Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Iowa: Your Action Needed! House Judiciary Committee to Hear Pro-Gun Legislation Tomorrow

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

House File 384 is scheduled for a hearing in the House Judiciary Committee tomorrow, February 19, at 3:00 p.m. This bill, with a proposed NRA-supported amendment, will legalize the ownership of firearm sound suppressors, also referred to as "silencers,” in Iowa.  Currently illegal to own under Iowa law, suppressors are legal to own under federal law and in 39 states.  While they do not eliminate the sound of a firearm, suppressors do reduce the muzzle report of the gun much in the same way that a muffler reduces exhaust noise from a car or truck.

Your NRA has been working with both chambers of the state legislature to pass a bill this session to make this improvement for firearm owners, shooters and sportsmen.  Amendments aimed at severely restricting civilian use and ownership of suppressors, should they become legal, will be offered in committee.  It is critical that you call AND e-mail members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge their support for HF 384 WITH the proposed NRA-supported amendment only.  Committee members can be reached through the central switchboard at (515) 281-3221 and their e-mail addresses are provided below.

There are numerous benefits associated with the use of suppressors, including increased accuracy due to reduced recoil and muzzle blast, protection from hearing damage and reduced noise pollution.  Noise complaints are being used more frequently as an excuse to close shooting ranges, informal shooting areas and hunting lands throughout the country.  Increased use of suppressors will help to eliminate many of these complaints and protect hunting and shooting areas well into the future.  Suppressors are an effective means of reducing hearing loss among shooters.  The facts are clear.  Iowans deserve the freedom to choose and use these beneficial safety devices.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Representative Chip Baltimore (R-47), Chairman
chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Megan Hess (R-2), Vice Chairman
megan.hess@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Mary Lynn Wolfe (D-98), Ranking Member
mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Dwayne Alons (R-4)
dwayne.alons@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Marti Anderson (D-36)
marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Mark Brandenburg (R-15)
mark.brandenburg@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Dave Dawson (D-14)
dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Tedd Gassman (R-7)
tedd.gassman@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Stan Gustafson (R-25)
stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Chris Hagenow (R-43)
chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Greg Heartsill (R-28)
greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative David E. Heaton (R-84)
dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Bobby Kaufmann (R-73)
bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Vicki S. Lensing (D-85)
vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Brian Meyer (D-33)
brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Jo Oldson (D-41)
jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Rick Olson (D-31)
rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Todd Prichard (D-52)
todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Beth Wessel-Kroeschell (D-45)
beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Matt W. Windschitl (R-17)
matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Gary Worthan (R-11)
gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

TRENDING NOW
Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

From My Cold Wet Hands: Humorless Scold Targets Squirt Guns

News  

Friday, May 19, 2017

From My Cold Wet Hands: Humorless Scold Targets Squirt Guns

We have yet to reach Memorial Day, but the fun police have already set their sights on at least one cherished summer childhood activity. In an article for Pupsugar.com, titled, “Why Kids Should Never Play ...

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Bloomberg's Everytown Creates "Authors Council" to Push Anti-Gun Propaganda

News  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Bloomberg's Everytown Creates "Authors Council" to Push Anti-Gun Propaganda

As if the country’s media weren’t already sufficiently co-opted by anti-gun advocates, this week, Michael Bloomberg’s Everytown for Gun Safety announced an effort to pervert an additional facet of American entertainment. The billionaire bank-rolled interest group has ...

California: Draft "Assault Weapon" Regulation Language Now Available

Thursday, May 18, 2017

California: Draft "Assault Weapon" Regulation Language Now Available

Today, May 18, a draft copy of the "Assault Weapon" regulations has been made available

Federal Lawsuit Challenging California’s Ban on Standard Capacity Magazines Filed

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Federal Lawsuit Challenging California’s Ban on Standard Capacity Magazines Filed

Today, May 18, the National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) announced it is supporting, along with the California Rifle and Pistol Association (CRPA), an important Second Amendment lawsuit challenging California’s ban on the possession ...

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Monday, May 22, 2017

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Last week, attorneys on behalf of the NRA filed an amicus brief in Kitsap County v. Kitsap Rifle and Revolver Club (Kitsap II), the case which challenges Kitsap County’s firearm discharge ban and range licensing scheme.  Kitsap Rifle and ...

Nevada: Anti-Gun Bills Fail to Pass Second Chamber Policy Committee Deadline

Friday, May 19, 2017

Nevada: Anti-Gun Bills Fail to Pass Second Chamber Policy Committee Deadline

Today, May 19, was the second chamber policy committee deadline.  Two anti-gun bills, Senate Bill 115 and Senate Bill 387, both failed to pass out of the Assembly Judiciary Committee and are now dead for the 2017 legislative ...

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Today, Maryland Governor Larry Hogan signed House Bill 1427 into law.

Illinois: Last Chance to Save your Local Gun Dealer!

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Illinois: Last Chance to Save your Local Gun Dealer!

The Illinois House of Representatives may consider Senate Bill 1657, legislation that could put your local gun dealer out of business, at any time! It is imperative that you contact your state Representative IMMEDIATELY and ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.