Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

New Hampshire: Pro-gun Bills will be Revisited by House Committees This Week

Monday, August 17, 2015

New Hampshire: Pro-gun Bills will be Revisited by House Committees This Week

This Thursday, August 20, two state House committees will hold hearings with public comment on several pro-gun bills.

The House Criminal Justice and Public Safety Committee will meet at 10:00 a.m. in Room 204 LOB to consider the following legislation:

  • House Bill 512, sponsored by Representative Shari Lebrech (R), addresses the confiscation of firearms, ammunition or firearm accessories during a state of emergency.  If passed, this bill would implement penalties against law enforcement who try to confiscate firearms, ammunition or firearm accessories when a state of emergency has been declared.

  • House Bill 582, sponsored by Representative Guy Comtois (R), would repeal the license requirement to carry a concealed pistol or revolver, unless a person is prohibited otherwise.  For those who choose to obtain licenses, HB 582 would also increase the length of time in which a license is valid.

The House Fish and Game and Marine Resources Committee will meet at 10:00 a.m. in Room 308 LOB to consider the following legislation:

  • House Bill 500, sponsored by Representative John Burt (R), would repeal provisions which prohibit the use of firearm sound suppressors while hunting, as previously reported.  Sound suppressors attached to firearms are an additional tool available to help protect the shooter’s hearing, reduce noise complaints by surrounding residents, as well as increase accuracy and safety and are legal in 37 other states while hunting.

We encourage you to attend these hearings and show your support for these important NRA-backed bills.  If you cannot attend the committee hearings, please contact the members of the House Criminal Justice and Public Safety Committee and the House Fish and Game and Marine Resources Committee to voice your support for these bills.  Contact information can be found below.


House Criminal Justice and Public Safety Committee:

Representative John Tholl (R) - Chairman
(603) 837-2278
jetjr2@msn.com

Representative David Welch (R) - V. Chairman
(603) 642-4402
v-chcj@outlook.com

Representative Dennis Fields (R) - Clerk
(603) 528-6224
dennis.fields@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Robert Fesh (R)
(603) 434-1550
rmfesh@comcast.net

Representative Shawn Sweeney (R)
(603) 265-0319
shawn.sweeney@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Robert Fisher (R)
(802) 727-0441
robert.fisher@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Dennis Green (R)
(603) 234-7776
Dennis.Green@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Timothy Robertson (D)
(603) 352-7006
timothyrbrtsn2@gmail.com

Representative Andrew O'Hearne (D)
(603) 558-1038
Andrew.OHearne@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Dick Marston (R)
(603) 361-8192
dick.marston.nhstaterep@gmail.com

Representative Arthur Barnes (R)
(603) 893-4754
arthur.barnes@leg.state.nh.us

Representative John Martin (R)
(603) 774-3098
john.martin@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Laura Pantelakos (D)
(603) 436-2148
lcpantelakos@comcast.net

Representative Robert Cushing (D)
(603) 926-2737
renny.cushing@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Latha Mangipudi (D)
(603) 891-1239
Latha.Mangipudi@leg.state.nh.us

Representative John Burt (R)
(603) 624-5084
john.burt@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Ed Comeau (R)
(603) 522-2275
ed@edcomeau.org

Representative Harold Parker (R)
(603) 491-6807
hbpcd6@gmail.com

Representative Roger Berube (D)
(603) 692-5653
rogerrberube@hotmail.com

Representative Geoffrey Hirsch (D)
(603) 938-2833
Geoffrey.Hirsch@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Len DiSesa (D)
(603) 343-4344
Len.DiSesa@leg.state.nh.us

House Fish and Game and Marine Resource Committee:

Representative David Kidder (R) – Chairman
(603) 526-4767
david.kidder@leg.state.nh.us

Representative James Webb (R) - V. Chairman
(603) 845-3454
james.webb@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Jonathan Manley (D) - Clerk
(603) 588-2427
Jonathan.Manley@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Elisabeth Sanders (R)
(603) 642-5070
elisabeth.sanders@leg.state.nh.us 

Representative Carlos Gonzalez (R)
(603) 674-9696
cegonzalezj@comcast.net 

Representative Shari LeBreche (R)
(603) 455-6186
shari.lebreche@leg.state.nh.us 

Representative Peter Silva (R)
(603) 888-0558
psilva.nhstaterep@gmail.com

Representative Armand Forest (D)
(603) 669-0646
Armand.Forest@leg.state.nh.us

Representative C. Lee Guerette (D)
(603) 888-2355
Lee.Guerette@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Joe Duarte (R)
(603) 483-8454
joe.duarte@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Shem Kellogg (R)
(603) 560-8621
shem.kellogg@leg.state.nh.us

Representative Douglas Long (R)
(603) 927-4137
longbroscon@mcttelecom.com 

Representative Kenneth Ward (D)
(603) 988-7580
ken.ward@leg.state.nh.us 

Representative Richard McNamara (D)
(508) 728-9836
Richard.McNamara@leg.state.nh.us 

Representative Ivy Vann (D)
(603) 533-0357
Ivy.Vann@leg.state.nh.us 

Representative Guy Comtois (R)
(603) 776-8989
gcomtois2010@gmail.com

Representative Robert Knowles (R)
(603) 335-0373
RKnowles@metrocast.net 

Representative James Spillane (R)
(603) 463-5623
James@JamesSpillane.org 

Representative Benjamin Baroody (D)
(603) 627-1122
ben.baroody@leg.state.nh.us 

Representative Ted Rokas (D)
(603) 620-2228
Ted.Rokas@leg.state.nh.us

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Friday, January 19, 2018

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Yesterday, the House Judiciary Committee passed Substitute House Bill 1122 out of committee on a 7-6 vote.  This bill, which would require gun owners to lock up their firearms or potentially face criminal charges, will ...

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

Gun control groups are fond of describing preemption as a doctrine whereby a state has stripped local governments of their power to regulate guns.

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

The sorry state of gun politics in Australia was put into stark relief recently, after Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Legislative Assembly MP Anthony Perrett took a principled stand in favor of his constituents’ gun rights.

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and their front-group “Arizonans for Wildlife” are currently gathering signatures for a ballot initiative that would ban the hunting and trapping of mountain lions and bobcats in ...

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

New Jersey:  2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

Friday, January 19, 2018

New Jersey: 2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

A new Governor took the reins from Gov. Chris Christie this week, and a new Legislature has been sworn into office. 

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

On Thursday, January 18th, Senate Bill 20 passed the Indiana state Senate by a vote of 47-2 and will now move to the House.  

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Today, Senator Karl Rhoads (D-13) introduced legislation that would ban modifications commonly made to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  SB 2046 is currently pending a committee referral.  Please contact your Senator today and urge them to OPPOSE this ...

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.