Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Minnesota: Pro-Gun House Bills to Receive Committee Hearings This Week

Monday, March 9, 2015

Minnesota:  Pro-Gun House Bills to Receive Committee Hearings This Week

Thanks to your support, on Thursday, March 12, at 10:15 a.m. in State Office Building Room 10, the House Public Safety and Crime Prevention Policy and Finance Committee will hold a hearing on four important pro-gun bills.  Please contact members of this Committee and request their support for these important measures. 

House File 830, authored by state Representatives Eric Lucero (R-30B), Tony Cornish (R-23B) and David Dill (DFL-03A), would align Minnesota with more than 40 states that have conformed their statutes to federal law so that their residents can purchase rifles and shotguns in non-contiguous states, provided that the purchase or transfer complies with state and federal law.  Currently, Minnesota statute affirms that residents may purchase long guns in Minnesota and bordering states, but remains silent on whether or not residents might purchase long guns in non-contiguous states. 

House File 372, authored by state Representatives Jim Nash (R-47), David Dill (DFL-03A) and Tim Miller (R-17A), modifies the Capitol Carry Notification provision.  Current statute allows permit holders to carry on the capitol complex as long as the permit holder “so notify the sheriff or the commissioner of public safety, as appropriate.”  This legislation would update and clarify the statute to provide that application for permit constitutes “notification,” as required. 

House File 1434, authored by state Representatives Tony Cornish (R-23B), Mark Anderson (R-09A), and David Dill (DFL-03A), would legalize ownership and possession of firearm sound suppressors.  For more information on this legislation and the benefits of shooting suppressed, click here.

House File 305, authored by state Representatives Dan Fabian (R-01A), Steve Green (R-02B) and David Dill (DFL-30A), would amend the Minnesota Personal Protection Act to recognize the North Dakota permit to carry as valid in Minnesota to establish reciprocity between the two states.  

Also on Thursday, House File 722 will be heard in the House Government Operations and Elections Policy Committee at 10 a.m. in the Basement Hearing Room.  Authored by Representatives Jim Newberger (R-15B), Eric Lucero (R-30B) and Josh Heintzeman (R-10A), HF 722 would prohibit any government agency from confiscating or regulating the lawful possession, carrying, transfer, transportation and defensive use of firearms or ammunition during a state of emergency, like the actions that occurred in the wake of Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans, Louisiana.  This important language was passed overwhelmingly by the House and Senate in 2012, but was part of a bill which Governor Dayton vetoed.  HF 722 will need your strong support this year to pass through the legislature and receive the Governor’s signature.  

Please use the contact information provided below to call and email members of the House Public Safety and Crime Prevention Policy and Finance Committee in SUPPORT of HF 830, HF 372, HF 1434 and HF 305.  Please also contact members of the House Government Operations and Elections Policy Committee in SUPPORT of HF 722.

 

House Public Safety and Crime Prevention Policy and Finance Committee:

Representative Tony Cornish (R-23B), Chairman
Phone: 651-296-4240 
E-mail: rep.tony.cornish@house.mn

Representative Brian Johnson (R-32A), Vice Chairman
Phone: 651-296-4346 
E-mail: rep.brian.johnson@house.mn

Representative Debra Hilstrom (DFL-40B), DFL Lead
Phone: 651-296-3709 
E-mail: rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

Representative John (Jack) Considine Jr. (DFL-19B)
Phone: 651-296-3248 
E-mail: rep.jack.considine@house.mn

Representative Raymond Dehn (DFL-59B)
Phone: 651-296-8659 
E-mail: rep.raymond.dehn@house.mn

Representative Jerry Hertaus (R-33A)
Phone: 651-296-9188 
E-mail: rep.jerry.hertaus@house.mn

Representative Jeff Howe (R-13A)
Phone: 651-296-4373 
E-mail: rep.jeff.howe@house.mn

Representative Kathy Lohmer (R-39B)
Phone: 651-296-4244 
E-mail: rep.kathy.lohmer@house.mn

Representative Eric Lucero (R-30B)
Phone: 651-296-1534 
E-mail: rep.eric.lucero@house.mn

Representative Jim Newberger (R-15B)
Phone: 651-296-2451 
E-mail: rep.jim.newberger@house.mn

Representative Marion O'Neill (R-29B)
Phone: 651-296-5063 
E-mail: rep.marion.oneill@house.mn

Representative Duane Quam (R-25A)
Phone: 651-296-9236 
E-mail: rep.duane.quam@house.mn

Representative Paul Rosenthal (DFL-49B)
Phone: 651-296-7803 
E-mail: rep.paul.rosenthal@house.mn

Representative Dan Schoen (DFL-54A)
Phone: 651-296-4342 
E-mail: rep.dan.schoen@house.mn

Representative JoAnn Ward (DFL-53A)
Phone: 651-296-7807 
E-mail: rep.joann.ward@house.mn

Representative Ryan Winkler (DFL-46A)
Phone: 651-296-7026 
E-mail: rep.ryan.winkler@house.mn

Representative Nick Zerwas (R-30A)
Phone: 651-296-4237 
E-mail: rep.nick.zerwas@house.mn

 

House Government Operations and Elections Policy Committee:

Representative Tim Sanders (R-37B), Chairman
Phone: 651-296-4226 
E-mail: rep.tim.sanders@house.mn

Representative Cindy Pugh (R-33B), Vice Chairman
Phone: 651-296-4315 
E-mail: rep.cindy.pugh@house.mn

Representative Michael V. Nelson (DFL-40A), DFL Lead
Phone: 651-296-3751 
E-mail: rep.michael.nelson@house.mn

Representative Tony Albright (R-55B)
Phone: 651-296-5185 
E-mail: rep.tony.albright@house.mn

Representative Kelly Fenton (R-53B)
Phone: 651-296-1147 
E-mail: rep.kelly.fenton@house.mn

Representative Laurie Halverson (DFL-51B)
Phone: 651-296-4128 
E-mail: rep.laurie.halverson@house.mn

Representative Carolyn Laine (DFL-41B)
Phone: 651-296-4331 
E-mail: rep.carolyn.laine@house.mn

Representative Joe Mullery (DFL-59A)
Phone: 651-296-4262 
E-mail: rep.joe.mullery@house.mn

Representative Jim Nash (R-47A)
Phone: 651-296-4282 
E-mail: rep.jim.nash@house.mn

Representative Tim O'Driscoll (R-13B)
Phone: 651-296-7808 
E-mail: rep.tim.odriscoll@house.mn

Representative Linda Runbeck (R-38A)
Phone: 651-296-2907 
E-mail: rep.linda.runbeck@house.mn

Representative Peggy Scott (R-35B)
Phone: 651-296-4231 
E-mail: rep.peggy.scott@house.mn

Representative Yvonne Selcer (DFL-48A)
Phone: 651-296-3964 
E-mail: rep.yvonne.selcer@house.mn

Representative Tama Theis (R-14A)
Phone: 651-296-6316 
E-mail: rep.tama.theis@house.mn

Representative Cheryl Youakim (DFL-46B)
Phone: 651-296-9889 
E-mail: rep.cheryl.youakim@house.mn 

Representative Jim Knoblach (R-14B)
Phone: 651-296-6612 
E-mail: rep.jim.knoblach@house.mn

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Florida Urgent Alert! Self-defense Bill up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 1/24/2017

A critical self-defense bill will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, between 2:00-4:00pm.  SB-128 Burden of Proof by Senator Rob Bradley restores the presumption of innocence in self-defense cases ...

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.