NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Hunting

Iowa: Your Action Needed! House Judiciary Committee to Hear Pro-Gun Legislation Tomorrow

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

House File 384 is scheduled for a hearing in the House Judiciary Committee tomorrow, February 19, at 3:00 p.m. This bill, with a proposed NRA-supported amendment, will legalize the ownership of firearm sound suppressors, also referred to as "silencers,” in Iowa.  Currently illegal to own under Iowa law, suppressors are legal to own under federal law and in 39 states.  While they do not eliminate the sound of a firearm, suppressors do reduce the muzzle report of the gun much in the same way that a muffler reduces exhaust noise from a car or truck.

Your NRA has been working with both chambers of the state legislature to pass a bill this session to make this improvement for firearm owners, shooters and sportsmen.  Amendments aimed at severely restricting civilian use and ownership of suppressors, should they become legal, will be offered in committee.  It is critical that you call AND e-mail members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge their support for HF 384 WITH the proposed NRA-supported amendment only.  Committee members can be reached through the central switchboard at (515) 281-3221 and their e-mail addresses are provided below.

There are numerous benefits associated with the use of suppressors, including increased accuracy due to reduced recoil and muzzle blast, protection from hearing damage and reduced noise pollution.  Noise complaints are being used more frequently as an excuse to close shooting ranges, informal shooting areas and hunting lands throughout the country.  Increased use of suppressors will help to eliminate many of these complaints and protect hunting and shooting areas well into the future.  Suppressors are an effective means of reducing hearing loss among shooters.  The facts are clear.  Iowans deserve the freedom to choose and use these beneficial safety devices.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Representative Chip Baltimore (R-47), Chairman
chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Megan Hess (R-2), Vice Chairman
megan.hess@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Mary Lynn Wolfe (D-98), Ranking Member
mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Dwayne Alons (R-4)
dwayne.alons@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Marti Anderson (D-36)
marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Mark Brandenburg (R-15)
mark.brandenburg@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Dave Dawson (D-14)
dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Tedd Gassman (R-7)
tedd.gassman@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Stan Gustafson (R-25)
stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Chris Hagenow (R-43)
chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Greg Heartsill (R-28)
greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative David E. Heaton (R-84)
dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Bobby Kaufmann (R-73)
bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Vicki S. Lensing (D-85)
vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Brian Meyer (D-33)
brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Jo Oldson (D-41)
jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Rick Olson (D-31)
rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Todd Prichard (D-52)
todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Beth Wessel-Kroeschell (D-45)
beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Matt W. Windschitl (R-17)
matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Gary Worthan (R-11)
gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

TRENDING NOW
Virginia Politician and Clinton Backer Brands Trump Supporters as “Mentally Deficient”

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Virginia Politician and Clinton Backer Brands Trump Supporters as “Mentally Deficient”

With the presidential race tighter than ever as it heads into its final stretch, panicked Hillary Clinton supporters are desperate to find a way to discredit, not just Donald Trump, but anyone who would dare ...

Montana: Bloomberg Targeting Missoula – Your Action Needed NOW!

Friday, September 23, 2016

Montana: Bloomberg Targeting Missoula – Your Action Needed NOW!

On Monday, September 26, the Missoula City Council is scheduled to consider an ordinance that would only create a burden for law-abiding citizens and may turn them into criminals if they unknowingly violate the ordinance.

California: Signature Efforts for Veto Gunmageddon Extended to September 24th

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

California: Signature Efforts for Veto Gunmageddon Extended to September 24th

If you have not yet signed the petitions to repeal the seven gun bills signed by Governor Jerry Brown earlier this year, please make sure that you do so by September 24th! After that, all ...

War on Terror or a War on Guns?

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

War on Terror or a War on Guns?

Sadiq Khan, the mayor of London, was in New York City recently on an official visit. Commenting on the bombs that exploded while he was in town, he opined that such attacks are now simply ...

California: Final Weekend to Sign Referendum Petitions, Signatures Still Needed

Friday, September 23, 2016

California: Final Weekend to Sign Referendum Petitions, Signatures Still Needed

This is the last weekend to sign the referendum petitions! Signatures are still needed to ensure each of the Veto Gunmageddon Referendums qualify for the 2018 ballot.

Get the Official NRA-ILA App for an Exclusive NRA Store Discount!

Take Action  

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Get the Official NRA-ILA App for an Exclusive NRA Store Discount!

For a limited time only, the official NRA Store is offering a special deal to anyone who downloads the NRA-ILA App! Once the app is installed on your smartphone, you’ll receive a discount code that you can ...

Pennsylvania: Semi-Automatic Rifle Hunting Legislation will go to the House Floor Next Week!

Hunting  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Pennsylvania: Semi-Automatic Rifle Hunting Legislation will go to the House Floor Next Week!

Next week, and important pro-hunting reform bill, Senate Bill 737, may be considered in the House of Representatives.  Please call your state Representative and urge them to vote in favor of Senate Bill 737!

Show Your Support—NEW NRA Yard Signs Available!

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Show Your Support—NEW NRA Yard Signs Available!

Show your support for NRA and the Second Amendment this election cycle by purchasing an NRA yard sign.  With everything that is at stake this year, including the Presidency, the balance of the U.S. Senate ...

Hillary Clinton Labels Americans “Deplorable” and “Irredeemable.”

News  

Friday, September 16, 2016

Hillary Clinton Labels Americans “Deplorable” and “Irredeemable.”

If there’s one quality any aspiring president should have, it should be a love for America. And not just the America that supports that person’s candidacy, but the whole melting pot of people, backgrounds, cultures, ...

California: Signature Efforts Still Underway for Veto Gunmageddon Referendum

Saturday, September 17, 2016

California: Signature Efforts Still Underway for Veto Gunmageddon Referendum

The deadline to submit signatures for the Veto Gunmageddon Referendum effort is closing in fast!  The success of the Veto Gunmageddon effort depends on citizen involvement.  We must collect the necessary number of signatures to ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.