Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Permitless Carry to be Heard in House Committee Tomorrow

Thursday, March 12, 2015

Kansas: Permitless Carry to be Heard in House Committee Tomorrow

Tomorrow at 9:00 a.m., the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs is scheduled to hear Senate Bill 45 in room 346-S.  Please consider attending this hearing and showing your strong support for this important reform to Kansas concealed carry statutes.

Authored by Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce (R-34), SB 45 recognizes Kansans’ freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring a Kansas concealed carry handgun license (CCHL).  SB 45 is a necessary update to concealed carry in Kansas, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to better protect themselves and their loved ones.  In Kansas, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, he or she would need to possess a CCHL. 

This legislation gives Kansans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  However, this legislation would also keep in place the current permitting system so that people who obtain a permit could still enjoy the reciprocity agreements that Kansas has with other states and their NICS exemption when purchasing a new firearm.

If you are able, please attend tomorrow’s hearing to support SB 45.  If you cannot attend, please use the contact information provided below to call and email members of the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs and urge them to vote for this important measure.

House Committee on Federal and State Affairs:

Representative Steve Brunk (R-85), Chairman
Phone: 316-744-1547
Email: steve.brunk@house.ks.gov

Representative Travis Couture-Lovelady (R-110), Vice Chairman
Phone: 785 296-4683
Email: travis.couture-lovelady@house.ks.gov

Representative Annie Tietze (D-53), Ranking Minority Member
Phone: 785 296-7668
Email: annie.tietze@house.ks.gov

Representative Steven Becker (R-104)
Phone: 785 296-7196
Email: steven.becker@house.ks.gov

Representative John Bradford (R-40)
Phone: 785 296-7653
Email: john.bradford@house.ks.gov

Representative Stephanie Clayton (R-19)
Phone: 785 296-7548
Email: stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov

Representative Susan Concannon (R-107)
Phone: 785 296-7677
Email: susan.concannon@house.ks.gov

Representative Bud Estes (R-119)
Phone: 785-296-6287
Email: bud.estes@house.ks.gov

Representative John Ewy (R-117)
Phone: 785 296-7105
Email: john.ewy@house.ks.gov

Representative Lane Hemsley (R-56)
Phone: 785 817-7533
Email: lane.hemsley@house.ks.gov

Representative Broderick Henderson (D-35)
Phone: 785 296-7697
Email: broderick.henderson@house.ks.gov

Representative Brett Hildabrand (R-17)
Phone: 785 296-7331
Email: brett.hildabrand@house.ks.gov

Representative Don Hineman (R-118)
Phone: 785 296-7636
Email: don.hineman@house.ks.gov

Representative Michael Houser (R-1)
Phone: 785 296-7679
Email: michael.houser@house.ks.gov

Representative Dick Jones (R-52)
Phone: 785-296-7483
Email: dick.jones@house.ks.gov

Representative Nancy Lusk (D-22)
Phone: 785 296-7651
Email: nancy.lusk@house.ks.gov

Representative Janice Pauls (R-102)
Phone: 785 296-7688
Email: jan.pauls@house.ks.gov

Representative Marty Read (R-4)
Phone: 785 296-7644
Email: marty.read@house.ks.gov

Representative Joseph Scapa (R-88)
Phone: 785-296-7682
Email:  joseph.scapa@house.ks.gov

Representative James Todd (R-29)
Phone: 785 296-7695
Email: james.todd@house.ks.gov

Representative Kristey Williams (R-77)
Phone: 785-296-3971
Email: kristey.williams@house.ks.gov

Representative John Wilson (D-10)
Phone: 785 296-7652
Email: john.wilson@house.ks.gov

Representative Valdenia Winn (D-34)
Phone: 785 296-7657
Email: valdenia.winn@house.ks.gov

TRENDING NOW
H.R. 8 Markup: Liberal Democrats Markup Gun Control Legislation

News  

Friday, February 15, 2019

H.R. 8 Markup: Liberal Democrats Markup Gun Control Legislation

The Nancy Pelosi Speaker Era 2.0 continued on Wednesday, Feb. 13, with a markup of H.R 8, the “universal” background checks bill, in the House Judiciary Committee. Following on the heels of last week’s Judiciary Committee hearing, the same committee held a markup on ...

Turning a Right into a Privilege: HR 1112 Gives Feds Unfettered Power to Block Gun Sales

News  

Friday, February 15, 2019

Turning a Right into a Privilege: HR 1112 Gives Feds Unfettered Power to Block Gun Sales

H.R. 8, which would criminalize the private transfer of firearms, has received significant attention from the gun rights community. However, H.R. 1112, which purportedly targets the inappropriately-named “Charleston loophole,” is just as insidious an attack ...

Another Study Blames Guns, Excludes Reality

News  

Friday, February 15, 2019

Another Study Blames Guns, Excludes Reality

A study published in Preventative Medicine by Yu Lu and Jeff R. Temple concludes that “the majority of mental health symptoms examined were not related to gun violence. Instead, access to firearms was the primary culprit.”

Polls: No Lasting Support for Gun Control One Year After Parkland

News  

Friday, February 15, 2019

Polls: No Lasting Support for Gun Control One Year After Parkland

Thursday marked the one year anniversary of the terrible crimes at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, FL. It was a somber occasion, but some media outlets couldn’t contain their glee this week that ...

Indiana: Self-Defense Bill Passes House, On To Senate

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Indiana: Self-Defense Bill Passes House, On To Senate

On February 11th, the Indiana state House of Representatives voted 80-13 to pass House Bill 1284 to enhance protections afforded to law-abiding citizens acting in defense of themselves and others.  HB 1284 will now go to the ...

Washington: Magazine Ban & Firearm Seizure Bills Pass Committee

Friday, February 1, 2019

Washington: Magazine Ban & Firearm Seizure Bills Pass Committee

During the executive session on February 1st, the Washington state House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary voted to pass House Bill 1068 to ban many standard capacity ammunition magazines and House Bill 1225 for firearm ...

Illinois: Gun Tax Legislation Introduced

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Illinois: Gun Tax Legislation Introduced

On February 11th, legislation was introduced (HB 2331) in the Illinois House that would impose a new gun tax on all firearms and firearm components sold in Illinois. 

Congress to Take Up Gun Control Next Week

News  

Friday, February 1, 2019

Congress to Take Up Gun Control Next Week

On January 8, two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called "universal" background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

House to Move Forward with Ineffective Gun Control Proposals

News  

Friday, February 8, 2019

House to Move Forward with Ineffective Gun Control Proposals

On Wednesday, gun owners got to see what a Nancy Pelosi controlled Congress looks like as the House Judiciary Committee held its first gun control hearing in nearly a decade. Things went as one would ...

Arizona state flag

Friday, February 15, 2019

Arizona: Committee to Hear School Pick-up/Drop-off Bill

On Wednesday, February 20th at 9:00AM, the Arizona state House Committee on Public Safety will be hearing House Bill 2693 to improve the ability of law-abiding citizens to defend themselves and their families by reducing arbitrary ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.