Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Firearms Preemption Bill Tomorrow

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Tomorrow, Senate Bill 317, sponsored by state Senator John Unger (D-16), is expected to be heard in the Senate Judiciary Committee.  SB 317 passed with a substitute in the Senate Government Organization Committee early last week.  We are working with state legislators to craft the substitute in a way that is most advantageous to firearm owners in the Mountain State and expect resolution of its language in the coming days.  SB 317 is a statewide firearms preemption bill which would bring Charleston and three other cities that currently have and enforce local gun control ordinances into uniformity with the rest of the state.  SB 317 would establish in statute what the amendment to last year’s Home Rule hoped to accomplish but without the necessity of an "opt in" provision.  Using the contact information provided below, please call and e-mail members of the Senate Judiciary Committee today and urge them to SUPPORT Senate Bill 317.

Senate Judiciary Committee:
 
Senator Corey Palumbo (D-17), Chairman
(304) 357-7880
corey.palumbo@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Gregory Tucker (D-11), Vice-Chairman
(304) 357-7906
greg.tucker@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Robert Beach (D-13)
(304) 357-7919
bob.beach@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Sam Cann (D-12)
(304) 357-7904
sam.cann@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Donald Cookman (D-15)
(304) 357-7980
donald.cookman@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Rocky Fitzsimmons (D-1)
(304) 357-7918
rocky@fitzsimmonsfirm.com

 
Senator Daniel Hall (D-9)
(304) 357-7807
daniel.hall@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Art Kirkendoll (D-7)
(304) 357-7857
art.kirkendoll@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Ronald Miller (D-10)
(304) 357-7959
ronald.miller@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Herb Snyder (D-16)
(304) 357-7957
herb.snyder@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator John Unger (D-16)
(304) 357-7933
john.unger@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Bob Williams (D-14)
(304) 357-7995
bob.williams@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Mitch Carmichael (R-4)
(304) 357-7855
Mitch.Carmichael@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Bill Cole (R-6)
(304) 357-7843
bill.cole@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Evan Jenkins (R-5)
(304) 357-7956
evan.jenkins@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator David Nohe (R-3)
(304) 357-7970
dcnohe@suddenlink.net

 
Senator Chris Walters (R-8)
(304) 357-7866
chris.walters@wvsenate.gov

IN THIS ARTICLE
West Virginia Preemption Laws
TRENDING NOW
Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

We’ve been down this road before, and we know gun control doesn’t work. 

Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

In the wake of the still-unfolding Harvey Weinstein scandal, one might have thought that America would receive a brief reprieve from Hollywood’s ceaseless moralizing. However, on October 18, 2017, Michael Bloomberg’s Everytown for Gun Safety, ...

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

In recent years, Soros’s anti-gun efforts have been eclipsed by those of another billionaire, former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg. However, the Open Society continues to attack American gun owners.

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

NRA Doesn’t ‘Buy’ Politicians, but Gun Controllers Do

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

NRA Doesn’t ‘Buy’ Politicians, but Gun Controllers Do

Gun control supporters who peddle the myth about NRA money aren’t only wrong, they are ignoring team gun control’s own sordid history of buying politicians. And forget Michael Bloomberg for the moment, gun control supporters ...

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

News  

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

NRATV Host Cam Edwards describes a study that shows the ineffectiveness of so-called “universal” background checks

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 20, 2017

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

Advertising professionals know that switching to a fresh new moniker and a more contemporary or dynamic logo can revitalize a tired or humdrum brand.

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.