Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Our Right To Keep And Bear Arms Is Under Attack by the Georgia Chamber of Commerce, Wal-Mart, and other Big Corporate Interests!

Saturday, March 24, 2007

 

The Lieutenant Governor and your State Senator are receiving incredible pressure from anti-gun corporate interests who oppose our right to keep and bear arms and our right to self-defense!

 

A vote on Senate Bill 43 has been scheduled for Tuesday, March 27, but arrogant big corporate lobbyists are working overtime to defeat this bill.

 

SB 43, critical NRA-supported legislation will simply codify:

ü      That employees may leave a firearm in their locked motor vehicle while on their employer’s property;

ü      Provides employers with protection from civil liability for the actions of criminals;

ü      Does not authorize an employee to have a firearm outside the vehicle; and

ü      Does not authorize an employee to have a firearm in a secure parking facility.

 

Unfortunately, the Georgia Chamber of Commerce, Georgia Association of Realtors, Georgia Traditional Manufacturers Association (GTMA),  Wal-Mart, UPS, CSX Transportation, AFLAC insurance, Century 21, Mohawk Industries and Shaw Industries, and other big corporate associates are spreading lies about SB 43 and are working behind the scenes to attack your Right to Keep and Bear Arms.  They say your rights don’t count and are pressuring your State Senator to defeat this lifesaving legislation.

 

Big corporations think they should have the right to dictate what you may have in your locked vehicle or force you to give up Constitutional rights as a condition of employment.  If employers can tell employees what they can and cannot have in their locked vehicle, then your Second Amendment rights, and your Right-to-Carry are meaningless.

 

Want to go to the range or hunt before or after work?

Good luck, if big corporate lobbyists have their way!

 

Want to have a firearm to protect yourself during your commute to and from your place of employment?

Not if big corporate bullies have their way!

 

Make no mistake, this is simply the first step to completely undermining your Second Amendment rights and your right to self-defense in Georgia!

 

TAKE ACTION NOW!

 

  1. Call your State Senator today!  Tell your Senator that you are counting on him or her to stand up for your Second Amendment rights by voting for SB 43.  The general phone number for the Georgia Senate is (404) 656-5040.  We have included a list of the State Senators below.  If you need help identifying your Senator, please click here.
  2. Call Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle!  Tell Lieutenant Governor Cagle to support SB 43!  The Lieutenant Governor can be reached at (404) 656-5030 or via email at casey.cagle@ltgov.ga.gov.

 

It is absolutely critical that you call and email your State Senator immediately.  Please encourage your family and friends to do the same.

 

Make These Calls Today!

 

42        Adelman, David (D)     david.adelman@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1376

9          Balfour, Don (R)           don.balfour@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0095

26        Brown, Robert (D)       robert.brown@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5035

11        Bulloch, John (R)          john.bulloch@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0040

55        Butler, Gloria S. (D)     gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-0075

13        Carter, Joseph (R)        joseph.carter@senate.ga.gov                (404) 651-7738

16        Chance, Ronnie (R)      ronnie.chance@senate.ga.gov               (404) 651-7738

3          Chapman, Jeff (R)        jeff.chapman@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0045

46        Cowsert, Bill (R)          bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1366

44        Davenport, Gail (D)      gail.davenport@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-7586

17        Douglas, John (R)         john.douglas@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0503

39        Fort, Vincent (D)          vincent.fort@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5091

7          Goggans, Greg (R)       greg.goggans@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 463-5263

8          Golden, Tim (D)           tim.golden@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 656-7580

25        Grant, Johnny (R)         johnny.grant@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0082

30        Hamrick, William (R)    bill.hamrick@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-0036

15        Harbison, Ed (D)          ed.harbison@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0074

29        Harp, Seth (R)              seth.harp@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 463-3931

49        Hawkins, Lee (R)         lee.hawkins@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-6578

31        Heath, Bill (R)              billheath@billheath.net                           (404) 651-7738 

41        Henson, Steve (D)        steve.henson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0085

4          Hill, Jack (R)                jack.hill@senate.ga.gov                         (404) 656-5038

32        Hill, Judson (R)             judson.hill@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 656-0150

14        Hooks, George (D)      george.hooks@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0065

47        Hudgens, Ralph T (R)   ralph.hudgens@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-4700

1          Johnson, Eric (R)          eric.johnson@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-5109

10        Jones, Emanuel (D)       emanuel.jones@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-0502

12        Meyer von Bremen, Michael (D) michael.meyer@senate.ga.gov (404) 656-0037

56        Moody, Dan (R)           dan.moody@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-8055

53        Mullis, Jeff (R)              jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov                       (404) 656-0057

27        Murphy, Jack (R)         jack.murphy@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-7127

36        Orrock, Nan (D)          nan.orrock@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 463-8054

51        Pearson, Chip (R)         chip.pearson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-9221

23        Powell, J. B. (D)           jb.powell@senate.ga.gov                       (404) 463-1314

43        Ramsey, Sr., Ronald B. (D) ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov         (404) 463-2598

35        Reed, Kasim (D)          kasim.reed@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-1379

21        Rogers, Chip (R)          chip.rogers@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-1378

50        Schaefer, Nancy (R)     nancy.schaefer@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1367

28        Seabaugh, Mitch (R)     mail@mitchseabaugh.com                     (404) 656-6446

34        Seay, Valencia (D)       valencia.seay@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5095

48        Shafer, David (R)         david.shafer@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0048

52        Smith, Preston W. (R)  preston.smith@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0034

18        Staton, Cecil (R)           cecil.staton@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5039

6          Stoner, Doug (D)          doug.stoner@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 463-2518

22        Tarver, Ed (D)              ed.tarver@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 656-0340

38        Tate, Horacena (D)      horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov                (404) 463-8053

