West Virginia Gun Laws
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
STATE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION - Art. 3, Sec. 22.
A person has the right to keep and bear arms for the defense of self, family, home, and state, and for lawful hunting and recreational use.
Gun Laws Overview
|RIFLES & SHOTGUNS||HANDGUNS|
|Permit to Purchase||No||No|
|Registration of Firearms||No||No|
|Licensing of Owners||No||No|
|Permit to Carry||No||No*|
*A permit to carry is available, but it is not required to carry a handgun either openly or concealed for individuals 21 years of age or over.
The list and map below are included as a tool to assist you in validating your information. We have made every effort to report the information correctly, however reciprocity and recognition agreements are subject to frequent change. The information is not intended as legal advice or a restatement of law and does not include: restrictions that may be placed on non-resident permits, individuals under the age of 21, qualifying permit classes, and/or any other factor which may limit reciprocity and/or recognition. For any particular situation, a licensed local attorney must be consulted for an accurate interpretation. YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL.
West Virginia only honors permits or licenses of individuals 21 years of age or over.
|Right to Carry Confidentiality||Enacted|
|Right to Carry in Restaurants||Legal|
|Right To Carry Laws||No Permit Required|
|Right To Carry Reciprocity and Recognition||Conditional Recognition|
|Right to Keep & Bear Arms State Constitutional Provisions||With Provisions|
Laws on Purchase, Possession and Carrying of Firearms
It is unlawful for any person to sell, give, rent or lend a firearm to a person prohibited from possessing a firearm.MORE
No state permit is required to purchase a rifle, shotgun or handgun.
Private firearm transfers are not subject to a background check in West Virginia, although state and federal purchase prohibitions still apply.LESS
No state permit is required to possess a rifle, shotgun or handgun.MORE
Possession is denied to:
a. was issued after a hearing on which such person receives actual notice and an opportunity to participate;
b. restrains such person from harassing, stalking or threatening an intimate partner of such person or child of such intimate partner or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury; and
c. includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the physical safety of such intimate partner or child by its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force.LESS
West Virginia is a permitless carry state. A person who is not prohibited from possessing a firearm may carry a firearm openly or concealed.MORE
Application for a license to carry is made to the sheriff of the county where one resides. The application filing fee is $75.00.
The applicant must:
a) any official National Rifle Association handgun safety or training course;
b) any handgun safety or training course or class available to the general public offered by an official law-enforcement organization, community college, junior college, college or private or public institution, organization, or handgun training school utilizing instructors duly certified by such institution;
c) any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by a handgun instructor certified as such by the state or by the National Rifle Association;
d) any handgun training or safety course or class conducted by any branch of the United States military, reserve or national guard.
The training requirement is waived in the case of a renewal applicant who has previously qualified.
The sheriff shall issue or deny the license within 45 days after the application is filed if the background checks have been completed. Any person denied a license may file, in the circuit court in which the application was made, a petition seeking review of the denial. This petition shall be filed within 30 days of the denial and the applicant may be represented by counsel. If this review upholds the denial, an appeal may be filed to the supreme court of appeals.
An additional fee of $15 is required when the license is approved and issued. The license is good for five years, unless revoked. The sheriff furnishes a copy of the license application to the Superintendent of the State Police.
All licensees must carry with them a state issued photo identification card with the concealed weapons license whenever the licensee is carrying a concealed weapon.
The license is deemed revoked when the licensee becomes unable to meet the criteria for initial licensure.LESS
It is unlawful to carry, transport or possess any machine gun or sub-machine gun or fully automatic weapon unless properly federally licensed.
...neither a municipality nor the governing body of any municipality may limit the right of any person to purchase, possess, transfer, own, carry, transport, sell or store any revolver, pistol, rifle or shotgun or any ammunition or ammunition components...MORE
W.VA. CODE ANN. § 8-12-5a (2011)
Limitations upon municipalities' power to restrict the purchase, possession, transfer, ownership, carrying, transport, sale and storage of certain weapons and ammunition
The provisions of section five of this article notwithstanding, neither a municipality nor the governing body of any municipality may limit the right of any person to purchase, possess, transfer, own, carry, transport, sell or store any revolver, pistol, rifle or shotgun or any ammunition or ammunition components to be used therewith nor to so regulate the keeping of gunpowder so as to directly or indirectly prohibit the ownership of the ammunition. Nothing herein shall in any way impair the authority of any municipality, or the governing body thereof, to enact any ordinance or resolution respecting the power to arrest, convict and punish any individual under the provisions of subdivision (16), section five [§ 8-12-5(16)] of this article or from enforcing any such ordinance or resolution: Provided, That any municipal ordinance in place as of the effective date of this section shall be excepted from the provisions of this section: Provided, however, That no provision in this section may be construed to limit the authority of a municipality to restrict the commercial use of real estate in designated areas through planning or zoning ordinances.LESS
Except as provided in this section, a person may not maintain a nuisance action for noise against a shooting range located in the vicinity of that person's property if the range was established as of the date of the person acquiring the property.
