Nebraska Gun Laws
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
STATE CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION - Nebraska Constitution art. 1, sec. 1.
“All persons ... have certain ... rights, among these are ... the right to keep and bear arms for security or defense of self, family, home, and others, and for lawful common defense, hunting, recreational use, and all other lawful purposes, and such rights shall not be denied or infringed by the state or any subdivision thereof.”
Gun Laws Overview
|RIFLES & SHOTGUNS||HANDGUNS|
|Permit to Purchase||No||Yes|
|Registration of Firearms||No||No|
|Licensing of Owners||No||No|
|Permit to Carry||No||Yes|
The list and map below are included as a tool to assist you in validating your information. We have made every effort to report the information correctly, however reciprocity and recognition agreements are subject to frequent change. The information is not intended as legal advice or a restatement of law and does not include: restrictions that may be placed on non-resident permits, individuals under the age of 21, qualifying permit classes, and/or any other factor which may limit reciprocity and/or recognition. For any particular situation, a licensed local attorney must be consulted for an accurate interpretation. YOU MUST ABIDE WITH ALL LAWS: STATE, FEDERAL AND LOCAL..
|Castle Doctrine||No Law|
|No-Net Loss||No Legislation|
|Right to Carry Confidentiality||Provisions Enacted|
|Right to Carry in Restaurants||Partial Ban|
|Right To Carry Laws||Shall Issue|
|Right To Carry Reciprocity and Recognition||Conditional Recognition|
|Right to Keep & Bear Arms State Constitutional Provisions||With Provisions|
Laws on Purchase, Possession and Carrying of Firearms
Handgun means any firearm with a barrel less than sixteen inches in length or any firearm designed to be held and fired by the use of a single hand.MORE
To purchase, receive, or sell a handgun, a certificate is required, (includes private sales) unless:
Application for the certificate may be made in person or by mail with the sheriff or police chief of the applicant's place of residence. A background check is conducted within 2 days. A fee of $5.00 shall be charged for a criminal history record check. Upon receipt of the application, the chief of police or sheriff shall, within 2 days, issue the certificate or furnish the applicant the specific reasons for the denial in writing.
A certificate shall be issued if the applicant is 21 or older and is not prohibited by law from purchasing or possessing a handgun. The certificate is valid throughout the state for 3 years to purchase any number of handguns. No civil liability shall arise to any law enforcement agency that complies with the statute.
Any person denied a certificate, whose certificate is revoked, or who has not been issued a certificate upon expiration of the two-day period may appeal within 10 days of receipt of the denial or revocation to the county court of the applicant's place of residence. The applicant shall file with the court the specific reasons for the denial or revocation by the chief of police or sheriff and a filing fee of $10.00 in lieu of any other filing fee required by law. The court shall issue its decision within 30 days of the filing of the appeal.
No federally licensed firearms importer, manufacturer, or dealer shall sell or deliver any handgun to another person, other than a licensed importer, manufacturer, dealer, or collector, until he has inspected a valid certificate issued to such person and inspected a valid identification containing a photograph of such person; or obtained a completed consent form from the potential buyer or transferee (which form shall be established by the Nebraska State Patrol and provided by the licensed importer, manufacturer, or dealer), and inspected a valid identification containing a photograph of such person, and requested by means of a toll-free telephone call that the Nebraska State Patrol conduct a criminal history record check, and have received from the Nebraska State Patrol a unique approval number for such inquiry indicating the date and number on the consent form.
The fee for the instant check is $3.00. The instant check may be used in place of the certificate. Exempt from the instant check are importers, manufacturers, collectors, and dealers.
It is unlawful for a person under 18 years of age to possess a handgun. This prohibition does not apply to a juvenile in the armed forces or the temporary loan of a handgun for instruction under the immediate supervision of a parent or guardian or adult instructor.
