Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

Maryland Voter Registration Information

Friday, December 9, 2011

Primary Election
April 3, 2012

Voter Registration Deadline
March 13, 2012

General Election
November 6, 2012

General Election Voter Registration Deadline

October 16, 2012

Voter Registration and Eligibility
Must register to vote 21 days before the election.
Can change or select party affiliation 90 days before the election.


 To register to vote in Maryland, you must:

  • Be a U.S. Citizen
  • Be a Maryland resident
  • Be at least 18 years old by the next General Election
  • Not be under guardianship for mental disability
  • Not have been convicted of buying or selling votes;
  • Not have been convicted of a felony, or if you have, you have completed serving a court ordered sentence of imprisonment, including any term of parole or probation for the conviction.

An individual who is 17 years old may vote in the 2012 Presidential Primary Election, provided:

  • The individual will be 18 years old on or before November 6, 2012 (the date of the Presidential General Election); and
  • The individual is registered to vote and is affiliated with the Democratic or Republican Party.

To be considered a Maryland resident, your domicile must be in Maryland. Your domicile is the place that you consider to be your 'official' or 'permanent' home, even though it may be different from the place where you are actually living on a short-term or temporary basis. Your domicile will ordinarily be the address you use most frequently on tax returns or other government documents, driver's license, bank accounts, charge accounts, for insurance purposes, and so forth.


You may complete a Voter Registration Application in person at a County Board of Elections.

Voter Registration applications are also available throughout Maryland at any office of the State Department of Health, Social Services Administration, Motor Vehicle Department, Offices on Aging and all public institutions of higher education as well as many other State Agencies.

Obtain a voter registration application online here. Forms can be mailed to the State Board of Elections or to your county's Board of Elections. Do not fax or e-mail your Voter Registration Application.


Who Can Absentee Vote in Maryland?

Any registered voter may vote by absentee ballot.

How Can I Acquire an Absentee Ballot?

To vote by absentee ballot you must first fill out and return an Absentee Ballot Application. You can download an application now or pick one up from your County Board of Elections. (contact information)

Additional Information for Overseas Voters

You should return your completed Absentee Ballot Application to your County Board of Elections. A completed Absentee Ballot Application that is mailed must be received by 4:30 p.m. on the Tuesday before the election. A completed Absentee Ballot Application that is faxed must be received by 11:59 p.m. on the Tuesday before the election. After the deadline, a Late Application for Absentee Ballot must be completed in person at your County Board of Elections.

How do I Return the Absentee Ballot and What is the Deadline?

The ballot should be voted and returned to the county board of elections before or by 8:00 p.m. on election day or Mailed on or before election day, bearing a postmark verifying that fact, and received from the postal service or private mail carrier by 10:00 a.m. on November 6, 2012.

Source of information:
State Board of Elections
Post Office Box 6486
151 West Street, Suite 200
Annapolis, Maryland 21401-0486
Phone: 410-269-2840
Toll Free: 800-222-8683
Fax: 410-974-2019 ,410-974-5414,or 410-974-5126



Maryland Maryland

More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.