Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania: Time Changed for Hearing on Proposed Anti-Gun Bills!

Monday, November 19, 2007

Please Contact the Members of the House Judiciary Committee IMMEDIATELY!

The Pennsylvania House Judiciary Committee has changed the time of tomorrow’s meeting to consider three anti-gun bills.  These bills will have a disastrous effect on the Second Amendment rights of Pennsylvania’s law-abiding gun owners.  The Committee is now scheduled to meet tomorrow, Tuesday, November 20 at 11:00 am in Room 140 of the Main Capitol Building. This meeting is being held at the special request of Governor Ed Rendell (D), who will be testifying and urging members to pass some of the most onerous firearm restrictions in the state’s history, including a “one-gun-a-month” gun rationing scheme, a requirement that individuals report lost or stolen firearms, and overturning Pennsylvania’s preemption law.

  • House Bill 18, sponsored by State Representative Dwight Evans (D-Philadelphia), would permit local municipalities to place further restrictions on the sale, possession, carrying, and use of firearms by gutting Pennsylvania’s preemption law.  State preemption regulating firearms was enacted by the legislature to avoid the possibility of thousands of separate firearm laws across the Commonwealth.  Without preemption there would be countless local firearms laws, making compliance impossible for law-abiding gun owners. In addition, this proposed legislation may also be in conflict with Article 1, Section 21 of the Constitution of Pennsylvania which states "The right of the citizens to bear arms in defense of themselves and the state shall not be questioned."

  • House Bill 22, “one-gun-a-month” legislation, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-Philadelphia), will prohibit law-abiding citizens from purchasing more than one handgun at a time, and impose a 30-day waiting period between single handgun purchases.

  • House Bill 29, “Lost or Stolen Firearms” legislation, sponsored by State Representative Jewell Williams (D-Philadelphia), would make it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 24 hours of discovering the firearm missing.  This proposal would criminalize victims of crime and is ineffective.

 

It is imperative that you continue to contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee IMMEDIATELY to strongly encourage them to OPPOSE this package of anti-gun bills!  Contact information for the House Judiciary Committee is listed below.

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Chairman
(717) 787-3525
tcaltagi@pahouse.net

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 
dleach@pahouse.net 

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 
kmanderi@pahouse.net 

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 
jpallone@pahouse.net 

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 
dwalko@pahouse.net 

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Chairman
(717) 783-2014 
rmarsico@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 
lbennington@pahouse.net

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 
dfrankel@pahouse.net 

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 
hjames@pahouse.net 

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 
dkula@pahouse.net 

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 
blentz@pahouse.net 

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 
petrarca@pahouse.net

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 
Sramaley@pahouse.net 

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-16)
(717) 787-7647 
greg@gregvitali.com 

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 
repwagner@pahouse.net 

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 
jwhite@pahouse.net 

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 
jwilliam@pahouse.net 

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 
tcreight@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573
cdally@pahousegop.com 

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 
jevans@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 
wgabig@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 
ggrell@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 
kharper@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 
bmackere@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 
cmantz@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170 
boneill@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238 
tpickett@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218 
trock@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161
ktrue@pahousegop.com 

Please continue to check your email and www.NRAILA.org for updates on these important firearm issues.
TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

Hunting  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

On March 13, the gun control group, Americans for Responsible Solutions, posted a tweet claiming:  “FACT:  Silencers do not protect your hearing.”  An infographic accompanied the tweet with the additional claim “You know what protects ...

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

European Parliament Passes Stringent New Gun Controls

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

European Parliament Passes Stringent New Gun Controls

On March 14, the European Union completed one of the final steps in imposing stringent new gun controls across the political bloc, when the European Parliament approved legislation to alter the EU Firearms Directive by ...

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

North Dakota: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Committee and Headed to Senate Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

North Dakota: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Committee and Headed to Senate Floor

Today, the Senate Judiciary Committee recommended do-pass to House Bill 1169 by a 4-2 vote.  HB 1169 could go to the Senate floor as early as tomorrow.  Please contact your state Senator and politely urge them to ...

Pro-gun Bills Introduced to Reform FOPA, Protect Interstate Transport of Firearms for Lawful Use

Gun Laws  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Pro-gun Bills Introduced to Reform FOPA, Protect Interstate Transport of Firearms for Lawful Use

Pro-gun members of Congress have introduced legislation to protect travelers who are transporting firearms interstate for lawful purposes.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.