Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Our Right To Keep And Bear Arms Is Under Attack by the Georgia Chamber of Commerce, Wal-Mart, and other Big Corporate Interests!

Saturday, March 24, 2007

 

The Lieutenant Governor and your State Senator are receiving incredible pressure from anti-gun corporate interests who oppose our right to keep and bear arms and our right to self-defense!

 

A vote on Senate Bill 43 has been scheduled for Tuesday, March 27, but arrogant big corporate lobbyists are working overtime to defeat this bill.

 

SB 43, critical NRA-supported legislation will simply codify:

ü      That employees may leave a firearm in their locked motor vehicle while on their employer’s property;

ü      Provides employers with protection from civil liability for the actions of criminals;

ü      Does not authorize an employee to have a firearm outside the vehicle; and

ü      Does not authorize an employee to have a firearm in a secure parking facility.

 

Unfortunately, the Georgia Chamber of Commerce, Georgia Association of Realtors, Georgia Traditional Manufacturers Association (GTMA),  Wal-Mart, UPS, CSX Transportation, AFLAC insurance, Century 21, Mohawk Industries and Shaw Industries, and other big corporate associates are spreading lies about SB 43 and are working behind the scenes to attack your Right to Keep and Bear Arms.  They say your rights don’t count and are pressuring your State Senator to defeat this lifesaving legislation.

 

Big corporations think they should have the right to dictate what you may have in your locked vehicle or force you to give up Constitutional rights as a condition of employment.  If employers can tell employees what they can and cannot have in their locked vehicle, then your Second Amendment rights, and your Right-to-Carry are meaningless.

 

Want to go to the range or hunt before or after work?

Good luck, if big corporate lobbyists have their way!

 

Want to have a firearm to protect yourself during your commute to and from your place of employment?

Not if big corporate bullies have their way!

 

Make no mistake, this is simply the first step to completely undermining your Second Amendment rights and your right to self-defense in Georgia!

 

TAKE ACTION NOW!

 

  1. Call your State Senator today!  Tell your Senator that you are counting on him or her to stand up for your Second Amendment rights by voting for SB 43.  The general phone number for the Georgia Senate is (404) 656-5040.  We have included a list of the State Senators below.  If you need help identifying your Senator, please click here.
  2. Call Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle!  Tell Lieutenant Governor Cagle to support SB 43!  The Lieutenant Governor can be reached at (404) 656-5030 or via email at casey.cagle@ltgov.ga.gov.

 

It is absolutely critical that you call and email your State Senator immediately.  Please encourage your family and friends to do the same.

 

Make These Calls Today!

 

42        Adelman, David (D)     david.adelman@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1376

9          Balfour, Don (R)           don.balfour@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0095

26        Brown, Robert (D)       robert.brown@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5035

11        Bulloch, John (R)          john.bulloch@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0040

55        Butler, Gloria S. (D)     gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-0075

13        Carter, Joseph (R)        joseph.carter@senate.ga.gov                (404) 651-7738

16        Chance, Ronnie (R)      ronnie.chance@senate.ga.gov               (404) 651-7738

3          Chapman, Jeff (R)        jeff.chapman@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0045

46        Cowsert, Bill (R)          bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1366

44        Davenport, Gail (D)      gail.davenport@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-7586

17        Douglas, John (R)         john.douglas@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0503

39        Fort, Vincent (D)          vincent.fort@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5091

7          Goggans, Greg (R)       greg.goggans@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 463-5263

8          Golden, Tim (D)           tim.golden@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 656-7580

25        Grant, Johnny (R)         johnny.grant@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0082

30        Hamrick, William (R)    bill.hamrick@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-0036

15        Harbison, Ed (D)          ed.harbison@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0074

29        Harp, Seth (R)              seth.harp@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 463-3931

49        Hawkins, Lee (R)         lee.hawkins@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-6578

31        Heath, Bill (R)              billheath@billheath.net                           (404) 651-7738 

41        Henson, Steve (D)        steve.henson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0085

4          Hill, Jack (R)                jack.hill@senate.ga.gov                         (404) 656-5038

32        Hill, Judson (R)             judson.hill@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 656-0150

14        Hooks, George (D)      george.hooks@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0065

47        Hudgens, Ralph T (R)   ralph.hudgens@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-4700

1          Johnson, Eric (R)          eric.johnson@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-5109

10        Jones, Emanuel (D)       emanuel.jones@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-0502

12        Meyer von Bremen, Michael (D) michael.meyer@senate.ga.gov (404) 656-0037

56        Moody, Dan (R)           dan.moody@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-8055

53        Mullis, Jeff (R)              jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov                       (404) 656-0057

