Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Legislative Update for Alabama

Friday, March 19, 2010

On Tuesday, March 9, the Alabama Senate passed House Bill 330 by a vote of 34-0.  HB330 is now awaiting consideration by Governor Bob Riley (R).

HB330, authored by State Representative Craig Ford (D-28), would require that the state maintain at least the same level of available public hunting land that currently exists.  It would require that additional lands be opened to hunting if land that is currently open to hunting is closed.

Please continue to contact Governor Riley TODAY and respectfully urge him to sign HB330.  The Governor can be reached by phone at (334) 242-7100 or visit
"contact governor" to send email.  The deadline for signature is Thursday, March 25. 

House Bill 2 is still pending action in the Senate. Sponsored by State Representative Jeremy Oden (R-11), HB2 would repeal the section of the Alabama statute that prohibits the possession, sale, receipt, or use of short barreled rifles and shotguns.  These firearms are already legal under federal law when properly registered.

The Alabama State House Commerce Committee will be considering Senate Bill 360 (the companion bill to House Bill 364) on Wednesday, March 24.  This bill passed the Senate last week by a vote of 26 to 2. 

Introduced by State Senator Roger Bedford (D-6), SB360 would permit a law-abiding individual to store firearms in a locked motor vehicle while parked on a publicly accessible parking lot controlled by an employer or a business that he or she frequents.  This legislation would protect your right to keep a firearm in your car for self-defense, hunting, or target shooting before or after work.

Also, please contact your State Senator TODAY at (334) 242-7800 and respectfully urge him or her to support HB2.
  Contact information for your Senator can be found here.  Finally, please continue to contact the members of the House Commerce Committee and respectfully urge them to support SB360 and pass it out of committee.  Contact information for the committee can be found below.

State Representative Frank McDaniel (D-26),
Chairman
State
House Phone: (334) 242-7697
District Phone: (256) 582 – 0619
Email:  Frank.McDaniel@alhouse.gov

State Representative Alan Harper (D-61), Vice Chairman
State House Phone: (334) 242-7732
Home Phone: (205) 373-2433
Email:  Alan.Harper@alhouse.gov

State Representative Gerald Allen (R-62)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7758
Home Phone: (205) 556-5310
Email: Gerald.Allen@alhouse.gov

State Representative DuWayne Bridges (R-38)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7600
Home Phone: (334) 756-9553
Email: DuWayne.Bridges@alhouse.gov

State Representative Bill Dukes (D-08)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7689
District Phone: (256) 260-2146
Email: Bill.Dukes@alhouse.gov

State Representative James Fields (D-12)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7600
Home Phone: (256) 287-0007
Email: James.Fields@alhouse.gov

State Representative David Grimes (R-73)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7707
Home Phone: (334) 834-3989
Email:  David.Grimes@alhouse.gov

State Representative Earl Hilliard (D-60)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7684
Email: Earl.Hilliard@alhouse.gov

State Representative A.J. McCampbell (D-71)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7747
District Phone: (334) 652-6531
Email: AJ.McCampbell@alhouse.gov

State Representative Rod Scott (D-55)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7752
Home Phone: (205) 781-1322
Email: Rod.Scott@alhouse.gov

State Representative Lesley Vance (D-80)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7687
Home Phone: (334) 298-4948
Email: Lesley.Vance@alhouse.gov

State Representative Pebblin Warren (D-82)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7734
Home Phone: (334) 727-9127
Email: Pebblin.Warren@alhouse.gov

State Representative Jack Williams (R-47)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7600
Home Phone: (205) 979-7901
Email: Jack.Williams@alhouse.gov

State Representative Greg Wren (R-75)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7764
District Phone: (334) 395-0123
Email: Greg.Wren@alhouse.gov

State Representative Greg Canfield (R-48)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7763
District Phone: (205) 325-5308 (Jefferson Co.)
District Phone: (205) 620-6610 (Shelby Co.)
Email: 
gcanfield@bellsouth.net

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.