Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Texas Senate Committee Advances Campus Carry Measure - Contact Your State Senator in Support of SB 354!

Friday, April 1, 2011

On Thursday, the Senate Committee on Criminal Justice passed Senate Bill 354 by state Senator Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio), by a 4 to 2 vote. This legislation would allow concealed carry license holders to protect themselves on the campuses of public colleges and universities.  As you know, in order to obtain a CHL in Texas, individuals must be 21 or older, have passed a state and federal criminal records check, and completed a handgun training course.  A two-thirds vote of Senators present and voting (21 if they are all there) will be necessary to "suspend the regular order of business" and bring SB 354 up for consideration on the Senate floor in the coming weeks.  

Opponents of this measure will continue using scare tactics and predicting horrible consequences if this bill passes, so your state Senator need to hear from you!

Please contact your state Senator and urge him or her to support SB 354 by voting to "suspend the regular order of business" so that the measure can be debated and voted on by the full Senate, and to oppose any gutting amendments to the bill - including any attempt to allow taxpayer-funded public colleges and universities to "opt-out" of its provisions!

SD 1  Sen. Kevin Eltife - Tyler
512-463-0101
kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 2  Sen. Bob Deuell - Greenville
512-463-0102
bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 3  Sen. Robert Nichols - Jacksonville
512-463-0103
robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us

SD 4  Sen. Tommy Williams - The Woodlands
512-463-0104
tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us

SD 5  Sen. Steve Ogden - Bryan/College Station
512-463-0105
steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 6  Sen. Mario Gallegos - Galena Park/Houston
512-463-0106
mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 7  Sen. Dan Patrick - Houston
512-463-0107
dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us

SD 8  Sen. Florence Shapiro - Plano
512-463-0108
florence.shapiro@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 9  Sen. Chris Harris - Arlington
512-463-0109
chris.harris@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 10  Sen. Wendy Davis - Fort Worth
512-463-0110
wendy.davis@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 11  Sen. Mike Jackson - Pasadena
512-463-0111
mike.jackson@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 12  Sen. Jane Nelson - Flower Mound
512-463-0112
jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 14  Sen. Kirk Watson - Austin
512-463-0114
kirk.watson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 15  Sen. John Whitmire - Houston
512-463-0115
john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us

SD 16  Sen. John Carona - Dallas
512-463-0116
john.carona@senate.state.tx.us

SD 17  Sen. Joan Huffman - Houston/Lake Jackson
512-463-0117
joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 18  Sen. Glenn Hegar - Katy
512-463-0118
glenn.hegar@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 19  Sen. Carlos Uresti - San Antonio
512-463-0119
carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 20  Sen. Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa - McAllen
512-463-0120
juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 22  Sen. Brian Birdwell - Waco/Granbury
512-463-0122
brian.birdwell@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 24  Sen. Troy Fraser - Horseshoe Bay
512-463-0124
troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us

SD 26  Sen. Leticia Van de Putte - San Antonio
512-463-0126
leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us

SD 27  Sen. Eddie Lucio - Brownsville
512-463-0127
eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 28  Sen. Robert Duncan - Lubbock
512-463-0128
robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 29  Sen. Jose Rodriguez - El Paso
512-463-0129
jose.rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 30  Sen. Craig Estes - Wichita Falls
512-463-0130
craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us

SD 31  Sen. Kel Seliger - Amarillo
512-463-0131
kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us

TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo convened a task force focused on “gun safety” last April, comprised predominantly of members drawn from “the judiciary, the Attorney General’s Office, state and local law enforcement agencies, gun violence prevention ...

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

News  

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

While Congressional elections will likely get the lion’s share of media coverage leading up to November 6, gun owners know that threats to our Right to Keep and Bear Arms do not only emanate from ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.