Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

NRA-Backed Right-to-Carry Reform Bills on the Move in Louisiana!

Friday, May 9, 2008

Make Your Voice Heard Today!

This past week, the Senate approved Senate Bill 142, sponsored by State Senator Stephen Scalise (R-9).  SB 142, the NRA-backed concealed carry permit confidentiality bill now heads to the House for consideration.  Please keep checking your email and www.NRAILA.org for further updates on this legislation. 

On Monday, May 12, the Louisiana House will vote on House Bill 199, authored by State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse).  HB 199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representatives and respectfully urge them to support HB 199 and to resist any amendments that State Representative Wooton does not support.  Call your State Representatives in Baton Rouge on Monday at (225) 342-6945 or send them emails in support of HB 199 over the weekend.  Email addresses can be found below. 

State Representative Jim Tucker - Speaker of the House
larep086@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-98)
abramson@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John "Andy" Anders (D-21)
larep021@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Armes III (D-30)
armesj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-102)
larep102@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-58)
auberte@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-100)
larep100@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-39)
badonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-53)
larep053@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-48)
barrast@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-29)
larep029@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-83)
billiotr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Burford (R-7)
burfordr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Henry Burns (R-9)
burnsh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-89)
larep089@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-2)
larep002@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-6)
carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-68)
carters@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-49)
champags@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-22)
larep022@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-19)
chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-84)
connickp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-43)
cortezp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative George Cromer (R-90)
cromerg@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-33)
danahaym@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-26)
dixonh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-10)
larep010@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-52)
larep052@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-12)
larep012@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Edwards (D-72)
edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-20)
ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Fannin (D-13)
arep013@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-70)
foilf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-34)
franklina@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-11)
larep011@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-35)
larep035@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-54)
gisclait@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-66)
larep066@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-40)
larep040@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-41)
larep041@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Guinn (R-37)
guinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-44)
hardyr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-51)
harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-27)
hazelc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-103)
hendersr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-82)
henryc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-32)
hilld@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walker Hines (D-95)
hinesw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-15)
hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Avon Honey (D-63)
ahoney@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Howard (R-24)
howardf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-104)
larep104@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-87)
jacksong@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-61)
larep061@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-28)
johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-17)
jonesr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Sam Jones (D-50)
joness@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kay Katz (R-16)
larep016@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-36)
larep036@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-81)
larep081@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-96)
larep096@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-59)
larep059@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-38)
lebasb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-91)
legerw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-79)
ligit@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Samuel Little (R-14)
littles@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-80)
lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-94)
larep094@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-99)
larep099@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-62)
larep062@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-46)
larep046@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-57)
monican@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-42)
montoucj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-97)
larep097@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Morris (R-1)
larep001@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-3)
nortonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-23)
nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-76)
pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-47)
perryj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-93)
larep093@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-69)
pontie@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-71)
poper@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-73)
pughs@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-55)
richardj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-65)
richardc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-101)
larep101@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-75)
larep075@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-45)
larep045@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-25)
royc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Schroder (R-77)
schrodej@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Scott Simon (R-74)
simons@legis.state.la.us

State Representative M.J. "Mert" Smiley, Jr. (R-88)
larep088@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jane Smith (R-8)
larep008@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-56)
larep56@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-67)
smithp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-60)
larep060@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-78)
talbotk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-85)
templetr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-31)
larep031@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-5)
larep005@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mack "Bodi" White, Jr. (R-64)
larep064@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-4)
larep004@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-92)
willmott@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

On March 16, 2017, the Seattle Times reported that Seattle city officials were reluctant to release data on the revenue generated by the city’s firearms and ammunition tax, citing taxpayer confidentiality concerns. Less than a ...

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

Continuing to Fight in California

Friday, March 24, 2017

Continuing to Fight in California

We are excited to inform you of our new California specific webpage – Stand and Fight California.   On this page you will find State Legislation, Legal Updates, and How to Get Involved, among other California ...

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

The National Safety Council released the 2017 edition of its annual Injury Facts report this week, and it contains welcome news about firearm safety. 

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

West Virginia: House Passes Park Carry Legislation

Friday, March 24, 2017

West Virginia: House Passes Park Carry Legislation

Today, the West Virginia House of Delegates passed House Bill 2679 by an overwhelming 94-4 vote.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.