It is unlawful to knowingly and intentionally sell, loan, or in any other way transfer the possession of a firearm to a person under 18 years of age or to attempt to do so. This prohibition does not apply to the transfer of a firearm, other than a handgun:
This prohibition also does not apply to the transfer of a handgun to a juvenile in the armed forces; or the temporary loan of a handgun for instruction under the immediate supervision of a parent or guardian or adult instructor.LESS
No state permit is required to possess a rifle or shotgun.MORE
It is unlawful for any person who has been convicted of a felony or who is a fugitive from justice to possess any firearm. It is unlawful for any person under 18 to possess a handgun or any other form of short-barreled hand firearm. Exempt from this prohibition are members of the armed forces and persons temporarily loaned such firearms for instruction under the immediate supervision of a parent or guardian or adult instructor.LESS
Nebraska only honors out-of-state permits if the license holder is at least 21 years of age. Non-resident permits are recognized unless a Nebraska resident.
Nebraska only recognizes a North Dakota class one permit, a South Dakota enhanced permit, and Iowa Non-Professional Permit.
Duty to Disclose
Nebraska Statute 69-2440 requires that:
(1) A permitholder shall carry his or her permit to carry a concealed handgun and his or her Nebraska driver's license, Nebraska-issued state identification card, or military identification card any time he or she carries a concealed handgun. The permitholder shall display both the permit to carry a concealed handgun and his or her Nebraska motor vehicle operator's license, Nebraska-issued state identification card, or military identification card when asked to do so by a peace officer or by emergency services personnel.
(2) Whenever a permitholder who is carrying a concealed handgun is contacted by a peace officer or by emergency services personnel, the permitholder shall immediately inform the peace officer or emergency services personnel that the permitholder is carrying a concealed handgun.
(4) For purposes of this section, contact with a peace officer means any time a peace officer personally stops, detains, questions, or addresses a permitholder for an official purpose or in the course of his or her official duties, and contact with emergency services personnel means any time emergency services personnel provide treatment to a permitholder in the course of their official duties.
It is unlawful to carry a firearm in a state game refuge. An exception is made for transporting firearms by highway or railroad through the refuge.
Nebraska State Patrol offices will begin to issue and accept Concealed Handgun Permits (“CHP”) on January 1, 2006. Applicants will be issued a CHP provided that the applicant:
A CHP holder may not carry a concealed handgun while consuming alcohol or while alcohol or any other controlled substance remains in the permit holder’s blood, urine, or breath (other than those substances lawfully obtained and therapeutically prescribed).
A CHP holder may not carry a concealed handgun in any of the following places:
In addition, an employer may prohibit the possession of permitted handguns in vehicles owned by the employer.
CHPs must be issued within 5 days of a successful criminal background check. Appeals of a denial of issuance must be directed to the district court of the county of residence or county of application. Permits are valid for 5 years from the date of issuance. A permit holder must notify law enforcement if he or she is carrying a handgun if “contacted” by law enforcement or emergency services personnel. A Permit holder must also answer truthfully that he or she is a permit holder, if asked by a law enforcement officer, regardless of whether or not he or she is currently carrying a firearm.
A list of applicants, permit holders, and related information is available to federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies. Such information is otherwise confidential and is not public record.LESS
Cities and towns may not regulate lawful concealed carry in compliance with the Concealed Handgun Permit Act.MORE
NEB. REV. STAT. § 17-556. Public safety; firearms; explosives; riots; regulation
Cities of the second class and villages shall have power to prevent and restrain riots, routs, noises, disturbances, or disorderly assemblages; to regulate, prevent, restrain, or remove nuisances in residential parts of municipalities and to designate what shall be considered a nuisance; to regulate, punish, and prevent the discharge of firearms, rockets, powder, fireworks, or any other dangerous combustible material in the streets, lots, grounds, alleys, or about or in the vicinity of any buildings; to regulate, prevent, and punish the carrying of concealed weapons, except the carrying of a concealed handgun in compliance with the Concealed Handgun Permit Act; and to arrest, regulate, punish, fine, or set at work on the streets or elsewhere all vagrants and persons found without means of support or some legitimate business.LESS
Antiques and Replicas
Antique handgun or pistol means any handgun or pistol, including those with a matchlock, flintlock, percussion cap, or similar type of ignition system, manufactured in or before 1898 and any replica of such a handgun or pistol if the replica (a) is not designed or redesigned for using rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition or (b) uses rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition which is no longer manufactured in the United States and which is not readily available in the ordinary channels of commercial trade. A certificate and instant check are not required to transfer an antique handgun.
