Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

North Carolina Anti-Gun Database Bill Still Alive!

Friday, July 27, 2007

The Senate Judiciary II Committee decided not to hear House Bill 1287 on Friday, July 27.  However, the bill is still alive- it could be heard at anytime as the Committee will be in session through the weekend.  Please contact the members of the committee ASAP and respectfully urge them to oppose HB1287.

Currently, the permit to purchase process allows sheriffs to deny a permit not just to people statutorily prohibited from purchasing or possessing a pistol, but also allows denials for random, arbitrary reasons.  For instance, a permit applicant must not only be free of any statutory disqualifications for purchasing or possessing any firearm--including pistols--but he or she must also prove to the sheriff "by affidavits, oral evidence, or otherwise, as to the good moral character of the applicant." It is this vague standard where problems arise. A sheriff could deny a permit simply because he or she feels the individual should not possess a pistol, for whatever reason.  Allowing sheriffs to deny a permit to purchase a pistol for anything other than clearly defined standards is contrary to the protections that are constitutionally enshrined.

Not only would HB1287 establish a new database where arbitrary denials are entered, but the information would remain in the new database for eight (8) years. An individual who has been arbitrarily denied a permit to purchase would have that cloud hanging over him or her every time he or she applies for a permit, even if that person moves to a new county where the sheriff does not have a problem with people possessing handguns for lawful purposes. The new sheriff would still see the applicant was once denied a permit, and may deny based on that little bit of information.

Please contact the members of the committee ASAP and respectfully urge them to oppose HB1287.

 

Senator Fletcher R Hartsell, Jr. (R-36)
(919) 733-7223
fletcherh@ncleg.net

Senator Austin M. Allran (R-42)
(919) 733-5876
Austina@ncleg.net

Senator Doug Berger (D-7)
(919) 715-8363
Dougb@ncleg.net

Senator Ed Jones (D-4)
(919) 715-3032
Edwardj@ncleg.net

Senator Tom Apodaca (R-48)
(919) 733-5745
Toma@ncleg.net

Senator Bob Atwater (D-18)
(919) 715-3036
Boba@ncleg.net

Senator Stan Bingham (R-33)
(919) 733-5665
Stanb@ncleg.net

Senator Walter H. Dalton (D-46)
(919) 715-3038
walterd@ncleg.net

Senator Charlie Smith Dannelly (D-38)
(919) 733-5955
Charlied@ncleg.net

Senator Katie Dorset (D-28)
(919) 715-3042
Katied@ncleg.net

Senator Don East (R-30)
(919) 733-5743
Done@ncleg.net

Senator Eddie Goodall (R-35)
(919) 733-7659
Eddieg@ncleg.net

Senator Jim Jacumin (R-44)
(919) 715-7823
Jimja@ncleg.net

Senator John H. Kerr III (D-5)
(919) 733-5621
Johnk@ncleg.net

Senator Joe Sam Queen (D-47)
(919) 733-3460
JoeQ@ncleg.net

Senator John Snow (D-50)
(919) 733-5875
Johnsn@ncleg.net

Senator A. B. Swindell (D-11)
(919) 715-3030
Abs@ncleg.net

To find further contact information or help identifying your legislators
please use the
"Write Your Representative" feature found at www.NRAILA.org.

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.