30-day budget session of the New Mexico Legislature, NRA-ILA and the New Mexico Shooting Sports Association worked to obtain funds for improvements to the range so that it will be prepared to host the competition this coming fall. Because this is a public-use facility, the shooting sports community will benefit from these improvements for years to come.


Governor Richardson dedicated money from his portion of available capital outlay for this project, and the following members of the Albuquerque delegation also requested funds specifically for this project.


Please take a moment to send a note of thanks to all those involved in making this happen (see below):


The Honorable Bill Richardson

Office of the Governor

State Capitol, Room 400

Santa Fe, NM 87501

Phone: (505) 476-2200



Senator John Ryan (R-10)

1020 Salamanca NW

Albuquerque, NM 87107

Phone: (505) 343-1400

E-mail: johnchrisryan@yahoo.com


Senator James Taylor (D-14)

3909 Camino Del Valle SW

Albuquerque, NM 87105

Phone: (505) 877-4986

E-mail: jamesg.taylor@nmlegis.gov


Senator Shannon Robinson (D-17)

716 Indiana SE

Albuquerque, NM 87108

Phone: (505) 998-6600

E-mail: shannon.robinson@nmlegis.gov


Senator Bill Payne (R-20)

Box 14823

Albuquerque, NM 87191

Phone: (505) 884-6872

E-mail: william.payne@nmlegis.gov


Senator Kent Cravens (R-21)

12062 Irish Mist Road NE

Albuquerque, NM 87122

Phone: (505) 294-1368

E-mail: klcravens@alphagraphics.com


Senator Joe Carraro (R-23)

10216 Carraro Place NW

Albuquerque, NM 87114

Phone: (505) 898-9369

E-mail: joecarraro@aol.com


Representative Eric Youngberg (R-23)

Box 25924

Albuquerque, NM 87125

Phone: (505) 843-8181

E-mail: eric_youngberg@msn.com


Representative Al Park (D-26)

1840 Dakota NE

Albuquerque, NM 87110

Phone: (505) 256-0818


Representative Larry Larranaga (R-27)

7715 Lamplighter NE

Albuquerque, NM 87109

Phone: (505) 821-4948


Representative Jimmie Hall (R-28)

13008 Gray Hills Road NE

Albuquerque, NM 87111

Phone: (505) 294-6178

E-mail: jimmiehal@aol.com or jimmie.hall@nmlegis.gov


Representative Tom Anderson (R-29)

10013 Plunkett Drive NW

Albuquerque, NM 87114

Phone: (505) 897-2593

E-mail: kb5ysg@arrl.net


Representative Justine Fox-Young (R-30)

3108 Dallas Street NE

Albuquerque, NM 87110

Phone: (505) 883-3017

E-mail: foxyoung@gmail.com


More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.