A machine gun is any firearm that shoots automatically more than one shot, without manual reloading, by a single function of the trigger. State law prohibits the transportation or possession of any machine guns. The prohibition does not apply to peace officers, members of the armed forces or persons qualified under the provisions of federal law relating to machine guns.
Any range meeting the state shooting range performance standards may continue operation without regard to any regulation, law, ordinance or rule that is enacted.MORE
NEB. REV. STAT. § 37-1305. Existing shooting range; effect of noise provisions
Any shooting range that is existing and lawful may continue to operate as a shooting range notwithstanding, and without regard to, any law, rule, regulation, ordinance, or resolution related to noise enacted thereafter by any city, county, village, or other political subdivision of the state, except as provided in section 37-1308, if operated in compliance with the shooting range performance standardsLESS
It is unlawful to knowingly possess, receive, sell, or lease any firearm from which the manufacturer’s identification mark or serial number has been removed, defaced, altered, or destroyed. It is also unlawful to intentionally remove, deface, cover, alter, or destroy the manufacturer’s identification mark or serial number or other distinguishing numbers on any firearm.MORE
It is unlawful to discharge any firearm or weapon using any form of compressed gas as a propellant from any public highway, road, or bridge. It is unlawful to intentionally discharge a firearm at an inhabited dwelling house, occupied building, occupied motor vehicle, occupied aircraft, or inhabited motor home.
It is unlawful to possess a firearm in a school, on school grounds, in a school owned vehicle, or at a school-sponsored activity or athletic event. This prohibition does not apply to: members of the armed forces, peace officers or other duly authorized law enforcement officers when on duty or training; firearms which may lawfully be possessed by the person receiving instruction, for instruction under the immediate supervision of an adult instructor; or firearms contained within a private vehicle operated by a non-student adult which are not loaded and are encased or are in a locked firearm rack that is on a motor vehicle.
Dealers of firearms shall distribute to all purchasers information developed by the Department of Health and Human Services regarding the dangers of leaving loaded firearms unattended around children.LESS
Friday, June 2, 2023
Yesterday, Nebraska adjourned sine die from the 2023 legislative session. This session was a historic one with significant victories for the ...
Tuesday, April 25, 2023
No summary available
Tuesday, April 25, 2023
Attention NRA members and Second Amendment supporters! Governor Jim Pillen has signed the NRA-backed constitutional carry bill, Legislative Bill ...
Wednesday, April 19, 2023
No summary available
Wednesday, April 19, 2023
The Nebraska Legislature voted 33-14 to pass Legislative Bill 77, “LB 77” by Senator Tom Brewer, the constitutional carry ...
Tuesday, April 18, 2023
Nebraska Legislature will hold the final vote tomorrow, April 19, for Legislative Bill 77, “LB 77” by Senator Tom ...
Tuesday, March 28, 2023
Today the Nebraska Legislature voted 31-10 to pass Legislative Bill 77, “LB 77” by Senator Tom Brewer, the constitutional carry ...
Friday, March 24, 2023
Legislative Bill 77, “LB 77” by Senator Tom Brewer, the constitutional carry bill that recently passed the first of ...
Monday, March 6, 2023
The power of the NRA comes from its members, and is highlighted by the most active volunteers helping to ...
Friday, March 3, 2023
Today, the Legislature garnished bipartisan support and voted 36-12-1 to pass Nebraska’s Constitutional Carry legislation. This is great news, but we aren’t across the ...