Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

Right to Hunt & Fish Amendment

Right to Hunt & Fish Amendment Facts at a Glance

Right to Hunt and Fish (RTHF) amendments work to protect against future threats to the right to hunt and fish that do not exist today.

The right to hunt and fish has roots in America even before 1776. Historically, the English game laws made hunting a monopoly of those privileged to do so by the Crown, and imposed draconian penalties, by contrast, the American colonists were free to hunt.

22 states recognize the Right to Hunt and Fish (RTHF) in their constitutions. NRA has worked hard to secure these rights and will continue to fight for these rights in all states. 

In 20 of the 22 states RTHF amendments were approved by the voters.

The rest of the RTHF states—Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming have passed since 1996.

Florida and New Hampshire statutorily recognize the right to hunt and fish.

California and Rhode Island constitutionally guarantee the right to hunt but not fish.

Alaska’s constitutional language is considered by some to guarantee the RTHF because of its strong case law history


Washington Examiner  

Friday, July 19, 2019

Kamala Harris is Preparing to Govern by Executive Order

Sen. Kamala Harris is leading the pack of 2020 Democratic presidential candidates when it comes to outlining executive ...


Friday, July 19, 2019

Levi Strauss Sticking with Gun Control Push Whether Customers Agree or Not

Levi Strauss joined hands with the gun control lobby in the Fall of 2018 and is sticking to ...

Oregon: Initiative Filed to Restrict Self-Defense

Friday, July 19, 2019

Oregon: Initiative Filed to Restrict Self-Defense

On July 18th, Initiative Petition 40​ was filed in Oregon to restrict the Second Amendment rights of law abiding adults ...

NRA-PVF Endorses Michael Watson for Mississippi Secretary of State


Thursday, July 18, 2019

NRA-PVF Endorses Michael Watson for Mississippi Secretary of State

The National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund (NRA-PVF) is pleased to announce its endorsement of Michael Watson for ...


Thursday, July 18, 2019

The Latest: Police: Man Fatally Shot During Holdup Attempt

Phoenix police say a 19-year-old man fatally shot a knife-wielding robber attempting to steal his car at a ...

The Hill  

Thursday, July 18, 2019

Dems Open to Killing Filibuster in Next Congress

Democratic leaders are opening the door to eliminating the 60-vote legislative filibuster if they recapture the Senate majority ...

Hot Air  

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

New Jersey’s New “Smart Gun” Law is a Disaster in the Making

As soon as New Jersey’s new Democratic governor, Phil Murphy, arrived in office he began working with the ...

KUSI News  

Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Lake Murray burglary calls new gun law into question

A burglar who attacked and stabbed a Lake Murray man today during an early-morning confrontation in the victim’s ...


Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Gun license gets chilly response

More than half of Illinois’ 2,351 federally licensed gun dealers haven’t applied for state licenses required by the ...

FOX Carolina  

Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Anderson Co homeowner who shot intruder: 'I didn't want that to happen, but I had no other choice'

Anderson County deputies are investigating after a homeowner said he has to shoot a man to defend his ...


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.