NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: House Ways and Means Committee to Consider Radical Anti-Gun Bill Any Day

Monday, June 23, 2014

The Massachusetts House Ways and Means Committee will be considering and voting on a radical anti-gun bill, House Bill 4121, any day now.  Your immediate action and help is needed to defeat this misguided legislation in committee.

This egregious bill would empower police chiefs with discretion in licensing owners for shotguns and rifles, ban the private sale of firearms except through a licensed gun dealer, and create new firearm possession qualifications that could ban firearm ownership for thousands of hunters and gun enthusiasts across the Commonwealth.

These requirements are only a few of the many onerous and deeply flawed provisions that penalize responsible gun owners and sportsmen in Massachusetts and could turn law-abiding citizens into criminals.  Unfortunately, it seems as though the misguided Massachusetts General Court won’t stop until they have completely obliterated your rights.  As we’ve seen in other states, such as New York, these controversial registration schemes begin the slide down a slippery slope toward eventual confiscation.  Historical evidence clearly proves that gun registration enables gun confiscation, and criminals never register their firearms.

HB 4121 is dangerous legislation that seeks to further strip away your Second Amendment rights in Massachusetts.  As anyone who has gone through the process to legally obtain a firearm in Massachusetts knows, there is no dearth of existing state laws that regulate the sale, purchase and transfer of firearms.  State legislators on Beacon Hill should be repealing gun control laws, NOT enacting more to further restrict your Second Amendment rights.

It is critical that you contact members of the House Ways and Means Committee and urge them to vote against this dangerous anti-gun bill.  Using the contact information provided below, please call AND e-mail members of the committee and URGE them to vote NO on House Bill 4121.  Please also call the committee switchboard at (617) 722-2990 to register your opposition to HB 4121.

House Ways and Means Committee
 
Representative Brian S. Dempsey (D),  Chairman - Haverhill
617-722-2990
Brian.Dempsey@mahouse.gov

Representative Stephen Kulik (D), Vice Chairman - Worthington
617-722-2380
Stephen.Kulik@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Angelo M. Scaccia (D) - Readville
617-722-2060
Angelo.Scaccia@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Thomas M. Petrolati (D) - Ludlow
617-722-2255
Thomas.Petrolati@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Christine E. Canavan (D) - Brockton
617-722-2575
Christine.Canavan@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Thomas M. Stanley (D) - Waltham
617-722-2230
Thomas.Stanley@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Cleon H. Turner (D) - Dennis
617-722-2090
Cleon.Turner@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Paul McMurtry (D) - Dedham
617-722-2015
Paul.McMurtry@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Sean Garballey (D) - Arlington
617-722-2090
Sean.Garballey@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Carolyn C. Dykema (D) - Hollison
617-722-2210
Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Nick Collins (D) - Boston
617-722-2080
Nick.Collins@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Viriato Manuel deMacedo (R) - Plymouth 
617-722-2100
Vinny.deMacedo@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Matthew A. Beaton (R) - Shrewsbury 
617-722-2488
Matthew.Beaton@mahouse.gov
 
Representative David T. Vieira (R) - East Falmouth
617-722-2230
David.Vieira@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Gloria L. Fox (D) - Roxbury
617-722-2810
Gloria.Fox@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Robert M. Koczera (D) - New Bedford
617-722-2582
Robert.Koczera@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Robert F. Fennell (D) - Lynn
617-722-2575
Robert.Fennell@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Walter F. Timilty (D) - Milton
617-722-2230
Walter.Timilty@mahouse.gov
 
Representative William Smitty Pignatelli (D) - Lenox
617-722-2017
Smitty.Pignatelli@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Linda Campbell (D) - Methuen
617-722-2305
Linda.Campbell@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Lori A. Ehrlich (D) - Marblehead
617-722-2014
Lori.Ehrlich@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Michael D. Brady (D) - Brockton
617-722-2230
Michael.Brady@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Timothy R. Madden (D) - Nantucket
617-722-2810
Timothy.Madden@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Rhonda Nyman (D) - Hanover
617-722-2210
Rhonda.Nyman@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Angelo L. D’Emilia (R) - Bridgewater
617-722-2488
Angelo.D'Emilia@mahouse.gov

 
Representative Geoff Diehl (R) - Whitman
617-722-2810
Geoff.Diehl@mahouse.gov
 
Representative Donald H. Wong (R) - Saugus
617-722-2488
Donald.Wong@mahouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
The AR-15 Is The Musket Of Its Era

News  

Tuesday, July 19, 2016

The AR-15 Is The Musket Of Its Era

As the standard firearm of its day, the AR-15 does not represent some bizarre over-extension of the right to keep and bear arms. It is the very core of that right.

Massachusetts Attorney General Unilaterally Bans Thousands of Previously Legal Guns

News  

Friday, July 22, 2016

Massachusetts Attorney General Unilaterally Bans Thousands of Previously Legal Guns

On July 19, Massachusetts Attorney General Maura Healey issued an “enforcement notice” that greatly expands the Commonwealth’s definition of “assault weapon.”  AG Healey alleges that the ban’s definition of “copy” or “duplicate” “assault weapons” has been misinterpreted ...

Chris W. Cox Delivers the Straight Truth on Hillary Clinton and the Second Amendment

News  

Friday, July 22, 2016

Chris W. Cox Delivers the Straight Truth on Hillary Clinton and the Second Amendment

On Tuesday, NRA-ILA Executive Director Chris W. Cox addressed the Republican National Convention about the grave threat to the Second Amendment posed by a Hillary Clinton presidency. On Wednesday, Clinton’s attack dogs were out in force, desperately ...

Gun Control Supporters Are Once Again Rebranding Their Efforts

News  

Friday, July 22, 2016

Gun Control Supporters Are Once Again Rebranding Their Efforts

Decades of failure to strip Americans of their gun rights has forced gun control groups to continually retool their anti-freedom message in the hopes of making it more palatable to the American public. As reported ...

Download the Official NRA-ILA App!

News  

Friday, July 8, 2016

Download the Official NRA-ILA App!

At the 2016 NRA Annual Meeting in Louisville, Kentucky, NRA-ILA Executive Director Chris W. Cox sent a loud message to anti-gun lawmakers: the NRA, its members, and its activists, would “fight like hell” to defend ...

FACT CHECK: California Congressman Brad Sherman talks gun control with CNN

News  

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

FACT CHECK: California Congressman Brad Sherman talks gun control with CNN

NRA Fact Checks California Congressman Brad Sherman talks gun control with CNN.

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

News  

Friday, July 1, 2016

California Governor Signs Draconian Gun Control Package into Law

Fairfax, Va.— California Gov. Jerry Brown signed into law on Friday a package of gun bills that were rushed through the state legislature with no regard for proper process. The National Rifle Association Institute for ...

Just in Time for His Party’s Convention, Obama Administration Releases Latest Executive Gun Control

News  

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Just in Time for His Party’s Convention, Obama Administration Releases Latest Executive Gun Control

On Friday, July 22, just as members of his party were gathering in Philadelphia to coronate Hillary Clinton as their presidential nominee, the Obama Administration once again released a sweeping gun control measure by executive ...

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

NRA Nevadans for Freedom Campaign Manager Responds to Outrageous Question 1 Letter to the Editor

In response to the July 8 story, "Latin Chamber endorses firearm ballot measure": Maggie Arias-Petrel, chairwoman of the Latin Chamber, claims “passing Question 1 will make it harder for dangerous people to get guns, which will ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.