Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

NRA-Backed Right-to-Carry Reform Bills on the Move in Louisiana!

Friday, May 9, 2008

Make Your Voice Heard Today!

This past week, the Senate approved Senate Bill 142, sponsored by State Senator Stephen Scalise (R-9).  SB 142, the NRA-backed concealed carry permit confidentiality bill now heads to the House for consideration.  Please keep checking your email and www.NRAILA.org for further updates on this legislation. 

On Monday, May 12, the Louisiana House will vote on House Bill 199, authored by State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse).  HB 199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representatives and respectfully urge them to support HB 199 and to resist any amendments that State Representative Wooton does not support.  Call your State Representatives in Baton Rouge on Monday at (225) 342-6945 or send them emails in support of HB 199 over the weekend.  Email addresses can be found below. 

State Representative Jim Tucker - Speaker of the House
larep086@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-98)
abramson@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John "Andy" Anders (D-21)
larep021@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Armes III (D-30)
armesj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-102)
larep102@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-58)
auberte@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-100)
larep100@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-39)
badonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-53)
larep053@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-48)
barrast@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-29)
larep029@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-83)
billiotr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Burford (R-7)
burfordr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Henry Burns (R-9)
burnsh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-89)
larep089@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-2)
larep002@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-6)
carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-68)
carters@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-49)
champags@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-22)
larep022@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-19)
chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-84)
connickp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-43)
cortezp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative George Cromer (R-90)
cromerg@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-33)
danahaym@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-26)
dixonh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-10)
larep010@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-52)
larep052@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-12)
larep012@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Edwards (D-72)
edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-20)
ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Fannin (D-13)
arep013@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-70)
foilf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-34)
franklina@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-11)
larep011@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-35)
larep035@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-54)
gisclait@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-66)
larep066@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-40)
larep040@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-41)
larep041@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Guinn (R-37)
guinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-44)
hardyr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-51)
harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-27)
hazelc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-103)
hendersr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-82)
henryc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-32)
hilld@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walker Hines (D-95)
hinesw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-15)
hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Avon Honey (D-63)
ahoney@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Howard (R-24)
howardf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-104)
larep104@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-87)
jacksong@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-61)
larep061@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-28)
johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-17)
jonesr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Sam Jones (D-50)
joness@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kay Katz (R-16)
larep016@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-36)
larep036@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-81)
larep081@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-96)
larep096@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-59)
larep059@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-38)
lebasb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-91)
legerw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-79)
ligit@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Samuel Little (R-14)
littles@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-80)
lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-94)
larep094@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-99)
larep099@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-62)
larep062@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-46)
larep046@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-57)
monican@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-42)
montoucj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-97)
larep097@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Morris (R-1)
larep001@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-3)
nortonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-23)
nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-76)
pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-47)
perryj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-93)
larep093@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-69)
pontie@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-71)
poper@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-73)
pughs@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-55)
richardj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-65)
richardc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-101)
larep101@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-75)
larep075@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-45)
larep045@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-25)
royc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Schroder (R-77)
schrodej@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Scott Simon (R-74)
simons@legis.state.la.us

State Representative M.J. "Mert" Smiley, Jr. (R-88)
larep088@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jane Smith (R-8)
larep008@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-56)
larep56@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-67)
smithp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-60)
larep060@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-78)
talbotk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-85)
templetr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-31)
larep031@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-5)
larep005@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mack "Bodi" White, Jr. (R-64)
larep064@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-4)
larep004@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-92)
willmott@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Pittsburgh Mayor Declares Intent to Ban Guns in Violation of State Law

News  

Friday, December 14, 2018

Pittsburgh Mayor Declares Intent to Ban Guns in Violation of State Law

Yesterday, we reported that it was likely that sweeping gun control measures would be proposed in Pittsburgh. Today, Pittsburgh Mayor William Peduto held a press conference to propose a trio of anti-gun city ordinances that, if enacted, would constitute ...

News Flash: Michael Bloomberg Not a Fan of the First Amendment, Either

News  

Friday, December 14, 2018

News Flash: Michael Bloomberg Not a Fan of the First Amendment, Either

Michael Bloomberg, former NYC mayor and billionaire patron of the Nanny State, may be gearing up for the presidential race in 2020. He gave the idea of running as an independent candidate “serious consideration” in ...

California Department of Justice Releases First Set of Proposed Ammunition Sales Regulations

Friday, December 14, 2018

California Department of Justice Releases First Set of Proposed Ammunition Sales Regulations

Today, the California Department of Justice released the first in a series of regulatory proposals regarding the mandatory background check process when purchasing ammunition, which is scheduled to take effect on July 1, 2019.

Stealing Rights and Property in Steel City? Pittsburgh Reportedly Considering Sweeping Gun Control

Thursday, December 13, 2018

Stealing Rights and Property in Steel City? Pittsburgh Reportedly Considering Sweeping Gun Control

The NRA has received copies of what are reported to be draft ordinances being considered by the Pittsburgh City Council to enact sweeping gun control measures within the city.

“This Hollow Display of Security” – Canada’s Liberal Government Presses for Even More Gun Control

News  

Friday, December 14, 2018

“This Hollow Display of Security” – Canada’s Liberal Government Presses for Even More Gun Control

Speaking in Montreal this month on the anniversary of the 1989 Ecole Polytechnique tragedy, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau confirmed his government’s plans to further restrict legal access to handguns and “assault weapons” and refused to rule ...

Misleading Headlines and the Murder Rate

News  

Friday, December 14, 2018

Misleading Headlines and the Murder Rate

We hear a lot about “fake news.” We regularly see data miscoded and statistics misused. What we have seen several times over the last several months does not really fit any of those categories.

Guns and Taxes

News  

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Guns and Taxes

David Hogg wants a federal tax on firearms and ammunition. He has repeatedly broached the idea, including multiple times on Twitter, and only sometimes suggests a use for the tax revenue. Hogg’s tweets on a ...

New Jersey: Third Circuit Court Refuses to Stop Unconstitutional Magazine Ban

Thursday, December 6, 2018

New Jersey: Third Circuit Court Refuses to Stop Unconstitutional Magazine Ban

Yesterday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit allowed an unconstitutional magazine ban to proceed with its December 10th deadline by a 2-1 decision.

Surprise: Study Finds No Rise in Violent Crime Attributable to Adopting Right-to-Carry Laws

News  

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Surprise: Study Finds No Rise in Violent Crime Attributable to Adopting Right-to-Carry Laws

As we’ve noted recently, much research purporting to demonstrate connections between access to guns or right-to-carry laws and increases in crime is seriously flawed.  Often it's an attempt to curtail or eliminate Americans’ rights under the Second ...

More Proof That Being a “Celebrity” Does Not Make You Smart

News  

Thursday, December 6, 2018

More Proof That Being a “Celebrity” Does Not Make You Smart

In a November 30 tweet, Tom Arnold, famous for being married to Roseanne Barr and making a few really bad movies, has proven that he knows nothing about guns, gun owners or firearm misuse.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.