Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Texas Senate Committee Advances Campus Carry Measure - Contact Your State Senator in Support of SB 354!

Friday, April 1, 2011

On Thursday, the Senate Committee on Criminal Justice passed Senate Bill 354 by state Senator Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio), by a 4 to 2 vote. This legislation would allow concealed carry license holders to protect themselves on the campuses of public colleges and universities.  As you know, in order to obtain a CHL in Texas, individuals must be 21 or older, have passed a state and federal criminal records check, and completed a handgun training course.  A two-thirds vote of Senators present and voting (21 if they are all there) will be necessary to "suspend the regular order of business" and bring SB 354 up for consideration on the Senate floor in the coming weeks.  

Opponents of this measure will continue using scare tactics and predicting horrible consequences if this bill passes, so your state Senator need to hear from you!

Please contact your state Senator and urge him or her to support SB 354 by voting to "suspend the regular order of business" so that the measure can be debated and voted on by the full Senate, and to oppose any gutting amendments to the bill - including any attempt to allow taxpayer-funded public colleges and universities to "opt-out" of its provisions!

SD 1  Sen. Kevin Eltife - Tyler
512-463-0101
kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 2  Sen. Bob Deuell - Greenville
512-463-0102
bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 3  Sen. Robert Nichols - Jacksonville
512-463-0103
robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us

SD 4  Sen. Tommy Williams - The Woodlands
512-463-0104
tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us

SD 5  Sen. Steve Ogden - Bryan/College Station
512-463-0105
steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 6  Sen. Mario Gallegos - Galena Park/Houston
512-463-0106
mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 7  Sen. Dan Patrick - Houston
512-463-0107
dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us

SD 8  Sen. Florence Shapiro - Plano
512-463-0108
florence.shapiro@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 9  Sen. Chris Harris - Arlington
512-463-0109
chris.harris@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 10  Sen. Wendy Davis - Fort Worth
512-463-0110
wendy.davis@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 11  Sen. Mike Jackson - Pasadena
512-463-0111
mike.jackson@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 12  Sen. Jane Nelson - Flower Mound
512-463-0112
jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 14  Sen. Kirk Watson - Austin
512-463-0114
kirk.watson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 15  Sen. John Whitmire - Houston
512-463-0115
john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us

SD 16  Sen. John Carona - Dallas
512-463-0116
john.carona@senate.state.tx.us

SD 17  Sen. Joan Huffman - Houston/Lake Jackson
512-463-0117
joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 18  Sen. Glenn Hegar - Katy
512-463-0118
glenn.hegar@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 19  Sen. Carlos Uresti - San Antonio
512-463-0119
carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 20  Sen. Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa - McAllen
512-463-0120
juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 22  Sen. Brian Birdwell - Waco/Granbury
512-463-0122
brian.birdwell@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 24  Sen. Troy Fraser - Horseshoe Bay
512-463-0124
troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us

SD 26  Sen. Leticia Van de Putte - San Antonio
512-463-0126
leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us

SD 27  Sen. Eddie Lucio - Brownsville
512-463-0127
eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 28  Sen. Robert Duncan - Lubbock
512-463-0128
robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 29  Sen. Jose Rodriguez - El Paso
512-463-0129
jose.rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 30  Sen. Craig Estes - Wichita Falls
512-463-0130
craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us

SD 31  Sen. Kel Seliger - Amarillo
512-463-0131
kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us

TRENDING NOW

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Florida Alert: YETI Drops NRA Foundation

For years YETI Coolers have been a hot item for sportsmen at the Friends of NRA Foundation Banquet and Auction events around the country.  Suddenly, without prior notice, YETI has declined to do business with The ...

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

Dick’s Sporting Goods took their campaign to alienate law-abiding gun owners to an extraordinary new level last week. The beleaguered retailer announced that in addition to removing certain types of semi-automatic rifles from their stores, the company ...

News  

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

ALERT ! YETI Adds Insult to Injury

If it wasn’t bad enough that YETI dropped The NRA Foundation as a client, now they’re calling us liars because we informed our members and friends of their actions.  

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

News  

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action executive director, Chris W. Cox, released the following statement on Tuesday regarding President Donald Trump's signature on the National Defense Authorization Act

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms!  In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms! In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

In case you were worried there were not enough anti-gun organizations working to eradicate the rights of law-abiding gun owners, a new one has formed, and it’s called NoRA.  Get it?  The name implies that the ...

California: Legislation Requiring Background Checks on Barrels and Other Parts Up For Hearing!

Sunday, April 22, 2018

California: Legislation Requiring Background Checks on Barrels and Other Parts Up For Hearing!

Several pro- and anti-gun bills are scheduled to be heard in their respective committees on Monday, April 23 and Tuesday, April 24.  Please contact the members of the respective committee and urge them to SUPPORT ...

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

News  

Friday, April 20, 2018

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

America, and the NRA, lost a true friend and a staunch defender of freedom with the passing of R. Lee Ermey on April 15 from complications of pneumonia. He was 74 years old. 

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

Like the long-delayed coming of spring to the Mid-Atlantic, evidence is appearing that Americans are regaining their senses and reverting to an instinctual embrace of freedom after a withering barrage of some the nastiest and most ugly ...

Illinois: Senate to Consider Overriding Veto on Dealer Licensing Bills

Monday, April 23, 2018

Illinois: Senate to Consider Overriding Veto on Dealer Licensing Bills

With the April 25th deadline approaching, the Illinois state Senate is expected soon to consider overriding Gov. Bruce Rauner’s veto on legislation that would drive your local gun stores out of business with onerous red tape ...

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

The Illinois state Senate could vote on legislation to allow localities to infringe upon Second Amendment rights as early as today.  Senate Bill 2314 was moved to third reading after it had passed the Senate ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.