Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Tennessee: Pro-Hunting Bills Advancing out of House Committee

Friday, February 28, 2014

This week, the Tennessee General Assembly took action on a pair of companion pro-hunting bills.  Senate Bill 1777 was passed unanimously in the Tennessee Senate, and House Bill 1952 passed in the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Subcommittee by a voice vote.  HB 1952 will now be heard in the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee on Tuesday, March 4.

Supported by the NRA, Senate Bill 1777 and House Bill 1952 would amend Tennessee’s current hunter harassment laws by prohibiting anti-hunting radicals from using drones to interfere with those lawfully hunting or fishing.

Sponsored by state Senator Mike Bell (R-9), and state Representative Jud Matheny (R-47) respectively, SB 1777 and HB 1952 would protect the rights and safety of hunters while in the field.  The use of drones by anti-hunting extremists, with the express intention of spooking wildlife or catching a hunter off-guard, is extremely dangerous and could potentially result in injury.

Using the contact information provided below, please call and e-mail members of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee today and respectfully urge them to SUPPORT HB 1952.

 

House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee:

Representative Curtis Halford (R-79), Chairman
(615) 741-7478
Rep.curtis.halford@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Andy Holt (R-76), Vice-Chairman
(615) 741-7847
Rep.andy.holt@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Paul Bailey (R-43)
(615) 741-1963
Rep.paul.bailey@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Sheila Butt (R-64)
(615) 741-3005
Rep.sheila.butt@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Richard Floyd (R-27)
(615) 741-2746
Rep.richard.floyd@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative John Forgety (R-23)
(615) 741-1725
Rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Brenda Gilmore (D-54)
(615) 741-1997
Rep.brenda.gilmore@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative David B. Hawk(R-5)
(615) 741-7482
Rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Gloria Johnson (D-13)
(615) 741-2031
Rep.gloria.johnson@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Ron Lollar (R-99)
(615) 741-7084b
Rep.ron.lollar@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Pat Marsh (R-62)
(615) 741-6824
Rep.pat.marsh@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Judd Matheny (R-47)
(615) 741-7448
Rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Dennis Powers (R-36)
(615) 741-3335
Rep.dennis.powers@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Billy Spivey (R-92)
(615) 741-4170
Rep.billy.spivey@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Art Swann (R-8)
(615) 741-5481
Rep.art.swann@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative John C. Tidwell (D-74)
(615) 741-7098
Rep.john.tidwell@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Ron Travis (R-31)
(615) 741-1450
Rep.ron.travis@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative John Mark Windle (D-41)
(615) 741-1260
Rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

On Monday, March 27, the Texas Senate will convene after 2:00pm and is expected to take up and consider Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

Continuing to Fight in California

Friday, March 24, 2017

Continuing to Fight in California

We are excited to inform you of our new California specific webpage – Stand and Fight California.   On this page you will find State Legislation, Legal Updates, and How to Get Involved, among other California ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.