Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Permitless Carry to be Heard in House Committee Tomorrow

Thursday, March 12, 2015

Kansas: Permitless Carry to be Heard in House Committee Tomorrow

Tomorrow at 9:00 a.m., the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs is scheduled to hear Senate Bill 45 in room 346-S.  Please consider attending this hearing and showing your strong support for this important reform to Kansas concealed carry statutes.

Authored by Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce (R-34), SB 45 recognizes Kansans’ freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring a Kansas concealed carry handgun license (CCHL).  SB 45 is a necessary update to concealed carry in Kansas, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to better protect themselves and their loved ones.  In Kansas, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, he or she would need to possess a CCHL. 

This legislation gives Kansans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  However, this legislation would also keep in place the current permitting system so that people who obtain a permit could still enjoy the reciprocity agreements that Kansas has with other states and their NICS exemption when purchasing a new firearm.

If you are able, please attend tomorrow’s hearing to support SB 45.  If you cannot attend, please use the contact information provided below to call and email members of the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs and urge them to vote for this important measure.

House Committee on Federal and State Affairs:

Representative Steve Brunk (R-85), Chairman
Phone: 316-744-1547
Email: steve.brunk@house.ks.gov

Representative Travis Couture-Lovelady (R-110), Vice Chairman
Phone: 785 296-4683
Email: travis.couture-lovelady@house.ks.gov

Representative Annie Tietze (D-53), Ranking Minority Member
Phone: 785 296-7668
Email: annie.tietze@house.ks.gov

Representative Steven Becker (R-104)
Phone: 785 296-7196
Email: steven.becker@house.ks.gov

Representative John Bradford (R-40)
Phone: 785 296-7653
Email: john.bradford@house.ks.gov

Representative Stephanie Clayton (R-19)
Phone: 785 296-7548
Email: stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov

Representative Susan Concannon (R-107)
Phone: 785 296-7677
Email: susan.concannon@house.ks.gov

Representative Bud Estes (R-119)
Phone: 785-296-6287
Email: bud.estes@house.ks.gov

Representative John Ewy (R-117)
Phone: 785 296-7105
Email: john.ewy@house.ks.gov

Representative Lane Hemsley (R-56)
Phone: 785 817-7533
Email: lane.hemsley@house.ks.gov

Representative Broderick Henderson (D-35)
Phone: 785 296-7697
Email: broderick.henderson@house.ks.gov

Representative Brett Hildabrand (R-17)
Phone: 785 296-7331
Email: brett.hildabrand@house.ks.gov

Representative Don Hineman (R-118)
Phone: 785 296-7636
Email: don.hineman@house.ks.gov

Representative Michael Houser (R-1)
Phone: 785 296-7679
Email: michael.houser@house.ks.gov

Representative Dick Jones (R-52)
Phone: 785-296-7483
Email: dick.jones@house.ks.gov

Representative Nancy Lusk (D-22)
Phone: 785 296-7651
Email: nancy.lusk@house.ks.gov

Representative Janice Pauls (R-102)
Phone: 785 296-7688
Email: jan.pauls@house.ks.gov

Representative Marty Read (R-4)
Phone: 785 296-7644
Email: marty.read@house.ks.gov

Representative Joseph Scapa (R-88)
Phone: 785-296-7682
Email:  joseph.scapa@house.ks.gov

Representative James Todd (R-29)
Phone: 785 296-7695
Email: james.todd@house.ks.gov

Representative Kristey Williams (R-77)
Phone: 785-296-3971
Email: kristey.williams@house.ks.gov

Representative John Wilson (D-10)
Phone: 785 296-7652
Email: john.wilson@house.ks.gov

Representative Valdenia Winn (D-34)
Phone: 785 296-7657
Email: valdenia.winn@house.ks.gov

TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

What Happens if our Opponents Take the U.S. House?

News  

Thursday, September 20, 2018

What Happens if our Opponents Take the U.S. House?

There is no question that our liberties are at stake on November 6th. The Democrat leadership in the U.S. House of Representatives has become completely radicalized when it comes to the Second Amendment. Our constitutional ...

Illinois “Parking Lot Law” Shields Employee from Termination

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

Illinois “Parking Lot Law” Shields Employee from Termination

A federal appeals court recently upheld a labor arbitrator’s decision concluding that, in light of the state’s concealed carry law, an employer had improperly fired an employee for violating the company’s weapons policy. The case, Ameren ...

Show-Me State Sham: Sen. McCaskill Cons Missouri Voters on Guns

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

Show-Me State Sham: Sen. McCaskill Cons Missouri Voters on Guns

It appears Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.) forgot she represents the Show-Me State. Missouri’s nickname derives from its residents’ healthy skepticism – especially for politicians and their “frothy eloquence.” Rather than take someone’s word for something, ...

President’s Column | Your Vote Outweighs Their Millions: Make Your Voice Heard Nov. 6

News  

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

President’s Column | Your Vote Outweighs Their Millions: Make Your Voice Heard Nov. 6

My fellow NRA members, we stand at the edge of the precipice of one of the most important elections of our lives. That is the reality we face, and we face it just days from ...

Poll: Most Americans Oppose Ban on “America’s Rifle”

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

Poll: Most Americans Oppose Ban on “America’s Rifle”

This week, Gallup released the results of a poll which included a finding that should surprise no one: Americans oppose a ban on AR-15s and similar semiautomatic firearms by robust a margin of 17%. Meanwhile, current support ...

For Levi’s, Freedom isn’t Fashionable

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

For Levi’s, Freedom isn’t Fashionable

Americans eager to take political direction from a multinational pants manufacturer were in luck this week. On Tuesday, PRWeek, a public relations trade publication, published an interview with Levi Strauss & Co. Chief Communications Officer Kelly McGinnis and ...

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Monday, May 22, 2017

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Last Friday, May 19, Governor Henry McMaster (R) signed H. 3429 into law.  This bill went into effect upon the Governor’s approval.

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

You Can’t Make This Stuff Up:  Brooklyn Area Witches Unite to “Take Down” People “In Charge,” Hurl Curses at Justice Kavanaugh

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

You Can’t Make This Stuff Up: Brooklyn Area Witches Unite to “Take Down” People “In Charge,” Hurl Curses at Justice Kavanaugh

Well, Samhain is approaching, and if you’re familiar with the wing of the extreme Left that also identifies as witches and warlocks, that can only mean one thing: more politically-inspired attempts at paranormal activity! We ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.