NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Washington: Bill to Criminalize All Private Firearms Transfers Goes to House Floor

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Today, House Bill 1588, legislation that could criminalize private sales of firearms and lead to handgun registration, was amended and reported by the House Judiciary Committee by a 7-6 vote.  HB 1588 is now headed to the House Rules Committee before going to the floor of the state House of Representatives. 

 It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and the members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. 

Sponsored by state representatives Jamie Pederson (D-43), Mike Hope (R-44) and 36 other state representatives, HB 1588 could criminalize all private sales of firearms. This bill mandates a $20 fee (tax) to conduct a background check.  All private firearm sales would be required to be brokered by licensed gun dealers and it is unlikely that $20 would cover their cost.  A likely outcome is dealers refusing to process these transactions, potentially bringing all legal private firearm sales to a halt.

HB 1588 is unworkable in its current form, as it conflicts with federal law.  Furthermore, if it was able to be implemented as drafted, it would create a database of all privately sold handguns since ALL dealer handgun deliveries are registered with the state.

This bill is nothing more than a regulatory scheme that would create a huge burden for law-abiding citizens, would be unenforceable and would be ignored by criminals anyway. It is truly nothing more than a precursor to Universal Firearm REGISTRATION!

The NRA thanks the following six state Representatives who voted against this attack on our Second Amendment rights. Please contact them and thank them for standing up for your constitutional rights:

 

Representative Jay Rodne (R-5)

(360) 786-7852

jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Steve O'Ban (R-28)

(360) 786-7890

steve.oban@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Steve Kirby (D-29)

(360) 786-7996

steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Brad Klippert (R-8)

(360) 786-7882

brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)

(360) 786-7828

terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Matt Shea (R-4)

(360) 786-7984

matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

 

It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and  members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. If one of your Representatives serves on the House Rules Committee, it is especially important for you to contact them, as this committee has the power to prevent this bill from going to the House floor. To find your elected officials and their contact information, please click here. You may also contact your state Representatives by calling the toll-free legislative hotline at 1-800-562-6000. Contact information for the House Rules Committee is provided below:

 

House Rules Committee:

 

Representative Frank Chopp (D-43) Chairman

frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7920

 

Representative Richard DeBolt (R-20)

richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7896

 

Representative Cathy Dahlquist (R-31)

cathy.dahlquist@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7846

 

Representative Susan Fagan (R-9)

susan.fagan@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7942

 

Representative Tami Green (D-28)

tami.green@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7958

 

Representative Jeff Holy (R-6)

jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7962

 

Representative Norm Johnson (R-14)

norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7810

 

Representative Linda Kochmar (R-30)

linda.kochmar@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7898

 

Representative Joel Kretz (R-7)

joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7988

 

Representative Marko Liias (D-21)

marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7972

 

Representative Chad Magendanz (R-5)

chad.magendanz@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7876

 

Representative Marcie Maxwell (D-41)

marcie.maxwell@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7894

 

Representative Jim Moeller (D-49)

jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7872

 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)

terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7828

 

Representative Tina Orwall (D-33)

tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7834

 

Representative Eric Pettigrew (D-37)

eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7838

 

Representative Chris Reykdal (D-22)

chris.reykdal@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7940

 

Representative Mary Helen Roberts (D-21)

maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7950

 

Representative Cindy Ryu (D-32)

cindy.ruy@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7880

 

Representative David Sawyer (D-29)

david.sawyer@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7906

 

Representative Larry Springer (D-45)

larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7822

 

Representative Pat Sullivan (D-47)

pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7858

 

Representative Gael Tarleton (D-36)

gael.tarleton@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7860

 

Representative Kevin Van De Wege (D-24)

kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7916

 

Representative J.T. Wilcox (R-2)

jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7912

IN THIS ARTICLE
Washington Private Sales
TRENDING NOW
California: Governor Brown Takes Action on Final Firearm-Related Bills

Monday, September 26, 2016

California: Governor Brown Takes Action on Final Firearm-Related Bills

Today, Governor Brown made his decision on the final firearm-related bills of the 2016 legislative session that made it to his desk.   Governor Brown vetoed two anti-gun bills, AB 450 and SB 1332, and signed ...

Show Your Support—NEW NRA Yard Signs Available!

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Show Your Support—NEW NRA Yard Signs Available!

Show your support for NRA and the Second Amendment this election cycle by purchasing an NRA yard sign.  With everything that is at stake this year, including the Presidency, the balance of the U.S. Senate ...

War on Terror or a War on Guns?

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

War on Terror or a War on Guns?

Sadiq Khan, the mayor of London, was in New York City recently on an official visit. Commenting on the bombs that exploded while he was in town, he opined that such attacks are now simply ...

Virginia Politician and Clinton Backer Brands Trump Supporters as “Mentally Deficient”

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Virginia Politician and Clinton Backer Brands Trump Supporters as “Mentally Deficient”

With the presidential race tighter than ever as it heads into its final stretch, panicked Hillary Clinton supporters are desperate to find a way to discredit, not just Donald Trump, but anyone who would dare ...

Not The Victim Hillary Needs

News  

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Not The Victim Hillary Needs

This feature appears in the October ‘16 issue of NRA America’s 1st Freedom, one of the official journals of the National Rifle Association. “Why can’t everyone just have their DNA on file? Then it would ...

Montana: Bloomberg Targeting Missoula – Your Action Needed NOW!

Friday, September 23, 2016

Montana: Bloomberg Targeting Missoula – Your Action Needed NOW!

On Monday, September 26, the Missoula City Council is scheduled to consider an ordinance that would only create a burden for law-abiding citizens and may turn them into criminals if they unknowingly violate the ordinance.

Get the Official NRA-ILA App for an Exclusive NRA Store Discount!

Take Action  

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Get the Official NRA-ILA App for an Exclusive NRA Store Discount!

For a limited time only, the official NRA Store is offering a special deal to anyone who downloads the NRA-ILA App! Once the app is installed on your smartphone, you’ll receive a discount code that you can ...

Pennsylvania: Semi-Automatic Rifle Hunting Legislation will go to the House Floor Next Week!

Hunting  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Pennsylvania: Semi-Automatic Rifle Hunting Legislation will go to the House Floor Next Week!

Next week, and important pro-hunting reform bill, Senate Bill 737, may be considered in the House of Representatives.  Please call your state Representative and urge them to vote in favor of Senate Bill 737!

California: Referendum Update

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

California: Referendum Update

On behalf of the National Rifle Association (NRA), we would like to thank all of the volunteers and individuals who participated in the Veto Gunmageddon ballot referendum qualification effort.  Despite the tremendous efforts of all involved, ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.