Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Minnesota: Pro-Gun House Bills to Receive Committee Hearings This Week

Monday, March 9, 2015

Minnesota:  Pro-Gun House Bills to Receive Committee Hearings This Week

Thanks to your support, on Thursday, March 12, at 10:15 a.m. in State Office Building Room 10, the House Public Safety and Crime Prevention Policy and Finance Committee will hold a hearing on four important pro-gun bills.  Please contact members of this Committee and request their support for these important measures. 

House File 830, authored by state Representatives Eric Lucero (R-30B), Tony Cornish (R-23B) and David Dill (DFL-03A), would align Minnesota with more than 40 states that have conformed their statutes to federal law so that their residents can purchase rifles and shotguns in non-contiguous states, provided that the purchase or transfer complies with state and federal law.  Currently, Minnesota statute affirms that residents may purchase long guns in Minnesota and bordering states, but remains silent on whether or not residents might purchase long guns in non-contiguous states. 

House File 372, authored by state Representatives Jim Nash (R-47), David Dill (DFL-03A) and Tim Miller (R-17A), modifies the Capitol Carry Notification provision.  Current statute allows permit holders to carry on the capitol complex as long as the permit holder “so notify the sheriff or the commissioner of public safety, as appropriate.”  This legislation would update and clarify the statute to provide that application for permit constitutes “notification,” as required. 

House File 1434, authored by state Representatives Tony Cornish (R-23B), Mark Anderson (R-09A), and David Dill (DFL-03A), would legalize ownership and possession of firearm sound suppressors.  For more information on this legislation and the benefits of shooting suppressed, click here.

House File 305, authored by state Representatives Dan Fabian (R-01A), Steve Green (R-02B) and David Dill (DFL-30A), would amend the Minnesota Personal Protection Act to recognize the North Dakota permit to carry as valid in Minnesota to establish reciprocity between the two states.  

Also on Thursday, House File 722 will be heard in the House Government Operations and Elections Policy Committee at 10 a.m. in the Basement Hearing Room.  Authored by Representatives Jim Newberger (R-15B), Eric Lucero (R-30B) and Josh Heintzeman (R-10A), HF 722 would prohibit any government agency from confiscating or regulating the lawful possession, carrying, transfer, transportation and defensive use of firearms or ammunition during a state of emergency, like the actions that occurred in the wake of Hurricane Katrina in New Orleans, Louisiana.  This important language was passed overwhelmingly by the House and Senate in 2012, but was part of a bill which Governor Dayton vetoed.  HF 722 will need your strong support this year to pass through the legislature and receive the Governor’s signature.  

Please use the contact information provided below to call and email members of the House Public Safety and Crime Prevention Policy and Finance Committee in SUPPORT of HF 830, HF 372, HF 1434 and HF 305.  Please also contact members of the House Government Operations and Elections Policy Committee in SUPPORT of HF 722.

 

House Public Safety and Crime Prevention Policy and Finance Committee:

Representative Tony Cornish (R-23B), Chairman
Phone: 651-296-4240 
E-mail: rep.tony.cornish@house.mn

Representative Brian Johnson (R-32A), Vice Chairman
Phone: 651-296-4346 
E-mail: rep.brian.johnson@house.mn

Representative Debra Hilstrom (DFL-40B), DFL Lead
Phone: 651-296-3709 
E-mail: rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

Representative John (Jack) Considine Jr. (DFL-19B)
Phone: 651-296-3248 
E-mail: rep.jack.considine@house.mn

Representative Raymond Dehn (DFL-59B)
Phone: 651-296-8659 
E-mail: rep.raymond.dehn@house.mn

Representative Jerry Hertaus (R-33A)
Phone: 651-296-9188 
E-mail: rep.jerry.hertaus@house.mn

Representative Jeff Howe (R-13A)
Phone: 651-296-4373 
E-mail: rep.jeff.howe@house.mn

Representative Kathy Lohmer (R-39B)
Phone: 651-296-4244 
E-mail: rep.kathy.lohmer@house.mn

Representative Eric Lucero (R-30B)
Phone: 651-296-1534 
E-mail: rep.eric.lucero@house.mn

Representative Jim Newberger (R-15B)
Phone: 651-296-2451 
E-mail: rep.jim.newberger@house.mn

Representative Marion O'Neill (R-29B)
Phone: 651-296-5063 
E-mail: rep.marion.oneill@house.mn

