NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: School Safety Bills to be Considered in House and Senate Committees Next Week

Friday, March 22, 2013

Two school safety bills have been placed on committee calendars for next week. Senate Bill 472 is scheduled for consideration in the Senate Education Committee on Wednesday, March 27, at 10:30 a.m. The House companion to SB 472, House Bill 504 sponsored by state Representative Eric Watson (R-22), is set to be heard in the House Education Subcommittee on Tuesday, March 26, at 1:30 p.m.  As introduced, SB472/HB504 requires districtwide school safety plans to include a requirement that at least one school resource officer or similarly trained staff member be present at each school during school hours.

School faculty members are entrusted with the education and care of our children every day and should be allowed to protect them in every possible manner.  HB504/SB472 would ensure that our children’s lives are protected when they enter onto school property.

Also on Tuesday, March 26, House Bill 10 is being heard in the House Civil Justice Subcommittee.  As introduced, House Bill 10 prohibits the allocation of state or local public funds to the regulation or enforcement of any federal firearms law that becomes effective on or after January 1, 2013.  Please contact members of the House Civil Justice Subcommittee and urge them to support HB10 and any legislation that upholds Tennessee residents’ fundamental right to defend themselves.  Contact information for the House Civil Justice Subcommittee can be found here.

Please call AND e-mail members of the committees below and respectfully urge them to support their respective bills; SB 472 and HB 504.

Senate Education Committee Hearing on SB 472: 

Senator Dolores Gresham (Chairman)
(615) 741-2368
Sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Reginald Tate (1st Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-2509
Sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Steven Dickerson (2nd Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-6679
Sen.steven.dickerson@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Charlotte Burks
(615) 741-3978
Sen.charlotte.burks@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Stacey Campfield
(615) 741-1766
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Rusty Crowe
(615) 741-2468
Sen.rusty.crowe@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Todd Gardenhire
(615) 741-6682
Sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Joey Hensley
(615) 741-3100
Sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Brian Kelsey
(615) 741-3036
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

House Education Subcommittee Hearing on HB504:

Representative Mark White (Chairman)
(615) 741-4415
Mark.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Harry Brooks
(615) 741-6879
Rep.harry.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John DeBerry
(615) 741-2239
Rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John Forgety
(615) 741-1725
Rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Roger Kane
(615) 741-4110
Rep.roger.kane@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Harold Love
(615) 741-3831
Rep.harold.love@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Debra Moody
(615) 741-3774
Rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Joe Pitts
(615) 741-2043
Rep.joe.pitts@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Dawn White
(615) 741-6849
Rep.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov

IN THIS ARTICLE
Tennessee school security
TRENDING NOW

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

A Decade Later, Remember New Orleans … Gun Confiscation Can (and Has) Happened in America

August 29th marks the 10-year anniversary of when Hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans, La. The memory of the ...

News  

Monday, August 24, 2015

NRA Sues to Stop Seattle Gun Tax

The NRA is suing the city of Seattle to stop two new gun laws - a tax on ...

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

California: Los Angeles Will be Sued to Invalidate Newly Passed Ordinance Banning So-Called “Large-Capacity Magazines”

The NRA is supporting a lawsuit challenging the ordinance.  After a two year delay, the Los Angeles City ...

Hunting  

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Texas: Will You Vote to Protect Your Right to Hunt and Fish in November?

All too often people take for granted basic freedoms until it is too late.  The right to hunt ...

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

Reduce Firearm Ownership, Say Anti-Gun Researchers

A new “study” by David Swedler, trained at the (gun control crusader Michael) Bloomberg School of Public Health, ...

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

Chain of Movie Houses Branches Out to Security Theater

Thanks to a new emphasis on searching the bags of moviegoers, the Regal Cinemas chain is treating its ...

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

Scapegoat Alert! D.C. Murders Increase, Police Chief Blames . . .

Murders in the District of Columbia are not nearly as common as they were a generation ago, when ...

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered ...

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

Missouri Supreme Court Applies Strict Scrutiny to Gun Case, Upholds Ban on Felon-in-Possession

On August 5, 2014, residents of the Show Me State approved Amendment 5 that strengthened Missouri’s constitutional right ...

News  

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Weird Science

As gun owners see all too often, a favored tactic of the gun control crowd is to provide ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.