Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Washington: Bill to Criminalize All Private Firearms Transfers Goes to House Floor

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Today, House Bill 1588, legislation that could criminalize private sales of firearms and lead to handgun registration, was amended and reported by the House Judiciary Committee by a 7-6 vote.  HB 1588 is now headed to the House Rules Committee before going to the floor of the state House of Representatives. 

 It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and the members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. 

Sponsored by state representatives Jamie Pederson (D-43), Mike Hope (R-44) and 36 other state representatives, HB 1588 could criminalize all private sales of firearms. This bill mandates a $20 fee (tax) to conduct a background check.  All private firearm sales would be required to be brokered by licensed gun dealers and it is unlikely that $20 would cover their cost.  A likely outcome is dealers refusing to process these transactions, potentially bringing all legal private firearm sales to a halt.

HB 1588 is unworkable in its current form, as it conflicts with federal law.  Furthermore, if it was able to be implemented as drafted, it would create a database of all privately sold handguns since ALL dealer handgun deliveries are registered with the state.

This bill is nothing more than a regulatory scheme that would create a huge burden for law-abiding citizens, would be unenforceable and would be ignored by criminals anyway. It is truly nothing more than a precursor to Universal Firearm REGISTRATION!

The NRA thanks the following six state Representatives who voted against this attack on our Second Amendment rights. Please contact them and thank them for standing up for your constitutional rights:

 

Representative Jay Rodne (R-5)

(360) 786-7852

jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Steve O'Ban (R-28)

(360) 786-7890

steve.oban@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Steve Kirby (D-29)

(360) 786-7996

steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Brad Klippert (R-8)

(360) 786-7882

brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)

(360) 786-7828

terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Matt Shea (R-4)

(360) 786-7984

matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

 

It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and  members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. If one of your Representatives serves on the House Rules Committee, it is especially important for you to contact them, as this committee has the power to prevent this bill from going to the House floor. To find your elected officials and their contact information, please click here. You may also contact your state Representatives by calling the toll-free legislative hotline at 1-800-562-6000. Contact information for the House Rules Committee is provided below:

 

House Rules Committee:

 

Representative Frank Chopp (D-43) Chairman

frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7920

 

Representative Richard DeBolt (R-20)

richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7896

 

Representative Cathy Dahlquist (R-31)

cathy.dahlquist@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7846

 

Representative Susan Fagan (R-9)

susan.fagan@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7942

 

Representative Tami Green (D-28)

tami.green@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7958

 

Representative Jeff Holy (R-6)

jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7962

 

Representative Norm Johnson (R-14)

norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7810

 

Representative Linda Kochmar (R-30)

linda.kochmar@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7898

 

Representative Joel Kretz (R-7)

joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7988

 

Representative Marko Liias (D-21)

marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7972

 

Representative Chad Magendanz (R-5)

chad.magendanz@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7876

 

Representative Marcie Maxwell (D-41)

marcie.maxwell@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7894

 

Representative Jim Moeller (D-49)

jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7872

 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)

terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7828

 

Representative Tina Orwall (D-33)

tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7834

 

Representative Eric Pettigrew (D-37)

eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7838

 

Representative Chris Reykdal (D-22)

chris.reykdal@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7940

 

Representative Mary Helen Roberts (D-21)

maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7950

 

Representative Cindy Ryu (D-32)

cindy.ruy@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7880

 

Representative David Sawyer (D-29)

david.sawyer@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7906

 

Representative Larry Springer (D-45)

larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7822

 

Representative Pat Sullivan (D-47)

pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7858

 

Representative Gael Tarleton (D-36)

gael.tarleton@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7860

 

Representative Kevin Van De Wege (D-24)

kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7916

 

Representative J.T. Wilcox (R-2)

jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7912

IN THIS ARTICLE
Washington Private Sales
TRENDING NOW
A New Candidate for Confiscator-in-Chief

News  

Monday, November 11, 2019

A New Candidate for Confiscator-in-Chief

Former Texas Congressman Robert Francis O’Rourke abandoned his run for President last week, once again leaving a void for the most strident anti-gun candidate seeking the Democrat nomination. Even before declaring his candidacy for President, ...

New Hampshire: Firearm Seizure Bill Headed to House Floor

Thursday, October 31, 2019

New Hampshire: Firearm Seizure Bill Headed to House Floor

On October 30th, the New Hampshire state Criminal Justice and Public Safety Committee sent House Bill 687 to the House floor for further consideration after a motion to kill the bill failed by a vote ...

Strong Firearms Preemption Laws are More Important Than Ever

News  

Gun Laws  

Monday, November 11, 2019

Strong Firearms Preemption Laws are More Important Than Ever

Photo Courtesy of Jeremy Tremp In recent weeks, gun owners have been given two prime examples of just how important strong firearms preemption laws are to the vibrant exercise of Second Amendment rights. On October ...

Wisconsin: Gov. Evers Calls for Firearm Confiscation & Criminalizing Private Transfers

Friday, September 20, 2019

Wisconsin: Gov. Evers Calls for Firearm Confiscation & Criminalizing Private Transfers

On September 19th, Wisconsin Governor Tony Evers, Attorney General Josh Kaul, Representative Melissa Sargent (D-48), and Senator Lena Taylor (D-4) held a press conference calling on the Legislature to violate the Second Amendment by: 1) ...

National Hearing Conservation Association Supports Suppressors

News  

Monday, November 4, 2019

National Hearing Conservation Association Supports Suppressors

Photo Courtesy of Silencer Shop On October 28th, the National Hearing Conservation Association sent its new position paper on firearms suppressors to the American Suppressor Association. The paper, in short, recognizes the important role that ...

Bloomberg’s Gun Control Apparatus Lies to Virginia’s Firearm Owners in Election Mailing

News  

Monday, November 4, 2019

Bloomberg’s Gun Control Apparatus Lies to Virginia’s Firearm Owners in Election Mailing

Here’s a hint for Virginia gun owners and sportsmen: When you get a firearm-related election mailing with a New York City return address and proudly proclaiming that it’s printed on soy ink, you can safely ...

NRA Statement on 2019 Election  Results

News  

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

NRA Statement on 2019 Election Results

The National Rifle Association released the following statement on the 2019 election results: "As if Gov. Northam’s legacy of ineptitude wasn’t enough, Virginians are about to experience life under a distant tycoon’s thumb."

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

NRA Member spotlight: Meet the Man Who Helped Turn an Anti-Gun Townhall into a Pro-gun Rally

News  

Monday, October 28, 2019

NRA Member spotlight: Meet the Man Who Helped Turn an Anti-Gun Townhall into a Pro-gun Rally

At a townhall meeting in Michigan this month, Congresswoman Haley Stevens appeared to lose control when the NRA came up and began emotionally screaming, “The NRA has got to go! The NRA has got to go!” ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.