NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Join NRA and Second Amendment Supporters on February 5-7 in Saint Paul

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Stand up for your Right to Keep and Bear Arms


As previously reported here by NRA-ILA, on Tuesday, February 5, the Minnesota House Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee will begin three days of hearings to consider sweeping restrictions on our right to keep and bear arms. The committee will be considering a ban on commonly owned semi-automatic firearms - including common hunting rifles - as well as imposition of magazine capacity restrictions, a ban on private transfers, and institution of a universal background check system.  Your voice is desperately needed in Saint Paul to prevent tried and failed policies that will do nothing more than disarm honest law-abiding gun owners and infringe on our rights.

It is important that you attend these hearings and stand up for our Second Amendment rights before it is too late Show your elected officials that you support our right to keep and bear arms by wearing an NRA hat, shirt or button.  Testimony will begin each morning at 10:00 a.m. and may be followed by an additional period at 6:00 p.m. each evening.  Information on how to testify can be found  here. For more information and facts, please visit www.gunbanfacts.com.

Tentative Hearing Schedule:

Tuesday, February 5th
House Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee
Room 10
10:00 a.m. (possible additional testimony at 6:00 p.m.)

Wednesday, February 6th 
House Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee
Room 10
10:00 a.m. (possible additional testimony at 6:00 p.m.)

Thursday, February 7th
House Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee
Room 10
10:00 a.m. (possible additional testimony at 6:00 p.m.)

Please contact members of the House Public Safety Committee and urge them to oppose ALL new gun control proposals and to work on real solutions to existing crime problems like enforcing current laws, empowering the law-abiding to protect themselves and loved ones, and focusing on mental health issues.

House Public Safety Committee:
Representative Michael Paymar (DFL) – Chairman
651-296-4199
E-mail: rep.michael.paymar@house.mn

Representative Paul Rosenthal (DFL) – Vice Chairman
651-296-7803
E-mail: rep.paul.rosenthal@house.mn

Representative Tony Cornish (R) – Republican Lead
651-296-4240
E-mail: rep.tony.cornish@house.mn

Representative Debra Hilstrom (DFL)
651-296-3709
E-mail: rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

Representative Brian Johnson (R)
651-296-4346
E-mail: rep.brian.johnson@house.mn

Representative Tim Kelly (R)
651-296-8635
E-mail: rep.tim.kelly@house.mn

Representative Andrea Kieffer (R)
651-296-1147
E-mail: rep.andrea.kieffer@house.mn

Representative John Lesch (DFL)
651-296-4224
E-mail: rep.john.lesch@house.mn

Representative Kathy Lohmer (R)
651-296-4244
E-mail: rep.kathy.lohmer@house.mn

Representative Joe Mullery (DFL)
651-296-4262
E-mail: rep.joe.mullery@house.mn

Representative Jim Newberger (R)
651-296-2451
E-mail: rep.jim.newberger@house.mn

Representative Shannon Savick (DFL)
651-296-8216
E-mail: rep.shannon.savick@house.mn

Representative Dan Schoen (DFL)
651-296-4342
E-mail: rep.dan.schoen@house.mn

Representative Steve Simon (DFL)
651-296-9889
E-mail: rep.steve.simon@house.mn

Representative Erik Simonson (DFL)
651-296-4246
E-mail: rep.erik.simonson@house.mn

Representative Linda Slocum (DFL)
651-296-7158
E-mail: rep.linda.slocum@house.mn

Representative Mark Uglem (R)
651-296-5513
E-mail: rep.mark.uglem@house.mn

Representative John Ward (DFL)
651-296-4333
E-mail: rep.john.ward@house.mn

 

TRENDING NOW

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Missouri: Permitless Carry Self-Defense Legislation Overwhelmingly Passes House, Headed to Senate

Today, the Missouri House of Representatives overwhelmingly passed House Bill 1468.

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Oklahoma: Hunting with Suppressors Legislation Signed into Law

Yesterday, Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin signed House Bill 2637 into law and it goes into effect immediately.

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Connecticut: Anti-Gun Bills Expected for Floor Vote Tomorrow

One or both of the anti-gun bills, House Bill 5054 and House Bill 5623, may be called as early as tomorrow to go to the House floor for consideration by the full House of Representatives.  Both HB 5054 and ...

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

California: Anti-Gun Bills Still Alive After Policy Committee Deadline

After a busy week of hearings, Friday April 22nd marked the deadline for bills with a fiscal note to be passed out of their respective policy committees. Bills not meeting this deadline are considered defeated ...

News  

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Merrick Garland MUST NOT be confirmed to the U.S. Supreme Court

The U.S. Senate needs to hear from you TODAY that Merrick Garland MUST NOT be confirmed to the U.S. Supreme Court.

News  

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Political Report | Disarmament Cloaked as "Common Sense"

Gun control advocates have been at their civilian-disarmament campaign for so long that astute observers will notice the same tactics and approaches returning time and again to the political landscape. When the American public rejects ...

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Missouri: Urgent - Stand Your Ground Amendment to be Considered by Senate

Today, Missouri State Senator Kurt Schaefer (R-Columbia) amended Senate Bill 663 with critical self-defense language, known as Stand Your Ground.

Monday, April 25, 2016

Rhode Island: Wave of Gun Legislation Rolls Into the Ocean State

Tomorrow, April 26, the Senate Judiciary Committee will meet to consider a full agenda including over a dozen gun bills.

Friday, April 22, 2016

Hypocrisy on Firearms Enforcement? Congressman Beyer, Heal Thyself!

On April 11, U.S. Rep. Donald S. Beyer, Jr. (D-VA) rolled out his so-called ATF Enforcement Act, H.R. 4905 in an opinion piece in the Washington Post.  Beyer claimed hypocrisy on the part of NRA and other pro-gun advocates who ...

News  

Friday, April 22, 2016

Professor: "How can I say I don't want to support students who are gun enthusiasts…"

More evidence that America’s institutions of higher education have given up any pretense of providing a bastion for the free exchange of ideas came this week in the form of a commentary published in the Chronicle ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.