Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites


Critical Action is Needed to Stop Firearms Discharge Legislation in Washington State!

Wednesday, February 8, 2006

Your phone calls and emails are urgently needed to stop a bill prohibiting the discharge of firearms on Island County from becoming law.  Sponsored by Senator Mary Margaret Haugen (D-10), Senate Bill 6598 would effectively ban shooting on all county-owned land in Island County.


SB 6598 is now before the State Legislature because there is not enough support in Island County to restrict shooting.  Only a few residents are against shooting on Island County.  Meetings and hearings have been held in the county and discussions are still taking place to determine what would be an appropriate local action, if any is necessary.


Existing law already gives authority to cities and counties to restrict the discharge of firearms.  Representing Island County, Senator Haugen is apparently frustrated by the lack of support for her anti-shooting agenda within her own district.  Her asking the State Legislature to weigh in on a local issue is an attempt to make an end-run around the Island County government process.


Even if you do not live in Island County, SB 6598 directly affects you because it is unnecessary, inappropriate and would create a horrible precedent!


It is an abuse of the state legislative process and your county could be next!


SB 6598 is currently pending a vote in the Senate Rules Committee.  It is vital that you immediately send an email to and/or call the members of the Senate Rules Committee (listed below).  Please respectfully ask them to oppose SB 6598!  Be sure to contact your State Senator as well!  To reach members of the State Senate please call at (800) 562-6000.


It is especially important, if you live in Island County to communicate with your State Senator, Mary Margaret Haugen, and politely, but firmly, express your displeasure with her introduction of this legislation!


For the sake of the future of shooting sports throughout Washington State, contact State Senators immediately!





Contact information for the Senate Rules Committee is as follows:


Senator Brad Owen, Chairman

D-Lieutenant Governor

Phone: (360) 786-7700

E-mail:  ltgov@leg.wa.gov


(D-29) Senator Rosa Franklin, Vice Chairman

Phone:  (360) 786-7656

E-mail:  franklin.rosa@leg.wa.gov


(R-16) Senator Mike Hewitt

Phone: (360) 786-7630

E-mail:  hewitt.mike@leg.wa.gov


(D-3) Senator Lisa Brown

Phone: (360) 786-7604

E-mail:  brown.lisa@leg.wa.gov


(D-19) Senator Mark Doumit

Phone:  (360) 786-7636

E-mail:  doumit.mark@leg.wa.gov


(D-30) Senator Tracey Eide

Phone:  (360) 786-7658

E-mail:  eide_tr@leg.wa.gov


(R-48) Senator Luke Esser

Phone:  (360) 786-7694

E-mail:  esser_lu@leg.wa.gov


(R-45) Senator Bill Finkbeiner

Phone:  (360) 786-7672

E-mail:  finkbein_bi@leg.wa.gov


(D-22) Senator Karen Fraser

Phone:  (360) 786-7642

E-mail:  fraser_ka@leg.wa.gov


(D-10) Senator Mary Margaret Haugen

Phone:  (360) 786-7618

E-mail:  haugen_ma@leg.wa.gov


(R-15) Senator Jim Honeyford

Phone:  (360) 786-7684



(R-47) Senator Stephen Johnson

Phone:  (360) 786-7692



(D-37) Senator Adam Kline

Phone:  (360) 786-7688

E-mail:  kline.adam@leg.wa.gov


(D-36) Senator Jeanne Kohl-Welles

Phone:  (360) 786-7670

E-mail:  kohl-welles.jeanne@leg.wa.gov


(R-12) Senator Linda Evans Parlette

Phone:  (360) 786-7622



(D-27) Senator Debbie Regala

Phone:  (360) 786-7652



(D-40)Senator Harriet Spanel

Phone:  (360) 786-7678

E-mail:  spanel.harriet@leg.wa.gov


(R-39) Senator Val Stevens

Phone:  (360) 786-7676


(D-43) Senator Pat Thibaudeau

Phone:  (360) 786-7628

E-mail:  thibaudeau.pat@leg.wa.gov


(R-18) Senator Joseph Zarelli

Phone:  (360) 786-7634


Please Make This Call Today!

To find further contact information please use the "Write Your Representative" feature found at www.NRAILA.org.

Another Week, Another Democrat Presidential Contender Out to Round Up America's Guns


Sunday, August 18, 2019

Another Week, Another Democrat Presidential Contender Out to Round Up America's Guns

A smart person learns from his mistakes. An even smarter person learns from the mistakes of others.  Beto O’Rourke, an unemployed Texan running for president, must not be too smart.           

Monday, August 19, 2019

Florida Alert! "Assault Weapons" Ban Amendment Bans ALL SEMIAUTOMATIC RIFLES AND SHOTGUNS

The so-called "assault weapons" ban that is proposed for a constitutional amendment to be on the 2020 Election Ballot bans the possession of: “any semiautomatic rifle or shotgun CAPABLE of holding more than ten (10) rounds ...

No, Joe, Your Gun Ban Didn’t Work


Sunday, August 18, 2019

No, Joe, Your Gun Ban Didn’t Work

Joe Biden has been out on the primary campaign trail working hard. Maybe a little too hard. “We got to let them know who we are,” he recently told a crowd of supporters at the Iowa State ...

Amnesty International’s Desperate Measure


Sunday, August 18, 2019

Amnesty International’s Desperate Measure

There are some odd dynamics in international relations. Countries in which people are not free serve on the UN Human Rights Council. Political considerations guide every action.  Of course, the NRA is a single-issue organization so ...

NRA Member Berated for Carrying Firearm


Friday, August 2, 2019

NRA Member Berated for Carrying Firearm

NRA member Darrell Kennedy was on vacation with his family at Yellowstone National Park earlier this month when an anti-gun vacationer snapped a photo of his holstered firearm and tweeted out a hate message. “Sat ...

Sparking Dialogue or Sparking Joy: Competing Views on Gun “Buyback” Initiatives


Sunday, August 18, 2019

Sparking Dialogue or Sparking Joy: Competing Views on Gun “Buyback” Initiatives

The Christian Science Monitor describes itself as “an independent international news organization” that wants to “help you to see news events as starting points for constructive conversations.” Its editorial board recently published an article, A seed for society’s ...

Bill Clinton Touts Failed Gun Ban With Bogus Info


Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Bill Clinton Touts Failed Gun Ban With Bogus Info

Bill and Hillary Clinton just don’t draw like they used to. Shunned by much of his own party, (described by one Vanity Fair commentator as “2020’s bubonic plague”) the former president has been relegated to providing lazy ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

California: Appropriations Committees Send Bills to the Suspense File

Thursday, August 15, 2019

California: Appropriations Committees Send Bills to the Suspense File

On Monday, August 12, the Senate Appropriations Committee sent AB 1254 to the suspense file and rescheduled AB 1669 to be heard next Monday, August 19. On Wednesday, August 14, the Assembly Appropriations Committee sent SB 172 ...

Tell Your U.S. Senators and Representative to Oppose Gun Control


Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Tell Your U.S. Senators and Representative to Oppose Gun Control

In the wake of the recent two criminal mass attacks, a number of gun control proposals have begun to circulate in our nation’s capital. None of these proposals would have prevented the recent tragedies, but they all ...


More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.