Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Washington: Bill to Criminalize All Private Firearms Transfers Goes to House Floor

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Today, House Bill 1588, legislation that could criminalize private sales of firearms and lead to handgun registration, was amended and reported by the House Judiciary Committee by a 7-6 vote.  HB 1588 is now headed to the House Rules Committee before going to the floor of the state House of Representatives. 

 It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and the members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. 

Sponsored by state representatives Jamie Pederson (D-43), Mike Hope (R-44) and 36 other state representatives, HB 1588 could criminalize all private sales of firearms. This bill mandates a $20 fee (tax) to conduct a background check.  All private firearm sales would be required to be brokered by licensed gun dealers and it is unlikely that $20 would cover their cost.  A likely outcome is dealers refusing to process these transactions, potentially bringing all legal private firearm sales to a halt.

HB 1588 is unworkable in its current form, as it conflicts with federal law.  Furthermore, if it was able to be implemented as drafted, it would create a database of all privately sold handguns since ALL dealer handgun deliveries are registered with the state.

This bill is nothing more than a regulatory scheme that would create a huge burden for law-abiding citizens, would be unenforceable and would be ignored by criminals anyway. It is truly nothing more than a precursor to Universal Firearm REGISTRATION!

The NRA thanks the following six state Representatives who voted against this attack on our Second Amendment rights. Please contact them and thank them for standing up for your constitutional rights:

 

Representative Jay Rodne (R-5)

(360) 786-7852

jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Steve O'Ban (R-28)

(360) 786-7890

steve.oban@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Steve Kirby (D-29)

(360) 786-7996

steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Brad Klippert (R-8)

(360) 786-7882

brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)

(360) 786-7828

terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Matt Shea (R-4)

(360) 786-7984

matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

 

It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and  members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. If one of your Representatives serves on the House Rules Committee, it is especially important for you to contact them, as this committee has the power to prevent this bill from going to the House floor. To find your elected officials and their contact information, please click here. You may also contact your state Representatives by calling the toll-free legislative hotline at 1-800-562-6000. Contact information for the House Rules Committee is provided below:

 

House Rules Committee:

 

Representative Frank Chopp (D-43) Chairman

frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7920

 

Representative Richard DeBolt (R-20)

richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7896

 

Representative Cathy Dahlquist (R-31)

cathy.dahlquist@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7846

 

Representative Susan Fagan (R-9)

susan.fagan@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7942

 

Representative Tami Green (D-28)

tami.green@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7958

 

Representative Jeff Holy (R-6)

jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7962

 

Representative Norm Johnson (R-14)

norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7810

 

Representative Linda Kochmar (R-30)

linda.kochmar@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7898

 

Representative Joel Kretz (R-7)

joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7988

 

Representative Marko Liias (D-21)

marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7972

 

Representative Chad Magendanz (R-5)

chad.magendanz@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7876

 

Representative Marcie Maxwell (D-41)

marcie.maxwell@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7894

 

Representative Jim Moeller (D-49)

jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7872

 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)

terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7828

 

Representative Tina Orwall (D-33)

tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7834

 

Representative Eric Pettigrew (D-37)

eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7838

 

Representative Chris Reykdal (D-22)

chris.reykdal@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7940

 

Representative Mary Helen Roberts (D-21)

maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7950

 

Representative Cindy Ryu (D-32)

cindy.ruy@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7880

 

Representative David Sawyer (D-29)

david.sawyer@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7906

 

Representative Larry Springer (D-45)

larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7822

 

Representative Pat Sullivan (D-47)

pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7858

 

Representative Gael Tarleton (D-36)

gael.tarleton@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7860

 

Representative Kevin Van De Wege (D-24)

kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7916

 

Representative J.T. Wilcox (R-2)

jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7912

IN THIS ARTICLE
Washington Private Sales
TRENDING NOW
National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

On Thursday, the NRA-supported case Peruta v. California took an important step towards restoring the right to bear arms in California.  The plaintiffs in the case, California gun owners and the California Rifle and Pistol ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

America lost a civil rights icon and a true free thinker with the death of Roy Innis on Jan. 8. For the NRA, his departure was personal. Mr. Innis served on the NRA’s Board of ...

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

On January 10 and 11, the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee held the confirmation hearing for President-elect Donald Trump’s nominee for United States Attorney General, Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.). Throughout his distinguished career in public service, ...

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

The FBI released its Preliminary Semiannual Uniform Crime Report earlier this week and the bad news is that violent crime increased for the second consecutive year.

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

News  

Hunting  

Monday, January 9, 2017

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Congressmen Jeff Duncan (SC) and John Carter (TX-31) on Monday for introducing the Hearing Protection Act, an important bill that gives gun owners and sportsmen ...

Gun Shy Professor Claims Need to Counter Campus Carry

News  

Friday, January 6, 2017

Gun Shy Professor Claims Need to Counter Campus Carry

Do you look back on your college years and remember the impassioned debates, when disagreements over the Periodic Table of Elements, theories of supply and demand, or the status of Pluto as a planet could ...

California: Pre-Litigation Demand Letter sent to DOJ opposing “Bullet Button Assault Weapon” Regulations

Monday, January 9, 2017

California: Pre-Litigation Demand Letter sent to DOJ opposing “Bullet Button Assault Weapon” Regulations

Today, NRA and CRPA’s legal team submitted a joint-letter to DOJ demanding that DOJ withdraw their regulations as a violation of the authority granted under the law.  NRA and CRPA’s legal team also submitted a ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.