Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Maryland: Annapolis Update! Pro-Gun Bills Making Progress; Pro-Second Amendment Event Days Away

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Yesterday, January 28, Senate Bill 231 was heard in the state Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee and is now awaiting a vote in committee.  House Bill 214 was also heard yesterday and awaiting a vote in the House Judiciary Committee.

Senate Bill 231, sponsored by state Senator George Edwards (R-1), would allow bow hunters to carry a handgun for protection while hunting in Deer Management Region A.  Please contact members of the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee and respectfully urge them to vote for Senate Bill 231.

House Bill 214, sponsored by Delegate Frank M. Conaway Jr. (D-40), would strengthen Maryland’s Castle Doctrine by clarifying the ability of a homeowner to protect themselves or others in their home.  Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to adopt the NRA-ILA suggested amendments and vote for House Bill 214.

Contact information for committee members is provided below.

“2A Tuesday” will be held next Tuesday, February 4.  NRA-ILA, along with Maryland Shall Issue, the Associated Gun Clubs of Baltimore, the Maryland State Rifle and Pistol Association, the Maryland Licensed Firearms Dealers Association and the Western Maryland Sportsmen's Coalition, will be holding "2A Tuesday.”  As a rally and lobby day, “2A Tuesday” is being held to remind anti-gun state legislators that gun owners in Maryland will not back down until all legislation infringing on their Second Amendment rights is defeated or repealed.  Those present for “2A Tuesday” will be able to sit in on meetings with state legislators, listen to presentations from the major grassroots organizations, attend meet-and-greet sessions with Maryland's Second Amendment advocacy organizations, and participate in seminars on being a more effective activist.

This event will be centered at Lawyer’s Mall near the Maryland State House and the General Assembly office buildings.  Updated information on “2A Tuesday” can be found here.  Please check in at room 142 of the House Office Building on February 4.  On the chance there is inclement weather, please contact (410) 841-3555 to receive information on an alternate location.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Delegate Joseph Vallario (D-27A), Chairman
301-858-3488
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kathleen Dumais (D-15), Vice Chairman
301-858-3052
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)
410-547-0425
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Sam Arora (D-19)
301-858-3528
sam.arora@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Jill Carter (D-41)
410-367-3939
jill.carter@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Luke Clippinger (D-46)
410-841-3303
luke.clippinger@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate John Cluster (R-8)
410-841-3526
john.cluster@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Frank Conaway (D-40)
410-841-3189
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Glen Glass (R-34A)
443-360-8607
glen.glass@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael Hough (R-3B)
301-858-3472
michael.hough@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
301-777-9000
kevin.kelly@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Susan Lee (D-16)
301-858-3649
susan.lee@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Susan McComas (R-35B)
410-836-9449
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael McDermott (R-38B)
410-957-3037
mike.mcdermott@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Neil Parrott (R-2B)
240-329-0293
neil.parrott@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Samuel Rosenberg (D-41)
410-664-2646
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17)
301-589-6400
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Michael Smigiel (R-36)
410-392-5815
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Darren Swain (D-24)
301-858-3692
darren.swain@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
301-858-3210
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D-23A)
301-858-3101
geraldine.valentino.smith@house.state.md.us
 
Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)
301-858-3130
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us
 
 
Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee
 
Senator Joan Carter Conway (D-43), Chairman
410-467-7125
joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Roy Dyson (D-29), Vice Chairman
301-994-2826
roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Joanne Benson (D-24)
410-841-3149
joanne.benson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Bill Ferguson (D-46)
410-841-3600
bill.ferguson@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator J. B. Jennings (R-7)
410-841-3706
jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Karen Montgomery (D-14)
301-858-3625
karen.montgomery@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Paul Pinsky (D-22)
301-858-3155
paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Edward Reilly (R-33)
410-841-3568
edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Jim Rosapepe (D-21)
410-841-3141
jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Bryan Simonaire (R-31)
410-841-3658
bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us
 
Senator Ronald Young (D-3)
410-841-3575
ronald.young@senate.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Beto Going All-In on Confiscation

News  

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Beto Going All-In on Confiscation

Democrat Presidential candidate Beto O’Rourke continues to struggle to gain any sort of traction for his campaign. With some polls putting him in 10th place, and his average sitting around 7th, some might say that it is desperation ...

Tell Your Lawmakers: No Semi-Auto and Magazine Ban!

News  

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Tell Your Lawmakers: No Semi-Auto and Magazine Ban!

The Democrat Party is now so aligned with gun control that every major candidate running for its 2020 presidential nomination recently appeared in a propaganda video produced by one of the nation’s most active firearm prohibition groups. ...

NRA Files Suit Against San Francisco for Violating First Amendment

News  

Sunday, September 15, 2019

NRA Files Suit Against San Francisco for Violating First Amendment

On September 3, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors smeared millions of law-abiding Americans by unanimously adopting a resolution that designated NRA a “domestic terrorist organization.” Less than one week later, on September 9, NRA filed a federal lawsuit ...

House Democrats Continue Unprecedented Push for More Gun Control

News  

Sunday, September 15, 2019

House Democrats Continue Unprecedented Push for More Gun Control

As was continually threatened while Congress was on its six-week Summer break, House Democrats hastily convened a hearing on Tuesday to promote their latest batch of anti-gun bills.  The House Judiciary Committee’s markup of three bills, ...

New Hampshire: House to Vote on Gov. Sununu's Vetoes of Anti-Gun Bills

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

New Hampshire: House to Vote on Gov. Sununu's Vetoes of Anti-Gun Bills

On Wednesday, September 18th, the New Hampshire House of Representatives will vote on Governor Chris Sununu's vetoes of three anti-gun bills sent to his desk by the General Court.  Anti-gun Representatives who remain stubbornly committed to ...

California: Carson City Council Fails to Pass Unconstitutional Resolution Targeting Lawful Firearm Possession and Sales

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

California: Carson City Council Fails to Pass Unconstitutional Resolution Targeting Lawful Firearm Possession and Sales

Yesterday, September 17, the Carson City Council failed to pass anti-gun Resolution 19-1693.  ​The resolution was being pushed by Mayor Albert Robles in an effort to prohibit firearm dealers and firearm possession in the City of Carson to the ...

NRA Names Jason Ouimet to Head NRA Institute for Legislative Action

News  

Hunting  

Thursday, September 19, 2019

NRA Names Jason Ouimet to Head NRA Institute for Legislative Action

The National Rifle Association’s executive vice president and CEO, Wayne LaPierre, has named Jason Ouimet to serve as executive director of the NRA’s Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA). The NRA Board of Directors unanimously affirmed ...

California: Carson City Council to Hear Unconstitutional Resolution Targeting Lawful Firearm Possession and Sales

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

California: Carson City Council to Hear Unconstitutional Resolution Targeting Lawful Firearm Possession and Sales

Today, September 17 at 5pm PST, the Carson City Council will be considering a late addition to this evening’s City Council meeting, Resolution 19-1693.  ​The resolution is being pushed by Mayor Albert Robles in an effort to prohibit firearm ...

NASCAR Takes a Hard Left

News  

Friday, August 30, 2019

NASCAR Takes a Hard Left

After decades of NASCAR drivers literally turning left for hours every race day (road course races excluded, of course), the governing body appears to be taking a figurative left turn, politically. K-Var, a retailer in outdoor and ...

Playing Games with Numbers

News  

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Playing Games with Numbers

Stanford Law Professor John Donohue and Theodora Boulouta, a Stanford undergrad, wrote an opinion piece in the New York Times that claims their new research shows the 1994 “assault weapons” ban really did work.  Their finding is ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.