Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: House Ways and Means Committee to Consider Radical Anti-Gun Bill Any Day

Monday, June 23, 2014

The Massachusetts House Ways and Means Committee will be considering and voting on a radical anti-gun bill, House Bill 4121, any day now.  Your immediate action and help is needed to defeat this misguided legislation in committee.

This egregious bill would empower police chiefs with discretion in licensing owners for shotguns and rifles, ban the private sale of firearms except through a licensed gun dealer, and create new firearm possession qualifications that could ban firearm ownership for thousands of hunters and gun enthusiasts across the Commonwealth.

These requirements are only a few of the many onerous and deeply flawed provisions that penalize responsible gun owners and sportsmen in Massachusetts and could turn law-abiding citizens into criminals.  Unfortunately, it seems as though the misguided Massachusetts General Court won’t stop until they have completely obliterated your rights.  As we’ve seen in other states, such as New York, these controversial registration schemes begin the slide down a slippery slope toward eventual confiscation.  Historical evidence clearly proves that gun registration enables gun confiscation, and criminals never register their firearms.

HB 4121 is dangerous legislation that seeks to further strip away your Second Amendment rights in Massachusetts.  As anyone who has gone through the process to legally obtain a firearm in Massachusetts knows, there is no dearth of existing state laws that regulate the sale, purchase and transfer of firearms.  State legislators on Beacon Hill should be repealing gun control laws, NOT enacting more to further restrict your Second Amendment rights.

It is critical that you contact members of the House Ways and Means Committee and urge them to vote against this dangerous anti-gun bill.  Using the contact information provided below, please call AND e-mail members of the committee and URGE them to vote NO on House Bill 4121.  Please also call the committee switchboard at (617) 722-2990 to register your opposition to HB 4121.

House Ways and Means Committee
 
Representative Brian S. Dempsey (D),  Chairman - Haverhill
617-722-2990
Brian.Dempsey@mahouse.gov

Representative Stephen Kulik (D), Vice Chairman - Worthington
617-722-2380
Stephen.Kulik@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Angelo M. Scaccia (D) - Readville
617-722-2060
Angelo.Scaccia@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Thomas M. Petrolati (D) - Ludlow
617-722-2255
Thomas.Petrolati@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Christine E. Canavan (D) - Brockton
617-722-2575
Christine.Canavan@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Thomas M. Stanley (D) - Waltham
617-722-2230
Thomas.Stanley@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Cleon H. Turner (D) - Dennis
617-722-2090
Cleon.Turner@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Paul McMurtry (D) - Dedham
617-722-2015
Paul.McMurtry@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Sean Garballey (D) - Arlington
617-722-2090
Sean.Garballey@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Carolyn C. Dykema (D) - Hollison
617-722-2210
Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Nick Collins (D) - Boston
617-722-2080
Nick.Collins@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Viriato Manuel deMacedo (R) - Plymouth 
617-722-2100
Vinny.deMacedo@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Matthew A. Beaton (R) - Shrewsbury 
617-722-2488
Matthew.Beaton@mahouse.gov
 
Representative David T. Vieira (R) - East Falmouth
617-722-2230
David.Vieira@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Gloria L. Fox (D) - Roxbury
617-722-2810
Gloria.Fox@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Robert M. Koczera (D) - New Bedford
617-722-2582
Robert.Koczera@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Robert F. Fennell (D) - Lynn
617-722-2575
Robert.Fennell@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Walter F. Timilty (D) - Milton
617-722-2230
Walter.Timilty@mahouse.gov
 
Representative William Smitty Pignatelli (D) - Lenox
617-722-2017
Smitty.Pignatelli@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Linda Campbell (D) - Methuen
617-722-2305
Linda.Campbell@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Lori A. Ehrlich (D) - Marblehead
617-722-2014
Lori.Ehrlich@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Michael D. Brady (D) - Brockton
617-722-2230
Michael.Brady@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Timothy R. Madden (D) - Nantucket
617-722-2810
Timothy.Madden@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Rhonda Nyman (D) - Hanover
617-722-2210
Rhonda.Nyman@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Angelo L. D’Emilia (R) - Bridgewater
617-722-2488
Angelo.D'Emilia@mahouse.gov

 
Representative Geoff Diehl (R) - Whitman
617-722-2810
Geoff.Diehl@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Donald H. Wong (R) - Saugus
617-722-2488
Donald.Wong@mahouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
Illinois “Parking Lot Law” Shields Employee from Termination

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

Illinois “Parking Lot Law” Shields Employee from Termination

A federal appeals court recently upheld a labor arbitrator’s decision concluding that, in light of the state’s concealed carry law, an employer had improperly fired an employee for violating the company’s weapons policy. The case, Ameren ...

Show-Me State Sham: Sen. McCaskill Cons Missouri Voters on Guns

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

Show-Me State Sham: Sen. McCaskill Cons Missouri Voters on Guns

It appears Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.) forgot she represents the Show-Me State. Missouri’s nickname derives from its residents’ healthy skepticism – especially for politicians and their “frothy eloquence.” Rather than take someone’s word for something, ...

You Can’t Make This Stuff Up:  Brooklyn Area Witches Unite to “Take Down” People “In Charge,” Hurl Curses at Justice Kavanaugh

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

You Can’t Make This Stuff Up: Brooklyn Area Witches Unite to “Take Down” People “In Charge,” Hurl Curses at Justice Kavanaugh

Well, Samhain is approaching, and if you’re familiar with the wing of the extreme Left that also identifies as witches and warlocks, that can only mean one thing: more politically-inspired attempts at paranormal activity! We ...

For Levi’s, Freedom isn’t Fashionable

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

For Levi’s, Freedom isn’t Fashionable

Americans eager to take political direction from a multinational pants manufacturer were in luck this week. On Tuesday, PRWeek, a public relations trade publication, published an interview with Levi Strauss & Co. Chief Communications Officer Kelly McGinnis and ...

Pro-gun Senate Majority is Crucial to Protecting the Second Amendment

News  

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Pro-gun Senate Majority is Crucial to Protecting the Second Amendment

The fate of our freedom hangs in the balance in this November’s elections for the U.S. Senate. The good news is that gun owners can once again make the difference in the fight for our ...

What Happens if our Opponents Take the U.S. House?

News  

Thursday, September 20, 2018

What Happens if our Opponents Take the U.S. House?

There is no question that our liberties are at stake on November 6th. The Democrat leadership in the U.S. House of Representatives has become completely radicalized when it comes to the Second Amendment. Our constitutional ...

President’s Column | Your Vote Outweighs Their Millions: Make Your Voice Heard Nov. 6

News  

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

President’s Column | Your Vote Outweighs Their Millions: Make Your Voice Heard Nov. 6

My fellow NRA members, we stand at the edge of the precipice of one of the most important elections of our lives. That is the reality we face, and we face it just days from ...

Poll: Most Americans Oppose Ban on “America’s Rifle”

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

Poll: Most Americans Oppose Ban on “America’s Rifle”

This week, Gallup released the results of a poll which included a finding that should surprise no one: Americans oppose a ban on AR-15s and similar semiautomatic firearms by robust a margin of 17%. Meanwhile, current support ...

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Oklahoma: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Monday, May 22, 2017

Oklahoma: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

On Saturday, Governor Mary Fallin signed important pro-gun legislation, Senate Bill 397, into law. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.