27        Murphy, Jack (R)         jack.murphy@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-7127

36        Orrock, Nan (D)          nan.orrock@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 463-8054

51        Pearson, Chip (R)         chip.pearson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-9221

23        Powell, J. B. (D)           jb.powell@senate.ga.gov                       (404) 463-1314

43        Ramsey, Sr., Ronald B. (D) ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov         (404) 463-2598

35        Reed, Kasim (D)          kasim.reed@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-1379

21        Rogers, Chip (R)          chip.rogers@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-1378

50        Schaefer, Nancy (R)     nancy.schaefer@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1367

28        Seabaugh, Mitch (R)     mail@mitchseabaugh.com                     (404) 656-6446

34        Seay, Valencia (D)       valencia.seay@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5095

48        Shafer, David (R)         david.shafer@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0048

52        Smith, Preston W. (R)  preston.smith@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0034

18        Staton, Cecil (R)           cecil.staton@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5039

6          Stoner, Doug (D)          doug.stoner@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 463-2518

22        Tarver, Ed (D)              ed.tarver@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 656-0340

38        Tate, Horacena (D)      horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov                (404) 463-8053

54        Thomas, Don (R)          don.thomas@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-6436

2          Thomas, Regina D. (D) regina.thomas@senate.ga.gov               (404) 463-7784

5          Thompson, Curt (D)     curt.thompson@senate.ga.gov               (404) 463-1318

33        Thompson, Steve (D)   steve.thompson@senate.ga.gov             (404) 656-0083

20        Tolleson, Ross (R)        ross.tolleson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0081

45        Unterman, Renee S (R) renee.unterman@senate.ga.gov            (404) 463-1368

40        Weber, Dan (R)           dan.weber@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-2260

24        Whitehead, Sr., Jim (R) jim.whitehead@senate.ga.gov              (404) 656-5114

37        Wiles, John J. (R)         john.wiles@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 657-0406

19        Williams, Tommie (R)   tommie@tommiewilliams.com               (404) 656-0089

 

To keep track of this critical Georgia legislation and other Second Amendment issues around the nation, please visit www.NRAILA.org.

 

TRENDING NOW
NRA Wins Lawsuit in Washington State, Prevents I-1639 From Appearing on Ballot

News  

Friday, August 17, 2018

NRA Wins Lawsuit in Washington State, Prevents I-1639 From Appearing on Ballot

The Thurston County Superior Court today ruled in favor of the National Rifle Association and ordered a writ of mandamus to prevent I-1639 from appearing on the ballot. The judge agreed the signature sheets did ...

No NRA Members Need Apply

News  

Friday, August 17, 2018

No NRA Members Need Apply

Like most people, we understand that educational institutions and staff tend to lean left. The degree and intensity of the bend varies across universities, but a leftward orientation is actually expected today. We’re aware that ...

Outrage of the Week: Shopify Targets America's Guns

News  

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Outrage of the Week: Shopify Targets America's Guns

Hundreds of firearms retailers may have to close soon because a powerful Canadian tech company, Shopify, recently decided it was anti-gun and issued an ultimatum: Do business our way or not at all.

Canada: Montreal to Endorse Nationwide Handgun Ban, Police Content with Current Laws

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, August 17, 2018

Canada: Montreal to Endorse Nationwide Handgun Ban, Police Content with Current Laws

Politicians from the largest city in the Canadian gun control stronghold of Quebec plan to put their weight behind a raft of severe gun restrictions next week. According to a report from Radio Canada International, the Montreal City ...

Fake Blues: The Media’s Worst Enemy Isn’t the President, It’s Themselves

News  

Friday, August 17, 2018

Fake Blues: The Media’s Worst Enemy Isn’t the President, It’s Themselves

On Thursday, over 300 media outlets joined in a coordinated effort to push back against President Donald Trump. That will hardly come as a shock to many Americans, as it seems mainstream news organizations have done little ...

Shopify Targets Law-Abiding Firearm Businesses

Gun Laws  

News  

Friday, August 17, 2018

Shopify Targets Law-Abiding Firearm Businesses

This week, Canadian e-commerce host Shopify changed their company’s firearm policy with disastrous effects for law-abiding U.S. gun businesses that use their e-commerce services. Shopify’s abrupt overnight decision to block the sale of specific firearms ...

King County Unveils “Common Sense” Action Plan: Ban “Semi-automatic, High Velocity Weapons”

News  

Friday, August 10, 2018

King County Unveils “Common Sense” Action Plan: Ban “Semi-automatic, High Velocity Weapons”

In a July 23rd op-ed, Joe McDermott, the Council Chair of King County, Washington, introduced a multi-prong “King County Gun Safety Action Plan” aimed at reducing gun violence.

Divided Appeals Panel Upholds California Ban on Post-2013 Pistols

News  

Friday, August 10, 2018

Divided Appeals Panel Upholds California Ban on Post-2013 Pistols

Imagine if California, to combat what the legislature considered the serious problem of manmade global warming, required all new vehicles sold by car dealers in the state to run on grass clippings, rather than fossil ...

NoFundMe: NRA Protest March Nets $70 in National Fundraising Effort

News  

Friday, August 10, 2018

NoFundMe: NRA Protest March Nets $70 in National Fundraising Effort

Crowd funding is a relatively recent innovation that allows a person or cause to leverage the vast reach of the Internet to raise money for virtually every imaginable purpose. Even small donations of a few ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.