Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

NRA-Backed Right-to-Carry Reform Bills on the Move in Louisiana!

Friday, May 9, 2008

Make Your Voice Heard Today!

This past week, the Senate approved Senate Bill 142, sponsored by State Senator Stephen Scalise (R-9).  SB 142, the NRA-backed concealed carry permit confidentiality bill now heads to the House for consideration.  Please keep checking your email and www.NRAILA.org for further updates on this legislation. 

On Monday, May 12, the Louisiana House will vote on House Bill 199, authored by State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse).  HB 199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representatives and respectfully urge them to support HB 199 and to resist any amendments that State Representative Wooton does not support.  Call your State Representatives in Baton Rouge on Monday at (225) 342-6945 or send them emails in support of HB 199 over the weekend.  Email addresses can be found below. 

State Representative Jim Tucker - Speaker of the House
larep086@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-98)
abramson@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John "Andy" Anders (D-21)
larep021@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Armes III (D-30)
armesj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-102)
larep102@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-58)
auberte@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-100)
larep100@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-39)
badonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-53)
larep053@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-48)
barrast@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-29)
larep029@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-83)
billiotr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Burford (R-7)
burfordr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Henry Burns (R-9)
burnsh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-89)
larep089@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-2)
larep002@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-6)
carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-68)
carters@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-49)
champags@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-22)
larep022@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-19)
chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-84)
connickp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-43)
cortezp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative George Cromer (R-90)
cromerg@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-33)
danahaym@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-26)
dixonh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-10)
larep010@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-52)
larep052@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-12)
larep012@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Edwards (D-72)
edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-20)
ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Fannin (D-13)
arep013@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-70)
foilf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-34)
franklina@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-11)
larep011@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-35)
larep035@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-54)
gisclait@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-66)
larep066@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-40)
larep040@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-41)
larep041@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Guinn (R-37)
guinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-44)
hardyr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-51)
harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-27)
hazelc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-103)
hendersr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-82)
henryc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-32)
hilld@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walker Hines (D-95)
hinesw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-15)
hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Avon Honey (D-63)
ahoney@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Howard (R-24)
howardf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-104)
larep104@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-87)
jacksong@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-61)
larep061@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-28)
johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-17)
jonesr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Sam Jones (D-50)
joness@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kay Katz (R-16)
larep016@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-36)
larep036@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-81)
larep081@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-96)
larep096@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-59)
larep059@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-38)
lebasb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-91)
legerw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-79)
ligit@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Samuel Little (R-14)
littles@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-80)
lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-94)
larep094@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-99)
larep099@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-62)
larep062@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-46)
larep046@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-57)
monican@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-42)
montoucj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-97)
larep097@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Morris (R-1)
larep001@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-3)
nortonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-23)
nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-76)
pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-47)
perryj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-93)
larep093@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-69)
pontie@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-71)
poper@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-73)
pughs@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-55)
richardj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-65)
richardc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-101)
larep101@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-75)
larep075@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-45)
larep045@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-25)
royc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Schroder (R-77)
schrodej@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Scott Simon (R-74)
simons@legis.state.la.us

State Representative M.J. "Mert" Smiley, Jr. (R-88)
larep088@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jane Smith (R-8)
larep008@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-56)
larep56@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-67)
smithp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-60)
larep060@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-78)
talbotk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-85)
templetr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-31)
larep031@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-5)
larep005@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mack "Bodi" White, Jr. (R-64)
larep064@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-4)
larep004@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-92)
willmott@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

At the National Retail Federation’s 2018 convention in New York City, Levi Strauss & Co. Brand President James Curleigh told those assembled that the multinational pants manufacturer intends to be the “most relevant lifestyle brand.” Evidently, part ...

Trump Administration, Other Pro-Gun Heavyweights Lend Support on Pending Supreme Court Case

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Trump Administration, Other Pro-Gun Heavyweights Lend Support on Pending Supreme Court Case

As NRA-ILA Executive Director Chris W. Cox reported in March, the U.S. Supreme Court has taken up a challenge by an NRA state affiliate to a New York City gun control scheme that effectively prohibits lawfully ...

Retired Justice Stevens Continues Crusade Against Guns

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Retired Justice Stevens Continues Crusade Against Guns

Retired Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens does not believe a law-abiding citizen has a right to possess firearms under the Second Amendment, and he wants to make sure everyone knows it. He made his ...

Gov. Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Gov. Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Gov. Greg Abbott on Thursday for signing NRA-backed legislation that protects tenants’ rights by prohibiting “no firearms” clauses in residential leases.   

Hear Ye, Hear Ye, Only What We Want Ye to Hear

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Hear Ye, Hear Ye, Only What We Want Ye to Hear

Can we finally put the claim that “gun violence” research is underfunded to rest? The Bloomberg Professor of American Health at the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University, Daniel Webster, and his colleagues at the Hopkins ...

NRA Supports Guns Save Life's Challenge to Illinois’s FOID Act

News  

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

NRA Supports Guns Save Life's Challenge to Illinois’s FOID Act

NRA is supporting a legal challenge to Illinois's FOID Act brought by Guns Save Life, an organization dedicated to defending the Second Amendment rights of Illinois residents. 

Governor Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

Friday, May 17, 2019

Governor Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

On Thursday, Governor Greg Abbott signed House Bill 302 by Representative Dennis Paul (R-Houston) & Senator Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola), NRA-supported legislation that prohibits “no firearms” clauses in residential leases.

Illinois: Committee To Receive FOID Cost Increase Legislation

Friday, May 17, 2019

Illinois: Committee To Receive FOID Cost Increase Legislation

On May 21st, the Illinois state House of Representatives Rules Committee will hear House Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 1966 and send it to the Judiciary Committee for further consideration.  HA 1 to SB 1966 would ...

NRA Applauds Attorneys General and Governors Amicus Brief in Supreme Court Challenge

News  

Thursday, May 16, 2019

NRA Applauds Attorneys General and Governors Amicus Brief in Supreme Court Challenge

NRA Applauds Attorney General and Governors Amicus Brief in Supreme Court Challenge.

Nevada: Omnibus Anti-Gun Bill Granted Waiver From Deadlines

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Nevada: Omnibus Anti-Gun Bill Granted Waiver From Deadlines

As previously alerted, yesterday was the deadline for legislation to pass out of the policy committee in the second chamber.  A waiver was granted for Assembly Bill 291, exempting the bill from the deadlines.  This waiver ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.