Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

Maine Bear Hunting Still Under Attack in Maine

Thursday, May 7, 2015

Maine Bear Hunting Still Under Attack in Maine

Next Tuesday, May 12, the Committee on Inland Fisheries and Wildlife will hold yet ANOTHER public hearing on anti-bear hunting legislation, Legislative Document 801, at 1:00 pm in COB 206.  Sponsored by Representative Dillon Bates (D-Westbrook), “An Act To Ensure Safe and Humane Bear Hunting Practices” would create a Class D crime for hunting bear with the use of dogs.

The people of Maine have spoken not once, but twice on this very issue as recently as last November, yet some organizations such as the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) have shown their unwillingness to respect the very backbone of rural Maine heritage and economy, our guides and sportsmen.

The issue of bear hunting isn’t only a matter of heritage or economy.  According to the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, hunting black bears with dogs is an important tool for maintaining a healthy population.  If Maine’s already large bear population is not controlled, it will undoubtedly increase and could force bears to move into more heavily populated areas. 

Please take a moment to contact members of the Inland Fisheries and Wildlife and urge them to OPPOSE LD 801 and any other efforts to erode bear hunting in Maine.  Contact information is provided below.

Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Committee:

Senator Paul Davis (R-4), Chairman
Phone: 207-876-4047
Email: Paul.Davis@legislature.maine.gov             

Senator Scott Cyrway (R-16)
Phone: 207-287-1505
Email: Scott.Cyrway@legislature.maine.gov       

Senator David Dutremble (D-32)
Phone: 207-229-6587
Email: David.Dutremble@legislature.maine.gov

Representative Michael Shaw (D-23), Chair
Phone: 207-787-4352
Email: Michael.Shaw@legislature.maine.gov      

Representative Robert Alley (D-138)
Phone: 207-287-1430
Email: Robert.Alley@legislature.maine.gov         

Representative Patrick Corey (R-25)
Phone: 207-287-1440
Email: Patrick.Corey@legislature.maine.gov       

Representative Dale Crafts (R-56)
Phone: 207-353-5469
Email: Dale.Crafts@legislature.maine.gov            

Representative Matthew Dana (Passamaquoddy Tribe)
Phone: 207-287-1400
Email: Matthew.Dana@legislature.maine.gov   

Representative Gary Hilliard (R-76) 
Phone: 207-287-1440
Email: Gary.Hilliard@legislature.maine.gov         

Representative Peter Lyford (R-129)
Phone: 207-287-1440
Email: Peter.Lyford@legislature.maine.gov        

Representative Roland Martin (D-150)
Phone: 207-287-1430
Email: Danny.Martin@legislature.maine.gov      

Representative Roger Reed (R-103)
Phone: 207-287-1440
Email: Roger.Reed@legislature.maine.gov          

Representative Stanley Short (D-106)
Phone: 207-287-1430
Email: Stanley.Short@legislature.maine.gov       

Representative Stephen Wood (R-57)
Phone: 207-740-3723
Email: Stephen.Wood@legislature.maine.gov 

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.