NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: School Safety Bills to be Considered in House and Senate Committees Next Week

Friday, March 22, 2013

Two school safety bills have been placed on committee calendars for next week. Senate Bill 472 is scheduled for consideration in the Senate Education Committee on Wednesday, March 27, at 10:30 a.m. The House companion to SB 472, House Bill 504 sponsored by state Representative Eric Watson (R-22), is set to be heard in the House Education Subcommittee on Tuesday, March 26, at 1:30 p.m.  As introduced, SB472/HB504 requires districtwide school safety plans to include a requirement that at least one school resource officer or similarly trained staff member be present at each school during school hours.

School faculty members are entrusted with the education and care of our children every day and should be allowed to protect them in every possible manner.  HB504/SB472 would ensure that our children’s lives are protected when they enter onto school property.

Also on Tuesday, March 26, House Bill 10 is being heard in the House Civil Justice Subcommittee.  As introduced, House Bill 10 prohibits the allocation of state or local public funds to the regulation or enforcement of any federal firearms law that becomes effective on or after January 1, 2013.  Please contact members of the House Civil Justice Subcommittee and urge them to support HB10 and any legislation that upholds Tennessee residents’ fundamental right to defend themselves.  Contact information for the House Civil Justice Subcommittee can be found here.

Please call AND e-mail members of the committees below and respectfully urge them to support their respective bills; SB 472 and HB 504.

Senate Education Committee Hearing on SB 472: 

Senator Dolores Gresham (Chairman)
(615) 741-2368
Sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Reginald Tate (1st Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-2509
Sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Steven Dickerson (2nd Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-6679
Sen.steven.dickerson@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Charlotte Burks
(615) 741-3978
Sen.charlotte.burks@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Stacey Campfield
(615) 741-1766
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Rusty Crowe
(615) 741-2468
Sen.rusty.crowe@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Todd Gardenhire
(615) 741-6682
Sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Joey Hensley
(615) 741-3100
Sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Brian Kelsey
(615) 741-3036
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

House Education Subcommittee Hearing on HB504:

Representative Mark White (Chairman)
(615) 741-4415
Mark.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Harry Brooks
(615) 741-6879
Rep.harry.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John DeBerry
(615) 741-2239
Rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John Forgety
(615) 741-1725
Rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Roger Kane
(615) 741-4110
Rep.roger.kane@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Harold Love
(615) 741-3831
Rep.harold.love@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Debra Moody
(615) 741-3774
Rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Joe Pitts
(615) 741-2043
Rep.joe.pitts@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Dawn White
(615) 741-6849
Rep.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov

IN THIS ARTICLE
Tennessee school security
TRENDING NOW

Hunting  

Friday, February 12, 2016

Michigan: Hunting with Suppressors Now Legal

Yesterday, February 11, the Michigan Natural Resources Commission (NRC) voted to repeal the long-standing state prohibition on hunting ...

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Michigan: Pro-Gun Bill Scheduled for Hearing Tomorrow

Tomorrow, February 10, House Bill 4795 is scheduled for a hearing in the House Local Government Committee at ...

Friday, January 15, 2016

Anti-Gun lawmakers Introduce Gun Confiscation Bill in Georgia

With a complete disregard for the U.S. Constitution and the fundamental rights of Georgia residents, state Representative Mary ...

News  

Friday, February 5, 2016

Bill Aimed at Ending Operation Choke Point Passes House

On Thursday, a bi-partisan majority of the U.S. House of Representatives passed H.R. 766, the ‘‘Financial Institution Customer ...

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Connecticut: Deeply Flawed Bill that Violates Due Process Filed in Hartford

In a move that threatens not only your Right to Keep and Bear Arms, but also your Fifth ...

Thursday, February 11, 2016

Oregon: House Judiciary Committee Passed Legislation to Delay Your Second Amendment Rights

Today, the House Judiciary Committee held a public work session for House Bill 4147.  During this hearing, the committee ...

News  

Friday, February 5, 2016

“F” Stands for Fail: Georgia College Instructor Boots Uniformed Cop, Gets Lectured in Return

Colleges usually take great pride in proclaiming their “diversity” and “inclusiveness,” but simply wearing a tool of his ...

Monday, February 8, 2016

West Virginia: Permitless Carry Passes House of Delegates

Today, House Bill 4145, NRA-endorsed legislation that would allow an individual to lawfully carry a concealed handgun without ...

Thursday, February 11, 2016

Maryland: It’s 2013 All Over Again

House Speaker Mike Busch, Senate President Mike Miller, and Attorney General Brian Frosh, the same officials who passed ...

Tuesday, February 9, 2016

Oregon: Anti-Gun Bill Scheduled for Work Session Tomorrow

Tomorrow, February 10, House Bill 4147 has been scheduled for a work session at 3:00pm in HR 343 of ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.