Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites


Kayne Robinson-- Law Enforcement Expert And Political Strategist-- Elected President Of The National Rifle Association

Tuesday, April 29, 2003

Sandy Froman And John Sigler Elected First Vice President And Second Vice President
Orlando, Florida-- Kayne Robinson, noted law enforcement expert and political strategist, was elected President of the National Rifle Association of America today. Robinson was elected unanimously by the NRA Board of Directors to succeed actor Charlton Heston, who served an unprecedented five years as NRA President. "It`s been a privilege to serve Mr. Heston, to campaign with him and to call him my friend," Robinson said. "To succeed him as NRA President is a humbling honor. Together we have achieved great success for NRA members, and I look forward to continued success in following the footsteps of Moses in defense of freedom." Heston praised Robinson as a friend and as a staunch defender of the Second Amendment. "My success over the last five years is due, in no small part, to the tireless work and support of Kayne Robinson," Heston said. "I am confident that NRA`s future is secure in Kayne`s very capable, steady hands. And, I look forward to continuing to work with him and the NRA." Wayne LaPierre, reelected today as NRA`s Executive Vice President and CEO, noted Robinson`s career in law enforcement and experience in political campaign strategy as vital to NRA`s continued success. "As a career law enforcement officer, Kayne understands the difference between the rights of lawful firearms owners and the blight of violent criminals on the streets," LaPierre said. "And Kayne is an astute, tireless grassroots campaigner." Robinson, a career public servant, is former chief of detectives and assistant chief of Police of the Des Moines, Iowa, Police Department. He served as president of the Iowa Association of Chiefs of Police and was selected ‘Police Officer of the Year` by the Iowa Association of Women Police. During the critical 2000 elections, Robinson served as chairman of the Republican Party of Iowa- a key electoral battleground state. Under his leadership, the party produced a nationally acclaimed 1999 Iowa Straw Poll and the 2000 Iowa Presidential Caucuses, first in the nation. Robinson is a skilled political veteran of local, state and federal election campaigns and has held key strategic and management roles in local and state campaigns, as well as in US Senatorial and Presidential campaigns. "I can think of no one more qualified than Kayne to lead our great Association," LaPierre said. "He`s a long-time hunter and competitive shooter, a career law enforcement officer and national campaign veteran. I am confident that NRA`s 4 million members and the nation`s 80 million gun owners will be well served by his leadership." The NRA Board of Directors also elected Sandra Froman as NRA First Vice President and John Sigler as NRA Second Vice President. Other officers reelected included Jim Land as NRA Secretary, Wilson Phillips as NRA Treasurer, Chris Cox as Executive Director of the Institute for Legislative Action, and Craig Sandler as NRA Executive Director of General Operations. "I greatly appreciate the support of the board and look forward to working with my fellow officers and the NRA staff," concluded Robinson. "With the critical 2004 elections approaching, we must all look forward to the awesome task at hand in defending our freedoms."

More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.