Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Tennessee: Pro-Hunting Bills Advancing out of House Committee

Friday, February 28, 2014

This week, the Tennessee General Assembly took action on a pair of companion pro-hunting bills.  Senate Bill 1777 was passed unanimously in the Tennessee Senate, and House Bill 1952 passed in the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Subcommittee by a voice vote.  HB 1952 will now be heard in the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee on Tuesday, March 4.

Supported by the NRA, Senate Bill 1777 and House Bill 1952 would amend Tennessee’s current hunter harassment laws by prohibiting anti-hunting radicals from using drones to interfere with those lawfully hunting or fishing.

Sponsored by state Senator Mike Bell (R-9), and state Representative Jud Matheny (R-47) respectively, SB 1777 and HB 1952 would protect the rights and safety of hunters while in the field.  The use of drones by anti-hunting extremists, with the express intention of spooking wildlife or catching a hunter off-guard, is extremely dangerous and could potentially result in injury.

Using the contact information provided below, please call and e-mail members of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee today and respectfully urge them to SUPPORT HB 1952.

 

House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee:

Representative Curtis Halford (R-79), Chairman
(615) 741-7478
Rep.curtis.halford@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Andy Holt (R-76), Vice-Chairman
(615) 741-7847
Rep.andy.holt@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Paul Bailey (R-43)
(615) 741-1963
Rep.paul.bailey@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Sheila Butt (R-64)
(615) 741-3005
Rep.sheila.butt@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Richard Floyd (R-27)
(615) 741-2746
Rep.richard.floyd@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative John Forgety (R-23)
(615) 741-1725
Rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Brenda Gilmore (D-54)
(615) 741-1997
Rep.brenda.gilmore@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative David B. Hawk(R-5)
(615) 741-7482
Rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Gloria Johnson (D-13)
(615) 741-2031
Rep.gloria.johnson@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Ron Lollar (R-99)
(615) 741-7084b
Rep.ron.lollar@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Pat Marsh (R-62)
(615) 741-6824
Rep.pat.marsh@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Judd Matheny (R-47)
(615) 741-7448
Rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Dennis Powers (R-36)
(615) 741-3335
Rep.dennis.powers@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Billy Spivey (R-92)
(615) 741-4170
Rep.billy.spivey@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Art Swann (R-8)
(615) 741-5481
Rep.art.swann@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative John C. Tidwell (D-74)
(615) 741-7098
Rep.john.tidwell@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Ron Travis (R-31)
(615) 741-1450
Rep.ron.travis@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative John Mark Windle (D-41)
(615) 741-1260
Rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Maryland: House Committee to Hear Anti-Self-Defense Bill Next Week

Monday, January 23, 2017

Maryland: House Committee to Hear Anti-Self-Defense Bill Next Week

On Tuesday, January 31 at 1:00pm, the House Appropriations Committee is scheduled to hear anti-gun legislation revived after failing last year in the Senate. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.