Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Hunting Bill Heads to Oregon Senate Floor!

Friday, June 8, 2007

Please Call Your State Senator Today!

 

On Thursday, June 7, the Senate Environment and Energy Committee passed House Bill 2971 as amended to the Senate Floor with no recommendation.  The bill allows the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife to establish by rule a program whereby they can designate volunteers to act as “Agents of the State” for the purposes of hunting Cougar and Bear with dogs.   This bill has gone through many amendments but is still a step in the right direction towards better management of the Cougar and Bear resource.  The National Rifle Association’s position from the start has been that hunting license and tag fee dollars should not be spent to pay people to hunt Oregon’s big game animals when there are volunteers willing and able to do it.

The bill DOES not overturn Measure 18, but works within the framework of that law, and within the framework of the Bear and Cougar Management Plans.  Measure 18, was passed in 1994 by Oregon voters, which bans the hunting of bears with dogs or bait, and the hunting of cougars with dogs.

Please contact your Senators and ask them to support HB 2971-B when it comes to the Senate floor for a vote.  

 A list of Senators and their email address is below.   If you need help identifying your State Senator please click here.

Senator Jason Atkinson, sen.jasonatkinson@state.or.us

Senator Brad Avakian,  sen.bradavakian@state.or.us

Senator Alan Bates,  sen.alanbates@state.or.us

Senator Roger Beyer, sen.rogerbeyer@state.or.us

Senator Kate Brown,  sen.katebrown@state.or.us

Senator Ginny Burdick,  sen.ginnyburdick@state.or.us

Senator Margaret Carter,  sen.margaretcarter@state.or.us

Senator Peter Courtney,  sen.petercourtney@state.or.us

Senator Ryan Deckert,  sen.ryandeckert@state.or.us

Senator Richard Devlin,  sen.richarddevlin@state.or.us

Senator Ted Ferrioli,  sen.tedferrioli@state.or.us

Senator Gary George,  sen.garygeorge@state.or.us

Senator Larry George,  sen.larrygeorge@state.or.us

Senator Avel Gordly,  sen.avelgordly@state.or.us

Senator Betsy Johnson,  sen.betsyjohnson@state.or.us

Senator Jeff Kruse,  sen.jeffkruse@state.or.us

Senator Rick Metsger,  sen.rickmetsger@state.or.us

Senator Laurie Monnes Anderson,  sen.lauriemonnesanderson@state.or.us

Senator Rod Monroe,  sen.rodmonroe@state.or.us

Senator Bill Morrisette, sen.billmorrisette@state.or.us

Senator Frank Morse,  sen.frankmorse@state.or.us

Senator David Nelson,  sen.davidnelson@state.or.us

Senator Floyd Prozanski,  sen.floydprozanski@state.or.us

Senator Kurt Schader,  sen.kurtschrader@state.or.us

Senator Bruce Starr,  sen.brucestarr@state.or.us

Senator Joanne Verger,  sen.joanneverger@state.or.us

Senator Vicki Walker, sen.vickiwalker@state.or.us

Senator Ben Westland, sen.benwestlund@state.or.us

Senator Doug Whitsett,  sen.dougwhitsett@state.or.us

Senator Jackie Winters,  sen.jackiewinters@state.or.us

For updates on this hunting issue and other Second Amendment issues in Oregon and around the nation please visit www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Washington: NRA Files Legal Challenge Against Misleading Ballot Title for Gun Control Initiative

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Washington: NRA Files Legal Challenge Against Misleading Ballot Title for Gun Control Initiative

Yesterday, NRA filed a legal challenge in the Thurston County Superior Court objecting to the misleading and inadequate ballot title for Initiative 1639, which seeks to further restrict the Second Amendment rights of Washington's law-abiding citizens.  The Thurston ...

Hard Times for Dick's as Second Amendment Supporters Respond to Company’s Anti-Gun Bent

Hunting  

News  

Friday, May 11, 2018

Hard Times for Dick's as Second Amendment Supporters Respond to Company’s Anti-Gun Bent

We have recently been reporting on the bizarre anti-gun activism of one of the nation’s larger firearm retailers, Dick’s Sporting Goods and its affiliated Field & Stream stores. First, the company announced it would stop selling most centerfire semi-automatic ...

Sorry, Alyssa, But We're Glad We Came

News  

Friday, May 11, 2018

Sorry, Alyssa, But We're Glad We Came

You likely recall we mentioned a new anti-gun organization recently formed, which was billed as the brainchild of actress Alyssa Milano.  You may also recall that we reported her group, NoRA, had made the vaguely threatening proclamation, ...

Tuesday, May 8, 2018

ALERT! Can't Wait for Your YETI Cover Up Stickers?

Approximately 100,000 free stickers, proudly displaying the message "I STAND WITH THE NRA FOUNDATION," were distributed at the NRA Annual Meeting in Dallas, Texas last week.  These stickers were designed to cover up the YETI ...

Anti-Gun Democrat Proposes Banning Semi-Autos and Going After "Resisters"

News  

Friday, May 11, 2018

Anti-Gun Democrat Proposes Banning Semi-Autos and Going After "Resisters"

The headline of the USA Today op-ed said it all. Anti-gun Congressman Eric Swalwell (D-Calif.) last week advocated for legislation to ban an as-yet undetermined class of semi-automatic firearms and to “go after resisters” who refuse to relinquish their ...

Oregon: NRA Files Comments Against Initiative to Restrict Your Right to Self-Defense

Thursday, May 17, 2018

Oregon: NRA Files Comments Against Initiative to Restrict Your Right to Self-Defense

On May 15th, NRA filed comments with the Oregon Secretary of State opposing the proposed ballot title for Initiative Petition 44, which seeks to restrict the self-defense rights of Oregon’s law abiding citizens.  The state Attorney ...

News  

Friday, April 27, 2018

NRA Statement on Yeti

The National Rifle Association released the following statement from in response to Yeti’s inaccurate statements:

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Swiss Gun Rights Supporters Refuse to Capitulate to International Gun Controllers

News  

Friday, May 11, 2018

Swiss Gun Rights Supporters Refuse to Capitulate to International Gun Controllers

As NRA-ILA reported on April 27, peaceful Switzerland is in the crosshairs of international and domestic gun control advocates who are intent on abolishing the idyllic nation’s tradition of an armed citizenry. Using the 2017 changes to ...

Dick’s Keeps Digging

News  

Friday, May 4, 2018

Dick’s Keeps Digging

The first law of holes, sometimes attributed to cowboy philosopher Will Rogers, suggests, “If you find yourself in a hole, stop digging.” 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.