Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Florida Report: Campus Carry Passes & Sheriff's Assoc. position on Open Carry

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

DATE:  November 4, 2015
TO: USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM: Marion P. Hammer
  USF Executive Director
  NRA Past President

      
ISSUE ONE-CAMPUS CARRY:   HB-4001, Campus Carry by CW License Holders by Rep. Greg Steube (R-Sarasota) was heard in the House Higher Education Committee on Wednesday, November 4, 2015, at 8:00am and PASSED BY A VOTE OF 10-3

Under this bill, adults 21 years of age or older who have a valid Florida Concealed Weapons or Firearm License will be able to carry their concealed firearms on college or university campuses for protection.

VOTING FOR THE BILL WERE:
Elizabeth.Porter@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jake.Raburn@myfloridahouse.gov,
Michelle.Rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bob.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov,
Julio.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
James.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Keith.Perry@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rene.Plasencia@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov,
Cyndi.Stevenson@myfloridahouse.gov

VOTING AGAINST THE BILL WERE:
Katie.Edwards@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kristin.Jacobs@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dave.Kerner@myfloridahouse.gov,

 

ISSUE TWO- The Florida Sheriff's Real position on Open Carry?

An email response from the Florida Sheriffs Association (FSA)  today said they are NEUTRAL on HB-163 (which is the Open Carry bill by Rep. Matt Gaetz) and SB-68 (which is the Campus Carry bill by Senator Greg Evers)

While the Legislative Committee Chairman of Florida Sheriffs Association is telling the media that the FSA opposes Open Carry, the Association's official written response is that they are Neutral. Below is the official response they sent to individual who emailed them asking for their official position on Open Carry and Campus Carry.  The email was forwarded to us.

Begin forwarded message:

From: info <info@flsheriffs.org>
Date: November 4, 2015 at 9:24:49 AM EST
To: John XXXXX @gmail.com>
Subject: RE: Associations Official Recommendations for SB 300, HB 163

Mr. XXXXXXX,

Thank you for writing the Florida Sheriffs Association.

We have been receiving a lot of emails like yours. The FSA is neutral on HB 163 and SB 68.

Please let us know if we can be of any other assistance.

Take care,
Florida Sheriffs Association

This is indeed a puzzler....Clearly somebody has it wrong.

IN THIS ARTICLE
Florida Campus Carry

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.