Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

Colorado: Apprentice Hunting Bill Scheduled for House Hearing on Monday

Friday, April 24, 2015

Colorado: Apprentice Hunting Bill Scheduled for House Hearing on Monday

Next Monday, April 27th, Senate Bill 226 is scheduled to be heard in the Colorado House Agriculture, Livestock & Natural Resources Committee at 1:30 pm in room 107 of the Capitol building.

As previously reported, SB 226 would give hunters who are at least 10 years of age the ability to go into the field to hunt, as long as they are accompanied by someone at least 18 years of age or older who has successfully completed hunter education training.  This bill would also remove the mandated 10 hour training requirement for obtaining a hunter education license but would still keep training in place by a division certified instructor.

Lengthy hunter education requirements often discourage potential hunters from going afield because they are unwilling to dedicate the necessary time to complete the course in order to pursue an activity that they are simply trying out.  The apprentice license program would allow them to experience hunting while under the supervision of a mentor.  Eventually, the goal is for these apprentices to complete a hunter education course so they can hunt on their own, which has largely been the case in the states with similar programs.  Since 2006, 35 states have sold more than 1.4 million apprentice hunting licenses and have proven the value and safety of mentoring newcomers in the field.  These hunters have proven to be safer than all other classes of hunters in what is already one of the safest recreational activities in America.

Please use the contact information provided below to call and email members of the House Agriculture, Livestock & Natural Resources Committee and politely ask that they vote YES on SB 226. 

House Agriculture, Livestock & Natural Resources Committee:

Representative Ed Vigil (D-62), Chair
(303) 866- 2916
edvigil@gmail.com  

Representative KC Becker (D-13), Vice-Chair
(303) 866- 2578
Kcbecker.house@state.co.us  

Representative Jeni Arndt (D-53)
(303) 866- 2917
Jeni.arndt.house@state.co.us  

Representative Jon Becker (R-65)
(303) 866- 3706
Jon.becker.house@state.co.us  

Representative J. Paul Brown (R-59)
(303) 866- 2914
Jpaul.brown.house@state.co.us  

Representative Perry Buck (R-49)
(303) 866- 2907
Perrybuck49@gmail.com  

Representative Don Coram (R-58)
(303) 866- 2955|
Don.coram.house@state.co.us  

Representative Jessie Danielson (D-24)
(303) 866- 5522
Jessie.danielson.house@state.co.us  

Representative Tim Dore (R-64)
(303) 866- 2398
Tim.dore.house@state.co.us  

Representative Joann Ginal (D-52)
(303) 866- 4569
Joann.ginal.house@state.co.us  

Representative Steve Lebsock (D-34)
(303) 866- 2931
Steve.lebsock.house@state.co.us  

Representative Diane Mitsch Bush (D-26)  
(303) 866- 2923
Diane.mitschbush.house@state.co.us  

Representative Lori Saine (R-63)
(303) 866- 2906
Lori.saine.house@state.co.us  

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.