Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

California: Orange County Fairgrounds Board of Directors Meeting Could Determine Future of Gun Show

Monday, June 25, 2018

California: Orange County Fairgrounds Board of Directors Meeting Could Determine Future of Gun Show

 

On Thursday, June 28th, at 9:00 am, the Board of Directors for the 32nd District Agricultural Association and the Orange County Fairgrounds will be meeting to discuss the approval of upcoming contracts for the Fairgrounds.  The approval of the Gun Show contracts are among those listed for consideration.   

At the last meeting in May, several Board members moved the gun show contracts out of the “Consent Items” section of the agenda.  This meant that they could discuss and vote on them separately from the other types of contracts up for approval and the Board refused to approve any further gun show contracts past the June show. 

We anticipate the same types of actions by Board members who oppose the continuation of the gun shows in Orange County.  We encourage gun owners to attend the meeting or contact the board to voice support for the continued use of the fairgrounds for future gun shows. Some Board members have made it clear that they want nothing more than to bring an end to the gun shows in Costa Mesa. 

It is unclear whether the Board intends to discuss banning gun shows entirely or take steps to refuse adoption of pending contracts for future shows.  The Board website gives notice that “At the discretion of the Board of Directors, all items appearing on this agenda, whether or not expressly listed for action, may be deliberated and may be subject to action by the Board of Directors.”   Given the ambiguity of their plans, it is important that all gun owners and supporters have a strong presence either at the meeting or by contacting the Board directly in support of keeping the gun show operational.  You can also use our TAKE ACTION BUTTON below to contact the Board Members. 

Meeting Information

Thursday, June 28, 2018 at 9:00AM to 2:00PM

Administrative Building-O.C. Fair and Event Center

88 Fair Drive, Costa Mesa, California

 

Direct Board Contacts 

Barbara Bagneris, Chair- bbagneris@ocfairboard.com

Robert Ruiz, Vice Chair- rruiz@ocfairboard.com

Ashleigh Aitken, member- aaitken@ocfairboard.com

Nick Berardino, member- nberardino@ocfairboard.com

Sandra Cervantes, member- scervantes@ocfairboard.com

Douglas La Belle, member- dlabelle@ocfairboard.com

Gerardo Mouet, member- gmouet@ocfairboard.com

Newton Pham, member- npham@ocfairboard.com

Stan Tkaczyk, member- stkaczyk@ocfairboard.com

Continue to check your inbox and the California Stand and Fight web page for updates on issues impacting your Second Amendment rights and hunting heritage in California.

IN THIS ARTICLE
California Gun Shows

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.