Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia “Castle Doctrine” Bill Passes Senate, Heads to House!

Friday, February 22, 2008

On Tuesday, February 19 the State Senate unanimously passed Senate Bill 145, “Castle Doctrine” legislation.  This bill now heads to the House Judiciary Committee for its consideration.

This bill authorizes the use of deadly force by law-abiding citizens against an attacker in their homes and any places outside of their home where they have a legal right to be.  It is clearly stated that there is no “duty to retreat” from an attacker, allowing law-abiding citizens to stand their ground to protect themselves and their family.  SB145 also protects individuals from civil lawsuits by the attacker or the attacker’s family when force is used.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge they pass SB145 to bolster West Virginians’ right to self-defense.

House Judiciary Committee

Delegate Carrie Webster (D-31), Chair
(304) 340-3252
cwebste1@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Bill Proudfoot (D-37), Vice-Chair

(304) 340-3248
bproud@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10), Minority Chair
(304) 340-3394
jellem@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate John Overington (R-55), Minority Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3148
john@overington.com

 

Delegate Tom Azinger (R-10)
(304) 340-3202
tazinger@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
(304) 340-3106
bbrown1@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Mike Burdiss (D-22)

(304) 340-3111
mburdiss@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
(304) 340-3169
barbaraf@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Nancy Peoples Guthrie (D-30)
(304) 340-3156
nguthrie@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
(304) 340-3167

bhamilt@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Lidella Wilson Hrutkay (D-19)
(304) 340-3134
lhrutkay@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Melvin Kessler (D-27)
(304) 340-3163
mkessler@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32)
(304) 340-3275
patlane@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Marshall Long (D-25)
(304) 340-3120
mclong@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
(304) 340-3124
llongstr@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Virginia Mahan (D-27)
(304) 340-3102
vmahan@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Tim Miley (D-41)
(304) 340-3145
timmiley@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
(304) 340-3189
cmoore@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
(304) 340-3170
jpino@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Robert A. Schadler (R-49)
(304) 340-3191
rschadler@comcast.net

 

Delegate Alex J. Shook (D-44)
(304) 340-3173
ashook@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate William Stemple (D-33)
(304) 340-3112
wlstempl@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
(304) 340-3175
ksobonya@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Robert C. Tabb (D-56)
(304) 340-3274
rtabb@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Scott Varner (D-4)
(304) 340-3187
svarner@mail.wvnet.edu

 

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Friday, January 19, 2018

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Yesterday, the House Judiciary Committee passed Substitute House Bill 1122 out of committee on a 7-6 vote.  This bill, which would require gun owners to lock up their firearms or potentially face criminal charges, will ...

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

Gun control groups are fond of describing preemption as a doctrine whereby a state has stripped local governments of their power to regulate guns.

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

The sorry state of gun politics in Australia was put into stark relief recently, after Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Legislative Assembly MP Anthony Perrett took a principled stand in favor of his constituents’ gun rights.

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and their front-group “Arizonans for Wildlife” are currently gathering signatures for a ballot initiative that would ban the hunting and trapping of mountain lions and bobcats in ...

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Today, Senator Karl Rhoads (D-13) introduced legislation that would ban modifications commonly made to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  SB 2046 is currently pending a committee referral.  Please contact your Senator today and urge them to OPPOSE this ...

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

On Thursday, January 18th, Senate Bill 20 passed the Indiana state Senate by a vote of 47-2 and will now move to the House.  

New Jersey:  2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

Friday, January 19, 2018

New Jersey: 2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

A new Governor took the reins from Gov. Chris Christie this week, and a new Legislature has been sworn into office. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.