Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Friday, January 19, 2018

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Yesterday, the House Judiciary Committee passed Substitute House Bill 1122 out of committee on a 7-6 vote.  This bill, which would require gun owners to lock up their firearms or potentially face criminal charges, will now head to the House floor to await full consideration.  It is critical you contact your state Representative and urge them to OPPOSE the Substitute for House Bill 1122!


The Substitute for House Bill 1122 would require the locking up of one’s firearms or else they would potentially face reckless endangerment charges.  This intrusive government legislation invades people’s homes and forces them to render their firearms useless in a self-defense situation by locking them up.  House Bill 1122 is a solution in search of a problem.

While your NRA-ILA has been on the ground in Olympia on a daily basis working to defeat these outrageous anti-gun bills, it is thanks to your continued contact with your state legislators that makes all the difference.  Please contact those state Representatives that voted against House Bill 1122 in the House Judiciary Committee and thank them for voting to defend your Second Amendment rights.  Those who voted against House Bill 1122 are listed below:

Rep. Jay Rodne
jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Paul Graves
paul.graves@leg.wa.gov 

Rep. Matt Shea
matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Dick Muri
dick.muri@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Larry Haler
larry.haler@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Brad Klippert
brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.