NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: School Safety Bills to be Considered in House and Senate Committees Next Week

Friday, March 22, 2013

Two school safety bills have been placed on committee calendars for next week. Senate Bill 472 is scheduled for consideration in the Senate Education Committee on Wednesday, March 27, at 10:30 a.m. The House companion to SB 472, House Bill 504 sponsored by state Representative Eric Watson (R-22), is set to be heard in the House Education Subcommittee on Tuesday, March 26, at 1:30 p.m.  As introduced, SB472/HB504 requires districtwide school safety plans to include a requirement that at least one school resource officer or similarly trained staff member be present at each school during school hours.

School faculty members are entrusted with the education and care of our children every day and should be allowed to protect them in every possible manner.  HB504/SB472 would ensure that our children’s lives are protected when they enter onto school property.

Also on Tuesday, March 26, House Bill 10 is being heard in the House Civil Justice Subcommittee.  As introduced, House Bill 10 prohibits the allocation of state or local public funds to the regulation or enforcement of any federal firearms law that becomes effective on or after January 1, 2013.  Please contact members of the House Civil Justice Subcommittee and urge them to support HB10 and any legislation that upholds Tennessee residents’ fundamental right to defend themselves.  Contact information for the House Civil Justice Subcommittee can be found here.

Please call AND e-mail members of the committees below and respectfully urge them to support their respective bills; SB 472 and HB 504.

Senate Education Committee Hearing on SB 472: 

Senator Dolores Gresham (Chairman)
(615) 741-2368
Sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Reginald Tate (1st Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-2509
Sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Steven Dickerson (2nd Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-6679
Sen.steven.dickerson@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Charlotte Burks
(615) 741-3978
Sen.charlotte.burks@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Stacey Campfield
(615) 741-1766
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Rusty Crowe
(615) 741-2468
Sen.rusty.crowe@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Todd Gardenhire
(615) 741-6682
Sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Joey Hensley
(615) 741-3100
Sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Brian Kelsey
(615) 741-3036
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

House Education Subcommittee Hearing on HB504:

Representative Mark White (Chairman)
(615) 741-4415
Mark.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Harry Brooks
(615) 741-6879
Rep.harry.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John DeBerry
(615) 741-2239
Rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John Forgety
(615) 741-1725
Rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Roger Kane
(615) 741-4110
Rep.roger.kane@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Harold Love
(615) 741-3831
Rep.harold.love@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Debra Moody
(615) 741-3774
Rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Joe Pitts
(615) 741-2043
Rep.joe.pitts@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Dawn White
(615) 741-6849
Rep.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov

IN THIS ARTICLE
Tennessee school security
TRENDING NOW

News  

Saturday, July 18, 2015

Obama's Social Security Administration to Strip Millions of Americans of their Right to Keep and Bear Arms

As the L.A. Times reported on July 18, the Social Security Administration (SSA) is currently developing a program to ...

News  

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

No Support for Military Right-to-Carry from Obama, Everytown, and Odierno

Support for allowing military personnel to carry firearms for self-protection following the terrorist attack upon military personnel in Chattanooga ...

News  

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

NRA Applauds Congressman Johnson for Swift Action on Social Security Gun Grab

The National Rifle Association’s Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) lauded Congressman Sam Johnson (R-TX), Chairman of the House Ways ...

News  

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Presidential Candidates, Members of Congress, and Governors Call for Military Right-to-Carry

Following the murder of four U.S. Marines and a U.S. Navy sailor by a terrorist in Chattanooga, presidential ...

News  

Friday, July 24, 2015

Gun Control Group Would Endanger Military by Politicizing Firearm Procurement Process

As if misguided anti-gun policies that leave our fighting men and women defenseless stateside weren’t enough, some gun ...

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered ...

News  

Friday, July 24, 2015

"High Society" Types Sued Over Anti-Gun "Bracelets"

As the saying goes, "you can't make this stuff up." A lawsuit has been filed in Manhattan against ...

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Washington: USFS Hosting Meeting August 4 to Discuss Recreational Shooting in Snoqualmie Ranger District

The U.S. Forest Service has scheduled a second meeting to discuss recreational shooting in the Snoqualmie Ranger District ...

News  

Friday, June 5, 2015

Stop Obama's Planned Gag Order on Firearm-Related Speech

It's happening again— President Obama is using his imperial pen and telephone to curb your rights and bypass Congress ...

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Florida Alert! Appeals Court UPHOLDS NRA Supported "Docs vs. Glocks" Gun Law

In 2011, at the urging of the NRA and Unified Sportsmen of Florida, the Florida Legislature passed  HB-155 ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.