Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Maryland: Annapolis Update! Pro-Gun Bills Making Progress; Pro-Second Amendment Event Days Away

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Yesterday, January 28, Senate Bill 231 was heard in the state Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee and is now awaiting a vote in committee.  House Bill 214 was also heard yesterday and awaiting a vote in the House Judiciary Committee.

Senate Bill 231, sponsored by state Senator George Edwards (R-1), would allow bow hunters to carry a handgun for protection while hunting in Deer Management Region A.  Please contact members of the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee and respectfully urge them to vote for Senate Bill 231.

House Bill 214, sponsored by Delegate Frank M. Conaway Jr. (D-40), would strengthen Maryland’s Castle Doctrine by clarifying the ability of a homeowner to protect themselves or others in their home.  Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to adopt the NRA-ILA suggested amendments and vote for House Bill 214.

Contact information for committee members is provided below.

“2A Tuesday” will be held next Tuesday, February 4.  NRA-ILA, along with Maryland Shall Issue, the Associated Gun Clubs of Baltimore, the Maryland State Rifle and Pistol Association, the Maryland Licensed Firearms Dealers Association and the Western Maryland Sportsmen's Coalition, will be holding "2A Tuesday.”  As a rally and lobby day, “2A Tuesday” is being held to remind anti-gun state legislators that gun owners in Maryland will not back down until all legislation infringing on their Second Amendment rights is defeated or repealed.  Those present for “2A Tuesday” will be able to sit in on meetings with state legislators, listen to presentations from the major grassroots organizations, attend meet-and-greet sessions with Maryland's Second Amendment advocacy organizations, and participate in seminars on being a more effective activist.

This event will be centered at Lawyer’s Mall near the Maryland State House and the General Assembly office buildings.  Updated information on “2A Tuesday” can be found here.  Please check in at room 142 of the House Office Building on February 4.  On the chance there is inclement weather, please contact (410) 841-3555 to receive information on an alternate location.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Delegate Joseph Vallario (D-27A), Chairman
301-858-3488
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kathleen Dumais (D-15), Vice Chairman
301-858-3052
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)
410-547-0425
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Sam Arora (D-19)
301-858-3528
sam.arora@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Jill Carter (D-41)
410-367-3939
jill.carter@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Luke Clippinger (D-46)
410-841-3303
luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate John Cluster (R-8)
410-841-3526
john.cluster@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Frank Conaway (D-40)
410-841-3189
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Glen Glass (R-34A)
443-360-8607
glen.glass@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael Hough (R-3B)
301-858-3472
michael.hough@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
301-777-9000
kevin.kelly@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Susan Lee (D-16)
301-858-3649
susan.lee@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Susan McComas (R-35B)
410-836-9449
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael McDermott (R-38B)
410-957-3037
mike.mcdermott@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Neil Parrott (R-2B)
240-329-0293
neil.parrott@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Samuel Rosenberg (D-41)
410-664-2646
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17)
301-589-6400
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael Smigiel (R-36)
410-392-5815
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Darren Swain (D-24)
301-858-3692
darren.swain@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
301-858-3210
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D-23A)
301-858-3101
geraldine.valentino.smith@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)
301-858-3130
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us
 
 
Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee
 
Senator Joan Carter Conway (D-43), Chairman
410-467-7125
joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Roy Dyson (D-29), Vice Chairman
301-994-2826
roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Joanne Benson (D-24)
410-841-3149
joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Bill Ferguson (D-46)
410-841-3600
bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator J. B. Jennings (R-7)
410-841-3706
jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Karen Montgomery (D-14)
301-858-3625
karen.montgomery@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Paul Pinsky (D-22)
301-858-3155
paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Edward Reilly (R-33)
410-841-3568
edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Jim Rosapepe (D-21)
410-841-3141
jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Bryan Simonaire (R-31)
410-841-3658
bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Ronald Young (D-3)
410-841-3575
ronald.young@senate.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Just months after pushing for the passage of Initiative 1639 to impose severe regulations on purchasing and possessing semi-automatic firearms, Attorney General Bob Ferguson has now introduced legislation that would outright ban commonly owned semi-automatic ...

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

Pittsburgh City Council member Corey O’Connor wants local residents to relinquish important aspects of their Second Amendment rights. If they refuse, he would have it cost them their liberty and treasure. But O’Connor himself apparently ...

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

On January 8, two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called "universal" background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

Who Are the Real Extremists?

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Who Are the Real Extremists?

NRA is often vilified by the gun-ban community and its supporters in the mainstream, legacy media as an “extremist” organization because of its steadfast defense of our Right to Keep and Bear Arms. A simple ...

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

Thursday, January 17, 2019

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

In her opening day speech to state lawmakers, New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham called on them to pass various gun control proposals that she supported on the campaign trail and which have been filed in the ...

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Anti-gun bills will be heard on January 21st at 10:00AM by the Washington state Senate Committee on Law & Justice and by the House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary on January 22nd at 10:00AM.

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Today, Governor J.B. Pritzker signed Senate Bill 337 into law.  Passed by the previous legislature in 2018, SB 337 will establish a firearm registry and shut down your local gun stores with government red tape.  Senate ...

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

Virginia: Bills Defeated in Committee

Friday, January 18, 2019

Virginia: Bills Defeated in Committee

This week, the Virginia Senate Committee on Courts of Justice and the House Militia, Police and Public Safety Committee heard and voted to defeat many of Governor Ralph Northam’s requested gun control bills.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.