Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: State Legislature Faces Important Decisions in Coming Days!

Friday, May 2, 2008

Make Your Voice Heard Today!

On Tuesday, April 29, the Senate Judiciary B Committee reported out Senate Bill 142, sponsored by State Senator Stephen Scalise (R-9), the NRA-backed concealed carry permit confidentiality bill.  SB142 now heads to the full Senate for its consideration.  Please keep checking your email and www.NRAILA.org for further updates on this legislation. 

Also this week, on Thursday, May 1, after 3 hours of debate, the Louisiana House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee reported out House Bill 199, introduced by by State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) by an 11 to 3 vote.  HB 199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and removes the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  HB 199 could be considered by the full House of Representatives as early as next week.  Please contact your State Representative and urge him or her to support HB 199 and to resist any amendments that State Representative Wooton does not support.  You can contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge at (225) 342-6945 or by email, which can be found at the end of this email. 

On the Senate side, Senate Bill 51 sponsored by State Senator Joe McPherson (D-Woodworth) has yet to be voted on.  The bill would clarify that current state law allowing Louisianans the right to protect themselves and to possess lawfully owned firearms in their private motor vehicles would supercede policies adopted by business owners or employers prohibiting the transportation or storage of guns in locked cars and trucks parked in their parking lots.  Similar legislation has already passed in Mississippi, Georgia and Florida, and now your help is needed to pass it in Louisiana!   

SB 51 should be voted on by the full Senate on Monday.  Lobbyists from the chemical industry are working hard to gut this bill and to render it useless to many plant workers who are NRA member and gun owners -- even though some of their employers force them to park in what amounts to public-access parking lots when they arrive at work!

It is critical that you keep contacting the State Senators listed below, ask them to support SB51, and urge them to resist any amendments that State Senator McPherson does not support when it comes before the full Senate for a vote.   

Please contact the following State Senators Monday morning at (225) 342-2040 OR by:

State Senator John Alario (D-8)
alarioj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jody Amedee (D-18)
amedeej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sharon Broome (D-15)
lasen15@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bill Cassidy (R-16)
Lasen16@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joel Chaisson (D-19)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sherri Smith Cheek (R-38)
smithcheek@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Don Cravins (D-24)
cravinsd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator A.G. Crowe (R-1)
crowea@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jack Donahue (R-11)
donahuej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Reggie Dupre (D-20)
lasen20@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Nick Gautreaux (D-26)
gautreauxn@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Troy Hebert (D-22)
hebertt@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bob Kostelka (R-35)
kostelka@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Eric LaFleur (D-28)
lafleure@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Gerald Long (R-31)
longg@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Rob Marrionneaux (D-17)
lasen17@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Danny Martiny (R-10)
martinyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Michot (R-23)
lasen23@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Blade Morrish ( R-25)
morrishd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ben Nevers (D-12)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Julie Quinn (R-6)
quinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Neil Riser (R-32)
risern@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Stephen Scalise (R-9)
scalises@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Smith (D-30)
smithj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Francis Thompson (D-34)
thompsof@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Walsworth (R-33)
walsworthm@legis.state.la.us

Please contact the following State Representatives Monday morning at (225) 342-6945 OR by:

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House

larep086@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-98)

abramson@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-21)

larep021@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Armes III (D-30)

armesj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-102)

larep102@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-58)

auberte@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-100)

larep100@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-39)

badonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-53)

larep053@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-48)

barrast@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-29)

larep029@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-83)

billiotr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Burford (R-7)

burfordr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Henry Burns (R-9)

burnsh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-89)

larep089@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-2)

larep002@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-6)

carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-68)

carters@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Cazayoux, Jr. (D-18)

larep18@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-49)

champags@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-22)

larep022@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-19)

chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-84)

connickp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-43)

cortezp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative George Cromer (R-90)

cromerg@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-33)

danahaym@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-26)

dixonh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-10)

larep010@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-52)

larep052@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-12)

larep012@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Edwards (D-72)

edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-20)

ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Fannin (D-13)

arep013@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-70)

foilf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-34)

franklina@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-11)

larep011@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-35)

larep035@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-54)

gisclait@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-66)

larep066@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-40)

larep040@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-41)

larep041@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Guinn (R-37)

guinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-44)

hardyr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-51)

harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-27)

hazelc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-103)

hendersr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-82)

henryc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-32)

hilld@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walker Hines (D-95)

hinesw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-15)

hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Avon Honey (D-63)

ahoney@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Howard (R-24)

howardf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-104)

larep104@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-87)

jacksong@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-61)

larep061@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-28)

johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-17)

jonesr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Sam Jones (D-50)

joness@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kay Katz (R-16)

larep016@legis.state.la.us

tate Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-36)

larep036@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-81)

larep081@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-96)

larep096@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-59)

larep059@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-38)

lebasb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-91)

legerw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-79)

ligit@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Samuel Little (R-14)

littles@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-80)

lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-94)

larep094@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-99)

larep099@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-62)

larep062@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-46)

larep046@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-57)

monican@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-42)

montoucj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-97)

larep097@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Morris (R-1)

larep001@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-3)

nortonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-23)

nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-76)

pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-47)

perryj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-93)

larep093@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-69)

pontie@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-71)

poper@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-73)

pughs@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-55)

richardj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-65)

richardc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-101)

larep101@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-75)

larep075@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-45)

larep045@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-25)

royc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Schroder (R-77)

schrodej@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Scott Simon (R-74)

simons@legis.state.la.us

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-88)

larep088@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jane Smith (R-8)

larep008@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-56)

larep56@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-67)

smithp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-60)

larep060@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-78)

talbotk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-85)

templetr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-31)

larep031@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-5)

larep005@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-64)

larep064@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-4)

larep004@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-92)

willmott@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-105)

larep105@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

In the wake of the still-unfolding Harvey Weinstein scandal, one might have thought that America would receive a brief reprieve from Hollywood’s ceaseless moralizing. However, on October 18, 2017, Michael Bloomberg’s Everytown for Gun Safety, ...

Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

We’ve been down this road before, and we know gun control doesn’t work. 

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

In recent years, Soros’s anti-gun efforts have been eclipsed by those of another billionaire, former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg. However, the Open Society continues to attack American gun owners.

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

News  

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

NRATV Host Cam Edwards describes a study that shows the ineffectiveness of so-called “universal” background checks

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 20, 2017

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

Advertising professionals know that switching to a fresh new moniker and a more contemporary or dynamic logo can revitalize a tired or humdrum brand.

NRA Doesn’t ‘Buy’ Politicians, but Gun Controllers Do

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

NRA Doesn’t ‘Buy’ Politicians, but Gun Controllers Do

Gun control supporters who peddle the myth about NRA money aren’t only wrong, they are ignoring team gun control’s own sordid history of buying politicians. And forget Michael Bloomberg for the moment, gun control supporters ...

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.