Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Washington: Bill to Criminalize All Private Firearms Transfers Goes to House Floor

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Today, House Bill 1588, legislation that could criminalize private sales of firearms and lead to handgun registration, was amended and reported by the House Judiciary Committee by a 7-6 vote.  HB 1588 is now headed to the House Rules Committee before going to the floor of the state House of Representatives. 

 It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and the members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. 

Sponsored by state representatives Jamie Pederson (D-43), Mike Hope (R-44) and 36 other state representatives, HB 1588 could criminalize all private sales of firearms. This bill mandates a $20 fee (tax) to conduct a background check.  All private firearm sales would be required to be brokered by licensed gun dealers and it is unlikely that $20 would cover their cost.  A likely outcome is dealers refusing to process these transactions, potentially bringing all legal private firearm sales to a halt.

HB 1588 is unworkable in its current form, as it conflicts with federal law.  Furthermore, if it was able to be implemented as drafted, it would create a database of all privately sold handguns since ALL dealer handgun deliveries are registered with the state.

This bill is nothing more than a regulatory scheme that would create a huge burden for law-abiding citizens, would be unenforceable and would be ignored by criminals anyway. It is truly nothing more than a precursor to Universal Firearm REGISTRATION!

The NRA thanks the following six state Representatives who voted against this attack on our Second Amendment rights. Please contact them and thank them for standing up for your constitutional rights:

 

Representative Jay Rodne (R-5)

(360) 786-7852

jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Steve O'Ban (R-28)

(360) 786-7890

steve.oban@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Steve Kirby (D-29)

(360) 786-7996

steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Brad Klippert (R-8)

(360) 786-7882

brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)

(360) 786-7828

terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

 

Representative Matt Shea (R-4)

(360) 786-7984

matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

 

It is imperative that you contact your state Representatives and  members of the House Rules Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose HB 1588. If one of your Representatives serves on the House Rules Committee, it is especially important for you to contact them, as this committee has the power to prevent this bill from going to the House floor. To find your elected officials and their contact information, please click here. You may also contact your state Representatives by calling the toll-free legislative hotline at 1-800-562-6000. Contact information for the House Rules Committee is provided below:

 

House Rules Committee:

 

Representative Frank Chopp (D-43) Chairman

frank.chopp@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7920

 

Representative Richard DeBolt (R-20)

richard.debolt@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7896

 

Representative Cathy Dahlquist (R-31)

cathy.dahlquist@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7846

 

Representative Susan Fagan (R-9)

susan.fagan@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7942

 

Representative Tami Green (D-28)

tami.green@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7958

 

Representative Jeff Holy (R-6)

jeff.holy@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7962

 

Representative Norm Johnson (R-14)

norm.johnson@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7810

 

Representative Linda Kochmar (R-30)

linda.kochmar@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7898

 

Representative Joel Kretz (R-7)

joel.kretz@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7988

 

Representative Marko Liias (D-21)

marko.liias@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7972

 

Representative Chad Magendanz (R-5)

chad.magendanz@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7876

 

Representative Marcie Maxwell (D-41)

marcie.maxwell@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7894

 

Representative Jim Moeller (D-49)

jim.moeller@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7872

 

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)

terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7828

 

Representative Tina Orwall (D-33)

tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7834

 

Representative Eric Pettigrew (D-37)

eric.pettigrew@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7838

 

Representative Chris Reykdal (D-22)

chris.reykdal@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7940

 

Representative Mary Helen Roberts (D-21)

maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7950

 

Representative Cindy Ryu (D-32)

cindy.ruy@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7880

 

Representative David Sawyer (D-29)

david.sawyer@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7906

 

Representative Larry Springer (D-45)

larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7822

 

Representative Pat Sullivan (D-47)

pat.sullivan@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7858

 

Representative Gael Tarleton (D-36)

gael.tarleton@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7860

 

Representative Kevin Van De Wege (D-24)

kevin.vandewege@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7916

 

Representative J.T. Wilcox (R-2)

jt.wilcox@leg.wa.gov

(360) 786-7912

IN THIS ARTICLE
Washington Private Sales
TRENDING NOW
Governor Bevin Signs NRA-backed Constitutional Carry

News  

Monday, March 11, 2019

Governor Bevin Signs NRA-backed Constitutional Carry

The NRA applauds Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin for signing Senate Bill 150 into law, an NRA-backed bill that fully recognizes the constitutional right of law-abiding gun owners to carry a concealed firearm.

