Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

South Dakota: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

South Dakota: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Yesterday, a bill recognizing South Dakota's freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring a concealed pistol permit was introduced in the House of Representatives.  Authored by Representative Jim Stalzer (R-11), House Bill 1116 is an important reform to current South Dakota law. 

HB 1116 is a necessary update to concealed carry statutes in South Dakota, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to protect themselves and their loved ones.  In South Dakota, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, one would need to possess a concealed pistol permit. 

This permitless carry legislation gives South Dakotans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  However, this legislation would also keep in place the current permitting system so that people who obtain a permit could still enjoy the reciprocity agreements that South Dakota has with other states.   

HB 1116 is an important pro-gun reform that deserves your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  In the meantime, please use the links provided below to thank Representative Stalzer as well as the other 28 cosponsors for their work advancing your Right to Keep and Bear Arms.

Representative Jim Stalzer (R-11)

Representative Arch Beal (R-12)

Representative Thomas J. Brunner (R-29)

Representative Blaine Campbell (R-35)

Representative Fred E. Deutsch (R-04)

Representative Lynne A DiSanto (R-35)

Representative Brian Gosch (R-32)

Representative Michele Harrison (R-23)

Representative Leslie Heinemann (R-08)

Representative Steve Hickey (R-09)

Representative Dan Kaiser (R-03)

Representative Kris Langer (R-25)

Representative J. Sam Marty (R-28B)

Representative Elizabeth May (R-27)

Representative Herman Otten (R-06)

Representative Lance Russell (R-30)

Representative Kyle Schoenfish (R-19)

Representative Mike Verchio (R-30)

Representative John J. Wiik (R-04)

Representative Larry P.  Zikmund (R-14)

Senator Ernie Otten (R-06)

Senator Corey Brown (R-23)

Senator Brock Greenfield (R-02)

Senator Jenna Haggar (R-10)

Senator Phil Jensen (R-33)

Senator Dan Lederman (R-16)

Senator Betty Olson (R-28)

Senator David Omdahl (R-11)

Senator Tim Rave (R-25)

More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.