Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia “Castle Doctrine” Bill Passes Senate, Heads to House!

Friday, February 22, 2008

On Tuesday, February 19 the State Senate unanimously passed Senate Bill 145, “Castle Doctrine” legislation.  This bill now heads to the House Judiciary Committee for its consideration.

This bill authorizes the use of deadly force by law-abiding citizens against an attacker in their homes and any places outside of their home where they have a legal right to be.  It is clearly stated that there is no “duty to retreat” from an attacker, allowing law-abiding citizens to stand their ground to protect themselves and their family.  SB145 also protects individuals from civil lawsuits by the attacker or the attacker’s family when force is used.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge they pass SB145 to bolster West Virginians’ right to self-defense.

House Judiciary Committee

Delegate Carrie Webster (D-31), Chair
(304) 340-3252
cwebste1@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Bill Proudfoot (D-37), Vice-Chair

(304) 340-3248
bproud@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10), Minority Chair
(304) 340-3394
jellem@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate John Overington (R-55), Minority Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3148
john@overington.com

 

Delegate Tom Azinger (R-10)
(304) 340-3202
tazinger@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
(304) 340-3106
bbrown1@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Mike Burdiss (D-22)

(304) 340-3111
mburdiss@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
(304) 340-3169
barbaraf@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Nancy Peoples Guthrie (D-30)
(304) 340-3156
nguthrie@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
(304) 340-3167

bhamilt@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Lidella Wilson Hrutkay (D-19)
(304) 340-3134
lhrutkay@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Melvin Kessler (D-27)
(304) 340-3163
mkessler@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32)
(304) 340-3275
patlane@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Marshall Long (D-25)
(304) 340-3120
mclong@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
(304) 340-3124
llongstr@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Virginia Mahan (D-27)
(304) 340-3102
vmahan@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Tim Miley (D-41)
(304) 340-3145
timmiley@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
(304) 340-3189
cmoore@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
(304) 340-3170
jpino@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Robert A. Schadler (R-49)
(304) 340-3191
rschadler@comcast.net

 

Delegate Alex J. Shook (D-44)
(304) 340-3173
ashook@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate William Stemple (D-33)
(304) 340-3112
wlstempl@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
(304) 340-3175
ksobonya@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Robert C. Tabb (D-56)
(304) 340-3274
rtabb@mail.wvnet.edu

 

Delegate Scott Varner (D-4)
(304) 340-3187
svarner@mail.wvnet.edu

 

TRENDING NOW
Court Strikes Down Unconstitutional Ban on Concealed Carry

News  

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Court Strikes Down Unconstitutional Ban on Concealed Carry

D.C. Circuit Court Rules in Favor of Constitutional Right to Carry a Gun in Public for Self-Defense

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

Back when Mark Glaze was executive director of Michael Bloomberg’s Mayors Against Illegal Guns, and later Everytown for Gun Safety, he went to great lengths to portray his master’s anti-gun positions as moderate. Glaze used ...

Washington: Gun Bills Go into Effect

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Washington: Gun Bills Go into Effect

On Sunday, July 23, a number of bills that passed from the 2017 legislative session went into effect that impact your Second Amendment rights.

The Need for National Reciprocity

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Need for National Reciprocity

A report from the Crime Prevention Research Center estimates that the number of concealed carry permits issued last year was the largest increase ever – continuing a four year trend of record setting increases in ...

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

On July 17, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit confirmed that law enforcement officials in New York acted unlawfully with respect to guns confiscated from a Nassau County woman in 2012.  

California: DOJ Introduces Proposed Regulations Adding “Privacy Notices” to Firearm-Related Forms

Monday, July 24, 2017

California: DOJ Introduces Proposed Regulations Adding “Privacy Notices” to Firearm-Related Forms

On Monday, July 24, the California Department of Justice introduced another set of proposed regulations, this time for the purpose of adding required “privacy notices” to certain firearm-related forms.

New Law Expands Hunting Opportunities in North Carolina

News  

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

New Law Expands Hunting Opportunities in North Carolina

Law Promotes Sportsmens’ Rights & Sound Wildlife Management

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

A group of Maryland citizens, with the support of the National Rifle Association, filed a petition to the United States Supreme Court on Friday seeking to reverse a Court of Appeals ruling that stripped some of America’s most ...

Grace V. DC Ruling Under Pressure: D.C. Appeals Concealed Carry Order, Gets Administrative Stay

News  

Friday, June 3, 2016

Grace V. DC Ruling Under Pressure: D.C. Appeals Concealed Carry Order, Gets Administrative Stay

Washington, D.C. has once again lapsed into its usual pattern of denying Second Amendment rights with a federal appeals court ruling on May 27 that effectively blocks a lower court order that briefly made D.C. ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.