W.VA. CODE ANN. §61-6-23 (2011)
§ 61-6-23. Shooting range; limitations on nuisance actions
(a) As used in this section:
(1) “Person” means an individual, proprietorship, partnership, corporation, club or other legal entity;
(2) “Shooting range” or “range” means an area designed and operated for the use of rifles, shotguns, pistols, silhouettes, skeet, trap, black powder or any other similar shooting.
(b) Except as provided in this section, a person may not maintain a nuisance action for noise against a shooting range located in the vicinity of that person's property if the range was established as of the date of the person acquiring the property. If there is a substantial change in use of the range after the person acquires the property, the person may maintain a nuisance action if the action is brought within two years from the beginning of the substantial change in use of the range.
(c) A person who owned property in the vicinity of a shooting range that was established after the person acquired the property may maintain a nuisance action for noise against that range only if the action is brought within four years after establishment of the range or two years after a substantial change in use of the range.
(d) If there has been no shooting activity at a range for a period of two years, resumption of shooting is considered establishment of a new range for the purposes of this section.LESS
Persons under the age of 18 may not carry or possess firearms unless on family premises or on other property with permission of the owner or lessee. Also excepted is lawful hunting or traveling to or from a hunting site.MORE
It is unlawful to publicly display firearms for sale or rent, in such a manner as a passerby on a street, road or alley may see them. It is unlawful to sell or rent firearms to anyone who is prohibited from possessing them.
It is unlawful to brandish a weapon, whether licensed to carry or not, in such a manner as to cause or threaten a breach of the peace.
Carrying or possessing firearms on the property of another is unlawful when prohibited by the owner, lessee or other person charged with the care, custody and control of real property. When requested by the owner, lessee or other person, the individual carrying or possessing the firearm must either relinquish possession or leave the premises. Municipalities may not restrict the right to purchase, possess, transfer, own, carry, transport, sell or store firearms, ammunition, or ammunition components. The municipalities’ laws in effect prior to June 3, 1999 remain in effect. The authority to bring suit and the right to recover against any firearms or ammunition manufacturer, seller, trade association or dealer of firearms by or on behalf of any county or municipality in the state for damages, abatement or injunctive relief resulting from or relating to the design, manufacture, marketing, or sale of firearms or ammunition to the public is reserved exclusively to the state. This does not prohibit a county or municipality from bringing an action for breach of contract or warranty as to firearms or ammunition purchased by the county or municipality.
A hunting law requires that firearms in a motor vehicle be unloaded. In addition, firearms must be cased or taken apart and securely wrapped during the evening and night hours. Exempt from this requirement are persons who are lawfully carrying their pistol or revolver for self defense purposes while hunting or while in a motor vehicle. There is also an exception for holders of the Class Q special hunting permit for disabled persons to hunt from a vehicle under specified circumstances.
It is unlawful to possess a firearm on any school bus, any public or private primary or secondary school or grounds thereof, or at any school-sponsored function. This shall not apply to a law enforcement officer, or while conducting programs with a valid educational purpose with permission from the board of education or principal, or possession of an unloaded firearm in a locked motor vehicle.LESS
Wednesday, March 1, 2023
West Virginia Gov. Justice was joined by the NRA today to sign the NRA-Backed Campus Self-Defense Act that ...
Monday, February 27, 2023
On March 1st, Governor Jim Justice will hold a ceremonial signing of Senate Bill 10, the NRA-backed Campus Self-Defense ...
Tuesday, February 21, 2023
Today, the House voted 84-14 to pass Senate Bill 10, the Campus Self-Defense Act, to ensure that law-abiding ...
Tuesday, February 21, 2023
West Virginia lawmakers passed an NRA-backed bill that will allow concealed carry permit holders to carry their firearms on ...
Wednesday, February 15, 2023
Today, the House Judiciary Committee voted to pass Senate Bill 10, the Campus Self-Defense Act, to ensure that ...
Tuesday, February 14, 2023
Tomorrow, at 9:00AM, the House Judiciary Committee will hold a public hearing on Senate Bill 10, the Campus ...
Tuesday, January 24, 2023
Today, the Senate voted 29-4 to pass Senate Bill 10, the Campus Self-Defense Act, to ensure that law-abiding ...
Wednesday, January 18, 2023
Today, the Senate Judiciary Committee voted to advance Senate Bill 10, the Campus Self-Defense Act, to ensure that ...
Wednesday, January 11, 2023
Today, Senator Rupie Phillips introduced Senate Bill 10, the Campus Self-Defense Act, to ensure that law-abiding adults are ...
Wednesday, January 11, 2023
Today, January 11th, the West Virginia Legislature begins the 2023 legislative session. As in 2022, the Legislature can expect to see both pro and anti-gun agendas this year. Gun ...