Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Rhode Island: Anti-Gun (“Microstamping”) Bills Head to Committee!

Friday, May 2, 2008

Please Contact the Members of the Committee Today!

House Bill 7834, the "microstamping" proposal sponsored by State Representatives Joseph Almeida (D-12), Edith Ajello (D-3), Anastasia Williams (D-9), Grace Diaz (D-11), and Joanne Giannini (D-7) has been referred to the House Finance Committee after being pulled from the agenda of the House Judiciary Committee.  Sensing a possible lack of support in the Judiciary Committee, typically the panel with expertise on firearms-related legislation, the bill's sponsors had it referred to another committee where H7834 could get a hearing and be voted on at any time.  

Its companion bill, Senate Bill 2720, introduced by State Senators Harold Metts (D-6), Juan Pichardo (D-2) and Paul Jabour (D-5), is being held up for further study in the Senate Committee on Judiciary.

H7834 and S2720 would ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called "microstamping" technology.  Microstamping is an unproven technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm in such a manner that these marks are transferred to the cartridge case upon firing.  The technology can easily be defeated with common household tools, has no public safety value, and will add substantially to the cost of the firearm.

Please contact the members of the House Finance Committee as well as the members of the Senate Committee on Judiciary IMMEDIATELY and respectfully urge them to oppose H7834 and S2720 respectively! 

Contact information for the House Finance Committee and the State Senate Committee on Judiciary can be found below. 

House Finance Committee

State Representative Steven M. Costantino (D-8) – Chairperson
(401) 521-1313
rep-costantino@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Kenneth Carter (D-31) – Vice Chair
(401) 294-9183
rep-carter@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative William San Bento Jr. (D-58) – Secretary
(401) 727-0276
rep-sanbento@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Joseph S. Almeida (D-12)
(401) 467-7033
rep-almeida@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Raymond C. Church (D-48)
(401) 762-1875
rep-church@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Elizabeth M. Dennigan (D-62)
(401) 434-8525
rep-dennigan@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative J. Russell Jackson (D-73)
(401) 848-7979
rep-jackson@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Robert B. Jacquard (D-17)
(401) 943-7799
rep-jacquard@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Peter L. Lewiss (D-37)
(401) 596-9951
rep-lewiss@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Victor G. Moffitt (R-28)
(401) 821-1299
rep-moffitt@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Carol A. Mumford (R-41)
(401) 647-3251
rep-mumford@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Eileen S. Naughton (D-21)
(401) 738-7928
rep-naughton@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Henry C. Rose (D-63)
(401) 435-5921
rep-rose@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative John A. Savage (R-65)
(401) 437-0466
rep-savage@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative John P. Shanley Jr. (D-35)
(401) 789-9055
rep-shanley@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Thomas C. Slater (D-10)
(401) 461-4554
rep-slater@rilin.state.ri.us


State Senate Committee on Judiciary: 

State Senator Michael J. McCaffrey (D-29), Chairperson
(401) 739-7576
sen-mccaffrey@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Charles J. Levesque (D-11), Vice Chairperson
(401) 683-9194
sen-levesque@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Leonidas P. Raptakis (D-33), Secretary
(401) 397-2720
sen-raptakis@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Leo R. Blais (R-21)
(401) 823-4536
sen-blais@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Daniel P. Connors (D-19)
(401) 728-0828
sen-connors@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Paul V. Jabour (D-5)
sen-jabour@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Christopher B. Maselli (D-25)
sen-maselli@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator John F. McBurney, III (D-15)
(401) 725-2459
sen-mcburney@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Harold M. Metts (D-6)
(401) 272-0112
sen-metts@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Rhoda E. Perry (D-3)
(401) 751-7165
sen-perry@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator John C. Revens, Jr. (31-D)
(401) 822-2900
sen-revens@rilin.state.ri.us

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Florida Urgent Alert! Self-defense Bill up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 1/24/2017

A critical self-defense bill will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, between 2:00-4:00pm.  SB-128 Burden of Proof by Senator Rob Bradley restores the presumption of innocence in self-defense cases ...

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.