Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Iowa: Your Action Needed! House Judiciary Committee to Hear Pro-Gun Legislation Tomorrow

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

House File 384 is scheduled for a hearing in the House Judiciary Committee tomorrow, February 19, at 3:00 p.m. This bill, with a proposed NRA-supported amendment, will legalize the ownership of firearm sound suppressors, also referred to as "silencers,” in Iowa.  Currently illegal to own under Iowa law, suppressors are legal to own under federal law and in 39 states.  While they do not eliminate the sound of a firearm, suppressors do reduce the muzzle report of the gun much in the same way that a muffler reduces exhaust noise from a car or truck.

Your NRA has been working with both chambers of the state legislature to pass a bill this session to make this improvement for firearm owners, shooters and sportsmen.  Amendments aimed at severely restricting civilian use and ownership of suppressors, should they become legal, will be offered in committee.  It is critical that you call AND e-mail members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge their support for HF 384 WITH the proposed NRA-supported amendment only.  Committee members can be reached through the central switchboard at (515) 281-3221 and their e-mail addresses are provided below.

There are numerous benefits associated with the use of suppressors, including increased accuracy due to reduced recoil and muzzle blast, protection from hearing damage and reduced noise pollution.  Noise complaints are being used more frequently as an excuse to close shooting ranges, informal shooting areas and hunting lands throughout the country.  Increased use of suppressors will help to eliminate many of these complaints and protect hunting and shooting areas well into the future.  Suppressors are an effective means of reducing hearing loss among shooters.  The facts are clear.  Iowans deserve the freedom to choose and use these beneficial safety devices.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Representative Chip Baltimore (R-47), Chairman
chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Megan Hess (R-2), Vice Chairman
megan.hess@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Mary Lynn Wolfe (D-98), Ranking Member
mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Dwayne Alons (R-4)
dwayne.alons@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Marti Anderson (D-36)
marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Mark Brandenburg (R-15)
mark.brandenburg@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Dave Dawson (D-14)
dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Tedd Gassman (R-7)
tedd.gassman@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Stan Gustafson (R-25)
stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Chris Hagenow (R-43)
chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Greg Heartsill (R-28)
greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative David E. Heaton (R-84)
dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Bobby Kaufmann (R-73)
bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Vicki S. Lensing (D-85)
vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Brian Meyer (D-33)
brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Jo Oldson (D-41)
jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Rick Olson (D-31)
rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Todd Prichard (D-52)
todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Beth Wessel-Kroeschell (D-45)
beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Matt W. Windschitl (R-17)
matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Gary Worthan (R-11)
gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

TRENDING NOW
The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

On March 16, 2017, the Seattle Times reported that Seattle city officials were reluctant to release data on the revenue generated by the city’s firearms and ammunition tax, citing taxpayer confidentiality concerns. Less than a ...

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

The National Safety Council released the 2017 edition of its annual Injury Facts report this week, and it contains welcome news about firearm safety. 

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Continuing to Fight in California

Friday, March 24, 2017

Continuing to Fight in California

We are excited to inform you of our new California specific webpage – Stand and Fight California.   On this page you will find State Legislation, Legal Updates, and How to Get Involved, among other California ...

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Monday, March 27, 2017

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Following their passage in the Virginia General Assembly, Governor Terry McAuliffe vetoed multiple self-defense bills; Senate Bill 1299, Senate Bill 1300, House Bill 1852, and House Bill 1853. 

News  

Monday, March 27, 2017

NRA Applauds Texas State Senate for Passing SB 16

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action applauds the Texas Senate today for passing Senate Bill 16, legislation that substantially reduces License To Carry fees in the Lone Star state.

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.