Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Texas Senate Committee Advances Campus Carry Measure - Contact Your State Senator in Support of SB 354!

Friday, April 1, 2011

On Thursday, the Senate Committee on Criminal Justice passed Senate Bill 354 by state Senator Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio), by a 4 to 2 vote. This legislation would allow concealed carry license holders to protect themselves on the campuses of public colleges and universities.  As you know, in order to obtain a CHL in Texas, individuals must be 21 or older, have passed a state and federal criminal records check, and completed a handgun training course.  A two-thirds vote of Senators present and voting (21 if they are all there) will be necessary to "suspend the regular order of business" and bring SB 354 up for consideration on the Senate floor in the coming weeks.  

Opponents of this measure will continue using scare tactics and predicting horrible consequences if this bill passes, so your state Senator need to hear from you!

Please contact your state Senator and urge him or her to support SB 354 by voting to "suspend the regular order of business" so that the measure can be debated and voted on by the full Senate, and to oppose any gutting amendments to the bill - including any attempt to allow taxpayer-funded public colleges and universities to "opt-out" of its provisions!

SD 1  Sen. Kevin Eltife - Tyler
512-463-0101
kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 2  Sen. Bob Deuell - Greenville
512-463-0102
bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 3  Sen. Robert Nichols - Jacksonville
512-463-0103
robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us

SD 4  Sen. Tommy Williams - The Woodlands
512-463-0104
tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us

SD 5  Sen. Steve Ogden - Bryan/College Station
512-463-0105
steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 6  Sen. Mario Gallegos - Galena Park/Houston
512-463-0106
mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 7  Sen. Dan Patrick - Houston
512-463-0107
dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us

SD 8  Sen. Florence Shapiro - Plano
512-463-0108
florence.shapiro@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 9  Sen. Chris Harris - Arlington
512-463-0109
chris.harris@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 10  Sen. Wendy Davis - Fort Worth
512-463-0110
wendy.davis@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 11  Sen. Mike Jackson - Pasadena
512-463-0111
mike.jackson@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 12  Sen. Jane Nelson - Flower Mound
512-463-0112
jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 14  Sen. Kirk Watson - Austin
512-463-0114
kirk.watson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 15  Sen. John Whitmire - Houston
512-463-0115
john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us

SD 16  Sen. John Carona - Dallas
512-463-0116
john.carona@senate.state.tx.us

SD 17  Sen. Joan Huffman - Houston/Lake Jackson
512-463-0117
joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 18  Sen. Glenn Hegar - Katy
512-463-0118
glenn.hegar@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 19  Sen. Carlos Uresti - San Antonio
512-463-0119
carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 20  Sen. Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa - McAllen
512-463-0120
juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 22  Sen. Brian Birdwell - Waco/Granbury
512-463-0122
brian.birdwell@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 24  Sen. Troy Fraser - Horseshoe Bay
512-463-0124
troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us

SD 26  Sen. Leticia Van de Putte - San Antonio
512-463-0126
leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us

SD 27  Sen. Eddie Lucio - Brownsville
512-463-0127
eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 28  Sen. Robert Duncan - Lubbock
512-463-0128
robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 29  Sen. Jose Rodriguez - El Paso
512-463-0129
jose.rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us 

SD 30  Sen. Craig Estes - Wichita Falls
512-463-0130
craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us

SD 31  Sen. Kel Seliger - Amarillo
512-463-0131
kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Just months after pushing for the passage of Initiative 1639 to impose severe regulations on purchasing and possessing semi-automatic firearms, Attorney General Bob Ferguson has now introduced legislation that would outright ban commonly owned semi-automatic ...

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

On January 8, two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called "universal" background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

Pittsburgh City Council member Corey O’Connor wants local residents to relinquish important aspects of their Second Amendment rights. If they refuse, he would have it cost them their liberty and treasure. But O’Connor himself apparently ...

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

Thursday, January 17, 2019

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

In her opening day speech to state lawmakers, New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham called on them to pass various gun control proposals that she supported on the campaign trail and which have been filed in the ...

News  

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

Supreme Court Grants Cert in Critical Second Amendment Case

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today praised the Supreme Court’s decision to hear a critical case involving the fundamental, constitutional right to travel with a firearm. The case, which is backed ...

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Who Are the Real Extremists?

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Who Are the Real Extremists?

NRA is often vilified by the gun-ban community and its supporters in the mainstream, legacy media as an “extremist” organization because of its steadfast defense of our Right to Keep and Bear Arms. A simple ...

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Anti-gun bills will be heard on January 21st at 10:00AM by the Washington state Senate Committee on Law & Justice and by the House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary on January 22nd at 10:00AM.

Virginia: Bills Defeated in Committee

Friday, January 18, 2019

Virginia: Bills Defeated in Committee

This week, the Virginia Senate Committee on Courts of Justice and the House Militia, Police and Public Safety Committee heard and voted to defeat many of Governor Ralph Northam’s requested gun control bills.

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.