Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Maryland: Annapolis Update! Pro-Gun Bills Making Progress; Pro-Second Amendment Event Days Away

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Yesterday, January 28, Senate Bill 231 was heard in the state Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee and is now awaiting a vote in committee.  House Bill 214 was also heard yesterday and awaiting a vote in the House Judiciary Committee.

Senate Bill 231, sponsored by state Senator George Edwards (R-1), would allow bow hunters to carry a handgun for protection while hunting in Deer Management Region A.  Please contact members of the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee and respectfully urge them to vote for Senate Bill 231.

House Bill 214, sponsored by Delegate Frank M. Conaway Jr. (D-40), would strengthen Maryland’s Castle Doctrine by clarifying the ability of a homeowner to protect themselves or others in their home.  Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to adopt the NRA-ILA suggested amendments and vote for House Bill 214.

Contact information for committee members is provided below.

“2A Tuesday” will be held next Tuesday, February 4.  NRA-ILA, along with Maryland Shall Issue, the Associated Gun Clubs of Baltimore, the Maryland State Rifle and Pistol Association, the Maryland Licensed Firearms Dealers Association and the Western Maryland Sportsmen's Coalition, will be holding "2A Tuesday.”  As a rally and lobby day, “2A Tuesday” is being held to remind anti-gun state legislators that gun owners in Maryland will not back down until all legislation infringing on their Second Amendment rights is defeated or repealed.  Those present for “2A Tuesday” will be able to sit in on meetings with state legislators, listen to presentations from the major grassroots organizations, attend meet-and-greet sessions with Maryland's Second Amendment advocacy organizations, and participate in seminars on being a more effective activist.

This event will be centered at Lawyer’s Mall near the Maryland State House and the General Assembly office buildings.  Updated information on “2A Tuesday” can be found here.  Please check in at room 142 of the House Office Building on February 4.  On the chance there is inclement weather, please contact (410) 841-3555 to receive information on an alternate location.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Delegate Joseph Vallario (D-27A), Chairman
301-858-3488
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kathleen Dumais (D-15), Vice Chairman
301-858-3052
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)
410-547-0425
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Sam Arora (D-19)
301-858-3528
sam.arora@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Jill Carter (D-41)
410-367-3939
jill.carter@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Luke Clippinger (D-46)
410-841-3303
luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate John Cluster (R-8)
410-841-3526
john.cluster@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Frank Conaway (D-40)
410-841-3189
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Glen Glass (R-34A)
443-360-8607
glen.glass@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael Hough (R-3B)
301-858-3472
michael.hough@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
301-777-9000
kevin.kelly@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Susan Lee (D-16)
301-858-3649
susan.lee@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Susan McComas (R-35B)
410-836-9449
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael McDermott (R-38B)
410-957-3037
mike.mcdermott@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Neil Parrott (R-2B)
240-329-0293
neil.parrott@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Samuel Rosenberg (D-41)
410-664-2646
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17)
301-589-6400
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael Smigiel (R-36)
410-392-5815
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Darren Swain (D-24)
301-858-3692
darren.swain@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
301-858-3210
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D-23A)
301-858-3101
geraldine.valentino.smith@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)
301-858-3130
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us
 
 
Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee
 
Senator Joan Carter Conway (D-43), Chairman
410-467-7125
joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Roy Dyson (D-29), Vice Chairman
301-994-2826
roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Joanne Benson (D-24)
410-841-3149
joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Bill Ferguson (D-46)
410-841-3600
bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator J. B. Jennings (R-7)
410-841-3706
jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Karen Montgomery (D-14)
301-858-3625
karen.montgomery@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Paul Pinsky (D-22)
301-858-3155
paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Edward Reilly (R-33)
410-841-3568
edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Jim Rosapepe (D-21)
410-841-3141
jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Bryan Simonaire (R-31)
410-841-3658
bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Ronald Young (D-3)
410-841-3575
ronald.young@senate.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
NJ Court: State Can’t Criminalize Possession of “Pencils” and Other Lawful Objects for Home Self-defense

News  

Friday, June 16, 2017

NJ Court: State Can’t Criminalize Possession of “Pencils” and Other Lawful Objects for Home Self-defense

It is refreshing to finally see some common sense coming out of a court in NJ, as the state is notoriously known for its illogical and Draconian gun laws that do little more than make ...

Goodyear Fires Australian Competitive Shooter over Simple Miscommunication

News  

Friday, June 16, 2017

Goodyear Fires Australian Competitive Shooter over Simple Miscommunication

In the United States there have been a handful of high-profile incidents in which an employer has terminated an employee following the employee’s use of a gun in self-defense while at the workplace. In recent ...

Rotary Turns 180 Degrees on Restrictive Firearm Policies

News  

Friday, June 16, 2017

Rotary Turns 180 Degrees on Restrictive Firearm Policies

In March, we reported on a series of restrictive policies governing firearms that had been approved by the governing body of the well-known networking and service club, Rotary International. This week came a welcome turn ...

Ohio: Pro-Gun Bills Scheduled for Committee Hearing Tomorrow

Monday, June 19, 2017

Ohio: Pro-Gun Bills Scheduled for Committee Hearing Tomorrow

  Tomorrow, June 20, several Second Amendment-related bills are scheduled to be heard in the House Committee on Federalism and Interstate Relations.  Please contact the committee members in support of the following pro-gun bills!

Delaware: Hearing Scheduled for Radical Gun Seizure Legislation

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Delaware: Hearing Scheduled for Radical Gun Seizure Legislation

Tomorrow, the House Administration Committee is scheduled to consider House Bill 222.

UK: Police Commissioner Suggests Value of Armed Citizenry, is Quickly Rebuffed

News  

Friday, June 16, 2017

UK: Police Commissioner Suggests Value of Armed Citizenry, is Quickly Rebuffed

Every once in a great while, an independent-minded United Kingdom official is overcome with a bout of common sense on firearms. However, such outbursts of reason are typically short-lived, as the gun control apostate becomes ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Kansas: Governor Brownback Allows Anti-Gun Legislation to Become Law

Thursday, June 15, 2017

Kansas: Governor Brownback Allows Anti-Gun Legislation to Become Law

Today, Governor Sam Brownback announced that he intends to let House Bill 2278 become law without his signature.  HB 2278 makes it unlawful for individuals to carry a firearm for self-defense into a state or municipal-owned ...

Why The United States Needs To Unite On Carry Reciprocity

News  

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Why The United States Needs To Unite On Carry Reciprocity

In an educational op-ed posted Thursday at newyorkdailynews.com, criminologist and author John Lott makes the case that the previous day’s shooting at a GOP Congressional baseball practice proves why the country needs national Right-to-Carry reciprocity.

California: Pre-Litigation Letter Sent to DOJ Opposing “Bullet Button Assault Weapon” Regulations

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

California: Pre-Litigation Letter Sent to DOJ Opposing “Bullet Button Assault Weapon” Regulations

On Monday, June 19, the NRA and CRPA’s legal team submitted a joint-letter to the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and Office of Administrative law demanding that the regulations be withdrawn or not approved as the regulations exceed ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.