Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Permitless Carry Law Takes Effect Today

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Kansas: Permitless Carry Law Takes Effect Today

Today, NRA-backed permitless carry legislation,Senate Bill 45, goes into effect.  SB 45 was signed into law on April 7, 2015 by Governor Sam Brownback (R).

Authored by Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce (R-34) and carried in the House of Representatives by Representative Travis Couture-Lovelady (R-110), SB 45 recognizes Kansans’ freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the requirement of acquiring a Kansas concealed carry handgun license (CCHL).  SB 45 is a necessary update to concealed carry in Kansas, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to better protect themselves and their loved ones.  In Kansas, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under past law, if a firearm became covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, he or she would have needed to possess a CCHL.

This law gives Kansans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  Nevertheless, this law also keeps in place the current permitting system so that people who obtain a permit could still enjoy the reciprocity agreements that Kansas has with other states and their NICS exemption when purchasing a new firearm.

If you have any questions or concerns in regards to conceal carry or permitless carry, please refer to the Kansas Attorney General’s office here.

More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.