Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Tennessee: Pro-Hunting Bills Advancing out of House Committee

Friday, February 28, 2014

This week, the Tennessee General Assembly took action on a pair of companion pro-hunting bills.  Senate Bill 1777 was passed unanimously in the Tennessee Senate, and House Bill 1952 passed in the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Subcommittee by a voice vote.  HB 1952 will now be heard in the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee on Tuesday, March 4.

Supported by the NRA, Senate Bill 1777 and House Bill 1952 would amend Tennessee’s current hunter harassment laws by prohibiting anti-hunting radicals from using drones to interfere with those lawfully hunting or fishing.

Sponsored by state Senator Mike Bell (R-9), and state Representative Jud Matheny (R-47) respectively, SB 1777 and HB 1952 would protect the rights and safety of hunters while in the field.  The use of drones by anti-hunting extremists, with the express intention of spooking wildlife or catching a hunter off-guard, is extremely dangerous and could potentially result in injury.

Using the contact information provided below, please call and e-mail members of the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee today and respectfully urge them to SUPPORT HB 1952.

 

House Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee:

Representative Curtis Halford (R-79), Chairman
(615) 741-7478
Rep.curtis.halford@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Andy Holt (R-76), Vice-Chairman
(615) 741-7847
Rep.andy.holt@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Paul Bailey (R-43)
(615) 741-1963
Rep.paul.bailey@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Sheila Butt (R-64)
(615) 741-3005
Rep.sheila.butt@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Richard Floyd (R-27)
(615) 741-2746
Rep.richard.floyd@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative John Forgety (R-23)
(615) 741-1725
Rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Brenda Gilmore (D-54)
(615) 741-1997
Rep.brenda.gilmore@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative David B. Hawk(R-5)
(615) 741-7482
Rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Gloria Johnson (D-13)
(615) 741-2031
Rep.gloria.johnson@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Ron Lollar (R-99)
(615) 741-7084b
Rep.ron.lollar@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Pat Marsh (R-62)
(615) 741-6824
Rep.pat.marsh@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Judd Matheny (R-47)
(615) 741-7448
Rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Dennis Powers (R-36)
(615) 741-3335
Rep.dennis.powers@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Billy Spivey (R-92)
(615) 741-4170
Rep.billy.spivey@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Art Swann (R-8)
(615) 741-5481
Rep.art.swann@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative John C. Tidwell (D-74)
(615) 741-7098
Rep.john.tidwell@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Ron Travis (R-31)
(615) 741-1450
Rep.ron.travis@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative John Mark Windle (D-41)
(615) 741-1260
Rep.john.windle@capitol.tn.gov

TRENDING NOW

Monday, August 19, 2019

Florida Alert! "Assault Weapons" Ban Amendment Bans ALL SEMIAUTOMATIC RIFLES AND SHOTGUNS

The so-called "assault weapons" ban that is proposed for a constitutional amendment to be on the 2020 Election Ballot bans the possession of: “any semiautomatic rifle or shotgun CAPABLE of holding more than ten (10) rounds ...

Another Week, Another Democrat Presidential Contender Out to Round Up America's Guns

News  

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Another Week, Another Democrat Presidential Contender Out to Round Up America's Guns

A smart person learns from his mistakes. An even smarter person learns from the mistakes of others.  Beto O’Rourke, an unemployed Texan running for president, must not be too smart.           

No, Joe, Your Gun Ban Didn’t Work

News  

Sunday, August 18, 2019

No, Joe, Your Gun Ban Didn’t Work

Joe Biden has been out on the primary campaign trail working hard. Maybe a little too hard. “We got to let them know who we are,” he recently told a crowd of supporters at the Iowa State ...

Amnesty International’s Desperate Measure

News  

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Amnesty International’s Desperate Measure

There are some odd dynamics in international relations. Countries in which people are not free serve on the UN Human Rights Council. Political considerations guide every action.  Of course, the NRA is a single-issue organization so ...

NRA Member Berated for Carrying Firearm

News  

Friday, August 2, 2019

NRA Member Berated for Carrying Firearm

NRA member Darrell Kennedy was on vacation with his family at Yellowstone National Park earlier this month when an anti-gun vacationer snapped a photo of his holstered firearm and tweeted out a hate message. “Sat ...

Sparking Dialogue or Sparking Joy: Competing Views on Gun “Buyback” Initiatives

News  

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Sparking Dialogue or Sparking Joy: Competing Views on Gun “Buyback” Initiatives

The Christian Science Monitor describes itself as “an independent international news organization” that wants to “help you to see news events as starting points for constructive conversations.” Its editorial board recently published an article, A seed for society’s ...

Bill Clinton Touts Failed Gun Ban With Bogus Info

News  

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Bill Clinton Touts Failed Gun Ban With Bogus Info

Bill and Hillary Clinton just don’t draw like they used to. Shunned by much of his own party, (described by one Vanity Fair commentator as “2020’s bubonic plague”) the former president has been relegated to providing lazy ...

Governor Abbott Signs Ten Pro-Second Amendment Bills into Law

Monday, June 17, 2019

Governor Abbott Signs Ten Pro-Second Amendment Bills into Law

Governor Greg Abbott has now signed all of the NRA-supported legislation which the Texas Legislature sent him during the 2019 session.

California: Appropriations Committees Send Bills to the Suspense File

Thursday, August 15, 2019

California: Appropriations Committees Send Bills to the Suspense File

On Monday, August 12, the Senate Appropriations Committee sent AB 1254 to the suspense file and rescheduled AB 1669 to be heard next Monday, August 19. On Wednesday, August 14, the Assembly Appropriations Committee sent SB 172 ...

Tell Your U.S. Senators and Representative to Oppose Gun Control

News  

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Tell Your U.S. Senators and Representative to Oppose Gun Control

In the wake of the recent two criminal mass attacks, a number of gun control proposals have begun to circulate in our nation’s capital. None of these proposals would have prevented the recent tragedies, but they all ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.