Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Louisiana: Two Important Hunting Bills Up in Senate Natural Resources Committee

Wednesday, May 18, 2011

Tomorrow, the Senate Natural Resources Committee will hear House Bill 169, introduced by state Representative Cameron Henry (R-82), and House Bill 294, introduced by state Representative Major Thibaut (D-18).  Both bills have already passed in the state House and await Senate committee consideration.

HB 169 would allow Louisianans to use firearms fitted with lawfully-possessed sound suppressors while hunting nongame nuisance quadrupeds, such as feral hogs, nutria or beaver.  Sound suppressors reduce noise complaints, recoil, and hearing loss while increasing accuracy. 

HB 294 would remove the requirement to acquire a special permit to trap feral hogs and remove the limitation on the types of firearms used for hunting nongame nuisance quadrupeds, nutria, or beaver.

Please contact members of the Senate Natural Resources Committee and encourage them support HB 169 and HB 294.

Senate Natural Resources Committee:

Senator "Jody" Amedee  (D-18), Chairman
(225) 342-2040
amedeej@legis.state.la.us

Senator Norby Chabert (R-20), Vice Chairman
(225) 342-2040
chabertn@legis.state.la.us 

Senator Dan Claitor (D-16)
(225) 342-2040
claitord@legis.state.la.us

Senator Michael J. "Mike" Michot (R-23)
(225) 342-2040
lasen23@legis.state.la.us 

Senator Jean-Paul J. Morrell (D-3)
(225) 342-2040
morrelljp@legis.state.la.us

Senator Dan "Blade" Morrish (R-25)
(225) 342-2040
morrishd@legis.state.la.us

Senator John R. Smith (D-30)
(225) 342-2040
smithj@legis.state.la.us

Senator A.G. Crowe  (R-1)  (Interim Member)
(225) 342-2040
crowea@legis.state.la.us

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.