Iowa: House Passes Bill to Improve Hunting Opportunities

Hunting  

Friday, March 22, 2019

Iowa: House Passes Bill to Improve Hunting Opportunities

On March 20th, the Iowa state House of Representatives voted 57-40 to pass House File 716 to improve hunting opportunities in Iowa by expanding the types of cartridges that may be used for hunting.  HF 716 will ...

Activist Court Turns the Law Designed to Protect the Firearm Industry from Frivolous Lawsuits on its Head

News  

Friday, March 15, 2019

Activist Court Turns the Law Designed to Protect the Firearm Industry from Frivolous Lawsuits on its Head

On Thursday, the Connecticut Supreme Court created a dangerous new exception to the Protection of Lawful Commerce in Arms Act (PLCAA), a strong safeguard for our right to keep and bear arms.  

NRA Praises Vermont Superior Court Decision on Magazine Bans

News  

Thursday, March 21, 2019

NRA Praises Vermont Superior Court Decision on Magazine Bans

NRA applauds the Vermont Superior Court for allowing a lawsuit challenging the State's ban on standard capacity magazines to proceed. 

Utah: Self-Defense Bill Heads to the Governor’s Desk as Multiple Gun Control Bills Fail at the End of Session

Thursday, March 21, 2019

Utah: Self-Defense Bill Heads to the Governor’s Desk as Multiple Gun Control Bills Fail at the End of Session

The Utah Legislature has adjourned from its 2019 Legislative session.

Nevada: Omnibus Anti-Gun Bill Introduced, Legislator Bill Introduction Deadline Extended

Monday, March 18, 2019

Nevada: Omnibus Anti-Gun Bill Introduced, Legislator Bill Introduction Deadline Extended

Today, Assembly Bill 291 was introduced by Assemblywoman Sandra Jauregui (D-41).  This omnibus anti-gun legislation is a threat to both gun owners residing in Nevada and those who are visiting. 

U.S. Politicians Cheer New Zealand Gun Confiscation

News  

Friday, March 22, 2019

U.S. Politicians Cheer New Zealand Gun Confiscation

American gun owners have once again been reminded that the ultimate goal of U.S. gun control advocates is firearms bans and confiscation. Since the heinous terrorist attack in Christchurch, New Zealand, American anti-gun politicians, activists, ...

Illinois Court Throws Out Deerfield Gun Ban

News  

Friday, March 22, 2019

Illinois Court Throws Out Deerfield Gun Ban

NRA applauds Illinois court ruling throwing out Village of Deerfield's ban on commonly owned firearms and magazines.

Yesterday’s Scandal, Today’s Mandate: Anti-gunner Embraces Operation Choke Point as Official Policy

News  

Wednesday, March 13, 2019

Yesterday’s Scandal, Today’s Mandate: Anti-gunner Embraces Operation Choke Point as Official Policy

On Tuesday, U.S. Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-NY) unabashedly embraced the tactics behind one of the most shameful policies of the Obama era, openly using the guise of her federal authority to berate and not so ...

Washington: NRA & SAF Lawsuit Against City of Edmonds Moves Forward

Thursday, March 21, 2019

Washington: NRA & SAF Lawsuit Against City of Edmonds Moves Forward

On March 20th, the Washington Superior Court rejected the defendant’s motion to dismiss the lawsuit filed by the NRA and Second Amendment Foundation against the City of Edmonds to invalidate the mandatory firearm storage ordinance ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.