NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: House Ways and Means Committee to Consider Radical Anti-Gun Bill Any Day

Monday, June 23, 2014

The Massachusetts House Ways and Means Committee will be considering and voting on a radical anti-gun bill, House Bill 4121, any day now.  Your immediate action and help is needed to defeat this misguided legislation in committee.

This egregious bill would empower police chiefs with discretion in licensing owners for shotguns and rifles, ban the private sale of firearms except through a licensed gun dealer, and create new firearm possession qualifications that could ban firearm ownership for thousands of hunters and gun enthusiasts across the Commonwealth.

These requirements are only a few of the many onerous and deeply flawed provisions that penalize responsible gun owners and sportsmen in Massachusetts and could turn law-abiding citizens into criminals.  Unfortunately, it seems as though the misguided Massachusetts General Court won’t stop until they have completely obliterated your rights.  As we’ve seen in other states, such as New York, these controversial registration schemes begin the slide down a slippery slope toward eventual confiscation.  Historical evidence clearly proves that gun registration enables gun confiscation, and criminals never register their firearms.

HB 4121 is dangerous legislation that seeks to further strip away your Second Amendment rights in Massachusetts.  As anyone who has gone through the process to legally obtain a firearm in Massachusetts knows, there is no dearth of existing state laws that regulate the sale, purchase and transfer of firearms.  State legislators on Beacon Hill should be repealing gun control laws, NOT enacting more to further restrict your Second Amendment rights.

It is critical that you contact members of the House Ways and Means Committee and urge them to vote against this dangerous anti-gun bill.  Using the contact information provided below, please call AND e-mail members of the committee and URGE them to vote NO on House Bill 4121.  Please also call the committee switchboard at (617) 722-2990 to register your opposition to HB 4121.

House Ways and Means Committee
 
Representative Brian S. Dempsey (D),  Chairman - Haverhill
617-722-2990
Brian.Dempsey@mahouse.gov

Representative Stephen Kulik (D), Vice Chairman - Worthington
617-722-2380
Stephen.Kulik@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Angelo M. Scaccia (D) - Readville
617-722-2060
Angelo.Scaccia@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Thomas M. Petrolati (D) - Ludlow
617-722-2255
Thomas.Petrolati@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Christine E. Canavan (D) - Brockton
617-722-2575
Christine.Canavan@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Thomas M. Stanley (D) - Waltham
617-722-2230
Thomas.Stanley@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Cleon H. Turner (D) - Dennis
617-722-2090
Cleon.Turner@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Paul McMurtry (D) - Dedham
617-722-2015
Paul.McMurtry@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Sean Garballey (D) - Arlington
617-722-2090
Sean.Garballey@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Carolyn C. Dykema (D) - Hollison
617-722-2210
Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Nick Collins (D) - Boston
617-722-2080
Nick.Collins@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Viriato Manuel deMacedo (R) - Plymouth 
617-722-2100
Vinny.deMacedo@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Matthew A. Beaton (R) - Shrewsbury 
617-722-2488
Matthew.Beaton@mahouse.gov
 
Representative David T. Vieira (R) - East Falmouth
617-722-2230
David.Vieira@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Gloria L. Fox (D) - Roxbury
617-722-2810
Gloria.Fox@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Robert M. Koczera (D) - New Bedford
617-722-2582
Robert.Koczera@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Robert F. Fennell (D) - Lynn
617-722-2575
Robert.Fennell@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Walter F. Timilty (D) - Milton
617-722-2230
Walter.Timilty@mahouse.gov
 
Representative William Smitty Pignatelli (D) - Lenox
617-722-2017
Smitty.Pignatelli@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Linda Campbell (D) - Methuen
617-722-2305
Linda.Campbell@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Lori A. Ehrlich (D) - Marblehead
617-722-2014
Lori.Ehrlich@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Michael D. Brady (D) - Brockton
617-722-2230
Michael.Brady@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Timothy R. Madden (D) - Nantucket
617-722-2810
Timothy.Madden@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Rhonda Nyman (D) - Hanover
617-722-2210
Rhonda.Nyman@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Angelo L. D’Emilia (R) - Bridgewater
617-722-2488
Angelo.D'Emilia@mahouse.gov

