Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Florida Alert! It’s Time to Name The Betrayers Who Voted For Gun Control

Saturday, April 21, 2018


DATE:      April 18, 2018
TO:          USF & NRA Member and Friends
FROM:    Marion P. Hammer
  USF Executive Director
  NRA Past President


SB-7026, was called the "gun control bill" by the media because they recognized that this bill more about gun control than school safety. It was supposed to be a school safety bill but it quickly turned into a vehicle for three (3) gun control offensives.  

We supported the school safety measures in the bill: 1.) Hardening the schools,  2.) Armed security in our schools, and 3.) Keeping guns out of the hands of the dangerous mentally ill.  

We did NOT support the gratuitous gun control provisions added to the bill by REPUBLICANS. Those gun control measures are: 1.) A ban on the purchase of rifles and shotguns by adults under age 21,  2.) A 3-day waiting period on rifles and shotguns, 3.) A ban on the sale, transfer & possession of bump stocks & accessories that increase the rate of fire of a semiautomatic firearm.

Republican legislators are responsible for passage of the "gun control bill." They lacked the courage to uphold their oath of office and keep their word to constituents who voted for them. They were in total control. They no longer deserve your trust.

SEN. DOUG BROXSON (R) Pensacola: North Florida Sen. Doug Broxson was the linchpin. When he pulled his support for the Second Amendment and the rights of law-abiding gun owners he became responsible for passage of the "gun control bill."  If Doug Broxson had kept his word, the bill would have been killed in the Senate and Senate leadership would have had to start over and bring back a true school safety bill without the gun control provisions. But at the last minute, Broxson caved to threats and promises from Senate leadership and switched his vote and sold you out.  

Doug Broxson was one of seven Republican Senators who were committed to vote against SB-7026, as long as it had any gun control provisions in it.  But when Broxson broke his word and switched his vote, instead of the bill dying on a 19-19 tie, it passed 20-18. Broxson's selfish betrayal cost law-abiding gun owners an essential part of Freedom, Liberty and Second Amendment rights.

Below are the other Republicans who DID NOT stay true to their values, their oath of office, their word and didn’t fight to support, defend and protect the Second Amendment. Those who previously had either an “A” or “A+” grade, DO NOT and WILL NOT have an "A+" or "A" now or in the foreseeable future.

When they ask for your support, when they ask you to volunteer in their campaigns, when they ask for your donations, when they ask for your votes,  think long and hard about what they had done.....


When they ask for your support, when they ask you to volunteer in their campaigns,
when they ask for your donations, when they ask for your votes, 
think long and hard about what they had done.....


REPUBLICAN SENATORS         Previous Grade         

Aaron Bean (R-Jacksonville)             A+    
Lizbeth Benacquisto (R-Ft. Myers)    A+    
Rob Bradley (R-Orange Park)           A+    
Jeff Brandes (R-St. Petersburg)        A+
Joe Negron (R-Palm City)                 A+    
Wilton Simpson (R-Trilby)                 A+    
Kelli Stargel (R-Lakeland)                A+

Doug Broxson (R-Pensacola)          A    
Anitere Flores (R-Miami)                 A    
Bill Galvano (R-Bradenton)              A
Travis Hutson (R-Palm Coast)         A    
Debbie Mayfield (R-Melbourne)       A    
Kathleen Passidomo (R-Naples)     A    
David Simmons (R-Longwood)        A    
Dana Young (R-Tampa)                  A    

Rene Garcia (R-Hialeah)               C
Keith Perry (R-Gainesville)            B+

The 17 Republicans listed above, along with 3 Democrats, made up the 20 votes that passed the bill.  Don’t forget these names.
Legislators with ? after their names instead of a grade refused to answer the NRA/USF Questionnaire.  They didn’t break their word, they just refused to tell us they don’t support the Second Amendment.

Ben Albritton (R-Bartow)                A+    
Jason Brodeur (R-Sanford)             A+    
Travis Cummings (R-Orange Pk)     A+
Dane Eagle (R-Cape Coral)            A+
Heather Fitzenhagen (R-Ft Myers)  A+
Holly Raschein (R-key Largo)         A+    

Larry Ahern (R-Seminole)                A    
Thad Altman (R-Indialantic)             A    
Bryan Avila (R-Hialeah)                   A    
Halsey Beshears (R-Monticello)      A    
Michael Bileca (R-Miami)               A    
Jim Boyd (R-Bradenton)                 A    
Danny Burgess (R-Zephyrhills)       A    
Colleen Burton (R-Lakeland)           A    
Chuck Clemons (R-Jonesville)        A    
Richard Corcoran (R-Lutz)             A    
Bob Cortes (R-Altamonte Spgs)     A    
Manny Diaz Jr (R-Hialeah Grdns)   A    
Randy Fine (R-Palm Bay)             A    
Tom Goodson (R-Merritt Island)     A    
Michael Grant (R-Port Charlotte)    A    
Joe Gruters (R-Sarasota)              A    
Bill Hager (R-Boca Raton)            A    
Gayle Harrell (R-Stuart)                A    
Shawn Harrison (R-Tampa)           A    
Sam Killebrew (R-Winter Haven)    A    
Mike LaRosa (R-St. Cloud)           A    
MaryLynn Magar (R-Hobe Snd)    A    
Ralph Massullo(R-Beverly Hills)    A    
Lawrence McClure (R-Plant City)   A    
Larry Metz (R-Groveland)             A    
George Moraitis (R-Ft. Laud)       A    
Jeanette Nunez (R-Miami)           A    
Jose Oliva (R-Hialeah)                A    
Bobby Olszewski (R-Orlando)     A    
Bobby Payne (R-Palatka)           A    
Danny Perez (R-Miami)              A    
Kathleen Peters (R-St. Pete)      A    
Cary Pigman (R-Sebring)            A    
Scott Plakon (R-Longwood)        A    
Rene Plasencia (R-Titusville)      A    
Elizabeth Porter (R-Lake City)    A    
Jake Raburn (R-Valrico)             A    
Paul Renner (R-Palm Coast)     A    
Ray Rodrigues (R-Ft. Myers)    A    
Bob Rommel (R-Naples)           A    
Rick Roth (R-Palm Bch Grdns)  A    
David Santiago (R-Deltona)        A    
Chris Sprowls (R-Clearwater)     A    
Cyndi Stevenson (R-St.Aug)     A    
Jennifer Sullivan (R-Eustis)       A    
Jackie Toledo (R-Tampa)          A    
Jay Trumbull (R-Panama City)  A    

Chris Latvala (R-Clearwater)    D
Carlos Trujillo (R-Doral)           D

*Tom Leek (R-Daytona Beach)       ?
*Amber Mariano (R-Port Richey)    ?





Florida gun control

More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.