Representative Duane Quam (R-25A)
Phone: 651-296-9236 
E-mail: rep.duane.quam@house.mn

Representative Paul Rosenthal (DFL-49B)
Phone: 651-296-7803 
E-mail: rep.paul.rosenthal@house.mn

Representative Dan Schoen (DFL-54A)
Phone: 651-296-4342 
E-mail: rep.dan.schoen@house.mn

Representative JoAnn Ward (DFL-53A)
Phone: 651-296-7807 
E-mail: rep.joann.ward@house.mn

Representative Ryan Winkler (DFL-46A)
Phone: 651-296-7026 
E-mail: rep.ryan.winkler@house.mn

Representative Nick Zerwas (R-30A)
Phone: 651-296-4237 
E-mail: rep.nick.zerwas@house.mn

 

House Government Operations and Elections Policy Committee:

Representative Tim Sanders (R-37B), Chairman
Phone: 651-296-4226 
E-mail: rep.tim.sanders@house.mn

Representative Cindy Pugh (R-33B), Vice Chairman
Phone: 651-296-4315 
E-mail: rep.cindy.pugh@house.mn

Representative Michael V. Nelson (DFL-40A), DFL Lead
Phone: 651-296-3751 
E-mail: rep.michael.nelson@house.mn

Representative Tony Albright (R-55B)
Phone: 651-296-5185 
E-mail: rep.tony.albright@house.mn

Representative Kelly Fenton (R-53B)
Phone: 651-296-1147 
E-mail: rep.kelly.fenton@house.mn

Representative Laurie Halverson (DFL-51B)
Phone: 651-296-4128 
E-mail: rep.laurie.halverson@house.mn

Representative Carolyn Laine (DFL-41B)
Phone: 651-296-4331 
E-mail: rep.carolyn.laine@house.mn

Representative Joe Mullery (DFL-59A)
Phone: 651-296-4262 
E-mail: rep.joe.mullery@house.mn

Representative Jim Nash (R-47A)
Phone: 651-296-4282 
E-mail: rep.jim.nash@house.mn

Representative Tim O'Driscoll (R-13B)
Phone: 651-296-7808 
E-mail: rep.tim.odriscoll@house.mn

Representative Linda Runbeck (R-38A)
Phone: 651-296-2907 
E-mail: rep.linda.runbeck@house.mn

Representative Peggy Scott (R-35B)
Phone: 651-296-4231 
E-mail: rep.peggy.scott@house.mn

Representative Yvonne Selcer (DFL-48A)
Phone: 651-296-3964 
E-mail: rep.yvonne.selcer@house.mn

Representative Tama Theis (R-14A)
Phone: 651-296-6316 
E-mail: rep.tama.theis@house.mn

Representative Cheryl Youakim (DFL-46B)
Phone: 651-296-9889 
E-mail: rep.cheryl.youakim@house.mn 

Representative Jim Knoblach (R-14B)
Phone: 651-296-6612 
E-mail: rep.jim.knoblach@house.mn

TRENDING NOW
Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

On Wednesday, May 24, 2017, Chairman of the House Committee on Natural Resources Rob Bishop (R-UT) introduced H.R. 2620, the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act." This bill would remove ATF's authority to use the ...

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

Information collected by the Crime Prevention Research Center (CPRC) indicates an unprecedented surge in the number of concealed carry permits, with the largest one-year increase on record occurring between May 2016 and May 2017.

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

This week, Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO) reintroduced the Financial Institution Customer Protection Act, a bill aimed at permanently dismantling Operation Choke Point (OCP).  

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today applauded Texas Gov. Greg Abbott for signing into law NRA-backed legislation that will make license to carry fees in Texas among the lowest in the ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

Back in April, NRA-ILA alerted readers to the results of the New Zealand Parliament Law and Order Committee’s “Inquiry into issues relating to the illegal possession of firearms in New Zealand,” which proposed that a ...

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

It is one of the most well-worn tactics of those who advocate for gun control. Step one, acquire statistics on firearms injuries among children ages 0-14. Step two, combine these relatively low numbers with the ...

Illinois: Anti-Gun Legislators Attempting to Get “Assault Weapon” Language into law

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Illinois: Anti-Gun Legislators Attempting to Get “Assault Weapon” Language into law

This week, Senator Antonio Munoz filed Senate Amendment 2 to Senate Bill 556.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.