Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Iowa: Your Action Needed! House Judiciary Committee to Hear Pro-Gun Legislation Tomorrow

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

House File 384 is scheduled for a hearing in the House Judiciary Committee tomorrow, February 19, at 3:00 p.m. This bill, with a proposed NRA-supported amendment, will legalize the ownership of firearm sound suppressors, also referred to as "silencers,” in Iowa.  Currently illegal to own under Iowa law, suppressors are legal to own under federal law and in 39 states.  While they do not eliminate the sound of a firearm, suppressors do reduce the muzzle report of the gun much in the same way that a muffler reduces exhaust noise from a car or truck.

Your NRA has been working with both chambers of the state legislature to pass a bill this session to make this improvement for firearm owners, shooters and sportsmen.  Amendments aimed at severely restricting civilian use and ownership of suppressors, should they become legal, will be offered in committee.  It is critical that you call AND e-mail members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge their support for HF 384 WITH the proposed NRA-supported amendment only.  Committee members can be reached through the central switchboard at (515) 281-3221 and their e-mail addresses are provided below.

There are numerous benefits associated with the use of suppressors, including increased accuracy due to reduced recoil and muzzle blast, protection from hearing damage and reduced noise pollution.  Noise complaints are being used more frequently as an excuse to close shooting ranges, informal shooting areas and hunting lands throughout the country.  Increased use of suppressors will help to eliminate many of these complaints and protect hunting and shooting areas well into the future.  Suppressors are an effective means of reducing hearing loss among shooters.  The facts are clear.  Iowans deserve the freedom to choose and use these beneficial safety devices.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Representative Chip Baltimore (R-47), Chairman
chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Megan Hess (R-2), Vice Chairman
megan.hess@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Mary Lynn Wolfe (D-98), Ranking Member
mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Dwayne Alons (R-4)
dwayne.alons@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Marti Anderson (D-36)
marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Mark Brandenburg (R-15)
mark.brandenburg@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Dave Dawson (D-14)
dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Tedd Gassman (R-7)
tedd.gassman@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Stan Gustafson (R-25)
stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Chris Hagenow (R-43)
chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Greg Heartsill (R-28)
greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative David E. Heaton (R-84)
dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Bobby Kaufmann (R-73)
bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Vicki S. Lensing (D-85)
vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Brian Meyer (D-33)
brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Jo Oldson (D-41)
jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Rick Olson (D-31)
rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Todd Prichard (D-52)
todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Beth Wessel-Kroeschell (D-45)
beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Matt W. Windschitl (R-17)
matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Gary Worthan (R-11)
gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

TRENDING NOW
Washington: NRA Files Legal Challenge Against Misleading Ballot Title for Gun Control Initiative

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Washington: NRA Files Legal Challenge Against Misleading Ballot Title for Gun Control Initiative

Yesterday, NRA filed a legal challenge in the Thurston County Superior Court objecting to the misleading and inadequate ballot title for Initiative 1639, which seeks to further restrict the Second Amendment rights of Washington's law-abiding citizens.  The Thurston ...

Massachusetts: Anti-Second Amendment Bills Rolled into Committee Substitute

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Massachusetts: Anti-Second Amendment Bills Rolled into Committee Substitute

On May 23rd, the Massachusetts state House of Representatives will be voting on House Bill 4517, which would allow firearms to be seized from individuals following baseless accusations without proper due process.

Hard Times for Dick's as Second Amendment Supporters Respond to Company’s Anti-Gun Bent

Hunting  

News  

Friday, May 11, 2018

Hard Times for Dick's as Second Amendment Supporters Respond to Company’s Anti-Gun Bent

We have recently been reporting on the bizarre anti-gun activism of one of the nation’s larger firearm retailers, Dick’s Sporting Goods and its affiliated Field & Stream stores. First, the company announced it would stop selling most centerfire semi-automatic ...

Illinois: Gun Control Bills to be Heard This Week

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Illinois: Gun Control Bills to be Heard This Week

The Illinois state House of Representatives can take action any day on House Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 2580 to expand the 72 hour waiting period to all firearms.  On May 24th, the Illinois state ...

Sorry, Alyssa, But We're Glad We Came

News  

Friday, May 11, 2018

Sorry, Alyssa, But We're Glad We Came

You likely recall we mentioned a new anti-gun organization recently formed, which was billed as the brainchild of actress Alyssa Milano.  You may also recall that we reported her group, NoRA, had made the vaguely threatening proclamation, ...

News  

Friday, April 27, 2018

NRA Statement on Yeti

The National Rifle Association released the following statement from in response to Yeti’s inaccurate statements:

Anti-Gun Democrat Proposes Banning Semi-Autos and Going After "Resisters"

News  

Friday, May 11, 2018

Anti-Gun Democrat Proposes Banning Semi-Autos and Going After "Resisters"

The headline of the USA Today op-ed said it all. Anti-gun Congressman Eric Swalwell (D-Calif.) last week advocated for legislation to ban an as-yet undetermined class of semi-automatic firearms and to “go after resisters” who refuse to relinquish their ...

New Jersey Action Needed: Senate Committee Passes Multiple Gun Control Bills

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

New Jersey Action Needed: Senate Committee Passes Multiple Gun Control Bills

Yesterday, the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee considered and passed multiple anti-gun measures. 

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Swiss Gun Rights Supporters Refuse to Capitulate to International Gun Controllers

News  

Friday, May 11, 2018

Swiss Gun Rights Supporters Refuse to Capitulate to International Gun Controllers

As NRA-ILA reported on April 27, peaceful Switzerland is in the crosshairs of international and domestic gun control advocates who are intent on abolishing the idyllic nation’s tradition of an armed citizenry. Using the 2017 changes to ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.