Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Washington: Bill to Criminalize All Private Firearms Transfers Goes to House Floor

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Today, House Bill 1588, legislation that could criminalize private sales of firearms and lead to handgun registration, was amended and reported by the House Judiciary Committee by a 7-6 vote.  HB 1588 is now headed to the House Rules Committee before going to the floor of the state House of Representatives. 

 It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and the members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. 

Sponsored by state representatives Jamie Pederson (D-43), Mike Hope (R-44) and 36 other state representatives, HB 1588 could criminalize all private sales of firearms. This bill mandates a $20 fee (tax) to conduct a background check.  All private firearm sales would be required to be brokered by licensed gun dealers and it is unlikely that $20 would cover their cost.  A likely outcome is dealers refusing to process these transactions, potentially bringing all legal private firearm sales to a halt.

HB 1588 is unworkable in its current form, as it conflicts with federal law.  Furthermore, if it was able to be implemented as drafted, it would create a database of all privately sold handguns since ALL dealer handgun deliveries are registered with the state.

This bill is nothing more than a regulatory scheme that would create a huge burden for law-abiding citizens, would be unenforceable and would be ignored by criminals anyway. It is truly nothing more than a precursor to Universal Firearm REGISTRATION!

The NRA thanks the following six state Representatives who voted against this attack on our Second Amendment rights. Please contact them and thank them for standing up for your constitutional rights:

 

Representative Jay Rodne (R-5)

(360) 786-7852

jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Steve O'Ban (R-28)

(360) 786-7890

steve.oban@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Steve Kirby (D-29)

(360) 786-7996

steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Brad Klippert (R-8)

(360) 786-7882

brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)

(360) 786-7828

terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Matt Shea (R-4)

(360) 786-7984

matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

 

It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and  members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. If one of your Representatives serves on the House Rules Committee, it is especially important for you to contact them, as this committee has the power to prevent this bill from going to the House floor. To find your elected officials and their contact information, please click here. You may also contact your state Representatives by calling the toll-free legislative hotline at 1-800-562-6000. Contact information for the House Rules Committee is provided below:

 

House Rules Committee:

 

Representative Frank Chopp (D-43) Chairman

frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7920

 

Representative Richard DeBolt (R-20)

richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7896

 

Representative Cathy Dahlquist (R-31)

cathy.dahlquist@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7846

 

Representative Susan Fagan (R-9)

susan.fagan@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7942

 

Representative Tami Green (D-28)

tami.green@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7958

 

Representative Jeff Holy (R-6)

jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7962

 

Representative Norm Johnson (R-14)

norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7810

 

Representative Linda Kochmar (R-30)

linda.kochmar@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7898

 

Representative Joel Kretz (R-7)

joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7988

 

Representative Marko Liias (D-21)

marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7972

 

Representative Chad Magendanz (R-5)

chad.magendanz@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7876

 

Representative Marcie Maxwell (D-41)

marcie.maxwell@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7894

 

Representative Jim Moeller (D-49)

jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7872

 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)

terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7828

 

Representative Tina Orwall (D-33)

tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7834

 

Representative Eric Pettigrew (D-37)

eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7838

 

Representative Chris Reykdal (D-22)

chris.reykdal@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7940

 

Representative Mary Helen Roberts (D-21)

maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7950

 

Representative Cindy Ryu (D-32)

cindy.ruy@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7880

 

Representative David Sawyer (D-29)

david.sawyer@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7906

 

Representative Larry Springer (D-45)

larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7822

 

Representative Pat Sullivan (D-47)

pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7858

 

Representative Gael Tarleton (D-36)

gael.tarleton@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7860

 

Representative Kevin Van De Wege (D-24)

kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7916

 

Representative J.T. Wilcox (R-2)

jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7912

IN THIS ARTICLE
Washington Private Sales
TRENDING NOW
Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

On Wednesday, May 24, 2017, Chairman of the House Committee on Natural Resources Rob Bishop (R-UT) introduced H.R. 2620, the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act." This bill would remove ATF's authority to use the ...

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

Information collected by the Crime Prevention Research Center (CPRC) indicates an unprecedented surge in the number of concealed carry permits, with the largest one-year increase on record occurring between May 2016 and May 2017.

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

This week, Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO) reintroduced the Financial Institution Customer Protection Act, a bill aimed at permanently dismantling Operation Choke Point (OCP).  

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today applauded Texas Gov. Greg Abbott for signing into law NRA-backed legislation that will make license to carry fees in Texas among the lowest in the ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

Back in April, NRA-ILA alerted readers to the results of the New Zealand Parliament Law and Order Committee’s “Inquiry into issues relating to the illegal possession of firearms in New Zealand,” which proposed that a ...

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

It is one of the most well-worn tactics of those who advocate for gun control. Step one, acquire statistics on firearms injuries among children ages 0-14. Step two, combine these relatively low numbers with the ...

Illinois: Anti-Gun Legislators Attempting to Get “Assault Weapon” Language into law

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Illinois: Anti-Gun Legislators Attempting to Get “Assault Weapon” Language into law

This week, Senator Antonio Munoz filed Senate Amendment 2 to Senate Bill 556.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.