Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania: Time Changed for Hearing on Proposed Anti-Gun Bills!

Monday, November 19, 2007

Please Contact the Members of the House Judiciary Committee IMMEDIATELY!

The Pennsylvania House Judiciary Committee has changed the time of tomorrow’s meeting to consider three anti-gun bills.  These bills will have a disastrous effect on the Second Amendment rights of Pennsylvania’s law-abiding gun owners.  The Committee is now scheduled to meet tomorrow, Tuesday, November 20 at 11:00 am in Room 140 of the Main Capitol Building. This meeting is being held at the special request of Governor Ed Rendell (D), who will be testifying and urging members to pass some of the most onerous firearm restrictions in the state’s history, including a “one-gun-a-month” gun rationing scheme, a requirement that individuals report lost or stolen firearms, and overturning Pennsylvania’s preemption law.

  • House Bill 18, sponsored by State Representative Dwight Evans (D-Philadelphia), would permit local municipalities to place further restrictions on the sale, possession, carrying, and use of firearms by gutting Pennsylvania’s preemption law.  State preemption regulating firearms was enacted by the legislature to avoid the possibility of thousands of separate firearm laws across the Commonwealth.  Without preemption there would be countless local firearms laws, making compliance impossible for law-abiding gun owners. In addition, this proposed legislation may also be in conflict with Article 1, Section 21 of the Constitution of Pennsylvania which states "The right of the citizens to bear arms in defense of themselves and the state shall not be questioned."

  • House Bill 22, “one-gun-a-month” legislation, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-Philadelphia), will prohibit law-abiding citizens from purchasing more than one handgun at a time, and impose a 30-day waiting period between single handgun purchases.

  • House Bill 29, “Lost or Stolen Firearms” legislation, sponsored by State Representative Jewell Williams (D-Philadelphia), would make it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 24 hours of discovering the firearm missing.  This proposal would criminalize victims of crime and is ineffective.

 

It is imperative that you continue to contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee IMMEDIATELY to strongly encourage them to OPPOSE this package of anti-gun bills!  Contact information for the House Judiciary Committee is listed below.

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Chairman
(717) 787-3525
tcaltagi@pahouse.net

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 
dleach@pahouse.net 

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 
kmanderi@pahouse.net 

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 
jpallone@pahouse.net 

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 
dwalko@pahouse.net 

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Chairman
(717) 783-2014 
rmarsico@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 
lbennington@pahouse.net

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 
dfrankel@pahouse.net 

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 
hjames@pahouse.net 

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 
dkula@pahouse.net 

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 
blentz@pahouse.net 

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 
petrarca@pahouse.net

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 
Sramaley@pahouse.net 

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-16)
(717) 787-7647 
greg@gregvitali.com 

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 
repwagner@pahouse.net 

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 
jwhite@pahouse.net 

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 
jwilliam@pahouse.net 

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 
tcreight@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573
cdally@pahousegop.com 

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 
jevans@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 
wgabig@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 
ggrell@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 
kharper@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 
bmackere@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 
cmantz@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170 
boneill@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238 
tpickett@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218 
trock@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161
ktrue@pahousegop.com 

Please continue to check your email and www.NRAILA.org for updates on these important firearm issues.
TRENDING NOW
Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

In the wake of the still-unfolding Harvey Weinstein scandal, one might have thought that America would receive a brief reprieve from Hollywood’s ceaseless moralizing. However, on October 18, 2017, Michael Bloomberg’s Everytown for Gun Safety, ...

Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

We’ve been down this road before, and we know gun control doesn’t work. 

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

In recent years, Soros’s anti-gun efforts have been eclipsed by those of another billionaire, former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg. However, the Open Society continues to attack American gun owners.

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

News  

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

NRATV Host Cam Edwards describes a study that shows the ineffectiveness of so-called “universal” background checks

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

NRA Doesn’t ‘Buy’ Politicians, but Gun Controllers Do

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

NRA Doesn’t ‘Buy’ Politicians, but Gun Controllers Do

Gun control supporters who peddle the myth about NRA money aren’t only wrong, they are ignoring team gun control’s own sordid history of buying politicians. And forget Michael Bloomberg for the moment, gun control supporters ...

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 20, 2017

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

Advertising professionals know that switching to a fresh new moniker and a more contemporary or dynamic logo can revitalize a tired or humdrum brand.

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.