Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Iowa: Your Action Needed! House Judiciary Committee to Hear Pro-Gun Legislation Tomorrow

Tuesday, February 18, 2014

House File 384 is scheduled for a hearing in the House Judiciary Committee tomorrow, February 19, at 3:00 p.m. This bill, with a proposed NRA-supported amendment, will legalize the ownership of firearm sound suppressors, also referred to as "silencers,” in Iowa.  Currently illegal to own under Iowa law, suppressors are legal to own under federal law and in 39 states.  While they do not eliminate the sound of a firearm, suppressors do reduce the muzzle report of the gun much in the same way that a muffler reduces exhaust noise from a car or truck.

Your NRA has been working with both chambers of the state legislature to pass a bill this session to make this improvement for firearm owners, shooters and sportsmen.  Amendments aimed at severely restricting civilian use and ownership of suppressors, should they become legal, will be offered in committee.  It is critical that you call AND e-mail members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge their support for HF 384 WITH the proposed NRA-supported amendment only.  Committee members can be reached through the central switchboard at (515) 281-3221 and their e-mail addresses are provided below.

There are numerous benefits associated with the use of suppressors, including increased accuracy due to reduced recoil and muzzle blast, protection from hearing damage and reduced noise pollution.  Noise complaints are being used more frequently as an excuse to close shooting ranges, informal shooting areas and hunting lands throughout the country.  Increased use of suppressors will help to eliminate many of these complaints and protect hunting and shooting areas well into the future.  Suppressors are an effective means of reducing hearing loss among shooters.  The facts are clear.  Iowans deserve the freedom to choose and use these beneficial safety devices.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Representative Chip Baltimore (R-47), Chairman
chip.baltimore@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Megan Hess (R-2), Vice Chairman
megan.hess@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Mary Lynn Wolfe (D-98), Ranking Member
mary.wolfe@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Dwayne Alons (R-4)
dwayne.alons@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Marti Anderson (D-36)
marti.anderson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Mark Brandenburg (R-15)
mark.brandenburg@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Dave Dawson (D-14)
dave.dawson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Tedd Gassman (R-7)
tedd.gassman@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Stan Gustafson (R-25)
stan.gustafson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Chris Hagenow (R-43)
chris.hagenow@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Greg Heartsill (R-28)
greg.heartsill@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative David E. Heaton (R-84)
dave.heaton@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Bobby Kaufmann (R-73)
bobby.kaufmann@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Vicki S. Lensing (D-85)
vicki.lensing@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Brian Meyer (D-33)
brian.meyer@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Jo Oldson (D-41)
jo.oldson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Rick Olson (D-31)
rick.olson@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Todd Prichard (D-52)
todd.prichard@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Beth Wessel-Kroeschell (D-45)
beth.wessel-kroeschell@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Matt W. Windschitl (R-17)
matt.windschitl@legis.iowa.gov
 
Representative Gary Worthan (R-11)
gary.worthan@legis.iowa.gov

TRENDING NOW
New Hampshire: Firearm Seizure Bill Headed to House Floor

Thursday, October 31, 2019

New Hampshire: Firearm Seizure Bill Headed to House Floor

On October 30th, the New Hampshire state Criminal Justice and Public Safety Committee sent House Bill 687 to the House floor for further consideration after a motion to kill the bill failed by a vote ...

Wisconsin: Gov. Evers Calls for Firearm Confiscation & Criminalizing Private Transfers

Friday, September 20, 2019

Wisconsin: Gov. Evers Calls for Firearm Confiscation & Criminalizing Private Transfers

On September 19th, Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers, Attorney General Josh Kaul, Representative Melissa Sargent (D-48), and Senator Lena Taylor (D-4) held a press conference calling on the Legislature to violate the Second Amendment by: 1) ...

NRA Statement on 2019 Election  Results

News  

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

NRA Statement on 2019 Election Results

The National Rifle Association released the following statement on the 2019 election results: "As if Gov. Northam’s legacy of ineptitude wasn’t enough, Virginians are about to experience life under a distant tycoon’s thumb."

Bloomberg’s Gun Control Apparatus Lies to Virginia’s Firearm Owners in Election Mailing

News  

Monday, November 4, 2019

Bloomberg’s Gun Control Apparatus Lies to Virginia’s Firearm Owners in Election Mailing

Here’s a hint for Virginia gun owners and sportsmen: When you get a firearm-related election mailing with a New York City return address and proudly proclaiming that it’s printed on soy ink, you can safely ...

A New Candidate for Confiscator-in-Chief

News  

Monday, November 11, 2019

A New Candidate for Confiscator-in-Chief

Former Texas Congressman Robert Francis O’Rourke abandoned his run for President last week, once again leaving a void for the most strident anti-gun candidate seeking the Democrat nomination. Even before declaring his candidacy for President, ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

NRA Member spotlight: Meet the Man Who Helped Turn an Anti-Gun Townhall into a Pro-gun Rally

News  

Monday, October 28, 2019

NRA Member spotlight: Meet the Man Who Helped Turn an Anti-Gun Townhall into a Pro-gun Rally

At a townhall meeting in Michigan this month, Congresswoman Haley Stevens appeared to lose control when the NRA came up and began emotionally screaming, “The NRA has got to go! The NRA has got to go!” ...

Wisconsin: Legislators Protect Second Amendment, Adjourn Special Session

Friday, November 8, 2019

Wisconsin: Legislators Protect Second Amendment, Adjourn Special Session

On November 7th, the Wisconsin Legislature adjourned from its special session not long after it was convened. Governor Tony Evers’ latest attempt to pass gun control failed.

Anti-gun Ghosts Consider Challenges to President Trump as Current Field Falters

News  

Monday, October 28, 2019

Anti-gun Ghosts Consider Challenges to President Trump as Current Field Falters

This is the time of year when hideous creatures emerge on television and computer screens to menace and prey upon the unwary.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.