Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Georgia: Important Pro-Hunting Bill in Senate Committee on Thursday

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

This Thursday, February 13, an important pro-hunting bill is scheduled to be heard in the state Senate Natural Resources & Environment Committee, barring inclement weather in Atlanta.  Senate Bill 93, sponsored by state Senator Bill Heath (R-31), would allow hunters in Georgia to use lawfully-possessed suppressors on firearms while hunting.

Currently, more than half of the states across the country permit hunters to use suppressors while hunting.  There are numerous benefits to hunting with suppressed firearms, including:

  • Elimination of noise complaints frequently used as an excuse to close hunting lands throughout the country, resulting in the protection of hunting areas well into the future.
  • Reduction of recoil and muzzle rise resulting in increased accuracy of hunters.  More accurate shooting in the field means fewer wounded and lost animals, a good thing for both hunters and wildlife.
  • Reduction in muzzle report to hearing-safe levels, limiting the risk that the hunter or anyone with the hunter will suffer permanent hearing loss if they fail to use hearing protection.

Recently, Arizona, Oklahoma, Indiana, North Carolina and Texas adopted new rules allowing for the use of suppressors while hunting.  It’s time that hunters in Georgia are able to enjoy the same opportunities available to sportsmen in more than half of the country.  For more information on firearms and suppressors, click here.

Using the contact information provided below, please call and e-mail members of the Senate Natural Resources & Environment Committee and respectfully urge them to support SB 93.

 

Senate Natural Resources & Environment Committee:

Senator Ross Tolleson (R-20), Chairman
(404) 656-0081
ross.tolleson@senate.ga.gov

 
Senator Rick Jaffares (R-17), Vice-Chairman
(404) 651-7738
rick.jeffares@senate.ga.gov

 
Senator Bill Cowsert (R-46)
(404) 463-1383
bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov
 
Senator Frank Ginn (R-47)
(404) 656-4700
frank.ginn@senate.ga.gov 
 
Senator Steve Gooch (R-51)
(404) 656-9221
steve.gooch@senate.ga.gov
 
Senator Tyler Harper (R-7)
(404) 463-5263
tyler.harper@senate.ga.gov
 
Senator Steve Henson (D-41)
(404) 656-0085
stevehenson@mindspring.com
 
Senator Jack Hill (R-4)
(404) 656-5038
jack.hill@senate.ga.gov
 
Senator Freddie Powell Sims (D-12)
(404) 463-5259
freddie.sims@senate.ga.gov

 
Senator Curt Thompson (D-5)
(404) 463-1318
curt@curtthompson.com

 
Senator Tommie Williams (R-19)
(404) 656-0089
tommie.williams@senate.ga.gov

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.