Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Hunting Bill Heads to Oregon Senate Floor!

Friday, June 8, 2007

Please Call Your State Senator Today!

 

On Thursday, June 7, the Senate Environment and Energy Committee passed House Bill 2971 as amended to the Senate Floor with no recommendation.  The bill allows the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife to establish by rule a program whereby they can designate volunteers to act as “Agents of the State” for the purposes of hunting Cougar and Bear with dogs.   This bill has gone through many amendments but is still a step in the right direction towards better management of the Cougar and Bear resource.  The National Rifle Association’s position from the start has been that hunting license and tag fee dollars should not be spent to pay people to hunt Oregon’s big game animals when there are volunteers willing and able to do it.

The bill DOES not overturn Measure 18, but works within the framework of that law, and within the framework of the Bear and Cougar Management Plans.  Measure 18, was passed in 1994 by Oregon voters, which bans the hunting of bears with dogs or bait, and the hunting of cougars with dogs.

Please contact your Senators and ask them to support HB 2971-B when it comes to the Senate floor for a vote.  

 A list of Senators and their email address is below.   If you need help identifying your State Senator please click here.

Senator Jason Atkinson, sen.jasonatkinson@state.or.us

Senator Brad Avakian,  sen.bradavakian@state.or.us

Senator Alan Bates,  sen.alanbates@state.or.us

Senator Roger Beyer, sen.rogerbeyer@state.or.us

Senator Kate Brown,  sen.katebrown@state.or.us

Senator Ginny Burdick,  sen.ginnyburdick@state.or.us

Senator Margaret Carter,  sen.margaretcarter@state.or.us

Senator Peter Courtney,  sen.petercourtney@state.or.us

Senator Ryan Deckert,  sen.ryandeckert@state.or.us

Senator Richard Devlin,  sen.richarddevlin@state.or.us

Senator Ted Ferrioli,  sen.tedferrioli@state.or.us

Senator Gary George,  sen.garygeorge@state.or.us

Senator Larry George,  sen.larrygeorge@state.or.us

Senator Avel Gordly,  sen.avelgordly@state.or.us

Senator Betsy Johnson,  sen.betsyjohnson@state.or.us

Senator Jeff Kruse,  sen.jeffkruse@state.or.us

Senator Rick Metsger,  sen.rickmetsger@state.or.us

Senator Laurie Monnes Anderson,  sen.lauriemonnesanderson@state.or.us

Senator Rod Monroe,  sen.rodmonroe@state.or.us

Senator Bill Morrisette, sen.billmorrisette@state.or.us

Senator Frank Morse,  sen.frankmorse@state.or.us

Senator David Nelson,  sen.davidnelson@state.or.us

Senator Floyd Prozanski,  sen.floydprozanski@state.or.us

Senator Kurt Schader,  sen.kurtschrader@state.or.us

Senator Bruce Starr,  sen.brucestarr@state.or.us

Senator Joanne Verger,  sen.joanneverger@state.or.us

Senator Vicki Walker, sen.vickiwalker@state.or.us

Senator Ben Westland, sen.benwestlund@state.or.us

Senator Doug Whitsett,  sen.dougwhitsett@state.or.us

Senator Jackie Winters,  sen.jackiewinters@state.or.us

For updates on this hunting issue and other Second Amendment issues in Oregon and around the nation please visit www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Bloomberg Dismisses Texas Hero, Insists It Wasn’t His “Job” to Have a Gun or Decide to Shoot

News  

Monday, January 6, 2020

Bloomberg Dismisses Texas Hero, Insists It Wasn’t His “Job” to Have a Gun or Decide to Shoot

Jack Wilson – a 71-year-old congregant of the West Freeway Church of Christ in White Settlement, Tex. – is a hero to most Americans. When a deranged man savagely murdered two of Mr. Wilson’s fellow ...

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Alert! Florida REPUBLICAN Senators Vote for Massive Gun Control Bill

On Monday, 1/13/20, it happened again.  Senate President Bill Galvano picked a fight with Floridians who believe in the constitutional Right to Keep and Bear Arms. It is well known -- even by the media ...

Virginia: Bill Filed to Eliminate Right-to-Carry Permit Reciprocity!

News  

Tuesday, January 14, 2020

Virginia: Bill Filed to Eliminate Right-to-Carry Permit Reciprocity!

In an unhinged effort to attack Virginians’ Second Amendment rights, one member of the Michael Bloomberg-bought General Assembly is willing to undermine a bipartisan policy advanced by the previous Democratic governor and target one of the state’s ...

Grassroots Ramp Up Continues in the Old Dominion

News  

Friday, January 10, 2020

Grassroots Ramp Up Continues in the Old Dominion

Virginia’s General Assembly officially kicked off on January 8th, and the newly-controlled anti-gun legislative body is wasting no time in pushing its crusade against our gun rights.  Facing a barrage of bills anathema to our ...

New Hampshire: Bill to Shut Down Shooting Ranges Set for Committee Hearing

Thursday, January 16, 2020

New Hampshire: Bill to Shut Down Shooting Ranges Set for Committee Hearing

On January 23rd, the New Hampshire Senate Judiciary Committee will hold a public hearing on Senate Bill 469, sponsored by Senator Jeanne Dietsch (D – District 9), at 10:00 AM in Room 100 of the State ...

Virginia: Senate Passes Three Anti-Gun Bills

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Virginia: Senate Passes Three Anti-Gun Bills

On Thursday, January 16th, the Virginia Senate voted to pass three of the anti-gun bills that the Senate Judiciary Committee approved on Monday. The fight is far from over! Dozens of other gun control bills ...

Washington: “Gun-Free Zone” Bill on Senate Floor

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Washington: “Gun-Free Zone” Bill on Senate Floor

On January 13th, the Washington Senate pulled Senate Bill 5434 from the Senate Rules Committee back to the floor, where it can receive a vote at any time. SB 5434 was retained as a carry-over ...

Washington: Additional Hearing Scheduled on Gun Ban Bills

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Washington: Additional Hearing Scheduled on Gun Ban Bills

On Tuesday, January 21st, at 10AM, the House Civil Rights & Judiciary Committee will consider several anti-gun bills that would severely restrict the Constitutional Rights of law-abiding Washingtonian citizens. This hearing comes just one day ...

California: Self-Defense Bill Fails to Pass Committee

Thursday, January 16, 2020

California: Self-Defense Bill Fails to Pass Committee

This week, Assembly Bill 503 failed to pass out of the Assembly Public Safety Committee on a party line vote.   AB 503, sponsored by Assembly Member Heath Flora (R-12) would have allowed an individual with a valid ...

Virginia: Senate Voting On Anti-Gun Bills Today!

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Virginia: Senate Voting On Anti-Gun Bills Today!

The anti-gun majority continues to fast track their agenda. On January 16th, the full Virginia Senate will be holding floor votes on the gun control bills that only left committee on Monday.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.