Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

NRA-Backed Right-to-Carry Reform Bills on the Move in Louisiana!

Friday, May 9, 2008

Make Your Voice Heard Today!

This past week, the Senate approved Senate Bill 142, sponsored by State Senator Stephen Scalise (R-9).  SB 142, the NRA-backed concealed carry permit confidentiality bill now heads to the House for consideration.  Please keep checking your email and www.NRAILA.org for further updates on this legislation. 

On Monday, May 12, the Louisiana House will vote on House Bill 199, authored by State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse).  HB 199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representatives and respectfully urge them to support HB 199 and to resist any amendments that State Representative Wooton does not support.  Call your State Representatives in Baton Rouge on Monday at (225) 342-6945 or send them emails in support of HB 199 over the weekend.  Email addresses can be found below. 

State Representative Jim Tucker - Speaker of the House
larep086@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-98)
abramson@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John "Andy" Anders (D-21)
larep021@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Armes III (D-30)
armesj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-102)
larep102@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-58)
auberte@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-100)
larep100@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-39)
badonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-53)
larep053@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-48)
barrast@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-29)
larep029@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-83)
billiotr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Burford (R-7)
burfordr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Henry Burns (R-9)
burnsh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-89)
larep089@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-2)
larep002@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-6)
carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-68)
carters@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-49)
champags@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-22)
larep022@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-19)
chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-84)
connickp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-43)
cortezp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative George Cromer (R-90)
cromerg@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-33)
danahaym@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-26)
dixonh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-10)
larep010@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-52)
larep052@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-12)
larep012@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Edwards (D-72)
edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-20)
ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Fannin (D-13)
arep013@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-70)
foilf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-34)
franklina@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-11)
larep011@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-35)
larep035@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-54)
gisclait@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-66)
larep066@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-40)
larep040@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-41)
larep041@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Guinn (R-37)
guinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-44)
hardyr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-51)
harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-27)
hazelc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-103)
hendersr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-82)
henryc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-32)
hilld@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walker Hines (D-95)
hinesw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-15)
hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Avon Honey (D-63)
ahoney@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Howard (R-24)
howardf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-104)
larep104@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-87)
jacksong@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-61)
larep061@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-28)
johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-17)
jonesr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Sam Jones (D-50)
joness@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kay Katz (R-16)
larep016@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-36)
larep036@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-81)
larep081@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-96)
larep096@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-59)
larep059@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-38)
lebasb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-91)
legerw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-79)
ligit@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Samuel Little (R-14)
littles@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-80)
lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-94)
larep094@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-99)
larep099@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-62)
larep062@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-46)
larep046@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-57)
monican@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-42)
montoucj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-97)
larep097@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Morris (R-1)
larep001@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-3)
nortonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-23)
nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-76)
pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-47)
perryj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-93)
larep093@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-69)
pontie@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-71)
poper@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-73)
pughs@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-55)
richardj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-65)
richardc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-101)
larep101@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-75)
larep075@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-45)
larep045@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-25)
royc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Schroder (R-77)
schrodej@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Scott Simon (R-74)
simons@legis.state.la.us

State Representative M.J. "Mert" Smiley, Jr. (R-88)
larep088@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jane Smith (R-8)
larep008@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-56)
larep56@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-67)
smithp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-60)
larep060@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-78)
talbotk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-85)
templetr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-31)
larep031@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-5)
larep005@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mack "Bodi" White, Jr. (R-64)
larep064@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-4)
larep004@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-92)
willmott@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

On Thursday, the NRA-supported case Peruta v. California took an important step towards restoring the right to bear arms in California.  The plaintiffs in the case, California gun owners and the California Rifle and Pistol ...

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tomorrow, January 18, the Senate Courts of Justice is expected to hear and possibly vote on several firearm-related bills.

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

The FBI released its Preliminary Semiannual Uniform Crime Report earlier this week and the bad news is that violent crime increased for the second consecutive year.

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

In 2013, the Kansas Legislature passed the Public Building Security Act, pro-gun legislation that amended the Personal and Family Protection Act. 

NRA Statement on Nomination of Ryan Zinke to Secretary of the Interior

News  

Friday, December 16, 2016

NRA Statement on Nomination of Ryan Zinke to Secretary of the Interior

Chris W. Cox, executive director of the National Rifle Association's Institute for Legislative Action, issued the following statement on the nomination of Congressman Ryan Zinke to be the Secretary of the Interior

Indiana: Legislative Session Begins with Numerous Pro-Gun Bills Filed

Friday, January 13, 2017

Indiana: Legislative Session Begins with Numerous Pro-Gun Bills Filed

With the 2017 Indiana legislative session underway, we are happy to report that a number of pro-gun bills have been filed.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.