Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: House Ways and Means Committee to Consider Radical Anti-Gun Bill Any Day

Monday, June 23, 2014

The Massachusetts House Ways and Means Committee will be considering and voting on a radical anti-gun bill, House Bill 4121, any day now.  Your immediate action and help is needed to defeat this misguided legislation in committee.

This egregious bill would empower police chiefs with discretion in licensing owners for shotguns and rifles, ban the private sale of firearms except through a licensed gun dealer, and create new firearm possession qualifications that could ban firearm ownership for thousands of hunters and gun enthusiasts across the Commonwealth.

These requirements are only a few of the many onerous and deeply flawed provisions that penalize responsible gun owners and sportsmen in Massachusetts and could turn law-abiding citizens into criminals.  Unfortunately, it seems as though the misguided Massachusetts General Court won’t stop until they have completely obliterated your rights.  As we’ve seen in other states, such as New York, these controversial registration schemes begin the slide down a slippery slope toward eventual confiscation.  Historical evidence clearly proves that gun registration enables gun confiscation, and criminals never register their firearms.

HB 4121 is dangerous legislation that seeks to further strip away your Second Amendment rights in Massachusetts.  As anyone who has gone through the process to legally obtain a firearm in Massachusetts knows, there is no dearth of existing state laws that regulate the sale, purchase and transfer of firearms.  State legislators on Beacon Hill should be repealing gun control laws, NOT enacting more to further restrict your Second Amendment rights.

It is critical that you contact members of the House Ways and Means Committee and urge them to vote against this dangerous anti-gun bill.  Using the contact information provided below, please call AND e-mail members of the committee and URGE them to vote NO on House Bill 4121.  Please also call the committee switchboard at (617) 722-2990 to register your opposition to HB 4121.

House Ways and Means Committee
 
Representative Brian S. Dempsey (D),  Chairman - Haverhill
617-722-2990
Brian.Dempsey@mahouse.gov

Representative Stephen Kulik (D), Vice Chairman - Worthington
617-722-2380
Stephen.Kulik@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Angelo M. Scaccia (D) - Readville
617-722-2060
Angelo.Scaccia@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Thomas M. Petrolati (D) - Ludlow
617-722-2255
Thomas.Petrolati@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Christine E. Canavan (D) - Brockton
617-722-2575
Christine.Canavan@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Thomas M. Stanley (D) - Waltham
617-722-2230
Thomas.Stanley@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Cleon H. Turner (D) - Dennis
617-722-2090
Cleon.Turner@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Paul McMurtry (D) - Dedham
617-722-2015
Paul.McMurtry@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Sean Garballey (D) - Arlington
617-722-2090
Sean.Garballey@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Carolyn C. Dykema (D) - Hollison
617-722-2210
Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Nick Collins (D) - Boston
617-722-2080
Nick.Collins@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Viriato Manuel deMacedo (R) - Plymouth 
617-722-2100
Vinny.deMacedo@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Matthew A. Beaton (R) - Shrewsbury 
617-722-2488
Matthew.Beaton@mahouse.gov
 
Representative David T. Vieira (R) - East Falmouth
617-722-2230
David.Vieira@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Gloria L. Fox (D) - Roxbury
617-722-2810
Gloria.Fox@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Robert M. Koczera (D) - New Bedford
617-722-2582
Robert.Koczera@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Robert F. Fennell (D) - Lynn
617-722-2575
Robert.Fennell@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Walter F. Timilty (D) - Milton
617-722-2230
Walter.Timilty@mahouse.gov
 
Representative William Smitty Pignatelli (D) - Lenox
617-722-2017
Smitty.Pignatelli@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Linda Campbell (D) - Methuen
617-722-2305
Linda.Campbell@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Lori A. Ehrlich (D) - Marblehead
617-722-2014
Lori.Ehrlich@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Michael D. Brady (D) - Brockton
617-722-2230
Michael.Brady@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Timothy R. Madden (D) - Nantucket
617-722-2810
Timothy.Madden@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Rhonda Nyman (D) - Hanover
617-722-2210
Rhonda.Nyman@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Angelo L. D’Emilia (R) - Bridgewater
617-722-2488
Angelo.D'Emilia@mahouse.gov

