Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

California: Orange County Fairgrounds Board of Directors to Discuss Future of Gun Show

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

California: Orange County Fairgrounds Board of Directors to Discuss Future of Gun Show

On Thursday, May 24th, the Board of Directors for the 32nd District Agricultural Association and the Orange County Fairgrounds has scheduled an “informational” item on their agenda to discuss the Crossroads of the West Gun show.  While this does not appear to be a formal “public hearing” (where members of the public may provide comment) we encourage those who support the gun show to attend the meeting and show a strong presence in support of the gun show. 

This is not the first time the gun ban lobby has targeted gun shows, nor the only California gun show currently under attack. There is an organized effort across the state to stop most gun shows despite the fact that they educate, inform and provide a venue for supporters of the Second Amendment to come together and share a common interest.  Gun shows also provide an opportunity for parents to share their love of hunting, sport shooting, and understanding of constitutional rights with those of the next generation- something that the gun ban lobby seeks to end permanently. Common interests shared at a public forum are exactly what those against the gun show are trying to eliminate as part of their war on the “gun culture.” 

It is unclear whether the Board intends to discuss banning gun shows entirely, or simply seeks to provide information as to future discussions on the subject. The Board website gives notice that “At the discretion of the Board of Directors, all items appearing on this agenda, whether or not expressly listed for action, may be deliberated and may be subject to action by the Board of Directors.” So, given the ambiguity of their plans, it is important that all gun owners and supporters have a strong presence either at the meeting or by contacting the Board directly in support of keeping the gun show operational.  Feel free to use our TAKE ACTION Button below to contact the Board and urge them to continue their support for the gun show.

 

Detail of Meeting

Thursday, May 24, 2018 at 9:00AM to 2:00PM

Administrative Building-O.C. Fair and Event Center

88 Fair Drive, Costa Mesa, California 

 

Direct Board Contacts 

Barbara Bagneris, Chair- bbagneris@ocfairboard.com

Robert Ruiz, Vice Chair- rruiz@ocfairboard.com

Ashleigh Aitken, member- aaitken@ocfairboard.com

Nick Berardino, member- nberardino@ocfairboard.com

Sandra Cervantes, member- scervantes@ocfairboard.com

Douglas La Belle, member- dlabelle@ocfairboard.com

Gerardo Mouet, member- gmouet@ocfairboard.com

Newton Pham, member- npham@ocfairboard.com

Stan Tkaczyk, member- stkaczyk@ocfairboard.com

 

Continue to check your inbox and the California Stand and Fight web page for updates on issues impacting your Second Amendment rights and hunting heritage in California.

IN THIS ARTICLE
California Gun Shows

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.