Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Hunting Bill Heads to Oregon Senate Floor!

Friday, June 8, 2007

Please Call Your State Senator Today!

 

On Thursday, June 7, the Senate Environment and Energy Committee passed House Bill 2971 as amended to the Senate Floor with no recommendation.  The bill allows the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife to establish by rule a program whereby they can designate volunteers to act as “Agents of the State” for the purposes of hunting Cougar and Bear with dogs.   This bill has gone through many amendments but is still a step in the right direction towards better management of the Cougar and Bear resource.  The National Rifle Association’s position from the start has been that hunting license and tag fee dollars should not be spent to pay people to hunt Oregon’s big game animals when there are volunteers willing and able to do it.

The bill DOES not overturn Measure 18, but works within the framework of that law, and within the framework of the Bear and Cougar Management Plans.  Measure 18, was passed in 1994 by Oregon voters, which bans the hunting of bears with dogs or bait, and the hunting of cougars with dogs.

Please contact your Senators and ask them to support HB 2971-B when it comes to the Senate floor for a vote.  

 A list of Senators and their email address is below.   If you need help identifying your State Senator please click here.

Senator Jason Atkinson, sen.jasonatkinson@state.or.us

Senator Brad Avakian,  sen.bradavakian@state.or.us

Senator Alan Bates,  sen.alanbates@state.or.us

Senator Roger Beyer, sen.rogerbeyer@state.or.us

Senator Kate Brown,  sen.katebrown@state.or.us

Senator Ginny Burdick,  sen.ginnyburdick@state.or.us

Senator Margaret Carter,  sen.margaretcarter@state.or.us

Senator Peter Courtney,  sen.petercourtney@state.or.us

Senator Ryan Deckert,  sen.ryandeckert@state.or.us

Senator Richard Devlin,  sen.richarddevlin@state.or.us

Senator Ted Ferrioli,  sen.tedferrioli@state.or.us

Senator Gary George,  sen.garygeorge@state.or.us

Senator Larry George,  sen.larrygeorge@state.or.us

Senator Avel Gordly,  sen.avelgordly@state.or.us

Senator Betsy Johnson,  sen.betsyjohnson@state.or.us

Senator Jeff Kruse,  sen.jeffkruse@state.or.us

Senator Rick Metsger,  sen.rickmetsger@state.or.us

Senator Laurie Monnes Anderson,  sen.lauriemonnesanderson@state.or.us

Senator Rod Monroe,  sen.rodmonroe@state.or.us

Senator Bill Morrisette, sen.billmorrisette@state.or.us

Senator Frank Morse,  sen.frankmorse@state.or.us

Senator David Nelson,  sen.davidnelson@state.or.us

Senator Floyd Prozanski,  sen.floydprozanski@state.or.us

Senator Kurt Schader,  sen.kurtschrader@state.or.us

Senator Bruce Starr,  sen.brucestarr@state.or.us

Senator Joanne Verger,  sen.joanneverger@state.or.us

Senator Vicki Walker, sen.vickiwalker@state.or.us

Senator Ben Westland, sen.benwestlund@state.or.us

Senator Doug Whitsett,  sen.dougwhitsett@state.or.us

Senator Jackie Winters,  sen.jackiewinters@state.or.us

For updates on this hunting issue and other Second Amendment issues in Oregon and around the nation please visit www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Vague Carry Ban and Rehashed Mag Ban Introduced and Scheduled for Hearings Next Week

Thursday, January 21, 2021

Washington: Vague Carry Ban and Rehashed Mag Ban Introduced and Scheduled for Hearings Next Week

Next week, anti-gun legislation, Senate Bill 5078 and Senate Bill 5038, are scheduled for hearings in the Senate Law and Justice Committee. 

“Unity” President Vows to “Defeat” America’s Oldest and Largest Civil Rights Group

News  

Tuesday, January 19, 2021

“Unity” President Vows to “Defeat” America’s Oldest and Largest Civil Rights Group

Biden issued this “pledge” in a January 8 tweet that falsely tried to suggest the men and women of the NRA were somehow implicated in an infamous crime that was committed a decade ago by ...

Florida Alert! Gun Bills Filed in Florida - SO FAR

Friday, January 15, 2021

Florida Alert! Gun Bills Filed in Florida - SO FAR

As Legislators begin to file bills for the 2021 Florida Legislative Session, we are getting questions about various bills due to media reports on gun bills.  Below is a partial list of bills we will ...

President Trump’s Executive Order Expands LEOSA Carry Rights

News  

Thursday, January 21, 2021

President Trump’s Executive Order Expands LEOSA Carry Rights

On January 18th, President Trump signed an “Executive Order on Protecting Law Enforcement Officers, Judges, Prosecutors, And Their Families.” The order aims to provide for more federal law enforcement officers, prosecutors, and judges to be able to ...

Kansas: Permit Recognition Legislation to be Considered on Wednesday

Friday, January 22, 2021

Kansas: Permit Recognition Legislation to be Considered on Wednesday

On Wednesday, January 27, the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs is scheduled to consider permit recognition legislation, House Bill 2059. 

ATF Withdraws Pistol Brace “Guidance”

News  

Wednesday, December 23, 2020

ATF Withdraws Pistol Brace “Guidance”

On December 23rd, ATF posted a document to its website indicating that its recently published Objective Factors for Classifying Weapons with “Stabilizing Braces” is withdrawn.

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Utah: House Judiciary Committee Passes Permitless Carry Legislation!

Saturday, January 23, 2021

Utah: House Judiciary Committee Passes Permitless Carry Legislation!

On January 22nd, the Utah House Judiciary Committee passed House Bill 60 on an 8 - 3 vote. 

Record Amount of Gun Control Legislation Introduced on First Day of Bill Pre-Filing for 2021 Texas Legislative Session

Tuesday, November 10, 2020

Record Amount of Gun Control Legislation Introduced on First Day of Bill Pre-Filing for 2021 Texas Legislative Session

Although the 2021 session of the Texas Legislature convenes on January 12, gun control advocates financed by New York billionaire Michael Bloomberg and Beto "Hell Yeah, I'll Take Your Guns" O'Rourke wasted no time in announcing their ...

Biden to Nominate Anti-Second Amendment Judge Merrick Garland for Attorney General

News  

Thursday, January 7, 2021

Biden to Nominate Anti-Second Amendment Judge Merrick Garland for Attorney General

President-elect Joe Biden announced he will nominate U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit Judge Merrick Garland for Attorney General. Biden’s choice of a noted Second Amendment opponent to lead the Department ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.