Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Maryland: Annapolis Update! Pro-Gun Bills Making Progress; Pro-Second Amendment Event Days Away

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Yesterday, January 28, Senate Bill 231 was heard in the state Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee and is now awaiting a vote in committee.  House Bill 214 was also heard yesterday and awaiting a vote in the House Judiciary Committee.

Senate Bill 231, sponsored by state Senator George Edwards (R-1), would allow bow hunters to carry a handgun for protection while hunting in Deer Management Region A.  Please contact members of the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee and respectfully urge them to vote for Senate Bill 231.

House Bill 214, sponsored by Delegate Frank M. Conaway Jr. (D-40), would strengthen Maryland’s Castle Doctrine by clarifying the ability of a homeowner to protect themselves or others in their home.  Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to adopt the NRA-ILA suggested amendments and vote for House Bill 214.

Contact information for committee members is provided below.

“2A Tuesday” will be held next Tuesday, February 4.  NRA-ILA, along with Maryland Shall Issue, the Associated Gun Clubs of Baltimore, the Maryland State Rifle and Pistol Association, the Maryland Licensed Firearms Dealers Association and the Western Maryland Sportsmen's Coalition, will be holding "2A Tuesday.”  As a rally and lobby day, “2A Tuesday” is being held to remind anti-gun state legislators that gun owners in Maryland will not back down until all legislation infringing on their Second Amendment rights is defeated or repealed.  Those present for “2A Tuesday” will be able to sit in on meetings with state legislators, listen to presentations from the major grassroots organizations, attend meet-and-greet sessions with Maryland's Second Amendment advocacy organizations, and participate in seminars on being a more effective activist.

This event will be centered at Lawyer’s Mall near the Maryland State House and the General Assembly office buildings.  Updated information on “2A Tuesday” can be found here.  Please check in at room 142 of the House Office Building on February 4.  On the chance there is inclement weather, please contact (410) 841-3555 to receive information on an alternate location.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Delegate Joseph Vallario (D-27A), Chairman
301-858-3488
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kathleen Dumais (D-15), Vice Chairman
301-858-3052
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)
410-547-0425
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Sam Arora (D-19)
301-858-3528
sam.arora@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Jill Carter (D-41)
410-367-3939
jill.carter@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Luke Clippinger (D-46)
410-841-3303
luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate John Cluster (R-8)
410-841-3526
john.cluster@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Frank Conaway (D-40)
410-841-3189
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Glen Glass (R-34A)
443-360-8607
glen.glass@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael Hough (R-3B)
301-858-3472
michael.hough@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
301-777-9000
kevin.kelly@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Susan Lee (D-16)
301-858-3649
susan.lee@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Susan McComas (R-35B)
410-836-9449
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael McDermott (R-38B)
410-957-3037
mike.mcdermott@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Neil Parrott (R-2B)
240-329-0293
neil.parrott@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Samuel Rosenberg (D-41)
410-664-2646
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17)
301-589-6400
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael Smigiel (R-36)
410-392-5815
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Darren Swain (D-24)
301-858-3692
darren.swain@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
301-858-3210
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D-23A)
301-858-3101
geraldine.valentino.smith@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)
301-858-3130
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us
 
 
Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee
 
Senator Joan Carter Conway (D-43), Chairman
410-467-7125
joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Roy Dyson (D-29), Vice Chairman
301-994-2826
roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Joanne Benson (D-24)
410-841-3149
joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Bill Ferguson (D-46)
410-841-3600
bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator J. B. Jennings (R-7)
410-841-3706
jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Karen Montgomery (D-14)
301-858-3625
karen.montgomery@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Paul Pinsky (D-22)
301-858-3155
paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Edward Reilly (R-33)
410-841-3568
edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Jim Rosapepe (D-21)
410-841-3141
jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Bryan Simonaire (R-31)
410-841-3658
bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Ronald Young (D-3)
410-841-3575
ronald.young@senate.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

We’ve been down this road before, and we know gun control doesn’t work. 

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

News  

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

NRATV Host Cam Edwards describes a study that shows the ineffectiveness of so-called “universal” background checks

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

In the wake of the still-unfolding Harvey Weinstein scandal, one might have thought that America would receive a brief reprieve from Hollywood’s ceaseless moralizing. However, on October 18, 2017, Michael Bloomberg’s Everytown for Gun Safety, ...

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

In recent years, Soros’s anti-gun efforts have been eclipsed by those of another billionaire, former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg. However, the Open Society continues to attack American gun owners.

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 20, 2017

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

Advertising professionals know that switching to a fresh new moniker and a more contemporary or dynamic logo can revitalize a tired or humdrum brand.

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

News  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

On October 5, the New York Times published an article titled, “Harvey Weinstein Paid Off Sexual Harassment Accusers for Decades.” The piece detailed allegations that the mogul used his position of influence to make unwanted ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.