Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Maryland: Annapolis Update! Pro-Gun Bills Making Progress; Pro-Second Amendment Event Days Away

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Yesterday, January 28, Senate Bill 231 was heard in the state Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee and is now awaiting a vote in committee.  House Bill 214 was also heard yesterday and awaiting a vote in the House Judiciary Committee.

Senate Bill 231, sponsored by state Senator George Edwards (R-1), would allow bow hunters to carry a handgun for protection while hunting in Deer Management Region A.  Please contact members of the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee and respectfully urge them to vote for Senate Bill 231.

House Bill 214, sponsored by Delegate Frank M. Conaway Jr. (D-40), would strengthen Maryland’s Castle Doctrine by clarifying the ability of a homeowner to protect themselves or others in their home.  Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to adopt the NRA-ILA suggested amendments and vote for House Bill 214.

Contact information for committee members is provided below.

“2A Tuesday” will be held next Tuesday, February 4.  NRA-ILA, along with Maryland Shall Issue, the Associated Gun Clubs of Baltimore, the Maryland State Rifle and Pistol Association, the Maryland Licensed Firearms Dealers Association and the Western Maryland Sportsmen's Coalition, will be holding "2A Tuesday.”  As a rally and lobby day, “2A Tuesday” is being held to remind anti-gun state legislators that gun owners in Maryland will not back down until all legislation infringing on their Second Amendment rights is defeated or repealed.  Those present for “2A Tuesday” will be able to sit in on meetings with state legislators, listen to presentations from the major grassroots organizations, attend meet-and-greet sessions with Maryland's Second Amendment advocacy organizations, and participate in seminars on being a more effective activist.

This event will be centered at Lawyer’s Mall near the Maryland State House and the General Assembly office buildings.  Updated information on “2A Tuesday” can be found here.  Please check in at room 142 of the House Office Building on February 4.  On the chance there is inclement weather, please contact (410) 841-3555 to receive information on an alternate location.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Delegate Joseph Vallario (D-27A), Chairman
301-858-3488
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kathleen Dumais (D-15), Vice Chairman
301-858-3052
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)
410-547-0425
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Sam Arora (D-19)
301-858-3528
sam.arora@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Jill Carter (D-41)
410-367-3939
jill.carter@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Luke Clippinger (D-46)
410-841-3303
luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate John Cluster (R-8)
410-841-3526
john.cluster@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Frank Conaway (D-40)
410-841-3189
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Glen Glass (R-34A)
443-360-8607
glen.glass@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael Hough (R-3B)
301-858-3472
michael.hough@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
301-777-9000
kevin.kelly@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Susan Lee (D-16)
301-858-3649
susan.lee@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Susan McComas (R-35B)
410-836-9449
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael McDermott (R-38B)
410-957-3037
mike.mcdermott@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Neil Parrott (R-2B)
240-329-0293
neil.parrott@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Samuel Rosenberg (D-41)
410-664-2646
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17)
301-589-6400
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael Smigiel (R-36)
410-392-5815
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Darren Swain (D-24)
301-858-3692
darren.swain@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
301-858-3210
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D-23A)
301-858-3101
geraldine.valentino.smith@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)
301-858-3130
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us
 
 
Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee
 
Senator Joan Carter Conway (D-43), Chairman
410-467-7125
joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Roy Dyson (D-29), Vice Chairman
301-994-2826
roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Joanne Benson (D-24)
410-841-3149
joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Bill Ferguson (D-46)
410-841-3600
bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator J. B. Jennings (R-7)
410-841-3706
jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Karen Montgomery (D-14)
301-858-3625
karen.montgomery@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Paul Pinsky (D-22)
301-858-3155
paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Edward Reilly (R-33)
410-841-3568
edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Jim Rosapepe (D-21)
410-841-3141
jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Bryan Simonaire (R-31)
410-841-3658
bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Ronald Young (D-3)
410-841-3575
ronald.young@senate.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

On Wednesday, May 24, 2017, Chairman of the House Committee on Natural Resources Rob Bishop (R-UT) introduced H.R. 2620, the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act." This bill would remove ATF's authority to use the ...

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

Information collected by the Crime Prevention Research Center (CPRC) indicates an unprecedented surge in the number of concealed carry permits, with the largest one-year increase on record occurring between May 2016 and May 2017.

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

This week, Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO) reintroduced the Financial Institution Customer Protection Act, a bill aimed at permanently dismantling Operation Choke Point (OCP).  

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today applauded Texas Gov. Greg Abbott for signing into law NRA-backed legislation that will make license to carry fees in Texas among the lowest in the ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

Back in April, NRA-ILA alerted readers to the results of the New Zealand Parliament Law and Order Committee’s “Inquiry into issues relating to the illegal possession of firearms in New Zealand,” which proposed that a ...

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

It is one of the most well-worn tactics of those who advocate for gun control. Step one, acquire statistics on firearms injuries among children ages 0-14. Step two, combine these relatively low numbers with the ...

Illinois: Anti-Gun Legislators Attempting to Get “Assault Weapon” Language into law

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Illinois: Anti-Gun Legislators Attempting to Get “Assault Weapon” Language into law

This week, Senator Antonio Munoz filed Senate Amendment 2 to Senate Bill 556.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.