 
Representative Geoff Diehl (R) - Whitman
617-722-2810
Geoff.Diehl@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Donald H. Wong (R) - Saugus
617-722-2488
Donald.Wong@mahouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
Washington State Firearm Confiscation Law Found Unconstitutional

News  

Monday, October 26, 2020

Washington State Firearm Confiscation Law Found Unconstitutional

Earlier this year, in a ruling of first impression in Washington State, the Kitsap County District Court decided that the state’s compulsory “firearm surrender” laws violated the Fourth and Fifth Amendments and the analogous provisions ...

The Incredible Shrinking Gun Control Message

News  

Monday, October 26, 2020

The Incredible Shrinking Gun Control Message

Throughout the two presidential debates and single vice-presidential debate the moderators did not ask a single question about gun control or the right to keep and bear arms. The dearth of coverage on Second Amendment issues at ...

Was Bloomberg Group Shamed Into Being (Sort of) Honest?

News  

Monday, October 26, 2020

Was Bloomberg Group Shamed Into Being (Sort of) Honest?

The gun-ban proponents at Everytown, New York Billionaire Michael Bloomberg’s personal anti-gun advocacy apparatus, have finally begun talking about guns in their political ads. In August and September, we pointed out that Everytown seemed rather focused in its ...

Anti-gun Politicians Seek to Tax Your Second Amendment Rights Into Oblivion

News  

Tuesday, September 8, 2020

Anti-gun Politicians Seek to Tax Your Second Amendment Rights Into Oblivion

In 1819, Chief Justice John Marshall of the U.S. Supreme Court famously wrote:  “the power to tax involves the power to destroy ….”

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Your Action Needed: Urge the Department of Justice to Rein in ATF's Arbitrary Determination on "Honey Badger" Pistol!

News  

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Your Action Needed: Urge the Department of Justice to Rein in ATF's Arbitrary Determination on "Honey Badger" Pistol!

The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (“ATF”) recently informed firearm manufacturer Q, LLC that, in ATF’s view, Q’s “Honey Badger” pistol with stabilizing brace is actually a short-barreled rifle and therefore subject to the National ...

The NRA Applauds Confirmation of Amy Coney Barrett

News  

Monday, October 26, 2020

The NRA Applauds Confirmation of Amy Coney Barrett

The NRA applauds President Trump and his nomination of Justice Barrett, along with Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Lindsey Graham (R-SC) for their leadership and service during the confirmation process.

Joe Biden Told Voters the Second Amendment DOES NOT Protect an Individual Right

News  

Monday, September 21, 2020

Joe Biden Told Voters the Second Amendment DOES NOT Protect an Individual Right

During a September 2019 “townhall” hosted by New Hampshire ABC affiliate WMUR, Democratic presidential candidate Joe Biden made clear that he does not believe the Second Amendment protects an individual right to keep and bear arms and ...

Gun Control May be Wasting Away, But Not Because of COVID

News  

Monday, October 19, 2020

Gun Control May be Wasting Away, But Not Because of COVID

A recent article on a gun control news site laments that the COVID-19 pandemic has thwarted ballot initiatives to expand gun bans and restrictions. Initiatives in Florida, Oklahoma, Ohio and Oregon have stalled, allegedly due to the ...

Please Urge the Department of Justice to Rein in ATF's Arbitrary Determination on "Honey Badger" Pistol

News  

Monday, October 12, 2020

Please Urge the Department of Justice to Rein in ATF's Arbitrary Determination on "Honey Badger" Pistol

As we reported last week, the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (“ATF”) recently informed firearm manufacturer Q, LLC that, in ATF’s view, Q’s “Honey Badger” pistol with stabilizing brace is actually a short-barreled rifle and ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.