Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Maryland: Radical Ivory Ban Bill to be Heard in House Committee

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Maryland: Radical Ivory Ban Bill to be Heard in House Committee

On Wednesday, March 4, the Maryland House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear House Bill 713 at 1:00 p.m.  HB 713 was introduced with the supposed intent of curbing poaching and helping to end the illegal ivory trade.  Unfortunately, HB 713 would accomplish neither of these purported objectives.  The bill would, however, harm those who have no part in these activities; firearm owners, sportsmen, hunters, recreational shooters and gun collectors who have legally purchased firearms (and knives, jewelry and other items) that have incorporated ivory features for decades. 

Historically, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service maintained the position that most ivory in the U.S. has been legally imported and that its sale in the U.S. did not materially contribute to the illegal ivory trade.  Nevertheless, under HB 713 the import, sale, purchase, barter, and possession with intent to sell of any ivory (defined to include any teeth or tusk), ivory product, or items which included any animal’s teeth or tusks (including wildlife mounts) will be prohibited.  Virtually any lawful item containing any amount of ivory would be rendered valueless as it could be a misdemeanor for you to sell it or for another person to buy it.

House Bill 713 would significantly diminish the value of legally obtained firearms containing any ivory, even if that ivory was legally purchased or is a bona fide antique.  This is even stricter than recent federal proposals to further restrict domestic sales of ivory.  If implemented, the proposed ban would make sales of legally acquired ivory and horn products a misdemeanor, with second or subsequent offenses punishable as a felony.

Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and politely urge them to oppose House Bill 713.  Contact information is provided below.

  

House Judiciary Committee:

Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D-23B), Chair
Email: joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us
Phone: (410)-841-3488

Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais (D-15), Vice Chair
Email: kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3052

Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)
Email: curt.anderson@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3291

Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary (D-13)
Email: Vanessa.Atterbeary@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3471

Delegate Will Campos (D-47B)
Email: Will.Campos@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3340

Delegate Jill P. Carter (D-41)
Email: jill.carter@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3268

Delegate John W. E. Cluster, Jr. (R-8)
Email: john.cluster@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3526

Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (D-40)
Email: frank.conaway@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3189

Delegate William Folden (R-3B)
Email: William.Folden@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3240

Delegate Glen Glass (R-34A)
Email: glen.glass@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3280

Delegate Jay Jalisi (D-10)
Email: Jay.Jalisi@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3358

Delegate Trent Kittleman (R-9A)
Email: Trent.Kittleman@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3556

Delegate Susan K. McComas (R-34B)
Email: susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3272

Delegate David Moon (D-20)
Email: David.Moon@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3474

Delegate Marice Morales (D-19)
Email: Marice.Morales@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3528

Delegate Neil Parrott (R-2A)
Email: neil.parrott@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3636

Delegate Deborah C. Rey (R-29B)
Email: Deborah.Rey@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3227

Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg (D-41)
Email: samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3297

Delegate William C. Smith, Jr.(D-20)
Email: Will.Smith@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3493

Delegate Charles E. Sydnor, III (D-44B)
Email: Charles.Sydnor@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3802

Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D-23A)
Email: geraldine.valentino.smith@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-33101

Delegate Brett Wilson (R-2B)
Email: brett.wilson@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3125

 

IN THIS ARTICLE
Maryland Ivory
TRENDING NOW
Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Monday, May 22, 2017

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Last week, attorneys on behalf of the NRA filed an amicus brief in Kitsap County v. Kitsap Rifle and Revolver Club (Kitsap II), the case which challenges Kitsap County’s firearm discharge ban and range licensing scheme.  Kitsap Rifle and ...

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Today, Maryland Governor Larry Hogan signed House Bill 1427 into law.

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Last week, the Senate Committee of the Whole referred an amended version of House Bill 2278 back to the Senate Ways and Means Committee.

California: AB 424 Passes Assembly - Appropriations Committees to Consider Suspense Items

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

California: AB 424 Passes Assembly - Appropriations Committees to Consider Suspense Items

Friday, May 26th is the deadline for the fiscal committees to pass bills to the floor from the chamber of origin.  On Thursday, May 25, the Senate AppropriationsCommittee is scheduled to consider Senate Bill 464 and Senate Bill 497. ...

From My Cold Wet Hands: Humorless Scold Targets Squirt Guns

News  

Friday, May 19, 2017

From My Cold Wet Hands: Humorless Scold Targets Squirt Guns

We have yet to reach Memorial Day, but the fun police have already set their sights on at least one cherished summer childhood activity. In an article for Pupsugar.com, titled, “Why Kids Should Never Play ...

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

California: Draft "Assault Weapon" Regulation Language Now Available

Thursday, May 18, 2017

California: Draft "Assault Weapon" Regulation Language Now Available

Today, May 18, a draft copy of the "Assault Weapon" regulations has been made available

California: Don’t Miss our May 25th Webinar to Discuss the Newest DOJ Draft “Assault Weapons” Regulations

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

California: Don’t Miss our May 25th Webinar to Discuss the Newest DOJ Draft “Assault Weapons” Regulations

Tomorrow, Thursday, May 25, at 12:00 pm (PT), NRA’s legal team will be hosting a free webinar to discuss the recently submitted “assault weapon” regulations.   

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.