Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Hunting Bill Heads to Oregon Senate Floor!

Friday, June 8, 2007

Please Call Your State Senator Today!

 

On Thursday, June 7, the Senate Environment and Energy Committee passed House Bill 2971 as amended to the Senate Floor with no recommendation.  The bill allows the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife to establish by rule a program whereby they can designate volunteers to act as “Agents of the State” for the purposes of hunting Cougar and Bear with dogs.   This bill has gone through many amendments but is still a step in the right direction towards better management of the Cougar and Bear resource.  The National Rifle Association’s position from the start has been that hunting license and tag fee dollars should not be spent to pay people to hunt Oregon’s big game animals when there are volunteers willing and able to do it.

The bill DOES not overturn Measure 18, but works within the framework of that law, and within the framework of the Bear and Cougar Management Plans.  Measure 18, was passed in 1994 by Oregon voters, which bans the hunting of bears with dogs or bait, and the hunting of cougars with dogs.

Please contact your Senators and ask them to support HB 2971-B when it comes to the Senate floor for a vote.  

 A list of Senators and their email address is below.   If you need help identifying your State Senator please click here.

Senator Jason Atkinson, sen.jasonatkinson@state.or.us

Senator Brad Avakian,  sen.bradavakian@state.or.us

Senator Alan Bates,  sen.alanbates@state.or.us

Senator Roger Beyer, sen.rogerbeyer@state.or.us

Senator Kate Brown,  sen.katebrown@state.or.us

Senator Ginny Burdick,  sen.ginnyburdick@state.or.us

Senator Margaret Carter,  sen.margaretcarter@state.or.us

Senator Peter Courtney,  sen.petercourtney@state.or.us

Senator Ryan Deckert,  sen.ryandeckert@state.or.us

Senator Richard Devlin,  sen.richarddevlin@state.or.us

Senator Ted Ferrioli,  sen.tedferrioli@state.or.us

Senator Gary George,  sen.garygeorge@state.or.us

Senator Larry George,  sen.larrygeorge@state.or.us

Senator Avel Gordly,  sen.avelgordly@state.or.us

Senator Betsy Johnson,  sen.betsyjohnson@state.or.us

Senator Jeff Kruse,  sen.jeffkruse@state.or.us

Senator Rick Metsger,  sen.rickmetsger@state.or.us

Senator Laurie Monnes Anderson,  sen.lauriemonnesanderson@state.or.us

Senator Rod Monroe,  sen.rodmonroe@state.or.us

Senator Bill Morrisette, sen.billmorrisette@state.or.us

Senator Frank Morse,  sen.frankmorse@state.or.us

Senator David Nelson,  sen.davidnelson@state.or.us

Senator Floyd Prozanski,  sen.floydprozanski@state.or.us

Senator Kurt Schader,  sen.kurtschrader@state.or.us

Senator Bruce Starr,  sen.brucestarr@state.or.us

Senator Joanne Verger,  sen.joanneverger@state.or.us

Senator Vicki Walker, sen.vickiwalker@state.or.us

Senator Ben Westland, sen.benwestlund@state.or.us

Senator Doug Whitsett,  sen.dougwhitsett@state.or.us

Senator Jackie Winters,  sen.jackiewinters@state.or.us

For updates on this hunting issue and other Second Amendment issues in Oregon and around the nation please visit www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Gun Control Supporters Race to Embarrass Themselves Following OSU Stabbing Attack

News  

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Gun Control Supporters Race to Embarrass Themselves Following OSU Stabbing Attack

Guinness World Records may refuse to acknowledge feats pertaining to the lawful exercise of right to keep and bear arms, but how about a world record for most shameless attempt to politicize tragedy? The competition would ...

Gun Sales Deny Critics, Set Record on Black Friday

News  

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Gun Sales Deny Critics, Set Record on Black Friday

With the election of Donald Trump in early November, many mainstream news sources predicted a substantial downturn in gun sales. Some even claimed that Trump’s victory would cause slower sales on Black Friday, which is ...

Home Defense - Mastering Bushes vs. Bushmasters

News  

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Home Defense - Mastering Bushes vs. Bushmasters

A while back, we wrote about an inane NBC Today Show segment that recommended homeowners rely on car keys and wasp spray to defend themselves against burglars and other home invaders. A former New York ...

DNC Chair Frontrunner Rep. Keith Ellison (D-Minn.) is an Anti-Second Amendment Radical

News  

Thursday, December 1, 2016

DNC Chair Frontrunner Rep. Keith Ellison (D-Minn.) is an Anti-Second Amendment Radical

It appears that those gun rights supporters hoping that the leaders of the Democratic Party would engage in a moment of self-reflection following their historic defeat in the 2016 election may be left wanting. Despite ...

California: Bullet Button Guns Must be Purchased and Received by Dec 31st

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

California: Bullet Button Guns Must be Purchased and Received by Dec 31st

Recently the California Department of Justice Bureau of Firearms sent out a notice to California firearms dealers with information regarding the recently passed “assault weapon” legislation, SB880 and AB 1135.

Elites Reserve the Right to Decree What is "Fake" and What is "News"

News  

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Elites Reserve the Right to Decree What is "Fake" and What is "News"

Legacy media corporations like the New York Times and Washington Post have big problems right now. Consumption of their product is dropping. Public confidence in them has tanked. And in front of the nation and the world, they blew ...

New Jersey:  Urgent! Legislation Puts Shooting Ranges in Crosshairs

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

New Jersey: Urgent! Legislation Puts Shooting Ranges in Crosshairs

Shooting ranges as we know them may be a thing of the past if anti-gun politicians have their way in the Garden State.  A pair of dangerous bills are scheduled in the Assembly Law & ...

News  

Friday, July 1, 2016

California Governor Signs Draconian Gun Control Package into Law

Fairfax, Va.— California Gov. Jerry Brown signed into law on Friday a package of gun bills that were rushed through the state legislature with no regard for proper process. The National Rifle Association Institute for ...

Winning The Ground Game

News  

Friday, December 2, 2016

Winning The Ground Game

Every year tens of millions of law-abiding gun owners and sportsmen work with NRA to advance pro-gun reforms and defeat attacks on our fundamental right to keep and bear arms. This past year, the challenges ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.