Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia “Castle Doctrine” Bill Passes Senate, Heads to House!

Friday, February 22, 2008

On Tuesday, February 19 the State Senate unanimously passed Senate Bill 145, “Castle Doctrine” legislation.  This bill now heads to the House Judiciary Committee for its consideration.

This bill authorizes the use of deadly force by law-abiding citizens against an attacker in their homes and any places outside of their home where they have a legal right to be.  It is clearly stated that there is no “duty to retreat” from an attacker, allowing law-abiding citizens to stand their ground to protect themselves and their family.  SB145 also protects individuals from civil lawsuits by the attacker or the attacker’s family when force is used.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge they pass SB145 to bolster West Virginians’ right to self-defense.

House Judiciary Committee

Delegate Carrie Webster (D-31), Chair
(304) 340-3252
cwebste1@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Bill Proudfoot (D-37), Vice-Chair

(304) 340-3248
bproud@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10), Minority Chair
(304) 340-3394
jellem@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate John Overington (R-55), Minority Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3148
john@overington.com

 

Delegate Tom Azinger (R-10)
(304) 340-3202
tazinger@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
(304) 340-3106
bbrown1@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Mike Burdiss (D-22)

(304) 340-3111
mburdiss@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
(304) 340-3169
barbaraf@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Nancy Peoples Guthrie (D-30)
(304) 340-3156
nguthrie@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
(304) 340-3167

bhamilt@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Lidella Wilson Hrutkay (D-19)
(304) 340-3134
lhrutkay@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Melvin Kessler (D-27)
(304) 340-3163
mkessler@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32)
(304) 340-3275
patlane@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Marshall Long (D-25)
(304) 340-3120
mclong@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
(304) 340-3124
llongstr@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Virginia Mahan (D-27)
(304) 340-3102
vmahan@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Tim Miley (D-41)
(304) 340-3145
timmiley@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
(304) 340-3189
cmoore@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
(304) 340-3170
jpino@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Robert A. Schadler (R-49)
(304) 340-3191
rschadler@comcast.net

 

Delegate Alex J. Shook (D-44)
(304) 340-3173
ashook@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate William Stemple (D-33)
(304) 340-3112
wlstempl@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
(304) 340-3175
ksobonya@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Robert C. Tabb (D-56)
(304) 340-3274
rtabb@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Scott Varner (D-4)
(304) 340-3187
svarner@mail.wvnet.edu

 

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

On Monday, March 27, the Texas Senate will convene after 2:00pm and is expected to take up and consider Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.