Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Legislation to Be Heard Tomorrow in Committee

Wednesday, February 25, 2015

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Legislation to Be Heard Tomorrow in Committee

Tomorrow, a hearing will be held in the Assembly Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety on Assembly Bill 49 at 10:30 A.M.  If passed and enacted into law, AB 49 would repeal Wisconsin’s antiquated 48 hour waiting period for handgun purchases.  It is critical that you contact members of the Assembly Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety immediately and urge them to support this important legislation.

The 48-Hour Rule for handgun purchases was first enacted in Wisconsin in 1976, prior to background checks on handgun sales.  Due to the advent of instant background checks such as the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS), the 48 hour waiting period has become an unnecessary time tax on both the purchaser and the dealer.  AB 49 would repeal the waiting period requirement and allow a licensed firearm dealer to transfer ownership of a handgun following notice from the Department of Justice that the background check indicates that the purchaser is not prohibited from possessing a firearm.  

Using the contact information provided below, it is critical that you contact members of the Assembly Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety and politely request their support for Assembly Bill 49 when it comes before them tomorrow.

Assembly Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety:

Representative Joel Kleefisch (R-38), Chairman
Phone:
(608) 266-8551
Email: 
Rep.Kleefisch@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Jesse Kremer (R-59), Vice Chairman
Phone:
(608) 266-9175
Email: 
Rep.Kremer@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Mark Born (R-39)
Phone:
(608) 266-2540
Email: 
Rep.Born@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Evan Goyke (D-18)
Phone:
(608) 266-0645
Email: 
Rep.Goyke@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Cody Horlacher (R-33)
Phone:
(608) 266-5715
Email: 
Rep.Horlacher@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative La Tonya Johnson (D-17)
Phone:
(608) 266-5580
Email: 
Rep.Johnson@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Frederick Kessler (D-12)
Phone:
(608) 266-5813
Email: 
Rep.Kessler@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Todd Novak (R-51)
Phone:
(608) 266-7502
Email: 
Rep.Novak@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Jim Ott (R-23)
Phone:
(608) 266-0486
Email: 
Rep.OttJ@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Jessie Rodriguez (R-21)
Phone:
(608) 266-0610
Email: 
Rep.Rodriguez@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative John Spiros (R-86)
Phone:
(608) 266-1182
Email: 
Rep.Spiros@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative JoCasta Zamarripa (D-8)
Phone:
(608) 267-7669
Email: 
Rep.Zamarripa@legis.wisconsin.gov

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.