Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Firearms Preemption Bill Tomorrow

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

Tomorrow, Senate Bill 317, sponsored by state Senator John Unger (D-16), is expected to be heard in the Senate Judiciary Committee.  SB 317 passed with a substitute in the Senate Government Organization Committee early last week.  We are working with state legislators to craft the substitute in a way that is most advantageous to firearm owners in the Mountain State and expect resolution of its language in the coming days.  SB 317 is a statewide firearms preemption bill which would bring Charleston and three other cities that currently have and enforce local gun control ordinances into uniformity with the rest of the state.  SB 317 would establish in statute what the amendment to last year’s Home Rule hoped to accomplish but without the necessity of an "opt in" provision.  Using the contact information provided below, please call and e-mail members of the Senate Judiciary Committee today and urge them to SUPPORT Senate Bill 317.

Senate Judiciary Committee:
 
Senator Corey Palumbo (D-17), Chairman
(304) 357-7880
corey.palumbo@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Gregory Tucker (D-11), Vice-Chairman
(304) 357-7906
greg.tucker@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Robert Beach (D-13)
(304) 357-7919
bob.beach@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Sam Cann (D-12)
(304) 357-7904
sam.cann@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Donald Cookman (D-15)
(304) 357-7980
donald.cookman@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Rocky Fitzsimmons (D-1)
(304) 357-7918
rocky@fitzsimmonsfirm.com

 
Senator Daniel Hall (D-9)
(304) 357-7807
daniel.hall@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Art Kirkendoll (D-7)
(304) 357-7857
art.kirkendoll@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Ronald Miller (D-10)
(304) 357-7959
ronald.miller@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Herb Snyder (D-16)
(304) 357-7957
herb.snyder@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator John Unger (D-16)
(304) 357-7933
john.unger@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Bob Williams (D-14)
(304) 357-7995
bob.williams@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Mitch Carmichael (R-4)
(304) 357-7855
Mitch.Carmichael@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Bill Cole (R-6)
(304) 357-7843
bill.cole@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator Evan Jenkins (R-5)
(304) 357-7956
evan.jenkins@wvsenate.gov

 
Senator David Nohe (R-3)
(304) 357-7970
dcnohe@suddenlink.net

 
Senator Chris Walters (R-8)
(304) 357-7866
chris.walters@wvsenate.gov

IN THIS ARTICLE
West Virginia Preemption Laws
TRENDING NOW
Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

On Wednesday, May 24, 2017, Chairman of the House Committee on Natural Resources Rob Bishop (R-UT) introduced H.R. 2620, the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act." This bill would remove ATF's authority to use the ...

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

Information collected by the Crime Prevention Research Center (CPRC) indicates an unprecedented surge in the number of concealed carry permits, with the largest one-year increase on record occurring between May 2016 and May 2017.

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

This week, Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO) reintroduced the Financial Institution Customer Protection Act, a bill aimed at permanently dismantling Operation Choke Point (OCP).  

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today applauded Texas Gov. Greg Abbott for signing into law NRA-backed legislation that will make license to carry fees in Texas among the lowest in the ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

Back in April, NRA-ILA alerted readers to the results of the New Zealand Parliament Law and Order Committee’s “Inquiry into issues relating to the illegal possession of firearms in New Zealand,” which proposed that a ...

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

It is one of the most well-worn tactics of those who advocate for gun control. Step one, acquire statistics on firearms injuries among children ages 0-14. Step two, combine these relatively low numbers with the ...

Illinois: Anti-Gun Legislators Attempting to Get “Assault Weapon” Language into law

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Illinois: Anti-Gun Legislators Attempting to Get “Assault Weapon” Language into law

This week, Senator Antonio Munoz filed Senate Amendment 2 to Senate Bill 556.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.