NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Minnesota: Governor Dayton to Host Town Hall this Wednesday in Duluth – Your Presence is Needed

Monday, March 18, 2013

Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton (DFL) will be hosting a town hall meeting this Wednesday (March 20) evening in Duluth.  After the Governor’s public comments today (see news article here), it is very important to attend and express your opposition to banning and criminalizing the private transfers of firearms between certain family members, friends and hunting buddies. It is imperative that pro-freedom supporters attend this meeting and ask Governor Dayton why he supports this restrictive measure that will do nothing to stop criminal misuse of firearms or reduce violent crime.

As previously reported, the gun control bills moving through the state legislature that Governor Dayton will support are some of the most invasive infringements of the Second Amendment in recent memory.

This Wednesday’s town hall meeting will be held at 6:00 p.m. at:

Public Safety Building

2030 North Arlington Avenue

Duluth, Minnesota 55811

Please attend and be sure to ask Governor Dayton to support REAL solutions to Minnesota’s crime problem instead of misguided, feel-good measures that will only criminalize honest law-abiding gun owners in Minnesota.

Also, remember that anti-gun Representative Michael Paymar’s (DFL-64B) recently amended gun control package, House File 237, will be heard TOMORROW at 10:00 am by the House Public Safety Committee.  As previously reported, the Paymar gun control laundry-list would be an unprecedented infringement on our constitutional right to bear arms.  Please attend this hearing which will be held in Room 10 of the State Office Building at the Capitol to show your opposition to this extremist gun control measure.

Contact members of the House Public Safety Committee TODAY and urge them to OPPOSE HF 237.  Please also ask them to SUPPORT NRA’s alternative bill, HF 1325, that offers real and practical solutions.

House Public Safety Committee:

Representative Michael Paymar (DFL) – Chairman
651-296-4199
E-mail: rep.michael.paymar@house.mn

Representative Paul Rosenthal (DFL) – Vice Chairman
651-296-7803
E-mail: rep.paul.rosenthal@house.mn

Representative Tony Cornish (R) – Republican Lead
651-296-4240
E-mail: rep.tony.cornish@house.mn

Representative Debra Hilstrom (DFL)
651-296-3709
E-mail: rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

Representative Brian Johnson (R)
651-296-4346
E-mail: rep.brian.johnson@house.mn

Representative Tim Kelly (R)
651-296-8635
E-mail: rep.tim.kelly@house.mn

Representative Andrea Kieffer (R)
651-296-1147
E-mail: rep.andrea.kieffer@house.mn

Representative John Lesch (DFL)
651-296-4224
E-mail: rep.john.lesch@house.mn

Representative Kathy Lohmer (R)
651-296-4244
E-mail: rep.kathy.lohmer@house.mn

Representative Joe Mullery (DFL)
651-296-4262
E-mail: rep.joe.mullery@house.mn

Representative Jim Newberger (R)
651-296-2451
E-mail: rep.jim.newberger@house.mn

Representative Shannon Savick (DFL)
651-296-8216
E-mail: rep.shannon.savick@house.mn

Representative Dan Schoen (DFL)
651-296-4342
E-mail: rep.dan.schoen@house.mn

Representative Steve Simon (DFL)
651-296-9889
E-mail: rep.steve.simon@house.mn

Representative Erik Simonson (DFL)
651-296-4246
E-mail: rep.erik.simonson@house.mn

Representative Linda Slocum (DFL)
651-296-7158
E-mail: rep.linda.slocum@house.mn

Representative Mark Uglem (R)
651-296-5513
E-mail: rep.mark.uglem@house.mn 

Representative John Ward (DFL)
651-296-4333
E-mail: rep.john.ward@house.mn

 

TRENDING NOW

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

South Carolina: NRA-Endorsed Self-Defense Legislation Passes Committee

Yesterday,  H. 4703 was favorably reported out of the House Judiciary Committee.  This critical self-defense legislation had no opposition ...

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Arizona: Pro-Gun Bills Scheduled for Hearings Tomorrow

This week, the Arizona State Legislature has scheduled hearings for several important pro-gun bills.

Friday, January 15, 2016

Anti-Gun lawmakers Introduce Gun Confiscation Bill in Georgia

With a complete disregard for the U.S. Constitution and the fundamental rights of Georgia residents, state Representative Mary ...

Hunting  

Monday, February 1, 2016

West Virginia: Permitless Carry and Sunday Hunting to Be Considered this Week

This week, the House of Delegates is likely to consider House Bill 4145, important legislation that would allow ...

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Oregon: 2016 Legislative Session Convenes; Senate Bill 1551 Pulled from Hearing Agenda

Yesterday, the Oregon State Legislature convened its 2016 legislative session.  As previously reported, both Senate Bill 1551 and ...

News  

Friday, January 29, 2016

Chief Justice Barack Obama?

Here’s perhaps the most compelling argument we’ve heard against Hillary Clinton’s bid for the White House. Continuing her streak ...

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, January 29, 2016

New Jersey Actor Faces Jail Time over Possession of Air Pistol during Movie Shoot

If it seems as though that every couple of months there is another high-profile gun control injustice in ...

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Florida Report: BIG Day for Gun Owners in Florida -- Four Victories

Today, HB-163, Open Carry by Rep. Matt Gaetz was heard in the House Judiciary Committee and PASSED by a Vote of 12-4.  HB-344, Stand Your Ground/Burden of Proof by Sen. Rob Bradley PASSED THE SENATE ...

Monday, February 1, 2016

South Carolina: Important Self-Defense Legislation Needs Your Help!

With the South Carolina Legislature’s 2016 legislative session underway, a number of bills which could affect your Second ...

News  

Thursday, February 4, 2016

National Rifle Association Statement on 4th Circuit Court of Appeals Ruling in Kolbe v. Maryland

Fairfax, Va.— Chris W. Cox, the executive director of the National Rifle Association's Institute for Legislative Action, issued the following statement in reaction to today's ruling by the federal 4th Circuit Court of Appeals in ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.