Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Hunting Bill Heads to Oregon Senate Floor!

Friday, June 8, 2007

Please Call Your State Senator Today!

 

On Thursday, June 7, the Senate Environment and Energy Committee passed House Bill 2971 as amended to the Senate Floor with no recommendation.  The bill allows the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife to establish by rule a program whereby they can designate volunteers to act as “Agents of the State” for the purposes of hunting Cougar and Bear with dogs.   This bill has gone through many amendments but is still a step in the right direction towards better management of the Cougar and Bear resource.  The National Rifle Association’s position from the start has been that hunting license and tag fee dollars should not be spent to pay people to hunt Oregon’s big game animals when there are volunteers willing and able to do it.

The bill DOES not overturn Measure 18, but works within the framework of that law, and within the framework of the Bear and Cougar Management Plans.  Measure 18, was passed in 1994 by Oregon voters, which bans the hunting of bears with dogs or bait, and the hunting of cougars with dogs.

Please contact your Senators and ask them to support HB 2971-B when it comes to the Senate floor for a vote.  

 A list of Senators and their email address is below.   If you need help identifying your State Senator please click here.

Senator Jason Atkinson, sen.jasonatkinson@state.or.us

Senator Brad Avakian,  sen.bradavakian@state.or.us

Senator Alan Bates,  sen.alanbates@state.or.us

Senator Roger Beyer, sen.rogerbeyer@state.or.us

Senator Kate Brown,  sen.katebrown@state.or.us

Senator Ginny Burdick,  sen.ginnyburdick@state.or.us

Senator Margaret Carter,  sen.margaretcarter@state.or.us

Senator Peter Courtney,  sen.petercourtney@state.or.us

Senator Ryan Deckert,  sen.ryandeckert@state.or.us

Senator Richard Devlin,  sen.richarddevlin@state.or.us

Senator Ted Ferrioli,  sen.tedferrioli@state.or.us

Senator Gary George,  sen.garygeorge@state.or.us

Senator Larry George,  sen.larrygeorge@state.or.us

Senator Avel Gordly,  sen.avelgordly@state.or.us

Senator Betsy Johnson,  sen.betsyjohnson@state.or.us

Senator Jeff Kruse,  sen.jeffkruse@state.or.us

Senator Rick Metsger,  sen.rickmetsger@state.or.us

Senator Laurie Monnes Anderson,  sen.lauriemonnesanderson@state.or.us

Senator Rod Monroe,  sen.rodmonroe@state.or.us

Senator Bill Morrisette, sen.billmorrisette@state.or.us

Senator Frank Morse,  sen.frankmorse@state.or.us

Senator David Nelson,  sen.davidnelson@state.or.us

Senator Floyd Prozanski,  sen.floydprozanski@state.or.us

Senator Kurt Schader,  sen.kurtschrader@state.or.us

Senator Bruce Starr,  sen.brucestarr@state.or.us

Senator Joanne Verger,  sen.joanneverger@state.or.us

Senator Vicki Walker, sen.vickiwalker@state.or.us

Senator Ben Westland, sen.benwestlund@state.or.us

Senator Doug Whitsett,  sen.dougwhitsett@state.or.us

Senator Jackie Winters,  sen.jackiewinters@state.or.us

For updates on this hunting issue and other Second Amendment issues in Oregon and around the nation please visit www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
NRA Opposes David Chipman for ATF Director

News  

Friday, April 9, 2021

NRA Opposes David Chipman for ATF Director

During a press conference on Thursday, President Biden announced that he would once again be targeting law-abiding gun owners by ordering ATF to develop two new restrictive regulations. Aiming to accessorize the Department of Justice’s ...

In New Executive Gun Control Push, Biden Seems to Throw Obama, and Himself, Under the Bus

News  

Monday, April 12, 2021

In New Executive Gun Control Push, Biden Seems to Throw Obama, and Himself, Under the Bus

At Biden's recent Rose Garden ceremony, where he announced his latest assault on the Second Amendment, he lied a number of times, and garbled the name of the federal agency tasked with enforcing federal gun ...

A Radical Idea: It’s Not the Gun, it’s the Criminal

News  

Monday, April 12, 2021

A Radical Idea: It’s Not the Gun, it’s the Criminal

Rahm Emanuel, recently the mayor of Chicago and who has previously served as a member of the Clinton Administration and as President Obama’s White House chief of staff, proposed a few curious gun control ideas ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Texas: Urge Your Lawmakers to Pass Permitless Carry this Session

Monday, April 12, 2021

Texas: Urge Your Lawmakers to Pass Permitless Carry this Session

House Bill 1911, by Rep. James White (R-Woodville), and House Bill 1927, by Rep. Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler), NRA-backed permitless carry proposals that would allow law-abiding citizens to carry a handgun without a state-issued License To Carry (LTC), have been reported ...

New Jersey: Gov. Murphy Announces Drastic Gun Control Agenda

Thursday, April 15, 2021

New Jersey: Gov. Murphy Announces Drastic Gun Control Agenda

Thursday morning, Gov. Phil Murphy held a press conference to unveil yet another gun control package in the Garden State.  

Hunter Biden Incident Shows that Gun Laws are for the Little People

News  

Monday, April 5, 2021

Hunter Biden Incident Shows that Gun Laws are for the Little People

There is a central hypocrisy at the heart of the gun control effort.

South Carolina House Passes Constitutional Carry

Friday, April 9, 2021

South Carolina House Passes Constitutional Carry

Yesterday, the House voted to pass House Bill 3096 on third reading. It has been sent to the Senate for further consideration.

Texas: Permitless Carry Scheduled for House Consideration on Thursday!

Tuesday, April 13, 2021

Texas: Permitless Carry Scheduled for House Consideration on Thursday!

House Bill 1927, by Rep. Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler), an NRA-backed permitless carry proposal that would allow law-abiding citizens to carry a handgun without a state-issued License To Carry (LTC), will be debated by the full Texas House on Thursday!

Texas House Approves NRA-Backed Permitless Carry Bill

Friday, April 16, 2021

Texas House Approves NRA-Backed Permitless Carry Bill

Early Thursday evening, on a 84-56 vote, the Texas House gave initial approval to House Bill 1927, by Rep. Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler), an NRA-backed permitless carry proposal that would allow law-abiding citizens to carry a handgun without a state-issued License To ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.