54        Thomas, Don (R)          don.thomas@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-6436

2          Thomas, Regina D. (D) regina.thomas@senate.ga.gov               (404) 463-7784

5          Thompson, Curt (D)     curt.thompson@senate.ga.gov               (404) 463-1318

33        Thompson, Steve (D)   steve.thompson@senate.ga.gov             (404) 656-0083

20        Tolleson, Ross (R)        ross.tolleson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0081

45        Unterman, Renee S (R) renee.unterman@senate.ga.gov            (404) 463-1368

40        Weber, Dan (R)           dan.weber@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-2260

24        Whitehead, Sr., Jim (R) jim.whitehead@senate.ga.gov              (404) 656-5114

37        Wiles, John J. (R)         john.wiles@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 657-0406

19        Williams, Tommie (R)   tommie@tommiewilliams.com               (404) 656-0089

 

To keep track of this critical Georgia legislation and other Second Amendment issues around the nation, please visit www.NRAILA.org.

 

TRENDING NOW
The Supreme Court Strikes Down Law that Targeted Gun Owners’ Speech

Friday, June 15, 2018

The Supreme Court Strikes Down Law that Targeted Gun Owners’ Speech

The Supreme Court struck down a Minnesota law that forbade voters from wearing “political insignias” at polling places after the law was challenged by a voter who was told he must remove or cover his ...

D.C. Area Witches Unite for Gun Control, Hurl Curses at the NRA

News  

Friday, June 15, 2018

D.C. Area Witches Unite for Gun Control, Hurl Curses at the NRA

Gun control advocates can now boast of a new group of allies joining their dubious coalition: witches. It kind of makes sense. We all know that gun control is based mainly on magical thinking. Its advocates, after ...

The Rolling Stone Continues its Inaccurate Anti-NRA Reporting

News  

Friday, June 15, 2018

The Rolling Stone Continues its Inaccurate Anti-NRA Reporting

It is by no means a closely held secret that Rolling Stone magazine has aggressively promoted an anti-gun agenda for many decades.  It started in 1980, with the death of John Lennon at the hands of ...

Not So Breaking News: Trio of Anti-Gun Orgs Rehash Worn-Out Gun Control Policies

News  

Friday, June 15, 2018

Not So Breaking News: Trio of Anti-Gun Orgs Rehash Worn-Out Gun Control Policies

This week the press gleefully reported the anti-gun pronouncements of a trio of diverse special interest groups. The Washington Post announced, “Frustrated [American Medical Association] adopts sweeping policies to cut gun violence.” In a separate ...

Oregon: Gun Ban Initiative Ballot Title Finalized

Friday, May 25, 2018

Oregon: Gun Ban Initiative Ballot Title Finalized

On May 23rd, the ballot title for Initiative Petition 43 was certified by the state Attorney General.  This final ballot title comes after over 1,000 comments were submitted on the previously proposed ballot title.  Initiative proponents will ...

A Royal Pain: UK Malcontents Throw Tantrum over Prince George's Toy Gun

News  

Friday, June 15, 2018

A Royal Pain: UK Malcontents Throw Tantrum over Prince George's Toy Gun

The United Kingdom’s legions of miserable scolds are at it again. A mere two weeks after admonishing an English national team soccer player for a firearm tattoo, the anti-gun whiners have found a new target. This time ...

California Farmer Has Guns Confiscated and Faces Felony Charges After Trying to Register Rifle

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, June 8, 2018

California Farmer Has Guns Confiscated and Faces Felony Charges After Trying to Register Rifle

California residents attempting to comply with the Golden State’s ever-increasing swamp of firearms laws and regulations should take warning. According to a report out of Bakersfield, a good faith effort to obey the state’s labyrinthine ...

California: Deadline to Register or Modify “Assault Weapons” is Rapidly Approaching

Thursday, June 14, 2018

California: Deadline to Register or Modify “Assault Weapons” is Rapidly Approaching

The deadline for gun owners to register their firearms as “assault weapons” or modify them to be compliant with the restrictions that resulted from SB 880 and AB 1135 (2016) must be completed by 11:59:59 ...

New York: Microstamping On the Assembly Calendar For Thursday

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

New York: Microstamping On the Assembly Calendar For Thursday

Scores of bills are quickly passing both chambers in Albany with no public input or debate as lawmakers continue to scramble toward the end of session tentatively scheduled for next week.  Anti-gun Democrats who control ...

News  

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

NRA Backs Challenge to New Jersey Magazine Ban

Fairfax, Va.— The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today announced support for a lawsuit brought by the Association of New Jersey Rifle & Pistol Clubs (ANJRPC) to challenge New Jersey’s ban on ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.