Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: House Ways and Means Committee to Consider Radical Anti-Gun Bill Any Day

Monday, June 23, 2014

The Massachusetts House Ways and Means Committee will be considering and voting on a radical anti-gun bill, House Bill 4121, any day now.  Your immediate action and help is needed to defeat this misguided legislation in committee.

This egregious bill would empower police chiefs with discretion in licensing owners for shotguns and rifles, ban the private sale of firearms except through a licensed gun dealer, and create new firearm possession qualifications that could ban firearm ownership for thousands of hunters and gun enthusiasts across the Commonwealth.

These requirements are only a few of the many onerous and deeply flawed provisions that penalize responsible gun owners and sportsmen in Massachusetts and could turn law-abiding citizens into criminals.  Unfortunately, it seems as though the misguided Massachusetts General Court won’t stop until they have completely obliterated your rights.  As we’ve seen in other states, such as New York, these controversial registration schemes begin the slide down a slippery slope toward eventual confiscation.  Historical evidence clearly proves that gun registration enables gun confiscation, and criminals never register their firearms.

HB 4121 is dangerous legislation that seeks to further strip away your Second Amendment rights in Massachusetts.  As anyone who has gone through the process to legally obtain a firearm in Massachusetts knows, there is no dearth of existing state laws that regulate the sale, purchase and transfer of firearms.  State legislators on Beacon Hill should be repealing gun control laws, NOT enacting more to further restrict your Second Amendment rights.

It is critical that you contact members of the House Ways and Means Committee and urge them to vote against this dangerous anti-gun bill.  Using the contact information provided below, please call AND e-mail members of the committee and URGE them to vote NO on House Bill 4121.  Please also call the committee switchboard at (617) 722-2990 to register your opposition to HB 4121.

House Ways and Means Committee
 
Representative Brian S. Dempsey (D),  Chairman - Haverhill
617-722-2990
Brian.Dempsey@mahouse.gov

Representative Stephen Kulik (D), Vice Chairman - Worthington
617-722-2380
Stephen.Kulik@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Angelo M. Scaccia (D) - Readville
617-722-2060
Angelo.Scaccia@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Thomas M. Petrolati (D) - Ludlow
617-722-2255
Thomas.Petrolati@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Christine E. Canavan (D) - Brockton
617-722-2575
Christine.Canavan@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Thomas M. Stanley (D) - Waltham
617-722-2230
Thomas.Stanley@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Cleon H. Turner (D) - Dennis
617-722-2090
Cleon.Turner@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Paul McMurtry (D) - Dedham
617-722-2015
Paul.McMurtry@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Sean Garballey (D) - Arlington
617-722-2090
Sean.Garballey@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Carolyn C. Dykema (D) - Hollison
617-722-2210
Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Nick Collins (D) - Boston
617-722-2080
Nick.Collins@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Viriato Manuel deMacedo (R) - Plymouth 
617-722-2100
Vinny.deMacedo@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Matthew A. Beaton (R) - Shrewsbury 
617-722-2488
Matthew.Beaton@mahouse.gov
 
Representative David T. Vieira (R) - East Falmouth
617-722-2230
David.Vieira@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Gloria L. Fox (D) - Roxbury
617-722-2810
Gloria.Fox@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Robert M. Koczera (D) - New Bedford
617-722-2582
Robert.Koczera@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Robert F. Fennell (D) - Lynn
617-722-2575
Robert.Fennell@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Walter F. Timilty (D) - Milton
617-722-2230
Walter.Timilty@mahouse.gov
 
Representative William Smitty Pignatelli (D) - Lenox
617-722-2017
Smitty.Pignatelli@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Linda Campbell (D) - Methuen
617-722-2305
Linda.Campbell@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Lori A. Ehrlich (D) - Marblehead
617-722-2014
Lori.Ehrlich@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Michael D. Brady (D) - Brockton
617-722-2230
Michael.Brady@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Timothy R. Madden (D) - Nantucket
617-722-2810
Timothy.Madden@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Rhonda Nyman (D) - Hanover
617-722-2210
Rhonda.Nyman@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Angelo L. D’Emilia (R) - Bridgewater
617-722-2488
Angelo.D'Emilia@mahouse.gov

 
Representative Geoff Diehl (R) - Whitman
617-722-2810
Geoff.Diehl@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Donald H. Wong (R) - Saugus
617-722-2488
Donald.Wong@mahouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

Democrats searching for a standard-bearer in the 2020 presidential election lit on long-time entertainment, media, and publishing figure Oprah Winfrey this week, following a speech Winfrey gave at a televised Hollywood extravaganza.

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

This week, Virginia Governor McAuliffe and Governor-Elect Ralph Northam outlined their top priorities for the upcoming legislative session, and highlighted expanded background checks for all firearm sales and other transfers (so-called “universal” background checks) as ...

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

On Monday, January 15th at 10:00AM, the Senate Law & Justice Committee is scheduled to hear multiple anti-gun bills.  Testimony will be limited during the hearing, so all NRA members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly ...

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Last night, anti-gun legislators introduced substitute bills for Senate Bill 5444 and Senate Bill 5463.  These substituted versions will replace the original bills that are scheduled for a public hearing on Monday, January 15th. NRA remains opposed ...

Friday, January 12, 2018

Florida Alert: League of Women Voters Off The Rails

On Thursday, January 11, 2018, the League of Women Voters’ lobbyist, Stephanie Owens of Tallahassee, was in the House Judiciary Committee meeting to oppose HB-55 on behalf of the League.        

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

With the 2018 Indiana legislative session underway, a number of bills affecting your Second Amendment and hunting rights have been filed.

Washington: Gun Control Bill Scheduled for Vote in House Judiciary

Friday, January 12, 2018

Washington: Gun Control Bill Scheduled for Vote in House Judiciary

Next Thursday, January 18th, House Bill 1122 is scheduled for a vote in the House Judiciary Committee. Introduced by Representative Ruth Kagi (D-34) in 2017, HB 1122 received a public hearing last year and a ...

Unhappy New Year for California Gun Owners

News  

Friday, January 5, 2018

Unhappy New Year for California Gun Owners

While most of America was busy preparing to celebrate the New Year, gun owners in California were scrambling to lawfully purchase ammunition while they still could. Beginning January 1, all ammunition sales were required go ...

Colorado: Pro-Gun Legislators Renew Push to Repeal Magazine Limit

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Colorado: Pro-Gun Legislators Renew Push to Repeal Magazine Limit

Yesterday, Senator Owen Hill, and Representatives Lori Saine and Stephen Humphrey introduced Senate Bill 52, legislation that seeks to repeal the misguided 2013 law that limited the amount of ammunition a firearm magazine can hold.

Virginia: Dangerous Gun Control Agenda Looming as Legislature Convenes for its 2018 Legislative Session

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Virginia: Dangerous Gun Control Agenda Looming as Legislature Convenes for its 2018 Legislative Session

As the Virginia General Assembly reconvenes for the 2018 session, it is more imperative than ever for NRA members and gun owners to make their voice heard.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.