 
Representative Geoff Diehl (R) - Whitman
617-722-2810
Geoff.Diehl@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Donald H. Wong (R) - Saugus
617-722-2488
Donald.Wong@mahouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
Virginia Politician and Clinton Backer Brands Trump Supporters as “Mentally Deficient”

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Virginia Politician and Clinton Backer Brands Trump Supporters as “Mentally Deficient”

With the presidential race tighter than ever as it heads into its final stretch, panicked Hillary Clinton supporters are desperate to find a way to discredit, not just Donald Trump, but anyone who would dare ...

Montana: Bloomberg Targeting Missoula – Your Action Needed NOW!

Friday, September 23, 2016

Montana: Bloomberg Targeting Missoula – Your Action Needed NOW!

On Monday, September 26, the Missoula City Council is scheduled to consider an ordinance that would only create a burden for law-abiding citizens and may turn them into criminals if they unknowingly violate the ordinance.

Show Your Support—NEW NRA Yard Signs Available!

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Show Your Support—NEW NRA Yard Signs Available!

Show your support for NRA and the Second Amendment this election cycle by purchasing an NRA yard sign.  With everything that is at stake this year, including the Presidency, the balance of the U.S. Senate ...

War on Terror or a War on Guns?

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

War on Terror or a War on Guns?

Sadiq Khan, the mayor of London, was in New York City recently on an official visit. Commenting on the bombs that exploded while he was in town, he opined that such attacks are now simply ...

California: Signature Efforts for Veto Gunmageddon Extended to September 24th

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

California: Signature Efforts for Veto Gunmageddon Extended to September 24th

If you have not yet signed the petitions to repeal the seven gun bills signed by Governor Jerry Brown earlier this year, please make sure that you do so by September 24th! After that, all ...

California: Final Weekend to Sign Referendum Petitions, Signatures Still Needed

Friday, September 23, 2016

California: Final Weekend to Sign Referendum Petitions, Signatures Still Needed

This is the last weekend to sign the referendum petitions! Signatures are still needed to ensure each of the Veto Gunmageddon Referendums qualify for the 2018 ballot.

Get the Official NRA-ILA App for an Exclusive NRA Store Discount!

Take Action  

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Get the Official NRA-ILA App for an Exclusive NRA Store Discount!

For a limited time only, the official NRA Store is offering a special deal to anyone who downloads the NRA-ILA App! Once the app is installed on your smartphone, you’ll receive a discount code that you can ...

Pennsylvania: Semi-Automatic Rifle Hunting Legislation will go to the House Floor Next Week!

Hunting  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Pennsylvania: Semi-Automatic Rifle Hunting Legislation will go to the House Floor Next Week!

Next week, and important pro-hunting reform bill, Senate Bill 737, may be considered in the House of Representatives.  Please call your state Representative and urge them to vote in favor of Senate Bill 737!

Hillary Clinton Labels Americans “Deplorable” and “Irredeemable.”

News  

Friday, September 16, 2016

Hillary Clinton Labels Americans “Deplorable” and “Irredeemable.”

If there’s one quality any aspiring president should have, it should be a love for America. And not just the America that supports that person’s candidacy, but the whole melting pot of people, backgrounds, cultures, ...

California: Signature Efforts Still Underway for Veto Gunmageddon Referendum

Saturday, September 17, 2016

California: Signature Efforts Still Underway for Veto Gunmageddon Referendum

The deadline to submit signatures for the Veto Gunmageddon Referendum effort is closing in fast!  The success of the Veto Gunmageddon effort depends on citizen involvement.  We must collect the necessary number of signatures to ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.